The Quarter in Context

Unifi closed fiscal 2026 (the quarter ended June 28, 2026) with $144.2 million of revenue and $14.3 million of gross profit, the strongest quarter of the fiscal year by both metrics and a clear inflection from the prior-year fourth quarter, when revenue was $138.5 million and gross profit was negative. Net loss narrowed sequentially from $11.4 million in the September 2025 quarter and $9.7 million in the December 2025 quarter to $2.3 million in the March 2026 quarter and $1.2 million in the June 2026 quarter, even though full-year fiscal 2026 still produced a $24.6 million net loss. Annual gross margin of 5.7% on $531.3 million of revenue was meaningfully better than fiscal 2025's 1.5%, but operating loss of $14.6 million and net loss of $24.6 million show that margin progress has not yet flowed through to the bottom line.
The recovery is real but partial. Capital expenditure fell to $5.0 million in fiscal 2026 from $10.5 million in fiscal 2025, and the cash-flow statement absorbed $25.3 million of operating cash flow after working-capital benefits, lifting trailing-twelve-month operating cash flow to roughly $26.5 million. The fourth-quarter operating cash flow of $2.1 million was derived from the change between the fiscal-year and prior-year cumulative figures; it is an author calculation from reported SEC facts and should be read together with the $5.0 million annual capex rather than as a standalone reported line. Quarterly net income is volatile because restructuring, asset-sale gains and tax timing distort comparability across quarters, so the four-quarter sequence is best read as a margin trajectory, not a clean earnings run-rate.
Business Model and Profit Engine
Unifi sells polyester and nylon yarns, in virgin and recycled form, to direct customers that are yarn manufacturers, knitters and weavers, who in turn supply apparel, hosiery, home furnishings, automotive, industrial and medical end markets. Customers pay for a physical input (yarn) plus, in roughly half of Americas sales, a rules-of-origin certificate that lets downstream fabric and apparel qualify for duty-free treatment under USMCA, CAFTA-DR, the Berry Amendment and similar regimes. There is a second, narrower product called REPREVE, a recycled fiber platform whose fiscal 2026 sales were $157.4 million, or about 30% of consolidated net sales.
Revenue converts into gross profit through three geographic segments. In fiscal 2026 the Americas Segment generated $325.2 million of sales and only $4.8 million of gross profit, Brazil generated $115.1 million of sales and $14.1 million of gross profit, and Asia generated $90.9 million of sales and $11.5 million of gross profit. The Americas is the largest revenue bucket but the weakest gross-margin bucket because it carries the fixed cost of U.S., El Salvador and Colombia manufacturing; Brazil and Asia are smaller and more profitable, with Asia running asset-light (no manufacturing assets, only sales offices). Segment profit, which the company defines as gross profit plus depreciation, was $24.4 million for Americas, $17.4 million for Brazil and $11.6 million for Asia, suggesting depreciation expense is the binding constraint on Americas earnings power.
Capital intensity is moderate and concentrated in the Americas. Fiscal 2026 capital expenditure of $5.0 million breaks down as $2.8 million in Americas, $2.0 million in Brazil and only $0.1 million in Asia, broadly tracking the depreciable base of each segment. Working capital is meaningful: accounts receivable of $75.3 million and inventory of $101.1 million together equal roughly a third of annual revenue, so working capital is a real cash drag rather than a rounding error. The filings do not split depreciation into maintenance versus growth, so the difference between $26.5 million of trailing operating cash flow and the $5.0 million of trailing capex is best treated as an accounting free-cash-flow proxy rather than a clean owner-earnings figure. The filings also do not disclose customer concentration or order backlog at a level that would let a reader distinguish recurring from transactional revenue, so any claims of recurring-versus-transactional mix are an author data gap.
