The Quarter in Context

Dentist with gloves organizing instruments in a clinic setting, ready for a dental procedure.

For the three months ended June 30, 2026, Globus Medical reported net sales of $789.6 million, a 5.9% increase over $745.3 million in the prior-year quarter. Operating income jumped to $182.4 million from $76.1 million, and the operating margin expanded to 23.1% from 10.2%, but this comparison is heavily distorted by non-recurring items: the prior-year quarter absorbed $33.2 million of acquisition-related costs, $13.5 million of restructuring costs, and a $110.6 million non-taxable bargain-purchase gain tied to the Nevro Merger, with no comparable gain this quarter. Stripping those distortions, the underlying second-quarter business still produced solid operating income, but the gap between reported 23.1% and a clean run-rate margin is wide.

Net income for the quarter was $151.6 million versus $202.8 million a year ago, despite the sharply higher operating profit, because the prior-year quarter benefitted from a $14.7 million tax benefit linked to a state valuation-allowance release and the non-taxable bargain-purchase gain. Diluted EPS of $1.10 for Q2 2026 down from $1.49 reflects both those optics; trailing-twelve-month diluted EPS stands at $4.37. Six-month operating cash flow of $412.1 million was up 61% year over year, helped by favorable tax payments and non-cash items, partially offset by a $27.2 million increase in accounts receivable and a $44.6 million inventory build.

Revenue split by geography for the first half of 2026 shows U.S. net sales of $1,224.0 million (+12.8%) and international net sales of $325.5 million (+25.8%), with the U.S. still representing roughly 79% of the top line. The Nevro acquisition added $52.2 million of U.S. sales and $17.0 million of international sales in the half, contributing meaningfully to growth and to ongoing integration costs. Two influences deserve particular attention going forward: the change in fair value of business acquisition liabilities (an unrealized accounting item, not a contracted liability) recorded $16.1 million of expense year to date, and restructuring spend fell sharply as the 2024 Synergy Plan and 2025 Strategic Integration Plan wind down.

Business Model and Profit Engine

Globus Medical is a musculoskeletal medical-device company that develops and commercializes implants, instruments, and enabling-technology systems used by spine surgeons, orthopedic trauma surgeons, and other specialists treating musculoskeletal disorders and chronic pain. Although managed as a single reportable segment, the company disaggregates revenue into two product categories: Musculoskeletal Solutions (including implantable devices, disposables, surgical instruments, and intraoperative neuromonitoring services) and Enabling Technologies (advanced hardware and software systems that assist surgeons, such as robotic guidance and navigation platforms). Customers are hospitals, ambulatory surgery centers, and physicians; the company reaches them through a combination of directly employed sales representatives and independent distributors, both in the U.S. and internationally across 65 countries. Revenue is recognized predominantly at a point in time for Musculoskeletal Solutions and over time for neuromonitoring services and certain Enabling Technologies maintenance obligations.

Revenue converts into gross profit, then operating profit, in conventional medical-device fashion. In Q2 2026, cost of sales (exclusive of intangible amortization) was $241.4 million against $789.6 million of net sales, implying a cost-of-sales ratio of 30.6%, an improvement from 33.4% a year ago. Selling, general and administrative absorbed 36.3% of revenue versus 40.7% a year ago, research and development 4.6% versus 5.4%, and intangible amortization 3.7% versus 4.1%. These four buckets together turn each dollar of sales into roughly 24 to 25 cents of operating profit on an underlying basis, though that calculation requires viewing the result through the noise of acquisition-related and restructuring items. Capital intensity is meaningful: $72.8 million of property, plant and equipment was purchased in the first half of 2026, primarily for surgical-set investments required to maintain and expand the business.

