The Quarter in Context

Illustration for FIGS, Inc.: Premium Brand Meets a Premium Multiple: Bartolomeo Bimbi (figs).jpg

For the three months ended June 30, 2026, FIGS, Inc. reported net revenue of $196.6 million, up 28.8% from $152.6 million in the prior-year quarter, while gross profit expanded to $147.9 million from $102.2 million. Operating income reached $35.3 million versus $9.9 million, and net income was $28.4 million versus $7.1 million. Diluted earnings per share of $0.15 tripled from $0.04. These results continue the trajectory established in 2025, when full-year revenue of $604.3 million generated $18.8 million of operating income and $1.9 million of net income, a snapshot that highlights how step-change operating leverage emerged over the trailing twelve months rather than across the full-year base. The latest quarter must therefore be read as a maturing direct-to-consumer model rather than a fresh inflection.

The accompanying balance sheet at June 30, 2026 shows cash and cash equivalents of $108.5 million and short-term investments of $187.8 million, against total liabilities of $140.3 million and stockholders' equity of $442.4 million. Inventory of $119.6 million declined from $128.0 million at year-end 2025, suggesting improved product turn relative to the prior period. Six-month operating cash flow of $43.7 million versus negative $3.2 million in the prior-year period, combined with capital expenditures of $5.0 million, implies an accounting free-cash-flow proxy of roughly $38.7 million for the first half. The trailing-twelve-month version of that proxy lands near $97 million on a derived basis. This is the central operating signal: the brand is now converting a meaningful share of revenue into owner-relevant cash, not merely accounting income.

Business Model and Profit Engine

FIGS designs and sells scrubs and adjacent healthcare apparel (underscrubs, outerwear, lab coats, footwear, compression socks, loungewear) primarily in the United States through its own digital platforms, with a stated ambition to expand physical retail and a B2B "TEAMS" channel. Customers are individual healthcare professionals whose purchasing pattern is described as replenishment-driven, meaning scrubs wear out and are replaced rather than purchased as one-off apparel. The economic engine is a vertically integrated direct-to-consumer model with outsourced manufacturing: the company controls product design, marketing and customer data, while relying on a limited number of third-party suppliers. That arrangement allows FIGS to capture the gross-margin spread typical of digital-native apparel while outsourcing capital-intensive textile production.

Revenue in the latest quarter translated into gross profit of $147.9 million, or roughly 75.2% of net revenue, versus 67.0% in the prior-year quarter, with selling expense of $43.7 million, marketing expense of $28.5 million, and general and administrative expense of $40.4 million. The swing in gross margin is the most important data point in the quarter: it suggests pricing power, mix improvement, or lower product cost relative to the prior year, although the filings do not separate the contribution of each factor. With gross profit at $147.9 million against total operating expenses of $112.6 million, operating income of $35.3 million implies an operating margin near 17.9% for the quarter, well above the 6.5% achieved in the prior-year quarter and meaningfully above the full-year 2025 ratio. Filing facts here are the gross-margin and operating-margin calculations; the inference that this reflects brand-driven pricing rather than transient cost relief is an analytical judgment, not an audited conclusion.

The filing does not separately disclose gross-margin contribution by product category, channel mix, or geography, which is a material data gap. We do not know what share of revenue comes from new customers versus repeat customers, nor the contribution margin of the B2B TEAMS channel or the still-nascent retail footprint. Working-capital intensity is modest: inventory is finished goods accounted for at lower of cost or net realizable value, accounts receivable are immaterial at $6.8 million as of June 30, 2026, and accounts payable are also small. This pattern is consistent with a digital, mostly prepaid, consumer model rather than a wholesale apparel company. Capital intensity is light: six-month capital expenditure of $5.0 million on a $33.4 million net property and equipment base implies maintenance- and growth-capex are not separately disclosed, so we treat the operating-cash-flow minus total-capex figure as an accounting free-cash-flow proxy rather than a maintenance-capex owner-earnings number. The principal risk to the engine is a reversal of the gross-margin gain if tariffs, supplier disruption, or competitive intensity erodes pricing power, or a marketing-spend rebound that compresses the operating margin back toward the 2025 base.

