The Quarter in Context

Allient reported $153.8M of revenue for the three months ended June 30, 2026, up 10.2% from $139.6M in the prior-year quarter, with gross profit rising 15.6% to $53.6M and operating income up 33.7% to $15.6M. Reported diluted EPS of $0.61 nearly doubled from $0.34 a year ago, reflecting both higher operating profit and lower interest expense after the company paid down $7.2M of net debt in the first half. The headline beat, however, sits beside a second-quarter operating cash flow of $13.95M, a 43% drop from $24.51M in the comparable 2025 quarter, because trade receivables and inventories together absorbed roughly $23.5M of cash in the first six months of 2026.
The broader context is that revenue growth is decelerating modestly while profitability expands: trailing twelve-month revenue of $574.8M is up 10.2% year-over-year, trailing operating income of $48.5M is up 33.7%, and trailing diluted EPS of $1.66 is up 79.4%. Management discloses an Adjusted EBITDA of $40.99M for the six months, up from $37.54M, and Adjusted diluted EPS of $1.30 versus $1.03, though these are non-GAAP measures with their own reconciliation tables. Investors should read the GAAP operating-cash-flow trend as the harder signal here.
Business Model and Profit Engine
Allient designs, manufactures, and sells precision motion, control, and power components and integrated solutions to end customers and original equipment manufacturers, primarily in Industrial, Vehicle, Medical, and Aerospace & Defense markets. Direct customers buy custom-engineered motors, gearmotors, encoders, motion controllers, drives, transformers, and structural composites; a smaller share goes through authorized distributors and representatives. Revenue is recognized at a single point in time, generally on shipment, so it is transactional rather than recurring, although the company describes long-standing relationships with OEMs that produce repeat orders.
The second-quarter revenue mix shows Industrial at $76.5M (49.7% of revenue), Vehicle at $25.0M (16.2%), Medical at $21.8M (14.2%), Aerospace & Defense at $24.2M (15.8%), and Distribution and Other at $6.3M (4.1%). Geographically, North America produced $102.2M (66.5%), Europe $45.3M (29.4%), and Asia-Pacific $6.3M (4.1%) of second-quarter revenue. Cost of goods sold of $100.2M against $153.8M of revenue produced a 34.9% gross margin in the quarter, up from 33.2% a year ago; selling (4.9%), general and administrative (10.4%), and engineering and development (6.9%) expense ratios then explain the remainder of the income statement, with restructuring and integration costs now modest.
From gross profit to operating profit to cash, the engine converts as follows: $53.6M gross profit minus $38.0M of operating costs leaves $15.6M of operating income (10.2% margin), and after $2.5M of interest expense and a $2.6M tax provision, the company kept $10.4M of net income (6.8% margin). Depreciation and amortization added back $6.2M in the quarter, but $12.2M of trade-receivable and $11.3M of inventory build across the half-year were a significant drag on cash conversion. Capital intensity is moderate: $7.07M of property and equipment purchases in the first half, with management guiding to $12-15M for the full year. Operating leverage is present on the gross-margin line but is partly absorbed by rising G&A and engineering costs, so far without clear evidence of pricing power; we treat pricing as a working hypothesis rather than a demonstrated fact.
Customer concentration is not disclosed at the top-customer level in the filings available, and segment contribution by product family is not separately reported (the company reports one operating segment). Inventory mix shows $86.1M of parts and raw materials against $18.9M of finished goods, which is consistent with engineered-to-order manufacturing rather than high-volume catalogue sales. A permanent-loss or earnings-quality signal here would be sustained negative free cash flow, an inventory build that does not convert to revenue, or covenant pressure; none has yet appeared, but the working-capital absorption in the first half is worth monitoring.
Earnings Quality and Cash Conversion
Where the issuer reports cash flow and capital expenditure cumulatively, the standalone-quarter cash-flow figures are derived by subtracting the preceding cumulative filing. They are calculations from SEC facts rather than separately reported quarterly line items. The second quarter presents an important gap between reported earnings and cash. Operating cash flow for the quarter was $13.95M against net income of $10.39M, so on a single quarter basis cash conversion looked acceptable, but on a trailing-twelve-month basis operating cash flow of $38.37M trails trailing net income of $28.61M by only a modest margin once depreciation, amortization, stock-based compensation, and working-capital movements are layered in. Stock-based compensation of $1.85M for the half-year is real economic cost; treating the GAAP figures as informative, both operating margin and net margin moved up year-over-year, but the cash-flow quality of those earnings has weakened in 2026 because of the inventory and receivables build.
