The Quarter in Context

For the three months ended June 30, 2026, ManpowerGroup reported revenue of $4,860.2 million, up 7.5% reported and 5.8% in constant currency versus the second quarter of 2025, with a six-month revenue line of $9,370.6 million versus $8,609.6 million, an 8.8% reported gain. Operating profit swung from a loss of $25.3 million in the second quarter of 2025 to a profit of $112.0 million, but the swing reflects two atypical line items: an $88.7 million non-cash impairment charge that depressed the prior-year quarter, and a $30.0 million one-time net gain recognized on the April 30, 2026 sale of the Jefferson Wells U.S. business, plus a $5.5 million Venezuela liquidation loss in interest and other. Stripping those out, the underlying operating story is more muted: gross profit margin compressed by roughly 70 basis points year over year, and Selling and administrative expenses only fell because prior-year restructuring spend was high.
Cash flow tells a different and less flattering story. Operating cash flow was negative $2.7 million for the quarter and $129.0 million used in the first six months, even after the $87.5 million Jefferson Wells proceeds, because accounts receivable continued to absorb working capital as the business grew. Days sales outstanding edged up to 56 from 55 at year-end 2025. Capital expenditure declined to $14.8 million in the first half from $31.3 million a year ago, mostly because capitalized software spending normalized, but management does not separate maintenance from growth outlays and the filing does not characterize either bucket as such. Net debt fell sharply because the company redeemed its €500.0 million notes in January 2026, leaving total debt at $1,043.5 million versus $1,677.1 million at year-end 2025.
Business Model and Profit Engine
ManpowerGroup is a global staffing and workforce-solutions company that earns by placing temporary and contract workers, recruiting permanent hires, and running outsourced recruiting programs under three core brands: Manpower (contingent staffing and permanent recruitment), Experis (IT resourcing and project services), and Talent Solutions (RPO, MSP and Right Management career services). In the second quarter of 2026, staffing and interim services accounted for $4,314.8 million of the $4,865.2 million of reportable-segment revenue, with outcome-based solutions and consulting contributing $306.3 million, permanent recruitment $120.6 million, and other services $123.5 million; the consolidated revenue line is net of $5.0 million in intercompany eliminations. France alone generated $1,177.6 million (24.2% of segment revenue) and the United States $714.3 million (14.7%), so two countries carry the bulk of the engine. The customer pays a bill rate per hour worked for temporary staff, a placement fee for permanent hires, and a managed-service fee or outcome-based price for RPO/MSP contracts.
Translating revenue into profit requires separating cost of services (which is overwhelmingly the wages, payroll taxes and benefits of the deployed associates plus related sub-contractor costs) from selling and administrative overhead (branch network, recruiters, sales, IT, corporate). In the second quarter, cost of services was $4,079.9 million, yielding a gross profit of $780.3 million and a gross margin of 16.05%, well below the broader professional-services norm and a reasonable proxy for what the labor intermediary itself captures before its own overhead. Selling and administrative expenses of $668.3 million absorbed 13.75% of revenue, leaving an operating margin of 2.30% on a consolidated basis.
Segment contribution is highly uneven and exposes both a structural advantage and a structural risk. Southern Europe delivered $2,308.7 million of segment revenue in the quarter with a breakeven-to-positive OUP margin trajectory, Northern Europe $825.5 million with OUP margin moving from -1.1% to +0.2%, the Americas $1,212.3 million, and APME (Asia-Pacific and Middle East, where Japan is 57% of segment revenue) $518.7 million with a 4.6% OUP margin that is being eroded by yen translation. Capital intensity is low (PP&E net is only $115.1 million on a $8.37 billion balance sheet), but goodwill of $1,483.4 million plus $415.7 million of intangibles represents 22.7% of total assets and historically has required impairment testing, including the $88.7 million non-cash charge recognized in the prior-year quarter.
