The Quarter in Context

Chilled Coca Cola bottles and cans surrounded by ice cubes, offering a refreshing beverage choice.

For the thirteen weeks ended July 3, 2026, Coca-Cola Consolidated reported net sales of $2,052.4 million, up 10.6% from $1,855.5 million in the prior-year quarter, and net income of $158.8 million, down 15.2% from $187.4 million. The revenue expansion came from pricing and product mix within an established bottling territory, not from new geographies, and operating income of $271.3 million was essentially flat year over year. Higher interest expense and a $24.7 million mark-to-market charge on acquisition-related contingent consideration compressed reported earnings even as gross margin held close to the prior-year 38% level.

The more consequential change occurred outside the income statement. On November 7, 2025 the Company repurchased all of The Coca-Cola Company's stake for $2.40 billion in cash, funded by a bridge loan that was subsequently replaced with two term loan facilities. Total debt ended the quarter at $2,513.1 million and stockholders' equity was a deficit of $500.1 million, with retained earnings negative at $586.9 million. The second quarter also produced $215.4 million of operating cash flow against $84.2 million of capital expenditure, an internally generated cushion that has not, however, restored the balance sheet to its pre-repurchase posture.

Business Model and Profit Engine

The customer is the regional retailer, restaurant, workplace, and foodservice outlet that places orders through the Company's replenishment model; the Company is not the final demand creator for its principal products. Approximately 85% of bottle/can volume to retail customers consists of products of The Coca-Cola Company, which owns the concentrate formulas; another 15% or so consists of products licensed from Monster Energy and Keurig Dr Pepper. The Company buys concentrate, syrup, sweetener and other finished goods from The Coca-Cola Company; more than 80% of payments flowing to The Coca-Cola Company represent these components and run through cost of sales. Final demand is consumer purchase of branded beverages, and the Company's economic role is local manufacturing, distribution, customer account management, and in-store merchandising execution within an exclusive territory granted under the Comprehensive Beverage Agreement.

Revenue is overwhelmingly transactional: roughly 99% of net sales are point-in-time bottle/can and post-mix deliveries, with the remainder covering sales to other bottlers, transportation, and equipment maintenance. There is no subscription layer and no meaningful recurring-revenue annuity. Pricing is set locally but constrained by the incidence-based pricing agreement with The Coca-Cola Company, and almost all of the Company's cost of sales reflects pass-through concentrate costs dictated by its supplier rather than the bottler. Consequently, gross profit per case reflects a contractual spread, not discretionary margin expansion, and operating leverage is positive mainly when price/mix improvements outrun fixed delivery and overhead costs.

Fixed costs are dominated by selling, delivery and administrative expenses ($507.1 million in the quarter), property, plant and equipment net of $1,638.9 million, and $147.4 million of first-half additions to property, plant and equipment earmarked for supply-chain optimization. Working capital uses cash, primarily in accounts receivable and inventory, and the Company explicitly relies on a supply chain finance program and negotiated payment-term extensions to manage that drag. Capital intensity is therefore high: the trailing-twelve-month operating cash flow of $946.3 million was consumed by $302.3 million of capex and $1,260.5 million of fixed-asset carrying cost. Net income is converted to free cash flow at roughly a 70% ratio over the trailing year, but the conversion depends on a $78.1 million non-cash fair-value adjustment on contingent consideration that will not reverse in cash, and on the level of acquisition-related sub-bottling payments to CCR (Coca-Cola Refreshments USA, LLC), which the Company estimates at $70 million to $80 million annually for 2026. Segment contribution, customer concentration, and unit economics below the bottled/can split are not disclosed in the available filings, and that gap limits the resolution of any downstream economics.

Observable conditions that would weaken this profit engine include: (i) any decrease in marketing-funding support from The Coca-Cola Company below historic levels, (ii) sustained input cost inflation that cannot be passed through because of consumer price sensitivity, (iii) further concentration of buying power among large retail customers, and (iv) interest-rate increases, given that a 100-basis-point move now translates to roughly $6.9 million of incremental annual interest expense.

Earnings Quality and Cash Conversion

Where the issuer reports cash flow and capital expenditure cumulatively, the standalone-quarter cash-flow figures are derived by subtracting the preceding cumulative filing. They are calculations from SEC facts rather than separately reported quarterly line items.

Trailing-twelve-month operating cash flow of $946.3 million exceeded trailing net income of $550.0 million, which on the surface signals cash conversion above 100%. That gap, however, is heavily supported by the $78.1 million non-cash fair-value adjustment on contingent consideration and by $115.1 million of depreciation and amortization, both of which add back to net income without producing liquidity. The $131.1 million second-quarter free cash flow (calculated as operating cash flow of $215.4 million minus capital expenditure of $84.2 million) implies a 6.4% free-cash-flow margin for the quarter and approximately $644.0 million on a trailing basis, a thinner cushion than the headline operating-cash-flow figure suggests.