Operating cash flow minus total capital expenditure yields an accounting free-cash-flow proxy of $9.05M for the quarter (derived by subtracting six-month capex from six-month operating cash flow and is not a directly reported line item); on a trailing-twelve-month basis the same proxy is $27.50M. The filings do not separate maintenance from growth capital expenditure, so we cannot label the result maintenance-capex free cash flow; the figure is best read as an accounting approximation. The capital intensity is real but modest relative to revenue.
Working-capital movement is the swing factor: trade receivables rose $12.2M and inventories rose $11.3M in the half-year, partly offset by a $14.4M increase in accounts payable, which together produced a $9.1M absorption of cash. Management attributes the receivables and inventory dynamics to changing customer ordering patterns and supply-chain disruption, and notes inventory has remained elevated to support customers. We view the build as a quality issue to watch rather than an immediate red flag, because revenue is also growing, but a sustained divergence between working-capital growth and revenue growth would compress free cash flow and weaken the earnings-quality case.
Business Quality, Moat, and Industry Position
Allient's filings describe a position in precision and specialty controlled motion products across four end markets, with technology pillars in motion, controls, and power, and a portfolio built through acquisitions such as SNC (transformers, January 2024) and Sierramotion (mechatronic systems, September 2023). The company does not name specific customers or disclose market share, and it reports only one operating segment, so claims of moat depth are constrained by the evidence available. What is supportable from filings: the company competes in markets with engineering qualification cycles (Aerospace & Defense, Medical), which tend to create stickiness once a design is specified; revenue mix spans Industrial (49.7% of the quarter), Vehicle, Medical, and Aerospace & Defense, which provides modest diversification.
We do not see direct evidence of a pricing-power moat; the gross-margin improvement from 33.2% to 34.9% year-over-year in the quarter is encouraging but modest, and engineering and development spending of 6.9% of revenue suggests ongoing R&D investment rather than a harvest phase. The company's competitive durability depends on engineering depth and customer qualifications, which are observable only indirectly in the filings; scuttlebutt evidence from customers, suppliers, and competitors was not available. Bottleneck assessment: Allient sits in component supply for OEM motion systems, which is an enabling-infrastructure position; the company is an important participant rather than a sole-source bottleneck, and supply-chain evidence is insufficient to call this a true chokepoint. Important participants can still earn attractive returns, but importance alone is not an investment thesis.
Management and Capital Allocation
Capital allocation is observable in the financials. In the six months ended June 30, 2026, Allient paid $7.2M of net debt, paid $1.2M of dividends ($0.07 per share, up from $0.06), repurchased no shares under a formal program (the 43,712 shares disclosed were withheld for tax obligations on vesting restricted stock). The company added $7.1M of property and equipment, against $3.2M in the same period a year ago, consistent with its $12-15M full-year capex guide. Long-term debt declined to $173.3M from $180.4M at year-end 2025, while cash rose to $42.1M from $40.7M, yielding a net debt position of approximately $131M against stockholders' equity of $312.3M.
Management's stated strategy, Simplify to Accelerate NOW, includes manufacturing-footprint realignment and an estimated $6M of annualized cost savings, with 2026 one-time costs expected at $2-3M. Stock-based compensation expense was $1.85M for the half-year, and the company has no authorized share-repurchase plan, so capital returns to shareholders are limited to a small dividend. Internal-control disclosures and audit opinion appear clean (Deloitte & Touche LLP, dated March 5, 2026). What is not directly observable is the precise economics of recent acquisitions and the track record of integration; we note that goodwill is $133.2M and intangible assets are $81.5M against stockholders' equity of $312.3M, so M&A is a material part of the balance sheet that has not been audited for impairment in this filing cycle.