Earnings Quality and Cash Conversion
Where the issuer reports cash flow and capital expenditure cumulatively, the standalone-quarter cash-flow figures are derived by subtracting the preceding cumulative filing. They are calculations from SEC facts rather than separately reported quarterly line items. Reported earnings quality looks acceptable in isolation but deteriorates on inspection. The most recent quarter benefited from a $30.0 million gain on the sale of Jefferson Wells, a $5.5 million Venezuela liquidation loss, and comparison against a quarter weighed down by an $88.7 million impairment. Net earnings for the quarter of $53.5 million on revenue of $4,860.2 million translates to a net margin of 1.10%, but $24.5 million of the pre-tax gain on Jefferson Wells (recorded in Selling and administrative expenses) flowed straight to operating profit, so without it the operating-profit print would have been closer to $82 million rather than $112 million.
Cash conversion is the bigger concern. Operating cash flow was negative $129.0 million in the first half of 2026 (versus negative $342.8 million a year ago, but that earlier figure included more working-capital outflow) because accounts receivable tied up an additional $49.2 million and other assets absorbed another $91.9 million, partially offset by an $89.9 million reduction in accounts payable and a $0.5 million reduction in other liabilities. Capital expenditure of $14.8 million, depreciation and amortization of $41.7 million, and a gain on sale of subsidiaries of $24.5 million together point to an accounting free-cash-flow proxy that is mechanically small but should not be relabeled as owner earnings: the filing does not separate maintenance from growth capital expenditure, and the $24.5 million gain is non-cash at the cash-flow line and non-recurring at the operating line.
The balance sheet itself improved meaningfully. Cash and equivalents fell to $180.6 million from $871.0 million as the company redeemed its €500.0 million notes, but total debt fell to $1,043.5 million from $1,677.1 million, lowering the debt-to-capitalization ratio to 33.1% from 44.9% and leaving the Net Debt-to-EBITDA covenant at 2.51 to 1 versus a 3.5-to-1 ceiling. The fixed-charge coverage ratio at quarter-end was 2.98 to 1 versus a 1.5-to-1 floor. Liquidity including unused revolver, working-capital facility and subsidiary lines was $930.2 million. Stock-based compensation of $7.6 million in the quarter and $13.6 million in the half is small relative to revenue and operating profit, so dilution from share-based compensation is modest; diluted weighted-average shares were 47.4 million in the second quarter of 2026 versus 46.5 million a year earlier, a 1.9% increase.
Business Quality, Moat, and Industry Position
ManpowerGroup has real but narrow advantages that look more like operating-leverage assets than durable economic moats. The first is brand and scale in contingent staffing; the company has approximately 2,100 offices in more than 70 countries and territories and reports that it has been in the industry under the Manpower brand for over 75 years with a primary focus on office and industrial services and solutions, which gives it reach that smaller staffing networks cannot match. The second is structural insulation from cyclicality through Right Management career-management services, which the filing discloses is counter-cyclical to the staffing businesses, partially offsetting downturns. The third is the breadth of the Talent Solutions portfolio (RPO, MSP, Right Management) layered on top of Manpower and Experis, all sold through the same client relationships, which creates modest cross-sell leverage.
None of these advantages, however, is hard to replicate. Staffing is fragmented; the company itself acknowledges that competition is intense, that pricing is anchored to associate wages plus a markup, and that the gross-profit margin has been compressing because of decreased margins for Manpower staffing, Experis, MSP and permanent placement. The June 30, 2026 goodwill and intangibles of $1,899.1 million represent 22.7% of total assets and over 90% of shareholders' equity, and the prior-year $88.7 million impairment in Switzerland and the United Kingdom demonstrates that the assigned excess value can erode quickly when reporting units underperform. With France and Italy combined contributing roughly 35% of segment revenue, geographic concentration amplifies country-specific regulatory risk, particularly the French exceptional corporate income tax surcharge that drove the quarter's effective rate to 42.0%.
Industry position therefore looks more like that of an important participant than a bottleneck. The value capture is the gross-margin spread between the bill rate paid by clients and the cost paid to associates plus overhead; substitutability is high because clients can and do switch between staffing vendors, and the qualification barrier to enter the industry is low. Capacity elasticity is good: branch offices and recruiters can be added or closed relatively quickly, and management has been closing and consolidating offices as part of its restructuring program, which recorded $22.6 million of severance and lease costs in the half.
