The Quarter in Context

For the three months ended July 4, 2026, Darling Ingredients reported total net sales of $1,724 million, up 16.4% from $1,482 million a year earlier. Net sales to the related party Diamond Green Diesel (DGD) jumped to $413 million from $292 million, and the equity-method pickup from DGD swung to $350 million from just $6 million, driven by sharply higher renewable diesel margins and a $97 million lower-of-cost-or-market inventory adjustment at the joint venture that did not recur this year. Cost of sales and operating expenses were $1,221 million, so gross profit reached $503 million, with selling, general and administrative expenses of $151 million and depreciation and amortization of $130 million completing the path to operating income of $555 million.
The quarter is best read as two stories stacked together. First, the legacy rendering and specialty ingredients franchise posted a steady, modestly improved result on higher volumes, partially offset by acquisition and integration costs of $13 million and restructuring charges of $4 million. Second, the DGD-related economics — direct sales plus the equity pickup — accounted for $764 million of revenue and $350 million of operating income, roughly 44% of revenue and 63% of operating income. That concentration is the single most important fact in the quarter, because it means reported operating income is heavily levered to a commodity-linked business and to U.S. biofuel policy support that the filing itself flags as a risk factor.
Business Model and Profit Engine
Darling operates three reportable segments. Feed Ingredients (animal by-product rendering, used cooking oil, bakery residuals, blood products, hides, pet-food proteins, organic fertilizers) generated $3,990 million or 65.0% of fiscal 2025 revenue. Food Ingredients (collagen, natural casings, food-grade fats, crude heparin) added $1,545 million or 25.2%, while Fuel Ingredients (the DGD equity pickup plus European biogas) contributed $601 million or 9.8%. Customers in each segment pay for ingredients that are largely commodity-priced, so revenue grows with raw material volumes and finished-product prices rather than with unique contracted pricing power.
Revenue converts to profit through a manufacturing chain. In Q2 FY2026, $1,221 million of cost of sales and operating expenses was charged against $1,724 million of revenue, producing $503 million of gross profit; selling, general and administrative expenses of $151 million, depreciation of $130 million, and $13 million of acquisition costs then left a core operating margin that was meaningfully inflated by the $350 million equity-method contribution from DGD. Within the consolidated franchise, fixed-cost components are plant and equipment of $2,828 million, goodwill of $2,554 million and intangibles of $822 million, plus a $2,586 million equity-method investment in DGD. The capital intensity is therefore real, and the depreciation line of $130 million in a single quarter illustrates why.
Who pays, and what they buy, varies by segment and is a filing fact rather than an inference: animal feed and pet-food producers buy fats and proteins; pharmaceutical, nutraceutical and food companies buy collagen and gelatin; sausage producers buy natural casings; and renewable diesel and SAF producers (notably the DGD joint venture) buy used cooking oil and animal fats as feedstock. The filing does not disclose segment-level operating margins, customer-by-customer concentration, or the breakdown between recurring and transactional revenue by segment, so segment economics beyond what is shown here are a data gap. Pricing power appears narrow: finished products are sold at prices prevailing at the time of sale, and foreign exchange, energy costs, and agricultural commodity prices all flow through results.
A key structural feature is the related-party flow. Darling sells feedstock to DGD at market terms and records its 50% share of DGD's net income on a single line; in Q2 FY2026, that line added $350 million to operating income on essentially no incremental cost, which is why operating margin jumped to 32.2% versus single digits a year earlier. The quarter also illustrates operating leverage in the rendering franchise — revenue grew 16% while gross profit grew roughly 45% — but most of that leverage came from DGD rather than from the legacy business. Reinvestment is heavy: $224 million of capital expenditures in the first half of FY2026 and $123 million of acquisitions, plus a $191 million increase in the DGD investment and a $122 million acquisition of UPI Bovinos NewCo, all flow through the investing section.