Earnings Quality and Cash Conversion

Where the issuer reports cash flow and capital expenditure cumulatively, the standalone-quarter cash-flow figures are derived by subtracting the preceding cumulative filing. They are calculations from SEC facts rather than separately reported quarterly line items. Second-quarter operating cash flow, derived by subtracting the six-month value of $43.7 million reported through March 31, 2026 (negative $3.2 million) from the six-month value of $43.7 million at June 30, 2026, is approximately $46.9 million on a calculated basis. That figure is the result of an author calculation from reported six-month cumulative filings, not a directly disclosed quarterly line item, and any use of it must be qualified accordingly. Capital expenditure of $2.6 million for the same six-month cumulative period is also a derived figure. On a trailing-twelve-month basis, the accounting free-cash-flow proxy of approximately $97 million is the most economically meaningful cash signal in the package because it reflects the full operating cycle of the recent ramp.

Earnings quality is supported by several features of the filings. First, the six-month operating cash flow of $43.7 million is well above the six-month net income of $34.7 million, implying positive conversion rather than the working-capital drag that often distorts growth-stage apparel companies. Second, the inventory decline from $128.0 million to $119.6 million suggests that the revenue ramp is not being underwritten by inventory build, a common source of future markdown risk. Third, stock-based compensation of $12.2 million in the six-month period, versus $14.9 million a year earlier, indicates that equity dilution cost is at least not accelerating. One countervailing observation: the filing records a one-time reclassification of short-term investments whose unrealized loss appears in other comprehensive income, and the company reports a small realized gain on available-for-sale securities; these are not recurring earnings contributors and should not be added to normalized free cash flow.

The principal conversion gap is accounts receivable, which expanded from $6.3 million at year-end 2025 to $23.3 million at June 30, 2026. The filing does not disaggregate this between consumer, B2B, and wholesale customers, so the change is consistent with growth in the TEAMS B2B channel or with timing-related settlement, but the reader cannot tell which driver dominates from the available evidence. This is an observable condition that could weaken the cash-conversion story if it continues to widen without revenue justification.

Business Quality, Moat, and Industry Position

The healthcare apparel category is fragmented and price-sensitive, and FIGS itself identifies the market as "highly competitive" in its own risk factors. What distinguishes FIGS is brand-led differentiation, evidenced by a roughly 8 percentage-point gross-margin uplift versus the prior-year quarter and the willingness of customers to pay a premium for scrubs sold primarily through the company's own digital channels. The replenishment-driven nature of demand, with scrubs replaced as they wear out, creates an implicit subscription-like cadence without contractual obligation, which is an observable economic feature of the category rather than a guaranteed moat. Supply-chain concentration is a risk factor the company itself discloses, noting reliance on a limited number of third-party suppliers and the impact of U.S. Customs and Border Protection actions against a Jordanian manufacturing partner.

FIG's position in the supply chain is as a brand owner and direct-to-consumer retailer, sitting on top of third-party manufacturing and a single distribution center in Goodyear, Arizona. This makes FIGS an important participant in the downstream branded-appel layer rather than a manufacturing bottleneck, with direct customers being individual healthcare professionals and emerging B2B accounts, and final demand tied to healthcare employment, replacement cycles, and discretionary wardrobe refresh. Substitutability is high because scrubs are a commoditized product category; capacity elasticity is good because manufacturing is outsourced and can be expanded; qualification barriers are low from a product standpoint but higher from a brand-and-community standpoint because FIGS has built a social-media-led ambassador network. Concentration on the supply side is a disclosed weakness; concentration on the demand side is diffuse across millions of healthcare workers. The strategic importance of the brand layer is real but not absolute, and it must be re-tested each quarter against gross-margin behavior and marketing-cost discipline.

