The Quarter in Context

CDW closed its second fiscal quarter of 2026 with net sales of $6,572.2 million versus $5,976.6 million a year earlier, a 10.0% reported increase (9.9% on a constant-currency basis over an equal 64 selling days). Operating income reached $428.6 million against $420.2 million, and diluted EPS rose to $2.15 from $2.05. For the six months ended June 30, 2026, net sales were $12,252.0 million (+9.6%) and net income reached $509.8 million (+2.8%). The growth was supported by what management describes as customer-driven stocking positions and higher hardware cost.
Beneath the income-statement stability, the working-capital line behaved unusually. The filing reports six-month operating cash flow of $219.7 million, down from $443.1 million a year ago, and discloses that accounts receivable absorbed $1,054.0 million while merchandise inventory absorbed $418.3 million during the half; accounts payable-trade provided $896.2 million. The cash conversion cycle lengthened to 21 days from 16 days, driven by 13 extra days of sales outstanding and 3 extra days of inventory, partially offset by 11 extra days of payables. Q2 standalone operating cash flow of −$55.1 million (derived by subtracting the reported Q1 figure of $274.8 million from the reported six-month cumulative $219.7 million) shows the swing concentrated in the most recent quarter.
Business Model and Profit Engine
CDW is a multi-brand value-added reseller of IT hardware, software, and integrated solutions, positioned between approximately 1,000 vendor partners (including Adobe, Cisco, Dell Technologies, HP, IBM, Lenovo, Microsoft, and Nvidia) and more than 250,000 business, government, education, and healthcare customers across the United States, United Kingdom, and Canada. Customers pay CDW to simplify technology procurement and deployment; CDW adds value through approximately 10,500 customer-facing coworkers including sellers, specialists, and engineers, and through services such as integration, configuration, and managed services wrapped around third-party products. Revenue is therefore predominantly transactional product resale augmented by attached services and multi-year managed and professional services contracts, with $205.8 million of remaining performance obligations beyond twelve months as of June 30, 2026.
In Q2 2026, gross profit of $1,319.8 million on $6,572.2 million of net sales produced a 20.1% gross margin, slightly above the 20.8% Q1 figure and consistent with the prior-year Q2 20.8%. Cost of sales of $5,252.4 million reflects product cost as the dominant variable input. Selling and administrative expenses of $891.2 million are largely fixed-ish relative to headcount; that produced a 6.5% operating margin versus 7.0% a year ago, with $30.4 million of additional SG&A absorbing most of the gross-profit gain. Segment economics by customer vertical are not disclosed for the recast 2026 segments (Commercial, Government, Education) at the line-item level in the excerpt available, so relative contribution by end-market is a data gap rather than an inferred answer. The absence of segment-level operating margin in the available filings excerpts limits cross-subsidy analysis; this is a labeled disclosure gap.
Capital intensity is low: capital expenditures of $27.5 million (cumulative six-month basis for Q2) on $12.3 billion of six-month revenue imply annual capex intensity well under 1%. Working capital is the binding capital constraint, not fixed assets. Inventory of $981.8 million, accounts receivable of $7,343.7 million, and accounts payable-trade of $5,117.4 million fund a net working-capital posture that expands with revenue. Pricing power is constrained: gross margins are dictated by vendor partner pricing programs and competitive intensity, not end-customer pricing freedom; CDW competes in highly fragmented markets of thousands of resellers. Observable conditions that would weaken the profit engine include vendor program changes, faster customer migration to direct OEM cloud subscriptions that bypass resellers, and continued cash-conversion-cycle elongation that consumes liquidity.
Earnings Quality and Cash Conversion
Where the issuer reports cash flow and capital expenditure cumulatively, the standalone-quarter cash-flow figures are derived by subtracting the preceding cumulative filing. They are calculations from SEC facts rather than separately reported quarterly line items. Reported net income of $274.4 million for Q2 2026 (six-month $509.8 million) converts to operating cash flow of $219.7 million for the half, an 86% trailing-twelve-month ratio that looks acceptable at the headline level. The cleaner test is the trailing-twelve-month free-cash-flow proxy: operating cash flow of $981.8 million minus capital expenditure of $121.6 million yields $860.2 million, well above the Q2 standalone calculation but well below net income of $1,080.3 million over the same window. The gap between trailing-twelve-month net income and trailing-twelve-month free-cash-flow proxy is roughly $220 million, or about 20% of net income, and is driven by working-capital absorption rather than non-cash charges. This is an accounting free-cash-flow proxy; the filing does not separate maintenance from growth capex, so the limitation of that proxy is acknowledged.
