The Quarter in Context

For the three months ended June 30, 2026, Paysign reported revenue of $28,252,071, up 48.1% from $19,078,353 in the second quarter of 2025. The growth was driven by a 21.4% rise in plasma revenue to $13,040,540 and an 88.9% increase in pharma revenue to $14,649,133. Net income reached $6,756,537, more than quadrupling from $1,387,761 a year earlier, while operating income rose to $7,010,916 from $1,437,607. Diluted earnings per share printed at $0.11 versus $0.02 in the prior-year quarter.
Cash conversion lagged earnings. Operating cash flow was $1,295,316 for the quarter, calculated by subtracting the Q1 cumulative six-month figure from the H1 cumulative figure rather than read off a separately reported quarterly line. After subtracting $103,222 of capital expenditure, which was derived by the same cumulative-to-standalone subtraction, the accounting free-cash-flow proxy came to roughly $1.19 million. The gap with reported net income was driven by a $30,975,966 increase in accounts receivable and a $27,369,982 increase in accounts payable, both largely tied to pass-through pharma claims processing. On a trailing-twelve-month basis, operating cash flow was $74,924,217 and the accounting free-cash-flow proxy was $73,510,395.
Business Model and Profit Engine
Paysign is a vertically integrated prepaid card program manager and processor that does not hold a banking license; cards are issued through partner banks. Direct paying counterparties are corporate sponsors of plasma-donor cards, pharmaceutical patient-affordability programs, corporate incentive programs, per diem and expense cards, and general purpose reloadable (GPR) card products. Paysign captures revenue at every stage of the card lifecycle: program setup and customization, card production and fulfillment, cardholder fees, interchange, transaction processing, settlement income, and breakage on unredeemed gift cards. The income mechanics are legible, but switching costs and renewal rates are not separately disclosed, so durability is inferred rather than independently verified.
The revenue engine is bifurcated. Plasma card revenue, where Paysign pays plasma donors through branded prepaid cards, was $13,040,540 in the quarter; pharma patient-affordability revenue, where Paysign processes co-pay, buy-and-bill and other prescription assistance claims on behalf of pharmaceutical manufacturers, was $14,649,133; and other programs contributed $562,398. Management disclosed that gross dollar volume loaded on cards rose to $546 million for the quarter from $440 million a year earlier, with revenue conversion improving to 5.17% of loaded volume versus 4.34% in the prior-year quarter. That conversion metric is the most informative unit-economics datapoint available, because gross margin alone obscures whether revenue is gaining or losing leverage on program volume.
Cost of revenues is largely variable: transaction processing, network fees, bank fees, call center support, card production and postage scale with active cards and transaction count. That makes the gross margin of $17,897,023 (63.3%) primarily a function of program mix rather than fixed-cost absorption. Operating expenses of $10,886,107 contained $2,339,829 of depreciation and amortization, leaving $8,546,278 of selling, general and administrative spending. The current 24.8% operating margin and 23.9% net margin show operating leverage on the prior-year quarter, helped by a $990,000 one-time gain on the fair value of contingent consideration from the Gamma Innovation LLC acquisition; without that gain, operating income would still have been positive. Capital expenditure is small relative to revenue because most platform investment flows through capitalized internal-use software rather than property, plant and equipment, and the filings do not split maintenance from growth capex. The largest capital intensity is in working capital: restricted cash tied to card programs and pharma claims was $149,109,681 at June 30, 2026, up from $143,917,060 at year-end 2025, and accounts receivable rose to $103,167,960 from $72,191,994, with $88,779,628 of those receivables representing pass-through claims fully offset in payables. Segment-level gross margin and operating profit are not disclosed because the company reports as one segment, so any cross-subsidy between plasma and pharma remains a data gap rather than an observable fact.
The profit engine therefore rests on three observable drivers and one observable vulnerability. The drivers are: rising pharma program count (51 net new programs in the prior twelve months), recovering plasma donation volumes after 2025 inventory normalization, and a rising revenue-conversion rate on loaded card volume. The vulnerability is the 36% concentration of accounts receivable in a single pharma customer, which means a program loss could simultaneously hit revenue, working capital, and stranded fixed cost.