The condensed cash flow statement also reveals that $275.0 million was used to repay term loan principal in the first half of 2026, financed from operating activities; this is a real cash use that the earnings-quality lens must accommodate. Working capital absorbed an additional $39.7 million in operating cash adjustments during the first half, and the Company continues to extend supplier payment terms and operate a supply chain finance program to stretch liquidity. Inventory rose to $371.2 million from $336.4 million at year-end 2025 and accounts receivable, trade, rose to $709.0 million from $585.8 million, both of which tie up cash as volume scales.

Stock-based compensation is not separately disclosed within the freshness window of the available XBRL facts, so the author cannot add it back to convert reported net income to a clean operating-cash equivalent. Net income therefore remains a noisy proxy for cash earnings, and the operating-cash-flow line is the more reliable input for valuation. The Company labels its $2.4 billion November 2025 share repurchase as fully completed, eliminating The Coca-Cola Company's prior ownership stake and further concentrating voting control with the founding family.

Business Quality, Moat, and Industry Position

On the available evidence, the company is best described as an important participant, not a demonstrated core supply-chain bottleneck. This classification describes strategic position only; it is not independent proof of a moat or valuation upside.

Coca-Cola Consolidated is the largest Coca-Cola bottler in the United States and operates in 14 states plus the District of Columbia; that scale is its primary structural advantage. Exclusive territorial rights granted under the Comprehensive Beverage Agreement with The Coca-Cola Company and CCR create a regulated monopoly-style franchise, but the franchise is granted, not owned: it carries minimum capital-expenditure and volume obligations, change-of-control restrictions, and termination triggers that mean Coca-Cola Consolidated cannot be characterized as an independent moat-builder. Distribution agreements with Monster Energy and Dr Pepper, as well as memberships in CONA Services LLC and Coca-Cola Bottlers' Sales & Services Company LLC, are similarly contractual and revocable.

The Company's defensible position is logistic: a fixed-cost manufacturing and route-to-market network that is costly to replicate. Property, plant and equipment of $1,638.9 million, intangible distribution-agreement and customer-list assets of $758.4 million, and goodwill of $165.9 million together reflect a footprint with measurable replacement cost. Brand equity, however, belongs almost entirely to The Coca-Cola Company; Coca-Cola Consolidated's pricing power is correlated with that brand, and concentrate pricing is set under the incidence-based agreement. Industry position is therefore that of a critical midstream operator whose relationships are long-dated and whose margins are tied to a single supplier's commercial decisions. Within the consumer staples complex, the Company is not a brand owner and would not attract a brand-style multiple.

Management and Capital Allocation

J. Frank Harrison, III, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, controls approximately 78% of total voting power through Class B Common Stock; the Common Stock trades without voting rights of comparable magnitude, leaving public holders with a minority voice on governance outcomes. The Long-Term Performance Equity Plan compensates Mr. Harrison based on Company performance measures set by the Compensation Committee, with $4.0 million of compensation expense in the second quarter and $6.2 million in the first half.

The principal capital-allocation decision of the past year was the $2.40 billion repurchase of The Coca-Cola Company's stake, funded primarily with new term loans. As of July 3, 2026, $136.3 million remained authorized under the Share Repurchase Program, down from the original $1.00 billion authorization and a reduction to $400.0 million taken in November 2025. Dividends paid totaled $33.3 million in the first half of 2026, a per-share rate of $0.25 per quarter unchanged from the prior year. Capital expenditure is guided at approximately $300 million for full-year 2026, consistent with the trailing run-rate of $302.3 million.

The repurchase extinguishes The Coca-Cola Company's equity stake, which can be read as either consolidation of family governance or removal of a strategic-aligned owner; the consequence for the public shareholder is higher financial leverage and a larger deficit in stockholders' equity without a commensurate increase in operational scale. The Company remains in compliance with its consolidated cash flow/fixed charges and funded indebtedness/cash flow covenants, and credit ratings stand at Baa1 (Moody's, Stable) and BBB+ (S&P, Negative). The negative outlook at S&P is observable discipline feedback from a rating agency regarding the post-repurchase leverage profile.

Valuation and What the Market Already Expects

At a closing price of $194.13 on September 1, 2026, the dated market capitalization is approximately $12.92 billion against a current free-cash-flow yield, on trailing free cash flow of $644.0 million, of roughly 5.0%. The market-priced outcome, before discounting any growth, is therefore a starting claim on roughly one-twentieth of equity value per year in cash, a yield level more typical of mature consumer staples than of growth businesses. Reverse-engineering the dated price back to a growth assumption is the responsibility of the valuation analysis that follows, not of this paragraph.