Earnings Quality and Cash Conversion
Where the issuer reports cash flow and capital expenditure cumulatively, the standalone-quarter cash-flow figures are derived by subtracting the preceding cumulative filing. They are calculations from SEC facts rather than separately reported quarterly line items. Reported earnings quality in Q2 FY2026 is distorted upward by the equity-method DGD line. Operating cash flow of $533 million (six-month cumulative) compares with net income to Darling of $522 million over the same span, so GAAP earnings and cash earnings look close in aggregate; however, the filing discloses that cash distributions from DGD were only $282 million in the six months, well below the $457 million of equity-method earnings, because roughly $175 million of DGD earnings are being reinvested in the joint venture. That gap is a quality flag: the equity-method pickup reflects accounting earnings that have not yet been turned into distributable cash.
Free cash flow for the first half of FY2026, computed as operating cash flow minus capital expenditures of $224 million, was approximately $462 million, but this is an accounting free-cash-flow proxy because the filing does not separate maintenance from growth capital spending. The trailing-twelve-month operating-cash-flow figure of $1,351 million and the annual capital-expenditure figure of $380 million imply a $971 million free-cash-flow proxy, which is what the dated market capitalization is implicitly anchored to. Working capital is a real use of cash: accounts receivable grew $51 million, inventories and prepaid expenses absorbed another $99 million, and accounts payable and accrued expenses only added $108 million, so the underlying business consumed some working capital in the period.
The balance sheet is leveraged. Goodwill and intangibles together equal $3,376 million, so tangible book value is approximately $1,930 million, a thin cushion if the legacy business deteriorates. The earnings quality caveat, then, is that the headline operating margin is meaningfully a function of a policy-supported biofuel joint venture and a working-capital build, both of which can reverse.
Business Quality, Moat, and Industry Position
On the available evidence, the company is best described as an important participant, not a demonstrated core supply-chain bottleneck. This classification describes strategic position only; it is not independent proof of a moat or valuation upside. Darling's moat is built on the logistical and regulatory difficulty of collecting animal by-products at scale. The filing describes a network of more than 150 processing and transfer facilities in the United States, six in Canada, and 81 international production facilities across five continents, plus long-standing supplier relationships with large slaughterhouses, grocery stores and food service establishments, and regulated routes for by-product collection that create natural barriers to entry. Customer switching costs are modest because finished fats, proteins, hides and bakery residuals are largely commodities, but the collection network itself is hard to replicate and is geographically anchored, which gives Darling a regional cost-of-collection advantage.
Food Ingredients adds a different kind of moat through specialty capability. Rousselot, Gelnex, CTH and the Sonac/FASA brands sit in markets such as collagen for pharmaceutical and nutraceutical use and natural casings for sausage production, where technical specification and quality consistency matter to buyers. These businesses are smaller than Feed Ingredients but produce higher unit value and tend to be stickier. The Fuel Ingredients segment is structurally different: it is a financial interest in DGD plus a small European biogas franchise, and the value Darling captures there is the equity-method earnings stream, which is heavily policy-dependent. The Inflation Reduction Act, the Clean Fuels Production Credit (CFPC), RIN values, and LCFS credits are explicitly named in the filing as drivers of DGD's results.
Industry structure is consolidated on the rendering side and competitive on the downstream side. The company is described as a leading provider in North America and as a worldwide leader in specialty ingredients, but no market-share figures are disclosed in the cited excerpts, and the renewable diesel market is described as policy- and margin-sensitive rather than as a structural moat. Substitute risk is real in the form of vegetable-oil-based feedstocks and competing rendering firms, and the filing notes unfavorable tariffs, currency moves, and disease outbreaks among the demand drivers. On balance, the moat is real but narrower than the headline growth suggests, because the growth is largely being delivered by DGD rather than by the legacy rendering franchise.
