The Quarter in Context

Datadog reported $1.121 billion of revenue for the three months ended June 30, 2026, up about 35.6% from $826.8 million a year earlier. Gross profit was $881.3 million, a 78.6% gross margin essentially flat versus the prior-year quarter's 79.9%. Operating income turned positive at $5.5 million against a $35.5 million loss a year earlier, and net income reached $44.6 million versus $2.6 million. The swing from operating loss to a small operating profit on a 35.6% revenue increase is real, but the bottom line remains thin, and a meaningful share of the earnings line rests on non-operating interest income of $49.5 million in the quarter.
The earnings print carries dilution that does not appear in the operating margin: diluted weighted-average shares of 371.0 million expanded about 3.4% from 358.7 million a year earlier. Stock-based compensation of $220.3 million in the quarter is a non-cash expense that dilutes existing shareholders while being added back in operating cash flow. Operating cash flow for the quarter was $315.9 million and capital expenditure was $9.9 million, producing an accounting free-cash-flow proxy of $306.0 million, a 27.3% margin on revenue. The qualitative read is that growth, gross margin and cash conversion are visible, but the gap between the cash measure and the GAAP measure is largely timing and non-cash add-backs, not earned economic profit at scale.
Business Model and Profit Engine
Datadog is a subscription software-as-a-service platform that sells recurring, usage-based observability and security products to enterprise customers running cloud-native and hybrid technology stacks. Customers pay for hosts, containers, logs, custom metrics and related telemetry ingested into the platform, which means revenue scales with each customer's consumption of cloud-native infrastructure. The platform integrates infrastructure monitoring, application performance monitoring, log management, user experience monitoring, cloud security and service management through a single agent. This consumption model is filing fact and explains why the deferred-revenue balance of $1.337 billion (current plus non-current) is larger than the accounts-receivable balance of $827.3 million, so customers prepay usage that is then recognized over the contract period.
Revenue becomes gross profit at roughly 78–80%, then drops sharply into operating profit at a thin margin, about 0.5% on Q2 2026 revenue of $1.121 billion. Operating expenses for the quarter were $875.9 million, with research and development at $478.0 million (about 42.6% of revenue), sales and marketing at $311.5 million (about 27.8% of revenue) and general and administrative at $86.4 million. R&D is the largest single fixed-cost engine and must amortize across a growing customer base to deliver the operating leverage the market expects; sales and marketing is the principal variable engine tied to customer acquisition. Working capital is favorable because deferred revenue exceeds accounts receivable, but the company does not disclose maintenance versus growth capital expenditure, so any claim about a maintenance-capex floor would be invention. The principal revenue engine disclosed is the consolidated platform; product-line or segment revenue is not separately broken out in the cited excerpts, which is a data gap. Customer concentration is not disclosed.
Pricing power is consistent with software-like unit economics: gross margins have held in the 78–80% range across eight quarters visible in the filing. Operating leverage, by contrast, is still emerging: TTM operating income of $16.3 million against TTM revenue of $3.967 billion is a 0.4% operating margin. The observable conditions that would weaken the engine are a deceleration in customer usage growth, which compresses revenue directly under consumption pricing; gross-margin compression if third-party cloud and hosting costs rise faster than revenue; and continued dilution if stock-based compensation stays near 19.6% of revenue as it did this quarter. Capital intensity is low: total capital expenditure including capitalized software was $82.7 million in the first half against $2.128 billion of revenue.
Earnings Quality and Cash Conversion
Where the issuer reports cash flow and capital expenditure cumulatively, the standalone-quarter cash-flow figures are derived by subtracting the preceding cumulative filing. They are calculations from SEC facts rather than separately reported quarterly line items.
Where the issuer reports cash flow and capital expenditure cumulatively, the standalone-quarter figures are derived by subtracting the preceding cumulative filing, a calculation from SEC facts rather than separately reported quarterly line items. Operating cash flow was $315.9 million for Q2 2026 and $1.229 billion on a TTM basis; the SEC-defined capital-expenditure line (purchases of property and equipment only) was $9.9 million for the quarter and $46.9 million on a TTM basis. Subtracting only that SEC-defined capex line from operating cash flow yields a quarterly free-cash-flow proxy of about $306.0 million, while subtracting a broader economic capex that adds capitalized software of $61.5 million in the half reduces the figure further; the TTM figure shown in the filing block is $1.182 billion. The earnings-quality read is therefore that the cash measure is supported by customer prepayments, while GAAP quality is modest because stock-based compensation and amortization of deferred contract costs dominate the gap between the two measures.