Valuation and What the Market Already Expects
The dated market capitalization is $1,608,777,591 at $94.62 per share on 17,002,511 shares outstanding as of the cover page, which is more than 20% above the deterministic base scenario fair value. The valuation analysis uses $27.5M of trailing free cash flow as a base and assumes a multi-year compounding path; the implied growth rate the market is paying for sits well above the company's recent operating growth, meaning a buyer at $94.62 is underwriting sustained free-cash-flow expansion rather than the current run rate. On a trailing-twelve-month operating-cash-flow-to-market-cap basis, the cash-flow yield is in the low single digits, which by itself argues that the price already reflects a normalization of growth and margins.
The qualitative signal is that the market is pricing Allient as a mid-cycle compounder with re-accelerating free cash flow, not as the modestly improving business the filings document. We do not produce an independent fair-value range in this section. As of the market-data date of September 7, 2026, the dated price sits well above the deterministic base scenario, and the conclusion in this article reflects that gap.
Ten-Year Cash Flow to Fair Market Value
The starting free cash flow is the normalized SEC cash-flow proxy, while every growth rate, discount rate and terminal rate below is an explicit editorial assumption rather than company guidance. Each annual cash flow is forecast and discounted separately; terminal value is year-ten free cash flow multiplied by one plus terminal growth, divided by discount rate minus terminal growth, and then discounted back ten years. Fair market capitalization equals that explicit ten-year present value plus discounted terminal value and a same-date balance-sheet adjustment when available. If current cash and debt facts do not share one report date, the table shows the adjustment as unavailable and conservatively applies zero. The share count is derived from the dated market capitalization and share price so US shares and foreign ADRs use a consistent traded-security denominator.
Year | Bear FCF | Base FCF | Bull FCF |
|---|---|---|---|
1 | $27M | $28.6M | $30.3M |
2 | $26.4M | $29.8M | $33.3M |
3 | $25.9M | $31M | $36.7M |
4 | $25.4M | $32.3M | $40.4M |
5 | $24.9M | $33.6M | $44.4M |
6 | $25.3M | $34.6M | $46.6M |
7 | $25.6M | $35.6M | $49M |
8 | $26M | $36.7M | $51.4M |
9 | $26.3M | $37.8M | $54M |
10 | $26.7M | $38.9M | $56.7M |
Scenario | Growth years 1–5 / 6–10 | Discount | Terminal | 10-year PV | Terminal PV | Balance-sheet adjustment | Fair market cap | Fair value/share | Margin of safety | Terminal share |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Bear | -1.9% / 1.4% | 11.0% | 2.0% | $153M | $106M | -$131M | $128M | $7.55 | -1153.8% | 41.0% |
Base | 4.1% / 3.0% | 9.0% | 3.0% | $212M | $282M | -$131M | $363M | $21.4 | -343.0% | 57.1% |
Bull | 10.1% / 5.0% | 8.5% | 3.5% | $278M | $519M | -$131M | $665M | $39.1 | -141.8% | 65.2% |
In the reverse-DCF, holding the 9% discount rate and 3% terminal growth fixed, and solving only for one constant growth rate rather than using the base-case growth path, the current market capitalization implies roughly 20.2% annual free cash flow growth for ten years. This is a sensitivity framework, not a price target: the terminal-value share shows how strongly each result depends on assumptions beyond the explicit forecast. Negative margin of safety means the current market capitalization exceeds the scenario value.
Five Value-Investing Lenses
Benjamin Graham Lens
Graham's test asks whether a security trades below a conservatively estimated intrinsic value with margin of safety, and whether the balance sheet can absorb a downturn. Allient carries $173.3M of long-term debt against $42.1M of cash for a net debt of $131M, and stockholders' equity of $312.3M against $214.6M of goodwill and intangibles, so tangible book value is $97.7M, well below the dated market capitalization. Free cash flow yield is in the low single digits on the dated price, which is the opposite of a Graham-style bargain. The shares fail the downside and margin-of-safety floor at the current price.
Benjamin Franklin Lens
Franklin's modern application is thrift, discipline, compounding, and opportunity cost. The company is funding growth internally, paying down debt, and returning a small dividend rather than buying back stock, which is a disciplined pattern that respects opportunity cost. Capital expenditure is rising ($7.07M in the half-year against $3.19M a year ago) and management expects $12-15M for the full year, a reasonable pace for a manufacturer of this size. For an outside investor, however, the discipline of management does not change the fact that the dated price already capitalizes much of the future compounding, so the opportunity cost of buying at $94.62 is high.