What the market must already be assuming, qualitatively, is sustained mid-single-digit free-cash-flow growth on top of the $644.0 million base, plus a multiple expansion from the current cash-flow yield, to justify the spread between the dated share price and a baseline growth path. The diluted share count expanded modestly in the second quarter (basic shares of 56.5 million plus 10.0 million of Class B versus a weighted-average diluted Common Stock figure of 66.6 million), so the dated per-share figures should be read against the issued-share total rather than the weighted-average figure. A standalone-quarter price-to-earnings calculation is not reported here because trailing-twelve-month earnings are the correct denominator, and that figure would mix a quarter whose interest expense was elevated by the repurchase financing.

Net cash at the same date is unavailable as a current balance-sheet calculation; long-term debt of $2,413.1 million and current portion of debt of $100.0 million are sourced to July 3, 2026, but same-date cash and a complete net-cash adjustment are not present in the calculation block, so the analysis refrains from stating a numeric net-debt figure here.

Ten-Year Cash Flow to Fair Market Value

The starting free cash flow is the normalized SEC cash-flow proxy, while every growth rate, discount rate and terminal rate below is an explicit editorial assumption rather than company guidance. Each annual cash flow is forecast and discounted separately; terminal value is year-ten free cash flow multiplied by one plus terminal growth, divided by discount rate minus terminal growth, and then discounted back ten years. Fair market capitalization equals that explicit ten-year present value plus discounted terminal value and a same-date balance-sheet adjustment when available. If current cash and debt facts do not share one report date, the table shows the adjustment as unavailable and conservatively applies zero. The share count is derived from the dated market capitalization and share price so US shares and foreign ADRs use a consistent traded-security denominator.

Year

Bear FCF

Base FCF

Bull FCF

1

$0.633B

$0.671B

$0.71B

2

$0.622B

$0.7B

$0.783B

3

$0.611B

$0.73B

$0.863B

4

$0.6B

$0.761B

$0.951B

5

$0.589B

$0.793B

$1.05B

6

$0.598B

$0.817B

$1.1B

7

$0.606B

$0.841B

$1.16B

8

$0.615B

$0.866B

$1.21B

9

$0.624B

$0.892B

$1.27B

10

$0.632B

$0.919B

$1.34B

Scenario

Growth years 1–5 / 6–10

Discount

Terminal

10-year PV

Terminal PV

Balance-sheet adjustment

Fair market cap

Fair value/share

Margin of safety

Terminal share

Bear

-1.8% / 1.4%

11.0%

2.0%

$3.61B

$2.52B

N/A (treated as $0)

$6.14B

$92.2

-110.6%

41.1%

Base

4.2% / 3.0%

9.0%

3.0%

$5B

$6.66B

N/A (treated as $0)

$11.7B

$175

-10.7%

57.1%

Bull

10.2% / 5.0%

8.5%

3.5%

$6.54B

$12.3B

N/A (treated as $0)

$18.8B

$282

31.3%

65.2%

In the reverse-DCF, holding the 9% discount rate and 3% terminal growth fixed, and solving only for one constant growth rate rather than using the base-case growth path, the current market capitalization implies roughly 5.0% annual free cash flow growth for ten years. This is a sensitivity framework, not a price target: the terminal-value share shows how strongly each result depends on assumptions beyond the explicit forecast. Negative margin of safety means the current market capitalization exceeds the scenario value.

Five Value-Investing Lenses

Benjamin Graham Lens

Graham's tests begin with balance-sheet resilience and end with a margin between price and intrinsic value. Coca-Cola Consolidated carries $2,513.1 million of total debt and a stockholders' deficit of $500.1 million, with negative retained earnings of $586.9 million, after funding the November 2025 share repurchase. That post-transaction capital structure is the opposite of a Graham-style net-cash anchor; a Graham screener would flag the absence of tangible book value support. Even though interest coverage and covenant compliance are intact, the structural balance-sheet posture offers no cushion to a sustained decline in operating cash flow, and the dated market capitalization of approximately $12.92 billion trades at a multiple of tangible assets that depends entirely on the bottling franchise's continued renewal by The Coca-Cola Company. Margin of safety, on the evidence available, is not present.

Benjamin Franklin Lens

Franklin's lessons on thrift and compounding emphasize opportunity cost and the avoidance of unproductive financial engineering. The November 2025 repurchase of The Coca-Cola Company's stake for $2.40 billion represents an opportunity-cost trade-off that converted liquidity and future cash flexibility into a one-time reduction of share count, leaving the Company with $2.5 billion of debt at rates that the filings show have already raised second-quarter interest expense to $30.5 million, more than five times the prior-year figure of $5.9 million. The discipline test is whether the acquired earnings yield on the repurchase exceeds the after-tax cost of the new debt; with trailing free cash flow of $644 million and a Company that buys back shares at a market multiple, the arithmetic is not self-evidently accretive. Franklin would also warn that recurring capital expenditure of approximately $300 million annually, plus debt service and dividends, leaves little slack for compounding under any operating disappointment.