The SEC-formatted cash-flow statement shows that the $1.182 billion of operating cash flow for the trailing four quarters includes a $75.1 million increase in deferred revenue over the six months ended June 30, 2026 and $42.4 million of deferred-contract-cost amortization. Both of those movements are already embedded inside the operating cash-flow line; they are not separate add-ons on top of it. Working-capital timing helps current-period cash without affecting current-period earnings, and stock-based compensation of $823.0 million on a TTM basis is a non-cash economic cost that is added back in operating cash flow but dilutes share count. There is no share-repurchase program and no dividend; the filing explicitly states the company does not intend to pay dividends for the foreseeable future.
Business Quality, Moat, and Industry Position
Datadog is best described as an important participant in its market, not a demonstrated core supply-chain bottleneck. This classification describes strategic position only; it is not independent proof of a moat or of valuation upside.
Three observable moat markers appear in the filings. First, the platform integrates monitoring, logs, security and service management on a single agent, which raises switching costs once customer telemetry is wired into the platform. Second, the deferred-revenue balance of $1.337 billion indicates that customers commit to multi-period usage contracts, suggesting the platform has moved past trial-stage usage. Third, gross margins have held in the 78–80% range across eight quarters visible in the filing, which is consistent with software-like unit economics. The filing discloses that the markets in which Datadog competes are competitive, which is a candid acknowledgment. None of the named peer companies were identified in the cited excerpts, so any peer comparison would be invention; net retention rate was not disclosed, which is a data gap.
Datadog sits as a horizontal observability and security layer that enterprises bolt on top of cloud providers such as Amazon Web Services, Microsoft Azure and Google Cloud. Its direct customers are enterprise IT, DevOps and security teams; the final demand is the cloud-transformation and AI-application build-out of those enterprises. Substitutability is partial: hyperscalers offer native monitoring, open-source tools cover parts of the workflow, and adjacent platforms cover other parts. Capacity elasticity is favorable because the platform is software; qualification barriers are moderate because agents deploy quickly, though data-ingest patterns take time to wire up. Order visibility is supported by deferred revenue, but consumption pricing means renewal-rate data is the critical unknown that is not in the available evidence.
Management and Capital Allocation
Olivier Pomel is chief executive officer and David Obstler is chief financial officer. The implied capital-allocation priority is organic platform investment plus tuck-in acquisitions funded out of operating cash flow and the existing marketable-securities portfolio. The 2029 convertible senior notes are zero-coupon, so there is no current cash interest burden; the carrying value of $985.5 million reflects the notes net of issuance costs.
The most important capital-allocation signal is what management is not doing. The company is not buying back stock at $275.50. It is also not paying a dividend, and the filing explicitly states the company does not intend to pay dividends for the foreseeable future. With $4.985 billion of cash and marketable securities and roughly $1.182 billion of trailing free-cash-flow proxy, management could plausibly fund a buyback; the choice not to do so is observable conduct consistent with continued reinvestment. Stock-based compensation of $417.1 million in the first half is a non-cash use of equity that dilutes existing shareholders. Insider Rule 10b5-1 plan adoptions during the quarter (CFO 80,000 shares, CTO 1,332,312 shares, CPO 12,700 shares, director 11,250 shares) indicate planned insider selling but do not, by themselves, signal misalignment.
Valuation and What the Market Already Expects
The dated market snapshot is August 3, 2026 at 2:19 p.m. ET, with a share price of $275.50 and a dated market capitalization of approximately $98.07 billion. The available normalized free-cash-flow figure is the SEC-derived TTM proxy of $1.182 billion, which yields a free-cash-flow yield of roughly 1.2% on the dated market capitalization. Same-date cash and debt components are unavailable, so no current net-cash or net-debt adjustment is applied in the valuation bridge; the long-term debt line was not disclosed in the available figures and current debt is null.
The qualitative implication is that the dated price already requires sustained cash-flow expansion beyond anything the available filings demonstrate. The market-derived share count of 355.96 million implied by the valuation analysis block is lower than the diluted weighted-average count of 371.0 million for Q2 2026, which means per-share figures in the available block correspond to a narrower share base than the GAAP diluted count. To justify the dated market capitalization out of cash flows alone, the company would have to grow the TTM free-cash-flow proxy at a sustained rate materially above trailing revenue growth of 35.6%, on top of any multiple re-rating, indefinitely; the valuation analysis below quantifies this gap. A low free-cash-flow yield of about 1.2% leaves little margin to absorb execution shortfalls.
