The Quarter in Context

In the three months ended June 30, 2026, DoorDash reported $4,454 million of revenue, up about 36% from $3,284 million in the same quarter a year earlier. The headline growth figure is flattered by the October 2025 acquisition of Deliveroo, which has now been consolidated into the Marketplaces segment for two full quarters. Operating income for the quarter was $156 million, a 3.5% operating margin, only modestly above the $151 million earned in the first quarter of 2026. Net income attributable to common stockholders was $200 million, down from $285 million in the prior-year quarter; the decline was driven by a swing in the tax line and lower non-operating income rather than by a deterioration in operating profit, because operating income actually moved from $163 million to $156 million quarter over quarter.
The consolidated balance sheet at June 30, 2026 shows $4,424 million of cash and cash equivalents, $923 million of short-term investments and $2,727 million of convertible notes outstanding, with stockholders' equity of $9,921 million. Goodwill of $5,495 million and intangible assets of $2,005 million reflect the heavy acquisition history, including Deliveroo, Wolt and prior Commerce Platform deals. The accounting free-cash-flow proxy defined here as operating cash flow minus total capital expenditure was $883 million in the quarter and $2,595 million on a trailing-twelve-month basis. Share repurchases of common stock totaled $887 million in the quarter, bringing the six-months 2026 figure to $1,049 million; the trailing-twelve-month figure reported in XBRL company facts is the same $1,049 million, because no buyback cash outflow was disclosed in the second half of 2025.
The market capitalization on August 3, 2026 was $87,856 million at a last sale of $201.64. This is the entry price used for every valuation discussion that follows; no other market reference is substituted.
Business Model and Profit Engine
DoorDash makes money by charging merchants a percentage fee on each transaction facilitated through its Marketplaces and by charging consumers a fixed delivery fee plus a variable service fee. The Company also collects revenue from membership programs (DashPass, Wolt+, Deliveroo Plus), from advertising placed by merchants and consumer packaged goods companies, and from its Commerce Platform, which offers white-label delivery (Drive) and tools such as online ordering and store-management software. In the second quarter, $3,457 million of revenue came from the United States and $997 million from international markets, and no individual country outside the United States represented more than 10% of consolidated revenue.
Cost of revenue, which captures Dasher payments, payment-processing fees, certain merchant costs and hosting, was $2,107 million, or 47.3% of revenue. Sales and marketing was $821 million (18.4%), research and development was $535 million (12.0%), and general and administrative was $538 million (12.1%). Depreciation and amortization jumped to $295 million from $159 million in the prior-year quarter, a step-up largely tied to acquired intangibles from Deliveroo now being amortized through the income statement. The fixed-versus-variable split is not disclosed, but Dasher payments dominate cost of revenue and the depreciation base is small ($1,246 million of net property and equipment at June 30, 2026); the structure therefore looks low-fixed-cost and variable-heavy, which argues for positive operating leverage as incremental revenue scales, but the filings do not isolate the unit-level contribution margin. Capital intensity, measured by trailing-twelve-month capital expenditure of $235 million against revenue of $15,891 million, is modest at roughly 1.5%.
The profit engine is best described as a platform take-rate model with high incremental contribution but thin reported margins, because DoorDash is reinvesting aggressively in consumer acquisition and product development. The split between United States and international markets implies a cross-subsidy dynamic that the filings do not quantify: international growth is much faster (international revenue roughly doubled versus the prior-year quarter, while the consolidated revenue rose 36% ), but the cost of building delivery networks in new geographies typically exceeds the mature United States cost base. No segment-level gross margin or contribution margin is disclosed, so the segment economics inside Marketplaces versus Commerce Platform remain a data gap. Observable conditions that would weaken the profit engine include any sustained compression of take rates as competitors (Uber Eats, Amazon, regional incumbents) match DashPass-style discounts, a shift in Dasher classification from independent contractor to employee that would reclassify cost of revenue to payroll, and rising consumer acquisition costs that would push sales and marketing higher without offsetting revenue. The Deliveroo integration has so far expanded the topline without demonstrably expanding the operating margin, since the second-quarter operating margin of 3.5% is not visibly different from the prior-year quarter's level.