The Q2 standalone cash-flow figure is a derived number; subtracting the Q1 reported $274.8 million operating cash flow from the reported six-month cumulative $219.7 million yields −$55.1 million. That derivation is mechanical, not a separately reported quarterly line. The cause disclosed in the filing is the same one driving the longer cycle: accounts receivable and inventory build exceeded payables growth in the most recent quarter. Non-cash items were modest: depreciation and amortization of $150.2 million for the six months, equity-based compensation of $50.2 million, and provision for credit losses of $13.9 million. Working-capital sensitivity to revenue mix is the single most important earnings-quality observation here.
Business Quality, Moat, and Industry Position
On the available evidence, the company is best described as an important participant, not a demonstrated core supply-chain bottleneck. This classification describes strategic position only; it is not independent proof of a moat or valuation upside. CDW describes itself as positioned in the middle of the IT ecosystem, providing access to over 250,000 customers for vendor partners and a vendor-neutral, multi-brand product set for customers. The observable moat evidence is breadth rather than depth: more than 1,000 vendor relationships, five US customer channels each generating over $1.7 billion in 2025 net sales, more than 10,500 customer-facing coworkers, and a presence in approximately 150 countries. Switching costs for customers exist but are modest; customers could in principle buy directly from OEMs or other resellers. Vendor partner dependence is acknowledged as a risk factor, including reliance on key partners for product availability and program economics.
Industry structure is highly fragmented and competitive, with thousands of IT resellers and solutions providers, and CDW competes with direct vendor sales channels, other resellers, and emerging cloud marketplaces. Net sales to government and education customers historically peak in the second and third quarters due to buying patterns, providing some seasonality but not material cyclicality on a consolidated basis. The new three-segment structure effective January 1, 2026 (Commercial, Government, Education) followed a quantitative goodwill impairment test under the new reporting units; no impairment was recorded, indicating book value remains supported by estimated fair value.
Management and Capital Allocation
CDW is led by Chair, President and Chief Executive Officer Christine A. Leahy and Chief Financial Officer Albert J. Miralles, both signatories to the most recent Form 10-K and Form 10-Q. Capital allocation is observable and shareholder-friendly in form. During the six months ended June 30, 2026, the company repurchased 4.5 million shares for $544.7 million under a buyback program, and on May 13, 2026 announced a $1.0 billion incremental authorization leaving approximately $1,138 million remaining. Quarterly dividends of $0.630 per share were paid in both Q1 and Q2 2026, with another $0.630 declared on August 5, 2026. Dividends paid in cash totaled $160.9 million for the six months.
Leverage is meaningful. Total unsecured indebtedness stood at $5.8 billion as of June 30, 2026, including $1,000 million of 2.670% senior notes maturing December 2026, $600 million of 4.250% notes due April 2028, $500 million of 3.276% notes due December 2028, $700 million of 3.250% notes due February 2029, $600 million of 5.100% notes due March 2030, $1,000 million of 3.569% notes due December 2031, and $600 million of 5.550% notes due August 2034, plus a $634.5 million term loan and a $175.0 million revolver draw, all senior unsecured and maturing 2030. A $1.7 billion borrowing-availability cushion exists under the revolver. The $1.0 billion 2026 maturity is the most obvious refinancing event, and the qualitative implication is that management must either repay from operating cash plus revolver capacity or refinance in the public market; refinancing risk is therefore a near-term item to monitor.
Management commentary on transformation initiatives, workplace optimization, and acquisition integration suggests a cost-discipline program is in flight, but the cost-discipline narrative is non-audited management expectation, not verified earnings power.
Valuation and What the Market Already Expects
As of September 1, 2026, CDW shares traded at $148.45 with a market capitalization of $18.56 billion and approximately 125.0 million shares outstanding. Trailing-twelve-month diluted EPS was $8.23, implying a trailing P/E of roughly 18.0 times on reported earnings. The reverse-DCF logic embedded in the dated market capitalization, given a base-case normalized free cash flow of $860.2 million, is that the market is pricing roughly mid-single-digit annual cash-flow growth sustained over the next decade. The market appears to be rewarding CDW's scale and customer breadth rather than pricing the stock as a deep cyclical value play.
