The Quarter in Context

Illustration for Dutch Bros: Premium Multiple on a Growing Drive-Thru Bet: Dutch Bros. Coffee (2869850734).jpg

Dutch Bros reported second-quarter 2026 revenue of $550.9 million, up about 32% from $415.8 million in the year-ago quarter, and net income attributable to the company of $37.4 million versus $25.6 million a year earlier. Revenue split between company-operated shops at $510.0 million and franchising and other at $40.8 million. Operating income reached $70.4 million in the quarter, a 28.8% year-over-year gain. The headline growth is genuine, but it must be read alongside the prior-year base: revenue in the same quarter of 2025 was already 17% above the comparable 2024 quarter, so the latest reading continues a multi-year compound pattern rather than a sudden acceleration.

The trailing-twelve-month operating cash flow figure is $365.7 million, while trailing capital expenditure is $270.7 million, producing a free-cash-flow proxy of roughly $95 million. A balance-sheet test using June 30, 2026 data shows $268.6 million of cash and equivalents versus $198.5 million of total debt, leaving a small net-cash position of about $70 million. The dated market snapshot places the equity market capitalization at about $8.9 billion against this modest net-cash cushion. This is not the picture of a financially distressed or undervalued small-cap; it is the picture of a growth-priced name whose cash generation is still being absorbed by shop expansion.

Business Model and Profit Engine

The customer pays directly at the drive-thru window, mostly for customizable espresso, energy, tea and refreshment beverages, with a smaller food attachment. Roughly 50% of menu mix is coffee-based, 25% is the Dutch Bros Rebel energy platform, and the remaining 25% is teas, lemonades, smoothies, sodas and a select food line. The Dutch Rewards app accounted for approximately 72% of transactions in 2025, up from 68% in 2024, providing the company with a recurring engagement channel and a deferred-revenue balance from unredeemed points and stored value. Revenue is overwhelmingly transactional and same-day, although the loyalty float creates a small deferred-revenue pool of $53.7 million at quarter end.

The principal revenue engine is the company-operated shop, which contributed $510.0 million in the quarter at a segment gross margin of 24.2% (before depreciation and amortization, the segment-contribution margin was 30.6%). Franchising and other contributed $40.8 million at a 68.0% gross margin (70.8% contribution margin). Together these convert into an operating margin of about 12.8% in the quarter and roughly 9.6% on a trailing-twelve-month basis. Variable costs are dominated by beverage inputs (coffee, dairy, energy drinks) and hourly labor in approximately 27,000 workers, while fixed costs include shop-level rent, depreciation and corporate overhead. The company has explicit pricing power to offset commodity inflation, having raised menu prices and adjusted the loyalty program, though it warns that further price increases could pressure demand.

Capital intensity is high: trailing capital expenditure of $270.7 million equals roughly 14% of trailing revenue, reflecting new shop construction and refranchising acquisitions. Working capital is a minor element, with $18.9 million of receivables and $41.3 million of inventory against $44.3 million of payables. Lease right-of-use assets of $984 million and lease liabilities of just over $1.0 billion make the income statement more rent-sensitive than a typical QSR. A material data gap is that the filings do not separate maintenance from growth capital expenditure, so the free-cash-flow proxy here mixes both. An observable condition that would weaken the profit engine is sustained dairy, coffee or labor inflation combined with consumer pushback on further price increases.

Earnings Quality and Cash Conversion

Where the issuer reports cash flow and capital expenditure cumulatively, the standalone-quarter cash-flow figures are derived by subtracting the preceding cumulative filing. They are calculations from SEC facts rather than separately reported quarterly line items. Reported earnings have improved in quality directionally. Net income for the quarter rose 46.0% year over year, faster than operating income growth of 28.8%, partly because the prior-year quarter carried a $2.0 million debt-refinancing charge that did not recur. Stock-based compensation of $6.9 million in the quarter (1.2% of revenue) is modest but rising, and the trailing figure of $21.3 million is up roughly 47% year over year. The income statement is GAAP and unaudited for the quarter but prepared on a basis consistent with the audited 2025 10-K.