What pricing power Globus possesses is anchored by procedure-specific differentiation, surgeon relationships, and the recurring nature of implant consumption per surgery, rather than by commodity-style list-price hikes. Six-month accounts receivable rose to $692.2 million from $678.9 million at year-end 2025, an increase of $13.2 million against revenue growth of $206.0 million, suggesting days-sales-outstanding has moved modestly and collectibility remains intact; the allowance for expected credit losses grew to $44.4 million from $33.4 million, an item to monitor but not yet alarming. Two observable conditions would weaken the profit engine: a sustained step-down in Musculoskeletal Solutions volumes as the Nevro integration matures, and a faster-than-expected share loss as enabling-technology competitors grow installed bases. Neither has yet surfaced in the half-year numbers, but the segment lacks a publicly disclosed split between Musculoskeletal Solutions and Enabling Technologies, which leaves unit economics by product family undisclosed; this is a data gap I am flagging rather than a weakness I am asserting.

Earnings Quality and Cash Conversion

Where the issuer reports cash flow and capital expenditure cumulatively, the standalone-quarter cash-flow figures are derived by subtracting the preceding cumulative filing. They are calculations from SEC facts rather than separately reported quarterly line items.

Trailing-twelve-month operating cash flow reached $910.4 million against TTM net income of $535.4 million, implying cash-conversion above 100% over the period. The latest half-year operating cash flow of $412.1 million, up 61% year over year, benefited from $62.6 million of favorable change in taxes paid and from non-cash items, partially offset by a $32.8 million unfavorable inventory movement. Capital expenditure for the half-year was $72.8 million, so the accounting free-cash-flow proxy (operating cash flow less total capital expenditure) of $339.3 million for the half-year is informative, but the filings do not separate maintenance from growth capex, so this number is best read as an accounting proxy rather than a clean owner-earnings figure.

Working capital absorbed cash in two specific ways this half: inventories grew $51.6 million from year-end 2025 to $810.9 million, and accounts receivable (net of allowances) grew $13.2 million to $692.2 million. Inventory growth at a medical-device company often reflects surgical-set expansion and integration stock from acquisitions, both of which are consistent with the disclosed strategy of investing in capital sets to drive future revenue. The trailing-twelve-month acquisition-related cost line of $17.5 million includes roughly $16.1 million from fair-value remeasurement of business acquisition liabilities, an accounting mark that affects reported operating income without changing the cash the business generates. Net income of $535.4 million over the trailing twelve months contains a $110.6 million non-recurring bargain-purchase gain from the Nevro Merger closed in Q2 2025, so normalized earnings power is materially below reported trailing net income.

The balance sheet at June 30, 2026 carries $507.7 million of cash and equivalents, $87.4 million of short-term marketable securities, and $245.4 million of long-term marketable securities, against zero outstanding under the revolving credit facility. Long-term debt is not separately reported in the available snapshot, and `calculated.totalDebt` returned null because current debt and long-term debt XBRL concepts were not populated; I therefore cannot quote a numeric net-cash or net-debt figure for valuation purposes. Stockholders' equity of $4,768.6 million backs goodwill of $1,438.2 million and intangibles of $692.6 million, so tangible book value sits at $2,637.8 million. Diluted weighted-average shares of 137.4 million in Q2 2026 fell from 138.1 million in Q1 2026, partly reflecting $136.1 million of share repurchases during the quarter.

Business Quality, Moat, and Industry Position

On the available evidence, the company is best described as an important participant, not a demonstrated core supply-chain bottleneck. This classification describes strategic position only; it is not independent proof of a moat or valuation upside.

Globus Medical's competitive position rests on three observable pillars: an engineering-led new-product cadence (nine launches in 2025), a directly employed and exclusive-distributor sales organization that is hard for new entrants to replicate quickly, and a broad musculoskeletal portfolio that lets it bundle implants with enabling-technology systems at hospitals. The Nevro Merger added a chronic-pain neuromodulation franchise with the HFX spinal-cord stimulation platform, materially diversifying the business beyond spine implants into a longer-duration implant category. The NuVasive Merger, completed in September 2023, brought intraoperative neuromonitoring services, biologics, and a more global commercial footprint.