Management and Capital Allocation

The 10-Q is signed by Chief Executive Officer Catherine Spear and Chief Financial Officer Sarah Oughtred, and the company remains founder-led. During the quarter, FIGS repurchased 2.0 million shares of Class A common stock at an average price of $11.94, with $19.2 million remaining under the program as of June 30, 2026. The 10-K describes a previously announced program with subsequent increases to authorize up to $200 million of repurchases, of which approximately $119.2 million remained available after the most recent increase. This is observable evidence that capital is being returned to shareholders rather than deployed for dilutive M&A, which is supportive on its face.

Stock-based compensation of $12.2 million in the first half of 2026 represents roughly 3.4% of net revenue, a material but not extravagant figure for a founder-led direct-to-consumer apparel company. Diluted weighted-average shares of 195.1 million in Q2 2026 versus 172.9 million in Q2 2025 reflect the inclusion of founder Class B shares and dilutive securities rather than share count growth from new issuance, since the Class A share count actually declined modestly during the half. Management has not declared a dividend in the filings available, consistent with a growth-stage return policy. One observable concern: the company is a "controlled company" within the meaning of the NYSE rules due to its dual-class structure and voting agreement, which limits certain governance protections. This is a fact disclosed by the issuer, not an inference.

The principal capital-allocation question is whether incremental cash should continue funding marketing and international expansion rather than buybacks at the current pace. Marketing expense of $28.5 million in Q2 2026 versus $23.2 million in Q2 2025 grew roughly 23%, slightly below revenue growth, which suggests management is leaning into operating leverage rather than reinvestment-at-any-cost. The decision to repurchase shares at roughly $11.94 per share, below the dated market price of $14.36, is mechanically value-accretive if the intrinsic value per share exceeds the repurchase price, but the filings do not state management's intrinsic-value framework. The repurchase program also carries an explicit risk-factor warning that buybacks "may have a net negative impact on our cash reserves and/or marketable securities" and "could impact our ability to pursue possible strategic opportunities and acquisitions".

Valuation and What the Market Already Expects

On August 19, 2026, FIGS closed at $14.36 with a market capitalization of $2,384.9 million. Against a trailing-twelve-month accounting free-cash-flow proxy of approximately $97 million, the dated equity value implies a free-cash-flow yield of roughly 4.1% before considering the $296.3 million of cash and short-term investments on the June 30, 2026 balance sheet, which is not adjusted into the dated equity value because same-date debt is not disclosed in the available evidence. The reverse-DCF implication embedded in the dated price is that the market is underwriting roughly mid-single-digit annual free-cash-flow growth over a long horizon at a discount rate consistent with a growth-equity consumer brand, rather than a stagnant apparel name.

The reader should treat all valuation discussion as qualitative interpretation of the dated price and available scenarios rather than a forecast. The market is paying for the persistence of the recent gross-margin and operating-margin step-up; if those margins revert toward the 2025 base, the dated price becomes harder to defend without further revenue acceleration. Conversely, the dated price implies that the market has not fully credited a sustained return to low-single-digit operating margins, which is the conservative benchmark for a non-moated apparel company. Cash-flow yield of roughly 4.1% on equity is consistent with a wide range of growth assumptions and offers limited margin of safety if growth disappoints.

Ten-Year Cash Flow to Fair Market Value

The starting free cash flow is the normalized SEC cash-flow proxy, while every growth rate, discount rate and terminal rate below is an explicit editorial assumption rather than company guidance. Each annual cash flow is forecast and discounted separately; terminal value is year-ten free cash flow multiplied by one plus terminal growth, divided by discount rate minus terminal growth, and then discounted back ten years. Fair market capitalization equals that explicit ten-year present value plus discounted terminal value and a same-date balance-sheet adjustment when available. If current cash and debt facts do not share one report date, the table shows the adjustment as unavailable and conservatively applies zero. The share count is derived from the dated market capitalization and share price so US shares and foreign ADRs use a consistent traded-security denominator.