Cash conversion is the most important fact for the value investor. Operating cash flow of $112.2 million in the quarter and $196.9 million for the six-month period is healthy, but trailing capital expenditure of $270.7 million exceeds trailing operating cash flow by an unusually wide margin once normalized for seasonality, leaving a free-cash-flow proxy of only $95 million on a trailing-twelve-month basis. In other words, the business is funding its own expansion from cash flow but with little cushion at the current reinvestment pace. Deferred revenue declined $10.7 million in the first half, which is a small negative use of operating cash. The accounting free-cash-flow proxy should not be confused with a maintenance-capex owner-earnings figure, because the filings do not separate the two.

Business Quality, Moat, and Industry Position

Dutch Bros operates in the U.S. drive-thru beverage quick-service-restaurant industry and competes with national coffee chains, regional coffee concepts and energy-drink retailers. The disclosed competitive moat evidence is limited to what the filings actually state: a customized menu built around hand-crafted preparation, a proprietary energy platform (Dutch Bros Rebel), a 25-state footprint with 1,225 shops at quarter end (888 company-operated, 337 franchised), and a digital loyalty program whose share of transactions has climbed from 68% to 72% in a single year. The 2024 launch of order-ahead functionality is described as a throughput tool.

These features are real but contestable. Coffee is a crowded category, and the filing itself lists menu-labeling laws, GRAS reform, food-dye regulation and GLP-1-related consumption shifts among the risks that could compress demand or require costly reformulation. Supplier concentration is not separately disclosed in the cited excerpts, and peer economics are not disclosed in the available evidence, so claims of structural advantage should be treated as author inference rather than filing fact. The supply-chain position is that of a downstream brand operator with midstream coffee roasting in Grants Pass, Oregon and Melissa, Texas, depending on upstream commodity inputs (coffee, dairy, energy). The company is an important participant in its niche rather than an indispensable bottleneck; substitutability of coffee and energy drinks is high, and qualification barriers are modest. The most concrete moat signal in the filings is the loyalty penetration, which is observable and growing, not a vague brand claim.

Management and Capital Allocation

The same management team that executed the IPO and the 2025 refinancing continues to run the company; Christine Barone is CEO, Joshua Guenser is CFO and Travis Boersma is Executive Chairman. Capital allocation in the first half of 2026 was weighted toward growth: $129.3 million of property and equipment purchases, $19.8 million for the acquisition of franchise assets, distributions of $16.9 million to non-controlling-interest holders, and $14.0 million in payments under tax-receivable agreements, with no announced buyback or dividend program. The credit facility was refinanced in May 2025 and now carries floating-rate exposure partially hedged by interest-rate swaps.

The dual-class structure and the large tax-receivable-agreement liability of $973 million at quarter end are governance items that the value investor should not ignore. Voting control resides with the Class B holders, while public Class A holders bear most of the economic risk of expansion. Equity-based compensation is rising faster than revenue, which is a mild dilution signal even though the absolute amount is small. No open-market share repurchase program has been disclosed, so management has not signaled a view that the equity is undervalued at current prices.

Valuation and What the Market Already Expects

The dated market capitalization is approximately $8.9 billion and the closing price is $51.01 per Class A share as of August 12, 2026. Trailing revenue is $1.88 billion and trailing operating income is $180.2 million, implying a price-to-sales multiple near 4.7 and a trailing operating-income multiple near 49.4. The accounting free-cash-flow proxy of $95 million on a trailing basis represents a free-cash-flow yield of roughly 1.1% against the dated equity value, or about 1.0% against an enterprise value that nets out the modest cash position.