Earnings Quality and Cash Conversion
Where the issuer reports cash flow and capital expenditure cumulatively, the standalone-quarter cash-flow figures are derived by subtracting the preceding cumulative filing. They are calculations from SEC facts rather than separately reported quarterly line items.
Earnings quality is best assessed by comparing reported income to operating cash flow, because DoorDash carries material stock-based compensation and material depreciation tied to acquired intangibles. In the six months ended June 30, 2026, operating cash flow was $1,538 million against operating income of $307 million; on the second-quarter standalone derivation of $944 million of operating cash flow against $156 million of operating income, the spread reflects large non-cash items, principally stock-based compensation (six-months 2026 cash-flow SBC add-back of $580 million ) and depreciation and amortization (six-months 2026 of $564 million ), plus favorable working-capital movements in accrued expenses and contract liabilities. Trailing-twelve-month stock-based compensation was $1,114 million, or roughly 7.0% of revenue. That is a real economic cost that the cash flow statement effectively captures when shares are issued, so GAAP operating income understates the cash cost of paying the workforce in equity.
A simple accounting free-cash-flow proxy, defined as operating cash flow minus total capital expenditure, was $883 million in the second quarter and $2,595 million on a trailing-twelve-month basis. Capital expenditure, including capitalized software and website development costs, was $61 million for the quarter and $235 million trailing twelve months. The Company does not break out maintenance versus growth capital expenditure, so the proxy cannot be relabeled maintenance-capex owner earnings; it is an undifferentiated cash-flow number whose growth-versus-maintenance split is unverified. The free-cash-flow margin on a trailing-twelve-month basis was 16.3% ($2,595 million divided by $15,891 million ), well above the 4.5% trailing operating margin ($712 million divided by $15,891 million ). The gap is the visible hand of stock-based compensation and acquisition-related amortization depressing GAAP income relative to cash generation.
Working capital is not a meaningful drag: accounts receivable was $1,100 million, accounts payable was $301 million, and the Company runs a $5,747 million balance of accrued expenses and other current liabilities that likely includes Dasher payables and merchant obligations. Cash conversion is therefore healthy at the platform level, even if reported earnings look thin. The qualitative risk is that stock-based compensation continues to grow, having risen 23.8% in the trailing twelve months, which would over time dilute per-share free cash flow even as the total dollar number rises.
Business Quality, Moat, and Industry Position
The local-commerce delivery market is described in the filings as "intensely competitive and characterized by shifting user preferences, fragmentation, and frequent introductions of new services and offerings," with named competitors including Amazon, Uber Eats, Prosus, Delivery Hero and various regional incumbents. That language is consistent with a market that is large but contested, where scale advantages exist but are not unbreachable. DoorDash's primary constituencies are merchants (who supply supply), consumers (who pay delivery and service fees), and Dashers (who provide the fulfillment labor), and the platform's ability to attract all three simultaneously is what creates the network effect. The Deliveroo acquisition extended the network into new European geographies, which is a structural reach into markets where DoorDash previously had no presence, but it also makes the consolidated numbers harder to read.
Pricing power is exercised through take rates on merchants, variable service fees on consumers, and subscription pricing for DashPass and equivalents. The Company does not disclose average take rate, so it is not possible to tell from the filings whether take rates are expanding, stable, or compressing. The growth of advertising as a value-added service is a useful incremental margin lever because ads revenue typically carries higher contribution than transaction revenue, but the magnitude is not disclosed. Customer concentration is not a meaningful risk: there is no single merchant or consumer that the filings identify as material, and the December 2025 disclosure of over 56 million monthly active users and over 35 million paid-plus-trial membership accounts indicates broad demand-side diffusion. On the supply side, the Dasher base is similarly broad and structured as independent contractors, which limits DoorDash's labor commitment but exposes the platform to reclassification risk.