Direct customers are hospitals, ambulatory surgery centers, and surgeons; final demand is set by demographic-driven procedure volumes in spine, trauma, and chronic pain. Final demand for spine and neuromodulation procedures tends to grow steadily with aging populations and gradual clinical-evidence improvements, though individual quarters can move on integration milestones, elective-procedure timing, and reimbursement policy. Substitutability is moderate: musculoskeletal implants have clinical-evidence-driven switching costs once a surgeon is trained on a system, and enabling-technology capital equipment creates multi-year installed-base lock-in, which together produce durable revenue once a relationship is established. I do not have peer-specific market-share data in the available evidence, so claims about relative scale versus Medtronic, Stryker, or NuVasive-era peers are out of bounds here. The relevant observable moat evidence is the recurring implant-pull-through model, the portfolio breadth across spine and neuromodulation, and the multi-year invested surgical-set base that supports continuing procedure volumes.

Management and Capital Allocation

Management's capital allocation since the NuVasive deal (2023) and the Nevro deal (Q2 2025) has been dominated by integration spending, reflected in the $1,438.2 million of goodwill and $692.6 million of intangibles sitting on the balance sheet. Operating-cash-flow generation supports both integration investment and capital returns: in the first half of 2026 the company repurchased $136.1 million of stock and paid $13.7 million of business-acquisition-related liabilities, while finishing the half with cash of $507.7 million and an undrawn $400 million revolving credit facility. The Board authorized a new $500 million share-repurchase program in May 2025, and approximately $253.9 million remained available at June 30, 2026.

Share repurchases at an average May 2026 price around $83.02 and a small June 2026 block near $74.89 suggest management is willing to use capital when valuation feels supportive. No dividend is paid; the company reinvests free cash, with $250 million previously deployed for the senior convertible note repayment in 2025. Stock-based compensation expense of $48.96 million trailing twelve months, up modestly versus prior periods, is a real economic cost that flows through diluted-share count growth and that I would net against owner earnings. Acquisitions have been the principal capital deployment tool, and the Nevro Merger in particular has produced measurable revenue contribution ($69.2 million of revenue in the first half of 2026) but also significant residual fair-value-remeasurement accounting noise.

Valuation and What the Market Already Expects

The dated market capitalization is $11.45 billion at a closing price of $85.26 on August 12, 2026. Trailing-twelve-month accounting free cash flow (operating cash flow $910.4 million less total capex $154.8 million) of approximately $755.6 million puts the dated price at a free-cash-flow yield in the mid-single-digits, which is neither obviously cheap nor obviously expensive for a musculoskeletal-device compounder with integration noise. The available valuation analysis yields an internal range across scenarios; I will not repeat any per-share figure from that calculation. Qualitatively, what the dated equity price appears to require is a normalization of operating margin around the level reached in the second quarter of 2026 (23.1%), continued mid-single-digit revenue growth supported by Nevro integration, and disciplined working-capital and integration-cost management.

That is a reasonable operational story, not a heroic one. The trailing-twelve-month operating margin has expanded primarily because the Nevro-related acquisition costs of 2025 ($33.2 million in Q2) and the $110.6 million bargain-purchase gain are non-recurring; absent those noises, the underlying margin profile is more compressed than the headline. The market's implied growth assumption, looked at qualitatively rather than quoted, sits below the recent half-year top-line growth of 15.3% but above the 5.9% year-over-year Q2 growth, suggesting investors are smoothing integration disruption rather than pricing in a re-acceleration. The dated market capitalization lies within the valuation analysis band, and on qualitative terms the price does not appear to require an unrealistic earnings path, but it also does not appear to offer a wide margin of safety at the current price level.

Ten-Year Cash Flow to Fair Market Value

The starting free cash flow is the normalized SEC cash-flow proxy, while every growth rate, discount rate and terminal rate below is an explicit editorial assumption rather than company guidance. Each annual cash flow is forecast and discounted separately; terminal value is year-ten free cash flow multiplied by one plus terminal growth, divided by discount rate minus terminal growth, and then discounted back ten years. Fair market capitalization equals that explicit ten-year present value plus discounted terminal value and a same-date balance-sheet adjustment when available. If current cash and debt facts do not share one report date, the table shows the adjustment as unavailable and conservatively applies zero. The share count is derived from the dated market capitalization and share price so US shares and foreign ADRs use a consistent traded-security denominator.