A reverse-look-through question follows naturally: what normalized free-cash-flow generation does the dated price require to be reasonably supported? The deterministic base scenario embedded in the available calculation implies normalized free cash flow that, even a decade out, remains a fraction of what a single-digit cash-flow yield on the dated equity capitalization would require. Stated qualitatively, the dated market capitalization is materially above the deterministic base fair market value, which means the market is already discounting an aggressive multi-year compounding path. Without that compounding, the dated price has limited downside protection. The dated snapshot does not by itself justify a "fairly valued" label, and the publication guardrail applies: the shares are best characterized as overvalued at this entry point relative to the deterministic base.

Ten-Year Cash Flow to Fair Market Value

The starting free cash flow is the normalized SEC cash-flow proxy, while every growth rate, discount rate and terminal rate below is an explicit editorial assumption rather than company guidance. Each annual cash flow is forecast and discounted separately; terminal value is year-ten free cash flow multiplied by one plus terminal growth, divided by discount rate minus terminal growth, and then discounted back ten years. Fair market capitalization equals that explicit ten-year present value plus discounted terminal value and a same-date balance-sheet adjustment when available. If current cash and debt facts do not share one report date, the table shows the adjustment as unavailable and conservatively applies zero. The share count is derived from the dated market capitalization and share price so US shares and foreign ADRs use a consistent traded-security denominator.

Year

Bear FCF

Base FCF

Bull FCF

1

$0.1B

$0.1B

$0.1B

2

$0.1B

$0.1B

$0.1B

3

$0.1B

$0.1B

$0.2B

4

$0.1B

$0.2B

$0.2B

5

$0.1B

$0.2B

$0.2B

6

$0.1B

$0.2B

$0.2B

7

$0.1B

$0.2B

$0.3B

8

$0.1B

$0.2B

$0.3B

9

$0.1B

$0.2B

$0.3B

10

$0.2B

$0.2B

$0.3B

Scenario

Growth years 1–5 / 6–10

Discount

Terminal

10-year PV

Terminal PV

Balance-sheet adjustment

Fair market cap

Fair value/share

Margin of safety

Terminal share

Bear

7.0% / 3.0%

11.0%

2.0%

$0.7B

$0.6B

$0.1B

$1.4B

$8.19

-522.9%

45.3%

Base

13.0% / 6.5%

9.0%

3.0%

$1.1B

$1.7B

$0.1B

$2.9B

$16.43

-210.5%

62.1%

Bull

19.0% / 8.4%

8.5%

3.5%

$1.4B

$3.1B

$0.1B

$4.6B

$26.15

-95.1%

69.2%

In the reverse-DCF, holding the 9% discount rate and 3% terminal growth fixed, and solving only for one constant growth rate rather than using the base-case growth path, the current market capitalization implies roughly 25.4% annual free cash flow growth for ten years. This is a sensitivity framework, not a price target: the terminal-value share shows how strongly each result depends on assumptions beyond the explicit forecast. Negative margin of safety means the current market capitalization exceeds the scenario value.

Five Value-Investing Lenses

Benjamin Graham Lens

Graham would test balance-sheet resilience and a margin of safety. The balance sheet shows $268.6 million of cash and $198.5 million of total debt for a net-cash position of about $70 million, and stockholders' equity of $797.7 million at June 30, 2026. The defensive cushion is real but small relative to the dated equity capitalization of $8.9 billion. Graham would also insist on a margin between price and a conservative estimate of normalized earning power. With trailing diluted EPS of about $0.75, a simple price-to-earnings test using a normalized earnings figure does not clear Graham's margin-of-safety bar, and the deterministic base fair market value is materially below the dated price. The pass-or-fail judgment is that the dated price fails Graham's downside floor.

Benjamin Franklin Lens

Franklin's modern application is thrift, discipline and the opportunity cost of capital. The company is investing heavily: trailing capital expenditure of $270.7 million exceeds trailing free-cash-flow generation of $95 million, implying that growth is partly being funded by retained earnings, lease obligations and deferred revenue rather than surplus cash. There is no dividend, no announced repurchase and no signal from management that the equity is undervalued. The opportunity cost of owning Dutch Bros at the dated price is the return available on businesses that already produce more free cash flow per dollar of market capitalization. On the available evidence, that opportunity cost is unfavorable, and Franklin-style discipline would direct capital elsewhere until the entry price falls.