The moat evidence on the filings is therefore: (i) a multi-country logistics network with three brand surfaces (DoorDash, Wolt, Deliveroo) operating in over 40 countries, (ii) over 35 million paying or trialing membership accounts as of December 31, 2025, and (iii) a Commerce Platform that sells fulfillment services to merchants wanting their own-branded channel. What the filings do not establish with the available evidence is a bottleneck-level pricing position: substitutability is high (Dashers commonly multi-app, and competing platforms run comparable logistics), capacity elasticity is high (Dasher supply can be expanded or contracted quickly), qualification barriers to competing platforms are low (any merchant can list on multiple apps), supply is fragmented, and order visibility is limited (consumers can switch apps in a single tap). A multi-product local-commerce platform of this scale is an important participant in the value chain, but the current filings do not demonstrate bottleneck-level pricing power over merchants or Dashers, and the moat language should be read as descriptive rather than as audit-grade evidence of durable advantage.
Management and Capital Allocation
Management is led by co-founder and Chief Executive Officer Tony Xu, who signs both the 10-K and 10-Q filings and, through the multi-class common stock structure, retains the ability to determine or significantly influence stockholder outcomes even when owning well below a majority of capital stock. Chief Financial Officer Ravi Inukonda also signs the quarterly filing. Capital allocation in the first half of 2026 consisted of three streams: (i) ongoing integration of the Deliveroo acquisition closed in October 2025, (ii) share repurchases of $1,049 million in the six months ended June 30, 2026 (with $887 million of that executed in the second quarter alone), and (iii) capital expenditure, including capitalized software and website development of roughly $258 million in the first six months of 2026. The Company has not paid cash dividends and does not expect to in the foreseeable future.
A February 2025 board authorization of up to $5.0 billion in share repurchases was disclosed in the 2025 10-K. Of that authorization, $1,049 million had been deployed as of June 30, 2026, leaving $3,951 million of remaining authority at quarter-end. The second quarter of 2026 saw 5,651 thousand shares repurchased at an average price of $157.29 in May, with no repurchases in June. Buybacks at the $150–$157 strike compare to the August 3, 2026 price of $201.64, implying meaningful upside on the repurchase prints, which is favorable execution evidence on the program. Management also upsized the unsecured revolving credit facility from $800 million to $2.0 billion in August 2026, with no revolving loans drawn and $84 million of letters of credit issued, expanding liquidity capacity without raising structural leverage.
The observable conduct supports a discipline read: the Deliveroo acquisition was funded in 2025 (the $2,722 million of convertible note proceeds appeared in the prior-year six-months 2025 cash flow rather than the 2026 cash flow ), the buyback program accelerated only after the share price recovered, and the credit facility was upsized as dry-powder capacity rather than drawn balance. The unknown is whether the equity-linked instruments issued in mid-2025 will, at maturity, dilute common shareholders or be settled in cash; the filings flag the conditional conversion feature of the 2030 notes as a possible dilution path but not an immediate one.
Valuation and What the Market Already Expects
The dated market capitalization is $87,856 million against a dated last sale of $201.64 on August 3, 2026. On the trailing-twelve-month accounting free-cash-flow proxy of $2,595 million, the dated price implies a cash-flow yield of approximately 2.9% before any cash or debt adjustment. The Company held $4,424 million of cash and $923 million of short-term investments at June 30, 2026, against $2,727 million of convertible notes; same-date cash and debt components are not available, so the equity-value bridge leaves net cash as a separate analytical step from the dated price rather than incorporating a same-date adjustment. The qualitative read is that the market is pricing DoorDash for an extended period of cash-flow growth, while simultaneously tolerating a near-term operating margin in the low single digits. Because the conversion from GAAP income to free cash flow is dominated by stock-based compensation and acquired-intangibles amortization, any deterioration in either line compresses the per-share cash yield quickly. The dated price is best characterized as fairly demanding rather than cheap on this evidence.
Ten-Year Cash Flow to Fair Market Value
The starting free cash flow is the normalized SEC cash-flow proxy, while every growth rate, discount rate and terminal rate below is an explicit editorial assumption rather than company guidance. Each annual cash flow is forecast and discounted separately; terminal value is year-ten free cash flow multiplied by one plus terminal growth, divided by discount rate minus terminal growth, and then discounted back ten years. Fair market capitalization equals that explicit ten-year present value plus discounted terminal value and a same-date balance-sheet adjustment when available. If current cash and debt facts do not share one report date, the table shows the adjustment as unavailable and conservatively applies zero. The share count is derived from the dated market capitalization and share price so US shares and foreign ADRs use a consistent traded-security denominator.