Management and Capital Allocation
Capital allocation during the half was disciplined and shareholder-friendly on the deleveraging side, but lean on repurchases. The company redeemed its €500.0 million 2018 notes in January 2026, taking advantage of the strong cash position and the Jefferson Wells sale to delever by $633.6 million of debt in six months, and reduced the debt-to-capitalization ratio from 44.9% to 33.1%. Dividends paid were $33.5 million in the half versus $33.3 million a year ago, an unusually steady payout that signals prioritization of the semi-annual $0.72 per-share dividend. Share repurchases totaled just $0.3 million in the half versus $38.2 million a year ago, with 1.9 million shares still authorized under the 2023 program; the company disclosed that the small second-quarter repurchases reflect shares withheld for tax purposes on restricted-stock settlements rather than open-market buyback activity.
Management's incentive structure is reasonably aligned. The 2011 Equity Incentive Plan authorizes restricted stock units, performance share units and a savings-related option scheme in the United Kingdom, and share-based compensation expense was $13.6 million in the half, which is a small percentage of operating profit and of revenue but enough to create ongoing dilution. The senior executive compensation recovery policy, the insider-trading policy that prohibits hedging, pledging and short sales, and the existence of stock-ownership guidelines for executives and directors are observable governance provisions described in the 2025 annual report. The new ERP system went live in France and Italy during the half, replacing legacy systems; this is a long-run efficiency initiative rather than a near-term margin lever.
Valuation and What the Market Already Expects
Market data as of August 3, 2026 places ManpowerGroup at $54.46 per share for a market capitalization of $2,532.8 million, against 46,505,570 shares outstanding as disclosed on the cover page of the second-quarter 10-Q. The supply-led valuation analysis for owner earnings uses a base free cash flow of $68.9 million (an accounting proxy because maintenance and growth capex are not separately disclosed) and arrives at a base fair market capitalization far below the dated market capitalization. A reverse-DCF lens suggests the market is pricing in sustained low-double-digit free-cash-flow growth, an aggressive assumption for a 2.30% operating-margin business with compressing gross margins and high gearing to the French and Italian labor markets. Trailing twelve months revenue was $18,718.1 million, up 7.5% reported versus the prior-year period.
Two qualifiers are essential before drawing a valuation conclusion. First, the deterministic ten-year output is overwhelmingly driven by terminal value (the terminal share exceeds 57% in the base scenario), so a small swing in the discount-rate assumption or terminal-growth rate moves the implied per-share value materially; this is structurally true for any high-growth Gordon framework and not specific to ManpowerGroup. Second, free cash flow for 2025 was negative on an operating-cash-flow-minus-total-capex basis only because working capital was absorbing cash; the trailing-twelve-month accounting free-cash-flow proxy is positive at $68.9 million, so this is a company whose owner earnings are noisy rather than absent.
Ten-Year Cash Flow to Fair Market Value
The starting free cash flow is the normalized SEC cash-flow proxy, while every growth rate, discount rate and terminal rate below is an explicit editorial assumption rather than company guidance. Each annual cash flow is forecast and discounted separately; terminal value is year-ten free cash flow multiplied by one plus terminal growth, divided by discount rate minus terminal growth, and then discounted back ten years. Fair market capitalization equals that explicit ten-year present value plus discounted terminal value and a same-date balance-sheet adjustment when available. If current cash and debt facts do not share one report date, the table shows the adjustment as unavailable and conservatively applies zero. The share count is derived from the dated market capitalization and share price so US shares and foreign ADRs use a consistent traded-security denominator.