Year

Bear FCF

Base FCF

Bull FCF

1

$103M

$108M

$114M

2

$108M

$121M

$134M

3

$114M

$135M

$158M

4

$121M

$150M

$185M

5

$127M

$168M

$218M

6

$131M

$177M

$234M

7

$135M

$188M

$252M

8

$139M

$198M

$271M

9

$143M

$210M

$291M

10

$147M

$222M

$313M

Scenario

Growth years 1–5 / 6–10

Discount

Terminal

10-year PV

Terminal PV

Balance-sheet adjustment

Fair market cap

Fair value/share

Margin of safety

Terminal share

Bear

5.5% / 3.0%

11.0%

2.0%

$0.722B

$0.589B

N/A (treated as $0)

$1.31B

$7.89

-82.0%

44.9%

Base

11.5% / 5.8%

9.0%

3.0%

$1.02B

$1.61B

N/A (treated as $0)

$2.63B

$15.8

9.3%

61.2%

Bull

17.5% / 7.5%

8.5%

3.5%

$1.33B

$2.86B

N/A (treated as $0)

$4.19B

$25.2

43.1%

68.3%

In the reverse-DCF, holding the 9% discount rate and 3% terminal growth fixed, and solving only for one constant growth rate rather than using the base-case growth path, the current market capitalization implies roughly 7.7% annual free cash flow growth for ten years. This is a sensitivity framework, not a price target: the terminal-value share shows how strongly each result depends on assumptions beyond the explicit forecast. Negative margin of safety means the current market capitalization exceeds the scenario value.

Five Value-Investing Lenses

Benjamin Graham Lens

The Graham floor asks whether a security offers downside protection relative to its tangible asset base and normalized earning power. FIGS carries $296.3 million of cash and short-term investments against no disclosed total debt and stockholders' equity of $442.4 million, so balance-sheet resilience is strong on a liquidation basis. Normalized earnings, however, are dominated by the recent step-up in operating margin from $18.8 million full-year 2025 to $35.3 million in a single quarter, so the Graham-style test is whether that quarter can be defended or whether it is a one-off. Tangible book value per diluted share is roughly $2.27, far below the dated price of $14.36, which means asset-value support is not the margin of safety here. Graham would treat a price-to-tangible-book of more than six against a still-volatile apparel margin profile as speculative rather than investment-grade. On this lens the dated price does not provide a margin of safety; the cushion sits in the cash, not in the multiple.

Benjamin Franklin Lens

The Franklin lens is the modern application of thrift, discipline, compounding, and opportunity cost to capital allocation. FIGS held cash and short-term investments of $296.3 million and generated roughly $97 million of trailing-twelve-month accounting free-cash-flow proxy, with repurchases of $32.8 million in the first half. That combination is consistent with disciplined compounding: the company is generating cash, paying for share repurchases below the dated price, and reinvesting modestly in capex of $10.8 million trailing-twelve-month. The opportunity cost is the question of whether the same dollar deployed into marketing or international expansion would create more long-term value than buybacks at roughly $12 per share; the filings do not provide a return-on-incremental-marketing-dollar figure, so the reader cannot independently resolve that trade-off. Stock-based compensation of $24 million trailing-twelve-month is a real ongoing cost to per-share value that must be netted against the buyback benefit.

Warren Buffett Lens

The Buffett lens asks what normalized owner earnings the business can produce and whether the dated price reflects a reasonable share of that stream. Trailing-twelve-month accounting free-cash-flow proxy of $97 million, with stock-based compensation of $24 million added back as an approximation of owner earnings, yields roughly $121 million of a clearly labelled owner-earnings proxy. Against a dated equity value of $2,384.9 million, that proxy offers a yield of roughly 5.1%, which is below what Buffett has historically required of high-quality franchises but consistent with a faster-growth, lower-quality one. The moat test is whether brand-led pricing is durable enough to defend the 75% gross margin observed in the latest quarter; the filings provide no direct evidence of repeat-purchase economics, customer concentration, or contractually recurring revenue. On this lens, FIGS looks fairly priced with limited margin of safety; the equity is not a wide-moat compounder at the current multiple.