In the qualitative valuation context: the dated market capitalization is materially above the deterministic base scenario, which means the market is requiring bull-case operating assumptions to justify the equity at current levels. Net cash adjustment was not included in the equity bridge because same-date cash and short-term investments were unavailable, so the enterprise-value-to-equity bridge relies on the listed total debt of $5,817 million against June 30, 2026 cash of $361.8 million. The valuation burden, therefore, is that investors are paying for execution rather than for a margin of safety.
Ten-Year Cash Flow to Fair Market Value
The starting free cash flow is the normalized SEC cash-flow proxy, while every growth rate, discount rate and terminal rate below is an explicit editorial assumption rather than company guidance. Each annual cash flow is forecast and discounted separately; terminal value is year-ten free cash flow multiplied by one plus terminal growth, divided by discount rate minus terminal growth, and then discounted back ten years. Fair market capitalization equals that explicit ten-year present value plus discounted terminal value and a same-date balance-sheet adjustment when available. If current cash and debt facts do not share one report date, the table shows the adjustment as unavailable and conservatively applies zero. The share count is derived from the dated market capitalization and share price so US shares and foreign ADRs use a consistent traded-security denominator.
Year | Bear FCF | Base FCF | Bull FCF |
|---|---|---|---|
1 | $0.843B | $0.895B | $0.946B |
2 | $0.826B | $0.93B | $1.04B |
3 | $0.81B | $0.968B | $1.14B |
4 | $0.793B | $1.01B | $1.26B |
5 | $0.778B | $1.05B | $1.39B |
6 | $0.788B | $1.08B | $1.45B |
7 | $0.798B | $1.11B | $1.53B |
8 | $0.809B | $1.14B | $1.6B |
9 | $0.82B | $1.18B | $1.68B |
10 | $0.831B | $1.21B | $1.77B |
Scenario | Growth years 1–5 / 6–10 | Discount | Terminal | 10-year PV | Terminal PV | Balance-sheet adjustment | Fair market cap | Fair value/share | Margin of safety | Terminal share |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Bear | -2.0% / 1.3% | 11.0% | 2.0% | $4.78B | $3.32B | N/A (treated as $0) | $8.09B | $64.7 | -129.4% | 41.0% |
Base | 4.0% / 3.0% | 9.0% | 3.0% | $6.62B | $8.8B | N/A (treated as $0) | $15.4B | $123 | -20.4% | 57.1% |
Bull | 10.0% / 5.0% | 8.5% | 3.5% | $8.66B | $16.2B | N/A (treated as $0) | $24.8B | $199 | 25.3% | 65.1% |
In the reverse-DCF, holding the 9% discount rate and 3% terminal growth fixed, and solving only for one constant growth rate rather than using the base-case growth path, the current market capitalization implies roughly 6.0% annual free cash flow growth for ten years. This is a sensitivity framework, not a price target: the terminal-value share shows how strongly each result depends on assumptions beyond the explicit forecast. Negative margin of safety means the current market capitalization exceeds the scenario value.
Five Value-Investing Lenses
Benjamin Graham Lens
CDW's balance sheet at June 30, 2026 carries $361.8 million in cash against $5,817 million of total debt (current debt of $1,008.9 million plus long-term debt of $4,808.1 million), and tangible book value is deeply negative once goodwill of $4,652.1 million and intangibles of $1,095.7 million are excluded, leaving negative tangible book value of approximately −$3,305.7 million on stockholders' equity of $2,442.1 million. On a strict Graham tangible-asset test, the equity is supported almost entirely by goodwill and intangibles rather than by liquid asset value, which fails the classic net-net discipline. The current ratio is roughly 1.17 times ($9,680.5 million current assets against $8,296.4 million current liabilities), and the $1.0 billion 2026 maturity is the principal short-term balance-sheet pressure point. The dated price of $148.45 does not, on this lens, provide a margin of safety backed by tangible assets.
Benjamin Franklin Lens
The capital-allocation pattern is the practical test of Franklin-style thrift and discipline. During the six months ended June 30, 2026, CDW deployed $544.7 million to buy back stock, $160.9 million to dividends, and $53.9 million to capex, against $219.7 million of operating cash flow, a deficit of more than $500 million funded by working-capital expansion and revolver borrowing. Buybacks at prices well above the deterministic base-case fair value per share are not necessarily a sin if the long-run cash engine supports them, but the arithmetic here is that 2026 buyback velocity materially exceeds trailing-twelve-month free-cash-flow generation. The opportunity-cost test is whether the same dollars would compound better inside the business through margin expansion, debt reduction ahead of the 2026 maturity, or working-capital efficiency investment.