Earnings Quality and Cash Conversion
Where the issuer reports cash flow and capital expenditure cumulatively, the standalone-quarter cash-flow figures are derived by subtracting the preceding cumulative filing from the current cumulative filing. They are calculations from SEC facts rather than separately reported quarterly line items.
Reported earnings were strong, but cash conversion was uneven for the quarter. The accounting free-cash-flow proxy of approximately $1.19 million represented about 17.6% of the $6.76 million reported net income. The shortfall is mechanical: as pharma claims volume grew, accounts receivable rose $30,975,966 and accounts payable rose $27,369,982, with the net $14.4 million working-capital swing explaining most of the gap between net income and operating cash flow. Customer card funding liabilities rose $5,004,943 in the same period. Because these working-capital movements scale with pharma claims volume, the trailing-twelve-month figure of $74.9 million of operating cash flow is partly a product of how the receivable and payable balances have grown alongside that volume, rather than a pure measure of owner cash generation.
A few items warrant cautious reading. Stock-based compensation was $1,252,256 for the quarter and $5,171,599 trailing twelve months, a non-cash expense that lifts reported GAAP expenses relative to economic cost. The $990,000 fair-value gain on the Gamma contingent consideration is a non-operating tailwind; subtracting it from operating income would still leave operating income positive for the quarter. The cash-tax rate, at $1,979,355 paid for six months versus $3,178,662 of book tax provision, shows that reported tax expense is conservative rather than flattered. Restricted cash of $149,109,681 tied to card programs is functionally pass-through client float rather than discretionary liquidity, and goodwill plus intangibles of $25,326,662 represent roughly 31.9% of stockholders' equity, a quality-of-earnings consideration that does not affect cash but signals acquisition history.
Working-capital intensity is a structural feature. The filings do not separate maintenance from growth capital expenditure, so the result is labelled an accounting free-cash-flow proxy rather than a maintenance-capex owner earnings figure, and any reader who treats it as a clean owner-earnings number is overstating discipline.
Business Quality, Moat, and Industry Position
On the available evidence, the company is best described as an important participant rather than a demonstrated core supply-chain bottleneck. This classification describes strategic position only; it is not independent proof of a moat or valuation upside.
Paysign operates as a single vertically integrated segment because management states that the chief operating decision maker assesses performance on a consolidated basis and the company has one reportable segment. That disclosure limits any segment-by-segment moat comparison and means plasma and pharma economics must be inferred from revenue disclosures and management commentary rather than from full segment statements.
The defensible elements visible from the filings include: a banking-license-free distribution model that uses partner bank issuers, a captive B2B sales motion to plasma collectors and pharmaceutical manufacturers, a vertically integrated processing platform that the company continues to enhance through capitalized software development, and a long-tail revenue stream from cardholder fees, interchange, and breakage that compounds as program count grows. The 21.4% plasma revenue growth and 88.9% pharma revenue growth suggest that customer programs are expanding rather than churning. The 52% increase in claims processed and the disclosure of 51 net new pharma programs in the prior twelve months also indicate active onboarding of new manufacturer relationships. The Javelin industry forecast cited in the 10-K projects 8% open-loop prepaid CAGR through 2029, which provides a credible tailwind for the GPR adjacent book but is not itself a Paysign-specific competitive position.
The principal weaknesses are concentration and dependency. One pharma customer represented 36% of accounts receivable at quarter-end, and a separate disclosure shows 31% concentration at year-end 2025. Plasma revenue depends on donation volumes, which management acknowledges are sensitive to inventory levels and donor behavior, with 46 net fewer plasma centers over the trailing twelve months. The company relies on issuing banks rather than holding its own charter, which creates a dependency that no filing explicitly prices but which any reader should weight. The filings do not provide third-party customer interviews or supplier verification, so the moat is inferred from disclosure rather than from independent scuttlebutt, and qualitative durability claims should be discounted accordingly.