Year | Bear FCF | Base FCF | Bull FCF |
|---|---|---|---|
1 | $0.1B | $0.1B | $0.1B |
2 | $0.1B | $0.1B | $0.1B |
3 | $0.1B | $0.1B | $0.1B |
4 | $0.1B | $0.1B | $0.1B |
5 | $0.1B | $0.1B | $0.1B |
6 | $0.1B | $0.1B | $0.1B |
7 | $0.1B | $0.1B | $0.1B |
8 | $0.1B | $0.1B | $0.1B |
9 | $0.1B | $0.1B | $0.1B |
10 | $0.1B | $0.1B | $0.1B |
Scenario | Growth years 1–5 / 6–10 | Discount | Terminal | 10-year PV | Terminal PV | Balance-sheet adjustment | Fair market cap | Fair value/share | Margin of safety | Terminal share |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Bear | -2.0% / 1.3% | 11.0% | 2.0% | $0.4B | $0.3B | N/A (treated as $0) | $0.6B | $13.94 | -290.8% | 41.0% |
Base | 4.0% / 3.0% | 9.0% | 3.0% | $0.5B | $0.7B | N/A (treated as $0) | $1.2B | $26.56 | -105.1% | 57.1% |
Bull | 10.0% / 5.0% | 8.5% | 3.5% | $0.7B | $1.3B | N/A (treated as $0) | $2.0B | $42.80 | -27.2% | 65.1% |
In the reverse-DCF, holding the 9% discount rate and 3% terminal growth fixed, and solving only for one constant growth rate rather than using the base-case growth path, the current market capitalization implies roughly 13.0% annual free cash flow growth for ten years. This is a sensitivity framework, not a price target: the terminal-value share shows how strongly each result depends on assumptions beyond the explicit forecast. Negative margin of safety means the current market capitalization exceeds the scenario value.
Five Value-Investing Lenses
Benjamin Graham Lens
Graham would frame this as a balance-sheet question first and an earnings question second. By that test, the picture is mixed: debt is high (total debt of $1,043.5 million, current maturities of $458.8 million), but cash plus revolver capacity plus uncommitted lines totals $930.2 million, and shareholders' equity stands at $2,106.4 million, so a liquidation floor is non-trivial. Graham's famous 1.5-to-1 current-asset-to-current-liability screen is satisfied (current assets $5,131.4 million versus current liabilities $4,919.4 million), and the company has a history of paying a dividend (semi-annual $0.72 per share) and of covering interest expense out of operating profit. Where Graham would object is the price: a market capitalization of $2,532.8 million against a small absolute owner-earnings-proxy base of $68.9 million implies a price-to-cash-flow yield in the low single digits, well above the historical Graham hurdle. Net-net working capital per share is not a meaningful screen for a service business, so this lens concludes that the company is solvent but not statistically cheap.
Benjamin Franklin Lens
Franklin's modern lesson is that small daily savings compound when invested with discipline and avoided when wasted, and that opportunity cost is the only honest measure of an expenditure. Applied here, the €500.0 million January 2026 note redemption removed roughly $35 million of annual interest expense at current rates, which is genuine compounding value even if it shows up only as a reduced interest line over the next several years. The $22.6 million of restructuring costs in the half is an opportunity-cost investment in a leaner cost base; whether it earns its keep depends on whether revenue holds up. The $0.3 million of buyback activity in the half is, in Franklin terms, a missed opportunity to compound capital at a price that looks above intrinsic, because every dollar not repurchased at a premium is a dollar preserved. The 42.0% effective tax rate and the heavy French exceptional surcharge are taxes that destroy compounding; the ability to navigate them without losing competitiveness is a discipline test that management has so far passed.
Warren Buffett Lens
Buffett would focus on whether normalized owner earnings grow over a decade and whether the company can redeploy capital at attractive rates. ManpowerGroup's normalized owner-earnings-proxy sits at roughly $68.9 million, which is small relative to a $2,532.8 million market capitalization, so the implied yield is low. The business has the structural advantage of being asset-light, with PP&E net of only $115.1 million against total assets of $8,374.9 million, so every marginal dollar of gross profit drops meaningfully to the bottom line once the breakeven point is passed. The conflict is that every marginal dollar of revenue also drags working capital, which is why operating cash flow has been negative in two of the past three reported quarters. Buffett would also examine the goodwill and intangibles carrying value of $1,899.1 million against a market capitalization of $2,532.8 million: tangible book value is only $357.9 million, which means the price is almost entirely an intangible-value bet. That is a difficult setup for a cyclical services business.