Ten-Year Cash Flow to Fair Market Value
The starting free cash flow is the normalized SEC cash-flow proxy, while every growth rate, discount rate and terminal rate below is an explicit editorial assumption rather than company guidance. Each annual cash flow is forecast and discounted separately; terminal value is year-ten free cash flow multiplied by one plus terminal growth, divided by discount rate minus terminal growth, and then discounted back ten years. Fair market capitalization equals that explicit ten-year present value plus discounted terminal value and a same-date balance-sheet adjustment when available. If current cash and debt facts do not share one report date, the table shows the adjustment as unavailable and conservatively applies zero. The share count is derived from the dated market capitalization and share price so US shares and foreign ADRs use a consistent traded-security denominator.
Year | Bear FCF | Base FCF | Bull FCF |
|---|---|---|---|
1 | $1.3B | $1.4B | $1.4B |
2 | $1.4B | $1.5B | $1.7B |
3 | $1.5B | $1.8B | $2.1B |
4 | $1.6B | $2.0B | $2.5B |
5 | $1.7B | $2.3B | $3.0B |
6 | $1.8B | $2.5B | $3.2B |
7 | $1.8B | $2.6B | $3.5B |
8 | $1.9B | $2.8B | $3.9B |
9 | $2.0B | $3.0B | $4.2B |
10 | $2.0B | $3.2B | $4.6B |
Scenario | Growth years 1–5 / 6–10 | Discount | Terminal | 10-year PV | Terminal PV | Balance-sheet adjustment | Fair market cap | Fair value/share | Margin of safety | Terminal share |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Bear | 8.0% / 3.0% | 11.0% | 2.0% | $9.6B | $8.0B | N/A (treated as $0) | $17.6B | $49.52 | -456.4% | 45.6% |
Base | 14.3% / 7.0% | 9.0% | 3.0% | $13.9B | $23.4B | N/A (treated as $0) | $37.3B | $104.82 | -162.8% | 62.7% |
Bull | 20.3% / 9.3% | 8.5% | 3.5% | $18.2B | $42.4B | N/A (treated as $0) | $60.6B | $170.33 | -61.7% | 69.9% |
In the reverse-DCF, holding the 9% discount rate and 3% terminal growth fixed, and solving only for one constant growth rate rather than using the base-case growth path, the current market capitalization implies roughly 23.8% annual free cash flow growth for ten years. This is a sensitivity framework, not a price target: the terminal-value share shows how strongly each result depends on assumptions beyond the explicit forecast. Negative margin of safety means the current market capitalization exceeds the scenario value.
Five Value-Investing Lenses
Benjamin Graham Lens
Graham would test for downside protection before growth. Datadog holds $4.985 billion of cash and marketable securities against only $985.5 million of long-term debt, the 2029 zero-coupon convertible, and tangible book value is $3.637 billion. The dated market capitalization of $98.07 billion sits well above any balance-sheet floor that an asset-based Graham test would compute. Current-quarter operating income is positive but thin at $5.5 million, and net income depends on $49.5 million of non-operating interest income. Speculation, in Graham's sense, is paying a price that requires a future state materially different from the present; the dated price requires sustained mid-teens to high-teens free-cash-flow growth indefinitely, which sits closer to speculation than to investment at this entry point. Graham would treat this as a pass on the downside-floor test.
Benjamin Franklin Lens
Franklin's discipline is about opportunity cost and thrift with capital. A dollar of operating cash flow earned today and reinvested at a 10% internal return is worth more than the same dollar paid out at a 1.2% yield. The dated free-cash-flow yield of approximately 1.2% on $98.07 billion is below almost any reasonable hurdle for a non-dividend-paying growth issuer. Management is reinvesting at scale, with $664.7 million of net investing outflows in the first half, mostly into marketable securities and acquisitions. The question is whether those reinvested dollars earn more than the 1.2% the market is paying for the whole enterprise. At the moment, there is no evidence in the available filings that incremental capital is earning a return above the cost of capital at the dated price, and the opportunity cost of buying here is the long-duration risk of paying for growth that may not compound at the implied rate.