Management and Capital Allocation
Management's capital allocation in the first half of 2026 consisted of $3,190,539 used to net-settle equity awards through share withholding, a $2,000,000 contract liability payment tied to the Gamma Innovation LLC acquisition, $369,687 of fixed-asset additions, $2,741,174 of capitalized internal-use software development, and $407,246 of intangible-asset purchases. A $5,000,000 repurchase authorization was approved on May 8, 2026 and remained unused at quarter-end, indicating intent rather than deployment. No dividend is disclosed.
The Gamma acquisition, closed March 19, 2025, added a $4,487,637 goodwill line and contributed intangible amortization that lifted depreciation and amortization by $219,732 quarter over quarter. The earn-out fair-value gain of $990,000 in Q2 2026 suggests the acquisition's contingent consideration is being revalued downward as projected revenues underperform, which is a useful but ambiguous signal about the durability of the acquired business.
Equity compensation is the dominant non-cash cost and the dominant dilution channel. Diluted weighted-average shares rose to 61,975,531 in Q2 2026 from 57,872,318 a year earlier, a 7.1% year-over-year increase that erodes the per-share share of any flat or modestly growing earnings stream. Stock-based compensation of $5,171,599 trailing twelve months is about 5.1% of trailing-twelve-month revenue, a moderate but not trivial level. The open question is whether management will use the new repurchase authorization to offset dilution or to compound buybacks at scale. Until the authorization is deployed, dilution is a structural drag on per-share value that the GAAP earnings growth does not by itself offset.
Valuation and What the Market Already Expects
At a dated market price of $14.14 and market capitalization of $798,374,886 on August 25, 2026, Paysign trades at roughly 7.2x trailing-twelve-month operating cash flow. The dated market price implies very little operating normalization beyond current run-rate cash generation: the market is pricing in a cash-flow trajectory that does not require meaningful growth or margin expansion from the trailing base.
The dated price carries a meaningful yield against trailing cash generation. With $73,510,395 trailing twelve months of accounting free-cash-flow proxy, the dated market capitalization produces a free-cash-flow yield of roughly 9.2%, before any working-capital normalization. The interest income on restricted cash balances is partly a function of client float, so the cash stream is partly endogenous to operating volume and partly a financial-engineering artifact. Because the available cash snapshot ends in 2021, no same-date net-cash adjustment is applied to the equity-value bridge. Total debt of $5,251,173 against $60,156,746 of stockholders' equity indicates a modest balance sheet rather than a leveraged one.
The qualitative implication is that the dated market capitalization prices Paysign essentially as a flat-to-declining cash generator even though current run-rate free-cash-flow proxy is materially positive. That combination, a low embedded growth expectation plus a high cash yield against a low-debt balance sheet, is the valuation signal worth remembering, and it provides a quantitative anchor for the margin-of-safety discussion rather than a peer-relative or multiple-based comparison.
Ten-Year Cash Flow to Fair Market Value
The starting free cash flow is the normalized SEC cash-flow proxy, while every growth rate, discount rate and terminal rate below is an explicit editorial assumption rather than company guidance. Each annual cash flow is forecast and discounted separately; terminal value is year-ten free cash flow multiplied by one plus terminal growth, divided by discount rate minus terminal growth, and then discounted back ten years. Fair market capitalization equals that explicit ten-year present value plus discounted terminal value and a same-date balance-sheet adjustment when available. If current cash and debt facts do not share one report date, the table shows the adjustment as unavailable and conservatively applies zero. The share count is derived from the dated market capitalization and share price so US shares and foreign ADRs use a consistent traded-security denominator.