Charlie Munger Lens
Munger would invert the question: what would have to be true for the price to be right, and is that likely? The price would require sustained mid-single-digit revenue growth, a meaningful gross-margin recovery in Manpower staffing, meaningful operating-margin expansion toward the high-single digits, and low working-capital drag. None of these is currently visible: gross margins are compressing, OUP margins are still negative in Northern Europe and only modestly positive in Southern Europe, and accounts receivable continued to absorb cash in the first half. The 42.0% effective tax rate is a durable headwind tied to French policy rather than a one-time event. Munger would also flag the cognitive bias risk: the $30.0 million Jefferson Wells gain feels like operating profit, but it is non-recurring; the prior-year $88.7 million impairment feels like a one-off, but it has already happened twice in the disclosed goodwill history. Opportunity cost versus alternatives is the silent driver: with a low single-digit cash-flow yield and high business cyclicality, the bar for entry should be high.
Li Lu Lens
Li Lu would ask whether ManpowerGroup fits his circle of competence, whether the culture produces durable advantage, and whether the downside risk is controllable. The business is plainly understandable: bill rates, associate wages, gross-margin spread, working-capital cycle. What is less clear is whether the company has a culture-driven edge, because the filings do not disclose client retention rates, branch productivity benchmarks, or manager-tenure statistics that would let an outsider verify durability. The filings do disclose that the company operates with a global code of business conduct and ethics, an anti-corruption policy, an insider-trading policy that bans hedging, pledging and short sales, executive stock-ownership guidelines and a clawback policy, which are reasonable culture proxies. Permanent-loss risk is concentrated in two places: a sharp cyclical downturn that collapses both gross margin and billing volume, and a goodwill impairment cycle that has already produced one $88.7 million charge in the trailing period. With roughly $458.8 million of long-term debt maturing within twelve months, refinancing risk is the controlling near-term variable; management disclosed that it intends to refinance the €400.0 million notes due June 2027 but the credit-market terms are not yet known.
Risks, Disconfirming Evidence, and What Would Prove This Thesis Wrong
The first thesis breaker is a sustained gross-margin compression in the core Manpower staffing and Experis lines beyond the 70-basis-points already disclosed in the second quarter; if gross margin drops another 50 basis points without offsetting volume growth, operating profit would compress sharply and the implied valuation would deteriorate further. The second thesis breaker is a working-capital release that fails to materialize: management explicitly warns that any operating-cash-flow benefit from a slowdown is not sustained if the downturn extends, so a prolonged period of negative operating cash flow would erode the cash buffer and force a refinancing at a less favorable rate. The third thesis breaker is a goodwill or indefinite-lived intangible impairment in the Northern Europe or APME reporting units beyond the prior-year $88.7 million charge; the filings explicitly warn that further decreases in operating results may result in additional goodwill impairments. The most likely wrong assumption is that the $30.0 million Jefferson Wells gain reflects underlying earnings power rather than a non-recurring divestiture.
Disconfirming evidence available in the filings includes the $30.0 million one-time gain recognized on the Jefferson Wells disposition in the second quarter of 2026, the $5.5 million Venezuela liquidation loss in interest and other, the 42.0% effective tax rate that includes the French exceptional surcharge, and the prior-year $88.7 million non-cash impairment in Switzerland and the United Kingdom. The most likely wrong assumption is that the dated market capitalization of $2,532.8 million can be supported by the base owner-earnings-proxy of $68.9 million without an unusually aggressive growth and margin assumption; the valuation analysis already shows that the market is pricing for growth and margin expansion not visible in current results.
Investment Conclusion
ManpowerGroup is a global staffing leader with scale, brand, and a counter-cyclical Right Management offset, but its dated market capitalization of $2,532.8 million at $54.46 per share is more than 20% above the deterministic base scenario, requiring sustained double-digit free-cash-flow growth and meaningful margin expansion to justify. The second quarter of 2026 demonstrated operating leverage in revenue and gross profit but exposed negative operating cash flow and a 42.0% effective tax rate, while a $30.0 million divestiture gain flattered reported operating profit. The verdict is Overvalued at the dated market price, and the appropriate action is Worth watching only at a price that reflects normalized owner earnings without an aggressive growth re-rating.
---
This article is for educational and informational purposes only and does not constitute investment advice, a recommendation, or an offer to buy or sell any security. Market data is as of August 3, 2026, and is point-in-time. Forward-looking scenarios are editorial illustrations, not stated forecasts.
Share this article