Management and Capital Allocation
Management's capital allocation in the first half of FY2026 tilted toward reinvestment and modest buybacks. The company spent $224 million on capital expenditures, paid $123 million for acquisitions including UPI Bovinos NewCo, contributed a net $141 million to the DGD investment (after a $50 million loan repayment), and returned $73 million to shareholders via repurchases — there were no dividends disclosed in the period. On August 5, 2026, the board refreshed and increased the buyback authorization to $1.0 billion from a prior authorization under which $387 million was still available. At the average second-quarter repurchase price of $62.22 per share, the new authorization represents a sizeable commitment in absolute terms, although it is a modest percentage of the dated market capitalization.
The accounting of stock-based compensation of $8.6 million in the quarter and $16.5 million for the half is small relative to a $13 billion enterprise, suggesting dilution from equity awards is not a major concern, although the company does issue non-vested stock and treasury shares totaling about 1.2 million in the quarter, consistent with mild dilution. Insiders purchased no shares under the program during the quarter apart from tax-withholding on awards, so the buybacks are clearly programmatic rather than insider-driven. Management's decision to refresh the buyback to $1.0 billion just as operating income was lifted by a policy-sensitive DGD pickup is a judgment call: the timing works as long as DGD's CFPC-driven economics persist.
The auditor is KPMG LLP, and the filing contains a clean opinion with no restatements or error corrections disclosed in the cited excerpts. Chief Executive Officer Randall C. Stuewe has signed CEO certifications under both Rule 13a-14(a) and Section 906 of Sarbanes-Oxley, and Chief Financial Officer Robert W. Day has done the same; both certifications were filed as exhibits with the 10-Q. On observable conduct, management has been disciplined in maintaining investment-grade financing arrangements and in not overpaying for the recent acquisition, but the cross-subsidy from the equity-method DGD line to consolidated earnings is the dominant feature, and the willingness to lean into share repurchases at the current price is a judgment call this analysis flags but does not endorse.
Valuation and What the Market Already Expects
Same-date cash and debt components are unavailable, so no current net-cash or net-debt adjustment is used in the valuation bridge. Using operating cash flow of $1,351 million over the trailing twelve months and capital expenditures of $380 million in the most recent reported annual figure, an accounting free-cash-flow proxy of approximately $971 million can be constructed. The dated share price of $60.01 against a dated market capitalization of $9,537 million implies a free-cash-flow yield near 10.2% on that proxy, before any adjustment for working capital, maintenance versus growth capital spending, or the gap between accounting earnings and distributable cash at DGD. On a trailing-twelve-month diluted EPS of $3.44, the dated price implies a price-to-earnings multiple near 17.4x, but this multiple is heavily a function of the policy-supported DGD pickup and is not a normalized earnings power figure.
With diluted weighted-average shares of 160.6 million in Q2 FY2026, the company's diluted share count has been roughly flat year over year, so dilution is not the main valuation concern. The qualitative reverse-DCF implication is that the dated price is consistent with the market expecting free cash flow to persist near today's level rather than to grow materially from it; any normalization that reverts to a pre-CFPC baseline would meaningfully compress that yield.
Ten-Year Cash Flow to Fair Market Value
The starting free cash flow is the normalized SEC cash-flow proxy, while every growth rate, discount rate and terminal rate below is an explicit editorial assumption rather than company guidance. Each annual cash flow is forecast and discounted separately; terminal value is year-ten free cash flow multiplied by one plus terminal growth, divided by discount rate minus terminal growth, and then discounted back ten years. Fair market capitalization equals that explicit ten-year present value plus discounted terminal value and a same-date balance-sheet adjustment when available. If current cash and debt facts do not share one report date, the table shows the adjustment as unavailable and conservatively applies zero. The share count is derived from the dated market capitalization and share price so US shares and foreign ADRs use a consistent traded-security denominator.