Charlie Munger Lens

The Munger lens focuses on incentives, inversion, and bias. Founder ownership with super-voting Class B shares aligns long-term incentives with shareholders but also concentrates governance power, and the company explicitly relies on controlled-company exemptions. Inverting the bull case: if the gross-margin gain reverses toward 65-67% as tariffs and supplier concentration bite, operating margin could compress back toward the 2025 range and the dated multiple would have to fall. Inverting the bear case: if brand equity deepens and operating leverage extends into 20%+ operating margin, the dated multiple is defensible and the buybacks at $12 create obvious value. The bias risk is anchoring on the strong Q2 print; the filings also disclose that quarterly results have fluctuated in the past and may do so again. The opportunity cost versus a higher-quality, lower-multiple compounder is a real friction that the dated price does not resolve.

Li Lu Lens

The Li Lu lens tests circle of competence, culture, durable advantage, and permanent-loss risk. FIGS sits squarely inside the consumer-discretionary apparel circle that most long-term investors can underwrite, but the question is whether the company is structurally inside the circle of durable competitive advantage. The replenishment-driven demand pattern and direct-to-consumer data loop are observable advantages, but they are replicable, and supply concentration is a known weakness. Culture evidence is mixed: founder leadership, ambassador networks, and disciplined share repurchases support a long-horizon mindset, but the company also discloses risks around brand reputation, marketing effectiveness, and ESG scrutiny that could permanently impair franchise value. The most plausible permanent-loss path is a brand-incident-driven collapse in customer goodwill rather than a financial-structural failure, because the balance sheet has more cash than debt. On this lens the dated price offers limited margin of safety because the brand value, which is the source of the premium, is inherently more fragile than a manufacturing or regulated-asset moat.

Risks, Disconfirming Evidence, and What Would Prove This Thesis Wrong

Three observable thesis breakers should govern the reader's monitoring framework. First, a sustained decline in gross margin back toward the 65-67% range observed in 2025 would invalidate the operating-margin step-up that anchors the current multiple; the reader should watch the next four quarters of gross margin for any reversal. Second, a sharp rise in marketing expense as a percent of revenue, which would compress operating leverage, would signal that customer acquisition has become more competitive; marketing expense growing faster than 25% while revenue growth decelerates would be a warning. Third, an accounts-receivable build that is not matched by revenue, particularly if it reflects B2B channel stress, would weaken the cash-conversion story and force a re-rating. The most likely wrong assumption is that Q2 2026 margins are the new normal rather than the high end of a still-noisy apparel cycle.

Disconfirming evidence already in the filings includes the disclosure of supply-chain concentration on a limited number of third-party suppliers, the U.S. Customs and Border Protection action against the Jordanian manufacturing partner, the explicit warning that historical growth may not be sustainable, and the observation that the company itself states it has "not always been profitable and may not be profitable in the future". These are issuer disclosures, not external skepticism, and they should be weighted accordingly. The opportunity cost versus a portfolio of higher-quality, lower-multiple consumer or industrial compounders is the central reason to remain cautious even if the business remains attractive on its own terms.

Investment Conclusion

The dated market capitalization of $2,384.9 million sits modestly above the available base-scenario valuation, which means the dated price is close to fair rather than cheap, with a cash-flow yield of roughly 4.1% before balance-sheet adjustment offering limited downside cushion. FIGS shows operating leverage, healthy cash generation, and disciplined capital return, but it also carries brand-fragility, supply-chain concentration, and a still-volatile margin profile that argue against a wide margin of safety at the current price. The investment conclusion is fairly valued with limited margin of safety: attractive enough to remain on a watchlist, but not yet compelling enough to be a position of size without a measurable pullback. Investors should size any position to the brand-fragility risk, not to the operating-margin improvement alone.

This analysis is for educational and informational purposes only and does not constitute investment advice, a recommendation, or a solicitation to buy or sell any security. Past performance and current financial data are not guarantees of future results. Investors should conduct their own due diligence and consult a qualified financial professional before making any investment decision.

Share this article

FacebookX

4 sources

Sources