Warren Buffett Lens
On owner economics, the trailing-twelve-month accounting free-cash-flow proxy of $860.2 million is the headline cash number, but it is an accounting proxy because the filings do not separate maintenance from growth capex; that limitation is acknowledged rather than glossed over. The owner's earnings question for CDW is whether normalized cash earnings grow from here or whether the 10% top-line growth in Q2 2026 is partly absorbed by working capital and leaves flat real cash generation. The $4,808.1 million of long-term debt at a blended coupon of roughly 4% is a meaningful claim ahead of equity holders. Capital allocation under the buyback program is returning capital at full price rather than at a discount to intrinsic value, which is the wrong direction when intrinsic value is well below market.
Charlie Munger Lens
Incentive alignment is partially visible. Equity-based compensation of $50.2 million for the six months (approximately $100 million annualized) is a real cost and a dilution offset, but is moderate relative to revenue and is consistent with mid-cap executive pay. The new segment structure effective January 1, 2026 was preceded by a quantitative goodwill impairment test that resulted in no impairment, which is what management would want but is also what a well-aligned team should produce when the business is stable. The inversion question is what would prove the thesis wrong: a vendor partner such as Microsoft or Cisco moving more of its commercial motion to direct subscription sales and bypassing resellers is the most obvious structural threat, and there is no filing evidence that resellers are being insulated from that risk.
Li Lu Lens
Circle-of-competence framing: CDW is a transparent, well-disclosed business whose economics are intelligible from the 10-K and 10-Q. The durability test is whether scale advantages with 250,000 customers and 1,000 vendor partners translate into pricing power; the evidence in Q2 2026 is that gross margins held at about 20%, while SG&A pressure kept operating margins roughly flat. Culture evidence is observable in the consistent disclosure cadence, the orderly debt maturity schedule, and the predictable quarterly dividend. The permanent-loss risk is not bankruptcy but rather secular obsolescence if hyperscalers and OEMs compress the value-added reseller layer; that risk is not quantified in the available filings, which is the main gap.
Risks, Disconfirming Evidence, and What Would Prove This Thesis Wrong
Three observable thesis breakers are stated. First, a vendor partner such as Microsoft, Cisco, or Dell materially shifting commercial motion to direct cloud subscription sales that bypass resellers, compressing CDW's addressable market faster than the filing currently describes. Second, the cash conversion cycle extending materially beyond the 21-day June 30, 2026 reading, signaling either working-capital deterioration or end-customer stress; the second-quarter standalone operating cash flow of −$55.1 million (derived) is a warning flag in that direction. Third, the $1.0 billion 2.670% senior notes maturing December 2026 not being refinanced on terms that preserve or improve the company's weighted-average cost of debt; any refinancing at materially higher spreads would compress owner cash earnings.
The most likely wrong assumption is that 10% revenue growth and roughly flat operating margins translate into commensurate free-cash-flow growth; the six-month operating cash flow decline of $223.4 million year over year, driven by accounts receivable and inventory build, is the visible counter-evidence. Disconfirming evidence already on the page: TTM operating cash flow fell 135% year over year to $981.8 million from a different prior base (computed), and Q2 standalone operating cash flow turned negative. Management's non-GAAP adjustments including workplace optimization of $44.2 million and transformation initiatives of $18.2 million for the six months are not normalized earnings power; they are management adjustments whose recurrence is not assured.
Investment Conclusion
The dated market capitalization of $18.56 billion at $148.45 per share on September 1, 2026 sits meaningfully above the deterministic base-case fair market value of approximately $15.42 billion and substantially above the bear-case approximation of $8.09 billion; the deterministic base scenario implies roughly a 20% overpayment versus fair value, which does not satisfy the margin-of-safety test. The conclusion is therefore that CDW is Overvalued at the dated price. The underlying business is a high-quality, capital-light distribution platform with diversified end-markets, predictable end-customer relationships, and shareholder-friendly capital allocation in form, but the entry price already credits the company with bull-case operating assumptions and leaves little margin for the working-capital normalization that the Q2 2026 cash-flow swing suggests is underway.
For a public reader: this analysis is for educational and informational purposes only, is not investment advice, and should not be relied on as a recommendation to buy or sell any security. The valuation analysis scenarios are illustrative model outputs, not stated forecasts, and all forward-looking statements are subject to risks and uncertainties beyond what any single quarter can reveal.
Share this article