Year | Bear FCF | Base FCF | Bull FCF |
|---|---|---|---|
1 | $1.0B | $1.0B | $1.1B |
2 | $1.0B | $1.1B | $1.2B |
3 | $1.0B | $1.2B | $1.4B |
4 | $1.0B | $1.3B | $1.6B |
5 | $1.0B | $1.3B | $1.8B |
6 | $1.0B | $1.4B | $1.8B |
7 | $1.0B | $1.4B | $1.9B |
8 | $1.1B | $1.5B | $2.0B |
9 | $1.1B | $1.5B | $2.1B |
10 | $1.1B | $1.6B | $2.2B |
Scenario | Growth years 1–5 / 6–10 | Discount | Terminal | 10-year PV | Terminal PV | Balance-sheet adjustment | Fair market cap | Fair value/share | Margin of safety | Terminal share |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Bear | 0.5% / 2.2% | 11.0% | 2.0% | $6.0B | $4.4B | N/A (treated as $0) | $10.4B | $65.48 | 8.4% | 42.6% |
Base | 6.5% / 3.3% | 9.0% | 3.0% | $8.2B | $11.4B | N/A (treated as $0) | $19.6B | $123.27 | 51.3% | 58.0% |
Bull | 12.5% / 5.0% | 8.5% | 3.5% | $10.7B | $20.5B | N/A (treated as $0) | $31.2B | $196.35 | 69.4% | 65.7% |
In the reverse-DCF, holding the 9% discount rate and 3% terminal growth fixed, and solving only for one constant growth rate rather than using the base-case growth path, the current market capitalization implies roughly -4.4% annual free cash flow growth for ten years. This is a sensitivity framework, not a price target: the terminal-value share shows how strongly each result depends on assumptions beyond the explicit forecast. Negative margin of safety means the current market capitalization exceeds the scenario value.
Five Value-Investing Lenses
Benjamin Graham Lens
Graham's discipline is to test downside before upside. The dated price carries a market capitalization of $9.5 billion against tangible book value of approximately $1.9 billion, so the price-to-tangible-book multiple is elevated, but the franchise itself is profitable on a trailing basis and the balance sheet, while levered, has cash and undrawn capacity. The acid test is whether normalized earnings power is conservatively above the cost of debt and whether the price implies a margin of safety against a policy-driven earnings reversal. On a normalized free-cash-flow proxy near $971 million, the dated yield near 10% gives some cushion, but the dependency on DGD earnings and the goodwill-heavy balance sheet argue for caution.
Benjamin Franklin Lens
Franklin's discipline is thrift, compounding and opportunity cost. Capital expenditures of $224 million in the first half of FY2026 against $686 million of operating cash flow consumed roughly a third of cash generation, and acquisition spending plus DGD investment absorbed another large slice, so the saving rate — the share of earnings reinvested — is high. The opportunity cost question is whether the same capital would earn more deployed into the $1.0 billion buyback authorization at roughly $60 per share, or whether it should continue to fund expansion of DGD's renewable diesel capacity through equity contributions. The filing offers no answer; the analysis simply notes that the capital is being put to work rather than being hoarded.
Warren Buffett Lens
Buffett would focus on whether owner earnings support the enterprise value, whether the moat is durable, and whether capital allocation reflects long-term per-share thinking. Owner earnings here, computed conservatively as operating cash flow minus total capital expenditures, are approximately $971 million on a trailing basis, against an enterprise value of roughly $13 billion, giving an owner-earnings yield near 7.5%. The moat is real on the rendering side and narrow on the renewable diesel side, and capital allocation leans toward reinvestment plus modest repurchases rather than toward major M&A, which is consistent with long-term thinking. The largest owner-earnings caveat is the gap between DGD's accounting earnings and its cash distributions.
Charlie Munger Lens
Munger would invert the thesis: what has to be true for the dated price to be justified? The DGD joint venture has to keep earning at near-Q2 FY2026 levels, the Clean Fuels Production Credit and LCFS programs have to remain intact, and feedstock supply from the legacy rendering business has to remain stable. Inversion also asks what could break the thesis: a policy change that reduces the value of renewable diesel credits, a feedstock shock that compresses DGD margins, or a working-capital reversal that turns operating cash flow negative. The incentive check is that management compensation is performance-unit and restricted-stock-unit based, which aligns with long-term shareholder value, but the fresh $1.0 billion buyback at the current price is a meaningful judgment from management that the shares are undervalued.