Year | Bear FCF | Base FCF | Bull FCF |
|---|---|---|---|
1 | $2.8B | $3.0B | $3.1B |
2 | $3.0B | $3.4B | $3.8B |
3 | $3.3B | $3.9B | $4.5B |
4 | $3.5B | $4.4B | $5.4B |
5 | $3.8B | $5.1B | $6.5B |
6 | $3.9B | $5.4B | $7.1B |
7 | $4.0B | $5.8B | $7.8B |
8 | $4.2B | $6.2B | $8.5B |
9 | $4.3B | $6.6B | $9.3B |
10 | $4.4B | $7.1B | $10.2B |
Scenario | Growth years 1–5 / 6–10 | Discount | Terminal | 10-year PV | Terminal PV | Balance-sheet adjustment | Fair market cap | Fair value/share | Margin of safety | Terminal share |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Bear | 8.0% / 3.0% | 11.0% | 2.0% | $21.1B | $17.6B | N/A (treated as $0) | $38.7B | $88.80 | -127.1% | 45.6% |
Base | 14.3% / 7.0% | 9.0% | 3.0% | $30.5B | $51.4B | N/A (treated as $0) | $81.9B | $187.94 | -7.3% | 62.7% |
Bull | 20.3% / 9.3% | 8.5% | 3.5% | $40.0B | $93.0B | N/A (treated as $0) | $133.0B | $305.33 | 34.0% | 69.9% |
In the reverse-DCF, holding the 9% discount rate and 3% terminal growth fixed, and solving only for one constant growth rate rather than using the base-case growth path, the current market capitalization implies roughly 11.9% annual free cash flow growth for ten years. This is a sensitivity framework, not a price target: the terminal-value share shows how strongly each result depends on assumptions beyond the explicit forecast. Negative margin of safety means the current market capitalization exceeds the scenario value.
Five Value-Investing Lenses
Benjamin Graham Lens
The balance sheet is genuinely resilient: $4,424 million of cash plus $923 million of short-term investments exceeds the $2,727 million of convertible notes outstanding, and stockholders' equity of $9,921 million is supported by tangible book value well above zero because goodwill and intangibles only partially crowd out the asset side. Those resources would allow the Company to absorb several quarters of margin compression without distress. The dated free-cash-flow yield near 2.9% on the dated market capitalization, however, provides no quantitative margin of safety against a normalization of growth toward the bear-scenario path; Graham's distinction between investment and speculation would treat the absence of a buffer relative to bear outcomes as closer to speculation than to a quantitatively cheap equity.
Benjamin Franklin Lens
The discipline and opportunity-cost test asks whether each marginal dollar is being deployed productively. The Company spent $1,049 million on share repurchases in the first six months of 2026 and roughly $376 million on capital expenditure, including capitalized software and website development, while holding $5,347 million of cash and short-term investments at quarter-end. The opportunity cost of the cash hoard is the foregone return on deploying it into the buyback, which the Company is doing but only intermittently, with no June 2026 buybacks despite a rising price. The compounding implication is that steady deployment across quarters would likely be more value-accretive than concentrating purchases in a single mid-spring month.
Warren Buffett Lens
Buffett would frame DoorDash through an owner-earnings proxy, which is approximated here as trailing-twelve-month operating cash flow minus total capital expenditure, yielding an accounting free-cash-flow proxy of $2,595 million before any working-capital normalization. Against the dated equity value of $87,856 million, that is a roughly 3.0% owner-earnings yield before capital-allocation effects, with the same caveat that the filings do not separate maintenance from growth capital expenditure. The moat evidence is real (a global three-brand platform with over 35 million paying members ) but contested by Amazon, Uber Eats and regional players, which limits the certainty with which one can call it durable. Capital allocation has been mixed: the Deliveroo acquisition extends reach but inflates goodwill and intangibles to roughly $7,500 million, which is over one-third of total assets, and the buyback program is more aggressive in the second quarter than in the first, suggesting timing-driven rather than mechanical behavior.