Pricing power is partial and structural rather than discretionary. Unifi competes in commodity polyester and nylon, where price is set by global supply and demand, but also sells Compliant Yarns, which are protected by U.S. import duties of 16% to 32% on finished apparel and by recent antidumping and countervailing duties of 2% to 32% on polyester textured yarn from China, India, Indonesia, Malaysia, Thailand and Vietnam. That regulatory moat is real, but the filings do not give a number for compliant-versus-non-compliant mix outside Americas, so the durability of the pricing advantage is qualitative. Variable costs are dominated by raw materials (polyester and nylon polymers, including recycled flake and chip) and by utilities, while fixed costs are dominated by Americas plant depreciation and SG&A; SG&A fell to $44.7 million in fiscal 2026 from $49.0 million in fiscal 2025, evidence that the cost base is partially flexible. A drop in Americas demand would compress the segment that already contributes the smallest gross profit per dollar of revenue, which is the most plausible mechanical lever on the profit engine.
Earnings Quality and Cash Conversion
Where the issuer reports cash flow and capital expenditure cumulatively, the standalone-quarter cash-flow figures are derived by subtracting the preceding cumulative filing. They are calculations from SEC facts rather than separately reported quarterly line items. Fiscal 2026 reported a $24.6 million net loss, but the loss was driven by operating items, not by recurring cash drains that suggest earnings are lower-quality than reported income. Operating cash flow of $25.3 million in fiscal 2026 was greater than the $14.6 million operating loss, a $39.9 million gap that was helped by inventory and accounts-receivable reductions rather than by deferred payments to suppliers. Stock-based compensation of $3.5 million in fiscal 2026 was a real economic cost but a non-cash add-back in the operating section. Depreciation of $24.1 million was larger than capex of $5.0 million, implying the depreciable base is being run down, which inflates near-term free cash flow relative to a normalized steady state. The Madison, North Carolina facility sale produced a $35.8 million gain in the fourth quarter of fiscal 2025 that lifted that year's reported net income but did not recur in fiscal 2026, so the prior-year fourth quarter's $15.5 million net income is not comparable to fiscal 2026's quarterly run-rate.
A 15% cash-flow yield on the dated market capitalization is the single most important valuation signal in this filing. With $26.5 million of trailing operating cash flow, $5.0 million of trailing capex and a $138.3 million market capitalization as of August 27, 2026, the accounting free-cash-flow yield is roughly 15.6% before any debt adjustment, and a meaningful improvement on the prior year when operating cash flow was negative. The difficulty is that the same filing carries a net loss, so readers should treat operating cash flow, not net income, as the relevant cash measure and should expect depreciation to compress as the asset base shrinks.
Business Quality, Moat, and Industry Position
On the available evidence, the company is best described as an important participant, not a demonstrated core supply-chain bottleneck. This classification describes strategic position only; it is not independent proof of a moat or valuation upside. Unifi sits in a global textile industry that competes on price, but within the Americas it occupies a narrower, regulated niche. The company describes itself as the largest filament yarn manufacturer and one of the few producers of qualifying synthetic yarns in the regions covered by Regional FTAs and the Berry Amendment, and it states that approximately half of Americas sales are Compliant Yarns. Recent antidumping and countervailing duties on polyester textured yarn from six Asian countries extend that regulatory moat, and management describes these duties as expected to help normalize the competitive position of U.S.-produced yarns. REPREVE is a brand-and-traceability moat on top of the regulatory one; the filings describe third-party certification, traceability, hangtags and co-marketing, but the brand does not produce a disclosed price premium in the financial statements, so its economic value is qualitative.
The competitive picture is mixed. Brazil is described as stable with favorable currency, and Asia is described as profitable but exposed to weak demand and tariffs, while Americas is the segment with both the largest revenue base and the largest restructuring burden. The Americas gross profit swing from negative $20.2 million in fiscal 2025 to positive $4.8 million in fiscal 2026, on a $22.7 million revenue decline, shows how much of the Americas earnings power depends on cost actions rather than top-line growth. Customer concentration, supplier concentration and order backlog are not disclosed at a level that lets a reader verify durability, so the moat claim is grounded in the regulatory framework and the REPREVE brand rather than in independently verifiable customer or supplier evidence.