Year

Bear FCF

Base FCF

Bull FCF

1

$0.7B

$0.8B

$0.8B

2

$0.7B

$0.8B

$0.9B

3

$0.7B

$0.8B

$1.0B

4

$0.7B

$0.9B

$1.1B

5

$0.7B

$0.9B

$1.2B

6

$0.7B

$0.9B

$1.3B

7

$0.7B

$1.0B

$1.3B

8

$0.7B

$1.0B

$1.4B

9

$0.7B

$1.0B

$1.5B

10

$0.7B

$1.1B

$1.6B

Scenario

Growth years 1–5 / 6–10

Discount

Terminal

10-year PV

Terminal PV

Balance-sheet adjustment

Fair market cap

Fair value/share

Margin of safety

Terminal share

Bear

-2.0% / 1.3%

11.0%

2.0%

$4.2B

$2.9B

N/A (treated as $0)

$7.1B

$52.94

-61.0%

41.0%

Base

4.0% / 3.0%

9.0%

3.0%

$5.8B

$7.7B

N/A (treated as $0)

$13.5B

$100.89

15.5%

57.1%

Bull

10.0% / 5.0%

8.5%

3.5%

$7.6B

$14.2B

N/A (treated as $0)

$21.8B

$162.58

47.6%

65.1%

In the reverse-DCF, holding the 9% discount rate and 3% terminal growth fixed, and solving only for one constant growth rate rather than using the base-case growth path, the current market capitalization implies roughly 1.4% annual free cash flow growth for ten years. This is a sensitivity framework, not a price target: the terminal-value share shows how strongly each result depends on assumptions beyond the explicit forecast. Negative margin of safety means the current market capitalization exceeds the scenario value.

Five Value-Investing Lenses

Benjamin Graham Lens

The Graham question is whether the equity offers downside protection relative to a defensible floor. Tangible book value at June 30, 2026 was $2,637.8 million, which corresponds to roughly $19.66 per share against the $85.26 dated price. Trailing-twelve-month free cash flow of $755.6 million against an $11.45 billion dated equity capitalization produces a free-cash-flow yield in the mid-single digits, not the deep-discount yield Graham typically insisted on for true bargains. Current assets of $2,215.5 million against current liabilities of $479.3 million produce a healthy working-capital ratio, and the company has zero outstanding under its $400 million revolver. None of these pass-fail tests put the stock into a deep-discount margin-of-safety bucket, which is why I treat the equity as fairly valued rather than attractive on this lens.

Benjamin Franklin Lens

The Franklin lens is opportunity cost and capital discipline. The first half of 2026 generated $412.1 million of operating cash flow, returned $136.1 million via repurchases, and ended with $507.7 million of cash and $332.8 million of short- and long-term marketable securities. That is a balanced posture: enough liquidity to fund integration and capex, plus active buybacks at prices management evidently views as reasonable. Stock-based compensation of $48.96 million trailing twelve months is a real per-share claim, and the diluted-share count of 137.4 million is the dilution that buybacks only partially offset. Capital-discipline discipline is reasonable, neither aggressive nor sloppy; the opportunity-cost question is whether the dated price, which sits inside the valuation analysis band, fully compensates for the integration risk still embedded in current earnings.

Warren Buffett Lens

The Buffett lens focuses on owner economics and capital allocation. Owner earnings, defined as operating cash flow less total capital expenditure with the limitation that the filings do not separate maintenance from growth capex, reached approximately $755.6 million trailing twelve months. That supports the dated market capitalization with a mid-single-digit cash-flow yield. The company deploys capital through acquisition (NuVasive 2023, Nevro 2025) and buyback; the Nevro Merger produced a $110.6 million bargain-purchase gain in the prior year, which is a useful read on price discipline at the deal level, though integration costs are still flowing. Goodwill of $1,438.2 million and intangibles of $692.6 million on a $4,768.6 million equity base is a meaningful intangible load, so the moat must continue to translate into cash to justify it; the trailing-twelve-month accounting proxy supports that translation today but does not lock it in.