Year | Bear FCF | Base FCF | Bull FCF |
|---|---|---|---|
1 | $79.4M | $84.5M | $88.9M |
2 | $85.7M | $97.2M | $108M |
3 | $92.6M | $112M | $130M |
4 | $100M | $129M | $158M |
5 | $108M | $148M | $191M |
6 | $111M | $158M | $209M |
7 | $115M | $169M | $230M |
8 | $118M | $181M | $252M |
9 | $122M | $194M | $277M |
10 | $125M | $207M | $304M |
Scenario | Growth years 1–5 / 6–10 | Discount | Terminal | 10-year PV | Terminal PV | Balance-sheet adjustment | Fair market cap | Fair value/share | Margin of safety | Terminal share |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Bear | 8.0% / 3.0% | 11.0% | 2.0% | $0.596B | $0.5B | N/A (treated as $0) | $1.1B | $19.4 | 27.2% | 45.6% |
Base | 15.0% / 7.0% | 9.0% | 3.0% | $0.888B | $1.5B | N/A (treated as $0) | $2.39B | $42.4 | 66.6% | 62.9% |
Bull | 21.0% / 9.8% | 8.5% | 3.5% | $1.17B | $2.78B | N/A (treated as $0) | $3.95B | $70 | 79.8% | 70.3% |
In the reverse-DCF, holding the 9% discount rate and 3% terminal growth fixed, and solving only for one constant growth rate rather than using the base-case growth path, the current market capitalization implies roughly -3.1% annual free cash flow growth for ten years. This is a sensitivity framework, not a price target: the terminal-value share shows how strongly each result depends on assumptions beyond the explicit forecast. Negative margin of safety means the current market capitalization exceeds the scenario value.
Five Value-Investing Lenses
Benjamin Graham Lens
Graham's discipline asks whether the dated price provides a margin of safety relative to a defensible valuation floor, and whether the balance sheet can absorb adversity. Paysign carries $60,156,746 of stockholders' equity and only $5,251,173 of total debt as of June 30, 2026, with $27,372,858 of unrestricted cash, all of which point to a resilient balance sheet. The dated market capitalization of $798,374,886 against the available base-case scenario fair value implies a margin of safety that is consistent with a Graham-style floor, and the absence of significant long-term debt reduces permanent-loss risk from refinancing or covenant pressure. However, Graham would also note that $103,167,960 of accounts receivable, much of it tied to pass-through pharma claims, is a working-capital exposure rather than true cash, and that goodwill and intangibles of $25,326,662 represent roughly 31.9% of stockholders' equity and therefore a quality-of-earnings question. The conclusion is that the dated price passes Graham's downside floor in absolute terms, but the analyst should monitor whether accounts receivable normalization undermines the apparent cheapness.
Benjamin Franklin Lens
Franklin's lens focuses on thrift, discipline, compounding, and opportunity cost. Paysign's capital expenditure is small relative to revenue, and most reinvestment flows through capitalized internal-use software, which is a form of disciplined platform investment rather than discretionary splurge. Stock-based compensation is the opposite of thrift: at $5,171,599 trailing twelve months, it dilutes existing shareholders each year and is not paired with a deployed repurchase authorization. The opportunity-cost test is whether management will deploy the new $5,000,000 repurchase authorization at attractive prices, since the dated market capitalization appears to under-price the available base-case cash flow, and whether future acquisitions like Gamma Innovation LLC generate returns that justify the goodwill recorded. A Franklin-style reader would approve of the modest fixed-asset spending but warn against dilutive equity compensation that is not offset by buybacks or compounding value creation.
Warren Buffett Lens
The Buffett lens asks whether the business throws off real cash, whether the moat is durable, and whether capital is allocated intelligently. The accounting free-cash-flow proxy of $73,510,395 trailing twelve months is positive and meaningful, but a large share of that figure is a function of how accounts receivable and payables have scaled with pharma claims volume rather than a pure measure of owner-level cash generation. The moat, judged from filings alone, is the combination of vertical integration, bank-issuer partnerships, and the stickiness of pharma and plasma programs, with switching costs embedded in claims-adjudication workflow. The capital-allocation record is mixed: the Gamma acquisition produced an earn-out that revalued downward in Q2 2026, the repurchase authorization is unused, and dilution continues at a 7.1% annual pace. A Buffett-style reader would acknowledge the cash generation and moat elements but would want to see disciplined dilution management and a clearer separation of maintenance cash generation from working-capital-driven swings before concluding that management is allocating like owners.