Warren Buffett Lens
Buffett would ask what the owner-economics proxy looks like after adjustments. Operating cash flow was $315.9 million for Q2 2026 and $1.229 billion on a TTM basis, while the SEC-defined capital-expenditure line (purchases of property and equipment only) was $9.9 million for the quarter and $46.9 million on a TTM basis. Stock-based compensation of $823.0 million TTM is a real economic cost to existing shareholders and would be deducted from any owner-earnings approximation. Even before that deduction, the FCF yield is roughly 1.2% on the dated market cap. The available evidence does not separate maintenance from growth capex, so any claim that a fixed dollar of capex is "maintenance" would be invention. Buffett would also note the dual-class structure: Class B shares hold approximately 42% of the voting power on a much smaller economic share base, which is a governance concern. Buffett's test fails on price, passes on the owner-quality of the cash, and fails on the dual-class governance overlay.
Charlie Munger Lens
Munger would invert the question: what would have to be true for this price to be a good entry? Reverse-engineering from the dated market cap, the company would have to sustain mid-teens to high-teens free-cash-flow growth for a decade while preserving its current gross margin and gradually compressing sales-and-marketing intensity. That is a defensible but optimistic path, not a base-rate path for software companies of this size. The bias to flag is the AI-observability narrative: the filing describes Datadog as an "AI-powered observability and security platform" and forward-looking statements repeatedly emphasize AI capabilities, and Munger would warn that narrative tailwinds compress the price discipline that value-investing requires. The current TTM operating margin of roughly 0.4% is the most important bias check: the dated price does not appear to be supported by current GAAP earning power, and Munger would treat that as evidence of speculative pricing, not as an opportunity.
Li Lu Lens
Li Lu's discipline is to stay inside the circle of competence, focus on durable competitive advantage and avoid permanent loss. Datadog is a software business with a measurable deferred-revenue base and high gross margins, which is inside the circle. The durable advantage markers in the filing are platform integration on a single agent, consumption-pricing alignment with cloud growth and an enterprise customer base across many industries. The permanent-loss risks are: a compression in customer usage growth that would hit revenue directly while R&D and sales-and-marketing investment is largely fixed; gross-margin compression if third-party hosting costs rise faster than revenue; and continued dilution from stock-based compensation of $823 million TTM. The Li Lu test passes on durability of the platform but fails on the price paid for that durability, because the dated price has no observable margin of safety against the operating volatility still in the income statement.
Risks, Disconfirming Evidence, and What Would Prove This Thesis Wrong
Prominent growth narratives can amplify attention bias and the price investors are willing to pay before cash flows arrive. That does not negate the operating evidence, but it raises the burden of proof for valuation and makes execution shortfalls more costly.
Three observable thesis breakers would force a conclusion change. First, a sustained compression in revenue growth to below 20% year-over-year for two consecutive quarters would show that the consumption-pricing model is reaching saturation in the existing customer base, and the dated market cap would no longer be supportable on any reasonable discount-rate scenario. Second, a deterioration in gross margin below 75% in any quarter would signal that the platform's structural pricing power has weakened, which would compress the FCF proxy and undermine the cash-conversion thesis. Third, a large unexpected dilution event, for example material issuance of new shares to fund an acquisition, or conversion of the 2029 notes creating a step-change in share count, would directly reduce per-share economics and the per-share fair value embedded in the valuation analysis. The most likely wrong assumption in the base case is that high-teens free-cash-flow growth can persist for ten years; current TTM revenue growth of 35.6% is the high-water mark, not the steady-state.
The most important disconfirming evidence in the available SEC data is the contradiction between $98.07 billion of market capitalization and the fact that the deterministic ten-year block produces per-share fair values materially below $275.50 in every scenario, including the bull case. A second piece of disconfirming evidence is the low TTM operating margin of roughly 0.4%, which shows how much of the current valuation rests on future margin expansion that has not yet been earned. A third is the $1.337 billion of deferred revenue: while helpful for cash, it also represents contractual obligations the company must continue to perform against, which is the kind of operating liability that can compress margins if performance slips.
Investment Conclusion
Datadog is a high-quality software business with observable growth, gross margin and cash conversion, but the dated market capitalization of $98.07 billion does not reflect an observable margin of safety against the operating volatility still present in the income statement. The deterministic ten-year cash-flow analysis produces per-share fair values materially below the dated price of $275.50 in every scenario. The qualitative implication is that the dated market capitalization already prices in operating normalization that has not yet been demonstrated in the filings, and the free-cash-flow yield of approximately 1.2% is too thin to compensate a price-sensitive buyer for the implied growth risk. On the available evidence the conclusion is Overvalued.
---
*Educational use only. This article is not investment advice and does not constitute an offer or solicitation to buy or sell any security. Past performance is not indicative of future results. All factual claims are drawn from the available SEC filings and market data; analytical inferences and the investment conclusion are the author's and may be wrong. *
Share this article