Charlie Munger Lens

The Munger lens inverts the question: how would this investment permanently lose money? First, the Nevro integration underperforms because the HFX platform faces reimbursement headwinds or share loss, squeezing the $69.2 million of half-year contribution. Second, the bargain-purchase accounting noise gives way to further acquisition-related costs and additional restructuring, prolonging margin compression. Third, surgeon adoption of the enabling-technology platform slows as competing robotic systems gain installed-base share. The opportunity cost of holding Globus Medical is capital that could sit in shorter-duration medical-device compounder equities with cleaner earnings power, but the question I cannot answer from available evidence is whether the moat is wider here than at peer franchises. The Munger bias check is to discount the optical 23.1% Q2 operating margin toward the company's longer-run underlying margin, because prior-year comparisons included a $110.6 million non-recurring gain.

Li Lu Lens

The Li Lu lens asks whether the business sits inside my circle of competence, whether the culture is durable, and whether permanent-loss risk is controllable. A musculoskeletal medical-device franchise with a directly employed surgeon sales force, a recurring implant-pull-through model, and a diversified product portfolio across spine and neuromodulation is a comprehensible business, but the post-NuVasive-and-Nevro structure carries integration, reimbursement, and surgeon-preference risk that requires ongoing clinical-evidence monitoring. Observable culture evidence is limited: the $500 million May 2025 buyback authorization and disciplined convertible-note retirement in 2025 indicate management treats capital seriously. The most likely permanent-loss path is reimbursement-driven share loss in the neuromodulation franchise; the second is goodwill impairment if integration underperforms. Both are watchable, not present at quarter-end.

Risks, Disconfirming Evidence, and What Would Prove This Thesis Wrong

Three observable thesis breakers would force a re-rating. First, a sustained drop in second-half operating margin below the high-teens range as integration costs reappear alongside compression in enabling-technology contribution, which would invalidate the dated cash-flow yield. Second, a meaningful goodwill or intangible-asset impairment tied to Nevro or NuVasive goodwill, which would crystallize the cost of integration missteps. Third, a sharp deceleration in accounts-receivable collections (current allowance of $44.4 million against continued receivable growth), which would impair working-capital and cash conversion. Disconfirming evidence visible in the current filings is the bargaining-purchase gain itself: the $110.6 million Nevro-related item was non-recurring and arguably overstated the quality of 2025 net income, so trailing-twelve-month reported EPS of $4.37 overstates current-run-rate earning power.

The single most-likely wrong assumption is that the 23.1% Q2 2026 operating margin is the company's go-forward margin; in fact it benefited from the absence of the prior-period $33.2 million of acquisition-related costs and $13.5 million of restructuring costs. If revenue growth slows toward the low-single-digits while those costs return, free-cash-flow yield at the dated price compresses meaningfully. Data gaps I am flagging rather than filling: the segment split between Musculoskeletal Solutions and Enabling Technologies is not separately disclosed in the available filings, full-balance-sheet debt lines are absent in the available snapshot, and no peer market-share data is in evidence.

Investment Conclusion

At the dated closing price of $85.26 on August 12, 2026, Globus Medical trades at a market capitalization of $11.45 billion against an accounting free-cash-flow proxy of approximately $755.6 million trailing twelve months, positioning it within the valuation analysis band and consistent with a fairly-valued, integration-driven outcome. The Q2 2026 operating-margin print of 23.1% is flattering because of the absence of last year's acquisition-related and restructuring charges, so the operative, run-rate margin is lower. The qualitative investment conclusion is fairly valued: the dated market capitalization does not require heroic assumptions, but it also does not offer a margin of safety that warrants a fresh entry ahead of evidence that the underlying margin and cash conversion are durable through the second Nevro integration year.

---

*This article is for educational and informational purposes only and does not constitute investment advice, a recommendation, or a solicitation to buy or sell any security. Past performance is not indicative of future results. Readers should consult their own financial, legal, and tax advisors before making any investment decisions. *

Share this article

FacebookX

4 sources

Sources