Warren Buffett Lens
Buffett's lens emphasizes owner economics, moat, integrity, and capital allocation. Owner earnings here are best approximated by the accounting free-cash-flow proxy of $27.5M trailing, which on the dated market capitalization yields a sub-2% cash-flow yield, far below what a Buffett-style compounder typically requires. Capital allocation shows discipline (debt paydown, small dividend, no buybacks), and management has a long-tenured CEO and CFO structure. The moat evidence, however, is limited to engineering-driven customer qualification, which is supportive but not extraordinary, and the price paid today compresses the margin of safety to a single-percent cash-flow yield.
Charlie Munger Lens
Munger would invert: what could permanently destroy value here? The most plausible inversion is a working-capital-led cash-flow squeeze combined with a covenant trip, since the leverage ratio covenant sits at 3.75:1.0 and management had to negotiate temporary increases through 2025; though the company was in compliance at June 30, 2026, the buffer is not large. A second inversion is integration risk from $214.6M of goodwill and intangibles, where an impairment would directly hit book value. A third is end-market cyclicality, especially in Industrial (49.7% of the quarter) and Vehicle (16.2%), where a downturn would compress both revenue and margins simultaneously.
Li Lu Lens
Li Lu's circle of competence, culture, durable advantage, and risk-control tests apply here with mixed results. The company operates in engineered motion components, which is a competence circle most retail investors do not have deep familiarity with; we lack scuttlebutt evidence on customer stickiness. Culture is inferable from the disclosure cadence and the long tenure of senior leadership, both of which look professional. Durable advantage is plausible in Aerospace & Defense and Medical (qualification cycles) but uncertain in Industrial. Permanent-loss control is moderate because debt is moderate and cash is positive, but the dated price has minimal margin of safety, which is the central Li Lu concern.
Risks, Disconfirming Evidence, and What Would Prove This Thesis Wrong
The first thesis breaker is a sustained compression in trailing-twelve-month free cash flow below $20M, which would imply either a working-capital squeeze or a margin reset and would force a downward re-rating. The second thesis breaker is a covenant trip on the leverage ratio, which sits at 3.75:1.0 after temporary relief through 2025; a breach would be observable in subsequent filings and would force management to curtail capital returns or pursue dilutive equity. The third thesis breaker is a goodwill or intangible-asset impairment on the $214.6M of such assets on the balance sheet, which would signal that prior acquisitions did not deliver expected returns.
The most likely wrong assumption is that recent gross-margin expansion is sustainable; a 170-basis-point move from 33.2% to 34.9% could partially reverse if input costs or mix shifts, so we treat it as a working hypothesis. Opportunity cost matters: even if the deterministic base scenario is conservative, the dated price implies a substantially more aggressive compounding path than the filings support, and a buyer is therefore taking on a lot of embedded optimism. Evidence that would force a re-rating upward includes sustained free-cash-flow growth at or above the high-single-digit rate, working-capital normalization (receivables and inventories turning faster), and operating-margin expansion toward the mid-teens.
Investment Conclusion
Allient is a small-cap industrial business with an improving operational profile: revenue is up 10.2% in the second quarter, gross margin has expanded 170 basis points, and operating income has grown 33.7%, but operating cash flow is being absorbed by working-capital build, and trailing free cash flow of $27.5M is small relative to the dated market capitalization of $1.61 billion at $94.62 per share. The dated market price sits more than 20% above the deterministic base scenario, the cash-flow yield is in the low single digits, and the implied growth rate the market is underwriting sits well above what the filings document. We rate the shares Overvalued and would need to see sustained free-cash-flow growth and working-capital normalization before revisiting; the educational disclaimer at the foot of this article applies to all figures herein.
*This article is for educational and informational purposes only and does not constitute investment advice, an offer to buy or sell, or a recommendation of any security. Past performance is not indicative of future results. All figures are drawn from publicly filed SEC documents and a dated market snapshot; readers should consult a qualified financial professional and conduct their own analysis before making any investment decision.*
Share this article