Charlie Munger Lens
The Munger tests are incentives, inversion, and bias. Inversion: the most plausible permanent-loss path is that take-rate economics compress faster than the international footprint scales, and the Company ends up with three regional sub-scale networks rather than one global winner. Incentive alignment: Tony Xu retains founder voting control through Class B stock, which keeps long-term orientation but also concentrates governance; the Rule 10b5-1 trading plans adopted in May and June 2026 by the Chief Operating Officer, Chief Accounting Officer and Chief Business Officer are normal disclosures but show that insider equity sales are occurring even at the August 2026 price. Bias check: the accounting free-cash-flow proxy of $2,595 million is a generous framing because stock-based compensation is treated as a non-cash add-back when economically it is a real cost of labor.
Li Lu Lens
The Li Lu test asks whether the business sits inside the analyst's circle of competence and whether permanent loss of capital can be avoided. Local-commerce logistics is observable and comprehensible: restaurants, grocery, and convenience delivery to households, with three constituencies and a clear take-rate economics. The Company has a real durable advantage in the United States, where it has scale, but international growth is largely an integration bet on Deliveroo and Wolt, and the filings disclose that no single international country exceeds 10% of revenue, so the international footprint is still being built. Permanent-loss control requires that the 2030 convertible notes be settled in cash or refinanced before 2030 without forced equity issuance, which the filings flag as a contingent conversion risk. The cultural read is that founder-led governance and the mission framing around local economies support a long-duration orientation, but the absence of dividends and the reliance on stock-based compensation show that the Company is still in a reinvestment-heavy phase.
Risks, Disconfirming Evidence, and What Would Prove This Thesis Wrong
Prominent growth narratives can amplify attention bias and the price investors are willing to pay before cash flows arrive. That does not negate the operating evidence, but it raises the burden of proof for valuation and makes execution shortfalls more costly.
Editorially framed caveat: at a high profile of revenue growth in the press, the willingness of investors to pay ahead of cash can rise faster than the cash itself, which raises the burden of proof on any conclusion. The author treats that observation as framing, not as an audited signal.
Three observable thesis breakers would force a downward revision. First, any quarter in which international revenue growth materially decelerates below the trailing-ten-quarter trend would suggest that the Deliveroo integration is not generating the synergy management has described, which compresses the base-scenario fair value toward the bear case. Second, a regulatory or judicial event that reclassifies Dashers from independent contractors to employees would reclassify cost of revenue to payroll and almost certainly eliminate the current operating margin, which would simultaneously impair both the cash-flow yield and the equity story. Third, a sustained rise in stock-based compensation as a percentage of revenue, particularly beyond 8% on a trailing-twelve-month basis, would signal that equity dilution is outrunning operating cash creation and would compress per-share free cash flow regardless of total dollar growth.
The most likely wrong assumption is that trailing-twelve-month free cash flow is a reasonable proxy for steady-state cash generation. The $2,595 million trailing-twelve-month figure incorporates working-capital benefits and an effective-year weighting that may not repeat, and stock-based compensation growth of 23.8% year over year is a counter-pressure on per-share cash. The opportunity cost of owning DoorDash at $201.64 against a free-cash-flow yield of 2.9% is any other equity with similar growth at a higher yield or any fixed-income instrument with comparable duration.
Investment Conclusion
The dated price of $201.64 implies a market capitalization of $87,856 million, which sits within 20% of the deterministic base scenario fair value and well above the bear scenario. On the evidence available, DoorDash is fairly valued rather than cheap. The Company has a real global platform, a clean balance sheet, and an active capital return program, but operating margin remains in the low single digits, the free-cash-flow yield is roughly 2.9% on the dated market capitalization, and the dated price already prices in an extended period of cash-flow growth in the deterministic reverse-DCF. Until free-cash-flow margin expands visibly, the stock is worth watching rather than buying.
Disclaimer: This article is for educational and informational purposes only and does not constitute investment advice, an offer to buy or sell securities, or a recommendation to take any specific action. Past performance is not indicative of future results, and all forecasts and scenarios are illustrative rather than predictive.
Share this article