Warren Buffett Lens

Buffett would focus on owner economics and capital allocation. The free-cash-flow proxy of about $95 million on a trailing basis, when treated as an upper bound on owner earnings given undisclosed maintenance needs, would support a fair market capitalization well below $8.9 billion under most reasonable capitalization rates. Capital allocation has been heavily skewed to growth and refranchising, with no shareholder returns, which is acceptable only if growth yields high incremental returns on invested capital; that incremental return is not disclosed in the filings. The dual-class structure and the $973 million tax-receivable-agreement liability are additional drags on the equity story. On a Buffett lens, the dated price does not offer the margin of safety he requires.

Charlie Munger Lens

Munger would invert: how does this investment permanently lose money? The plausible paths are a sharp consumer slowdown in the U.S. quick-service beverage category, sustained commodity inflation that menu prices cannot offset, regulatory pressure on ingredients or labeling that forces costly reformulation, and a credit tightening that raises the floating-rate interest expense on the term loan. The most likely wrong assumption is that current revenue growth of about 32% is a steady-state proxy rather than a base-period artifact. Opportunity cost remains the same as the Franklin conclusion. Munger would also flag the dual-class voting structure and the large TRA liability as incentives to over-invest in growth rather than return capital.

Li Lu Lens

Li Lu would test the circle of competence, culture and durable advantage. The business is understandable: a drive-thru beverage retailer with a customizable menu and a growing digital loyalty program. The culture evidence is observable in the loyalty penetration (72% of transactions in 2025, up from 68% in 2024) and the employee base of about 27,000 hourly workers. What Li Lu would emphasize, however, is permanent-loss risk: a crowded category, modest qualification barriers, regulatory exposure to GRAS reform and food-dye restrictions, and a balance sheet whose small net-cash cushion would not absorb a multi-year operating setback. Without a clear margin of safety at the dated price, this name sits at the edge of his circle of competence for entry today.

Risks, Disconfirming Evidence, and What Would Prove This Thesis Wrong

Prominent growth narratives can amplify attention bias and the price investors are willing to pay before cash flows arrive. That does not negate the operating evidence, but it raises the burden of proof for valuation and makes execution shortfalls more costly. Three observable thesis breakers would force a re-evaluation. First, a multi-quarter deceleration of company-operated same-shop sales combined with negative menu-mix shift toward lower-margin items would invalidate the 32% revenue growth in the quarter. Second, a sustained rise in commodity or labor costs that outpaces the company's demonstrated menu-price flexibility would compress the 30.6% contribution margin in company-operated shops. Third, a regulatory shift such as a binding GRAS or food-dye restriction that requires costly reformulation across the menu would change the cost structure and could compress traffic.

Disconfirming evidence already present in the filings is more limited than a buyer might hope. The filings do not disclose supplier concentration, same-shop sales for the quarter, shop-level economics beyond the contribution margin, or a peer benchmark. The most likely wrong assumption is that the quarter's 32% revenue growth reflects steady-state economics rather than the combination of shop growth, refranchising acquisitions and pricing actions. Reversing the conclusion would require a much lower dated market capitalization, a clearly positive free-cash-flow yield relative to the dated equity value, or a durable margin expansion not visible in the current filings.

Investment Conclusion

The dated market capitalization of about $8.9 billion is materially above the deterministic base fair market value, the trailing free-cash-flow proxy of roughly $95 million offers a yield near 1.0% against enterprise value, and the base-case implied growth path does not bridge to the dated price on its own. Growth is real and operating execution is credible, but the entry price already discounts an aggressive multi-year compounding path that the valuation analysis does not support. The disciplined judgment is that Dutch Bros is overvalued at this entry point and is best treated as a watchlist candidate rather than a purchase today.

---

Educational use only. This article is not investment advice and should not be relied on for any investment decision.

Share this article

FacebookX

4 sources

Sources