Warren Buffett Lens

Buffett's frame is owner economics and the distinction between a business that earns through pricing power and one that earns through operational scale. Coca-Cola Consolidated is operationally large but lacks the brand pricing power that The Coca-Cola Company itself enjoys; its margin is gated by what an upstream supplier charges under the incidence-based pricing agreement. Capital allocation under management has been aggressive, with the $2.4 billion repurchase representing most of two years of operating cash flow deployed in a single transaction. Buffett would examine the rate of return on incremental invested capital and would ask whether management, having concentrated voting control with the founding family, has the right incentives for capital stewardship on behalf of public holders. The answer available by the filings is mixed: performance-equity compensation aligns Mr. Harrison with equity performance, but the negative S&P outlook and the leverage step-up are observable watchpoints.

Charlie Munger Lens

Munger would invert the question and ask what could break the thesis. The most plausible permanent loss is a multi-year reduction in marketing-funding support from The Coca-Cola Company below historic levels; the filings flag this explicitly as a forward-looking risk. Second, a sustained period of concentrate cost inflation combined with consumer price resistance could compress gross profit per case below the contractual spread, with operating leverage then amplifying the decline. Third, customer concentration in the form of large national accounts managed by The Coca-Cola Company could erode regional pricing if those accounts continue to consolidate. Munger would also press on incentives: a controlling shareholder, an executive equity plan, and related-party leases from an entity majority-owned by the same controlling shareholder are observable features that warrant skepticism about minor related-party transactions, even when individually immaterial.

Li Lu Lens

Li Lu's circle-of-competence test asks whether the durable advantage is intelligible and whether the permanent loss of capital can be controlled. Coca-Cola Consolidated's territory-based franchise is intelligible, but the durability is contractual rather than structural and depends on The Coca-Cola Company's continued willingness to renew the Comprehensive Beverage Agreement; that dependency sits outside the public shareholder's control. The leverage step-up and the equity-deficit position introduced by the November 2025 transaction elevate the probability of permanent capital impairment if free cash flow contracts for any extended period. From a cultural vantage point, the Company discloses a long-standing dividend policy and a founding-family stewardship ethos, but the related-party lease with Beacon Investment Corporation and the executive compensation plan tied to the same controlling shareholder are observable overlays that, while disclosed, warrant careful reading rather than automatic trust. The circle of competence is the bottling economics; the durability is conditional.

Risks, Disconfirming Evidence, and What Would Prove This Thesis Wrong

Prominent growth narratives can amplify attention bias and the price investors are willing to pay before cash flows arrive. That does not negate the operating evidence, but it raises the burden of proof for valuation and makes execution shortfalls more costly.

Three observable thesis breakers stand out. First, a multi-quarter decline in operating cash flow below approximately $400 million on a trailing basis would imply that the leverage taken on to fund the November 2025 repurchase is no longer covered by free cash generation; this would test covenant headroom and credit ratings. Second, any disclosure of a material decrease in marketing-funding support from The Coca-Cola Company, particularly below the levels described as historic in the forward-looking statements, would directly attack the bottler's gross-profit-per-case economics and reshape the growth assumption. Third, an unfavorable change in the Comprehensive Beverage Agreement terms, or any signs that The Coca-Cola Company is redirecting volumes away from Coca-Cola Consolidated, would undercut the territorial monopoly that anchors the franchise valuation.

Disconfirming evidence already in the record is the S&P negative outlook, the elevated second-quarter mark-to-market charge on contingent consideration that introduces non-cash earnings volatility, and the structural shift in working capital that is consuming operating cash. The most likely wrong assumption in any constructive case is that the historical revenue trajectory of 6% to 10% per year extrapolates without margin compression; the trailing-twelve-month operating margin is essentially flat year over year despite the volume growth, which is not the signature of a business with meaningful operating leverage in its current cost structure.

Investment Conclusion

The balance sheet no longer offers a Graham-style net-cash anchor, the revenue engine is sized for incremental volume rather than pricing-power growth, and the dated market capitalization of approximately $12.92 billion sits above the deterministic base case without an observable margin of safety. The most accurate description of the risk-adjusted opportunity on the available evidence is fairly valued with a negative bias, and the shares warrant continued monitoring rather than incremental accumulation. A reader looking for durable consumer-staples characteristics at a discounted price should treat Coca-Cola Consolidated as a watchlist name pending evidence of either a price retracement toward the deterministic fair-value range or an operational outcome that supports the bull-case compounding path.

*This analysis is for educational purposes only and is not investment advice. It relies on the SEC filings and market data cited above and reflects the author's interpretation at the date of publication. Past performance does not predict future results, and readers should consult their own advisors before making investment decisions. *

Share this article

FacebookX

4 sources

Sources