Charlie Munger Lens
The Munger lens asks for inversion, incentive checks, and bias awareness. The principal inversion question is: what would have to be true for this business to lose money permanently? A 36% concentration of accounts receivable in a single pharma customer is the obvious answer, because a loss of that program would simultaneously erode revenue, increase stranded fixed cost, and trigger a working-capital writedown. The incentive check is whether management is paid to maximize long-term cash flow per share or short-period growth; the dominance of stock-based compensation suggests an incentive to grow the equity base, which can justify dilution if value is created but is a red flag if repurchases are absent. The bias check is whether the headline 48.1% revenue growth or the 388% year-over-year operating-income growth is being mistaken for durable economics rather than a one-time combination of plasma recovery and pharma program ramp. Munger would conclude that the dated valuation discount is not by itself a thesis and that concentration plus dilution are the bias-correcting facts.
Li Lu Lens
The Li Lu lens asks whether the business sits inside the investor's circle of competence, whether culture supports durability, and whether permanent-loss risk is contained. For a public reader, the circle-of-competence test is whether the prepayment, interchange, and pass-through-claim mechanics are understandable; the filings are explicit that revenue comes from cardholder fees, interchange, program management fees, transaction claims processing, breakage, and settlement income, which makes the income mechanics legible. Culture is evidenced by management's disclosure of related-party transactions, which were $452,534 in 2025, and by the open disclosure of securities and derivative litigation history, both of which suggest disclosure discipline. Permanent-loss risk is contained by the low leverage and modest capital intensity, but elevated by the customer concentration and the goodwill-quality-of-earnings question. The Li Lu-style conclusion is that the business is comprehensible, the disclosure culture is reasonable, but durability depends on whether management can broaden the pharma customer base and resolve the Gamma earn-out uncertainty.
Risks, Disconfirming Evidence, and What Would Prove This Thesis Wrong
Three observable thesis breakers are worth naming. First, if the single pharma customer representing 36% of accounts receivable were to leave or substantially reduce program scope, the resulting revenue, working-capital, and fixed-cost impact could compress cash flow below the available base-case projections. Second, if claims-processing growth (52% over the prior six months) and the 51 net new pharma programs disclosed by management were to plateau or reverse, the dated market capitalization would no longer be supported by the implied growth path. Third, if diluted-share growth continues at the 7.1% pace observed over the past year while free-cash-flow growth lags, the per-share compounding assumption embedded in any long-horizon framework would break.
The most likely wrong assumption in any bullish case is that the dated price is a sufficient margin of safety on its own. The available scenario framework implies that terminal value contributes roughly 45.6% to 70.3% of total present value, so even the base case is highly sensitive to long-tail assumptions. Disconfirming evidence would include: a quarter-over-quarter decline in pharma claims processed, a rise in plasma-center attrition beyond the 46 net centers disclosed for the trailing twelve months, or an increase in the relative share of revenue coming from contingent or breakage streams. A reversal of customer card funding growth or a meaningful cash use from the new $5,000,000 repurchase authorization at prices that do not compress the share count would also weigh against the thesis.
Investment Conclusion
The dated price and dated market capitalization imply a free-cash-flow yield that exceeds 9% on the trailing-twelve-month accounting proxy, a low embedded growth expectation, and a balance sheet with low leverage and modest goodwill. The available scenario framework places the dated market capitalization well below the base-case fair value, and the dated price sits below that base scenario. The operating risks (customer concentration, working-capital sensitivity, and dilutive equity compensation) are visible but quantifiable. The principal evidence gaps are: third-party customer verification, supplier dependency assessment, segment-level profitability, and same-date cash for a precise enterprise-value-to-equity-value bridge. Given that the valuation picture is supported by cash-flow yield rather than earnings multiples, and given that the dated price sits below the available base scenario, the equity reads as attractive with a margin of safety subject to customer concentration and dilution discipline.
This article is provided for educational and informational purposes only and does not constitute investment advice, a recommendation, or a solicitation to buy or sell any security.
Share this article