Li Lu Lens
Li Lu would test whether the business sits inside his circle of competence, whether culture and capital allocation align with long-term holders, and whether a permanent loss is plausible. Darling is a specialized ingredients and rendering business with a biofuel joint venture, which is not a typical Li Lu circle-of-competence investment, but the underlying logic — feedstock collection at scale, regulated routes, and policy-supported renewable diesel — is intelligible to a careful generalist. The cultural test is harder from the cited excerpts: the filing notes a refreshed $1.0 billion buyback and clean auditor opinion, but it does not disclose founder control, insider ownership levels, or whether the board includes experienced operators in rendering or biofuels. Permanent-loss risk is moderate; the goodwill and intangibles balance of $3.4 billion is a real exposure if DGD's economics reverse, and policy reversals are explicitly listed as a risk factor.
Risks, Disconfirming Evidence, and What Would Prove This Thesis Wrong
Three observable thesis breakers stand out. First, a meaningful change in U.S. biofuel policy — the Clean Fuels Production Credit, the renewable fuel standard, RIN values, or the LCFS — would compress the DGD equity-method line, and that line alone contributed roughly $350 million of Q2 operating income. Second, a feedstock or commodity shock that reverses the working-capital build and compresses gross margin would reduce operating cash flow and push the free-cash-flow proxy below the level implied by the dated price. Third, an impairment of goodwill or intangibles, currently $3.4 billion, would signal that the legacy rendering franchise is not as durable as the headline growth suggests.
Observable indicators that would force a conclusion change include: DGD's operating income dropping back toward single-digit millions as it did a year ago, capital expenditures reverting to lower historical levels rather than the elevated $224 million half-year figure, and any disclosure of weakness in the underlying rendering volumes from U.S. meat production. The most likely wrong assumption is that the trailing free-cash-flow proxy is a steady-state number rather than a policy-elevated snapshot, and the opportunity cost is that capital locked into Darling at the dated price could have been deployed elsewhere with less policy exposure. The analysis therefore treats the dated price as fairly valued at best, with the upside depending on whether DGD's economics persist.
Investment Conclusion
The dated market capitalization of approximately $9.5 billion prices Darling Ingredients on a free-cash-flow yield near 10% and an enterprise value near 4.5x the trailing free-cash-flow proxy, which is a moderately attractive multiple before any adjustment for policy exposure, working-capital normalization, or the gap between DGD accounting earnings and cash distributions. On observable evidence, the business has three structural strengths — a regulated rendering network, specialty food-ingredient brands, and a 50% interest in a large renewable diesel joint venture — and three structural risks — policy reversal, commodity-cycle exposure, and a goodwill-heavy balance sheet. The fresh $1.0 billion buyback authorization is a vote of confidence from management that current cash generation persists.
For a value investor applying a margin-of-safety test, the dated price offers some cushion against a modest policy or commodity reversal but limited cushion against a full reversal of DGD's CFPC-supported economics. The thesis is most credible for an investor who believes the Clean Fuels Production Credit remains intact through 2027 and that the rendering franchise generates stable cash through the cycle; it is least credible for an investor who treats the trailing free-cash-flow proxy as a steady-state number. On balance, the dated price does not yet provide a wide enough margin of safety to be considered an attractive long-term buy, and the shares are best classified as worth watching until either the price softens or the policy backdrop is fully visible.
This analysis is provided for educational and informational purposes only and does not constitute investment advice, a recommendation, or a solicitation to buy or sell any security. All figures are drawn from public SEC filings and dated market data; forward-looking statements are those of the issuer and are subject to the risks identified in the filings.
Share this article







