Catch up on the essentials
- Clayton, Dubilier & Rice and McKesson have agreed to acquire Option Care Health in a take-private transaction valued at roughly $5.8 billion, according to a lead-sourced report published on October 6, 2026.
- Under the agreed terms, CD&R will hold a 51% stake in the combined business, with McKesson retaining the remaining 49%.
- Option Care operates 184 care centers and provides at-home infusion specialty drugs.
Selected from this article · 2026-10-07
Read on for the full pictureClayton, Dubilier & Rice and McKesson agree $5.8bn take-private deal

Clayton, Dubilier & Rice and McKesson have agreed to acquire Option Care Health in a take-private transaction valued at roughly $5.8 billion, according to a lead-sourced report published on October 6, 2026. The medical infusion services provider, which trades under the ticker OPCH, had been identified one day earlier as the target of a joint bid from CD&R and McKesson.
Structure gives CD&R majority, McKesson a buy-back option
Under the agreed terms, CD&R will hold a 51% stake in the combined business, with McKesson retaining the remaining 49%. McKesson has the right to purchase CD&R's stake at a later point, leaving open the possibility that the drug distributor could eventually take full ownership. The size of CD&R's commitment and the price per share were not disclosed in the lead report.
Option Care's footprint and prior trading reaction
Option Care operates 184 care centers and provides at-home infusion specialty drugs. When initial talks were first reported on October 5, 2026, Option Care Health shares rose about 22% in after-hours trading while McKesson shares were broadly flat. The context reporting did not indicate whether those moves carried into the next session.
What remains undisclosed
The lead reporting identifies the headline value and equity split but does not specify the cash price per share, the amount of debt included in the $5.8 billion figure, the closing timeline, or the regulatory approvals required. The future trigger and pricing mechanism for McKesson's right to buy CD&R's 51% stake were also not detailed.
Share this article