Management and Capital Allocation
Management's fiscal 2026 actions were pragmatic and visible. The Profit Improvement Plan and the Madison, North Carolina plant closure reduced SG&A, consolidated Americas yarn manufacturing and lowered the revenue breakeven. The Madison facility was sold for $45.0 million in fiscal 2025, the proceeds went to debt reduction, and a subsequent August 2026 agreement to sell approximately 120 acres and 500,000 square feet of warehouse space in Yadkin County, North Carolina, for approximately $60.0 million further reduces the Americas fixed-cost base. Management has not paid a dividend and has not repurchased stock in fiscal 2026; the 2018 share repurchase program has approximately $38.9 million remaining, but no repurchases occurred in the latest fiscal year. Stock-based compensation of $3.5 million on a $24.6 million net loss represents real dilution that the filings show will be recognized over roughly 1.3 years.
Capital-allocation tone is conservative but not generous. Capex guidance of $7.0 million to $9.0 million for fiscal 2027 is described as primarily routine maintenance, which is consistent with running off the depreciable base rather than reinvesting aggressively. A 2024 credit facility was collateralized by the personal assets of a board member, and an operating relationship with Salem Leasing Corporation, controlled by the same board member, generated $4.4 million of fiscal 2026 payments; both are disclosed related-party items that are not described as material to the financial statements. These arrangements reduce but do not eliminate the integrity question a careful investor should raise.
Valuation and What the Market Already Expects
On a market data date of August 27, 2026, the share price was $7.44 and market capitalization was $138.3 million. The same-date cash position was $25.1 million and the latest reported long-term debt and current debt figures are from 2012 and 2019 respectively, so a precise same-date net-debt figure cannot be constructed; the valuation analysis therefore does not include a balance-sheet adjustment. The diluted-share figure of 18.6 million is a weighted average, not period-end shares outstanding, so per-share valuation math should use the dated market capitalization rather than a recomputed equity value. A trailing-twelve-month EPS denominator is not directly disclosed because the latest fiscal year produced a $1.33 loss per share, so any P/E quoted from this filing would be misleading and is omitted.
Qualitatively, the dated market capitalization appears to require only that Unifi stabilize its recent operating-cash-flow run-rate and avoid a return to the fiscal 2024 cash-drain profile. With $26.5 million of trailing operating cash flow on a $138.3 million equity value, the share price is implicitly pricing in roughly a 19% cash-flow yield before debt and capex, which is a demanding assumption if Americas volumes roll over again but a permissive one if the breakeven cut sticks. The valuation analysis scenarios embedded in this analysis are not reproduced here; the reader-facing implication is that the dated price sits below a mid-case cash-flow outcome by enough that the valuation burden is on the bear case, not on the share price.
Ten-Year Cash Flow to Fair Market Value
The starting free cash flow is the normalized SEC cash-flow proxy, while every growth rate, discount rate and terminal rate below is an explicit editorial assumption rather than company guidance. Each annual cash flow is forecast and discounted separately; terminal value is year-ten free cash flow multiplied by one plus terminal growth, divided by discount rate minus terminal growth, and then discounted back ten years. Fair market capitalization equals that explicit ten-year present value plus discounted terminal value and a same-date balance-sheet adjustment when available. If current cash and debt facts do not share one report date, the table shows the adjustment as unavailable and conservatively applies zero. The share count is derived from the dated market capitalization and share price so US shares and foreign ADRs use a consistent traded-security denominator.
Year | Bear FCF | Base FCF | Bull FCF |
|---|---|---|---|
1 | $21.1M | $22.4M | $23.7M |
2 | $20.7M | $23.3M | $26.1M |
3 | $20.3M | $24.2M | $28.7M |
4 | $19.9M | $25.2M | $31.5M |
5 | $19.5M | $26.2M | $34.7M |
6 | $19.7M | $27M | $36.4M |
7 | $20M | $27.8M | $38.2M |
8 | $20.3M | $28.6M | $40.1M |
9 | $20.5M | $29.5M | $42.2M |
10 | $20.8M | $30.4M | $44.3M |
Scenario | Growth years 1–5 / 6–10 | Discount | Terminal | 10-year PV | Terminal PV | Balance-sheet adjustment | Fair market cap | Fair value/share | Margin of safety | Terminal share |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Bear | -2.0% / 1.3% | 11.0% | 2.0% | $120M | $83M | N/A (treated as $0) | $203M | $10.9 | 31.7% | 41.0% |
Base | 4.0% / 3.0% | 9.0% | 3.0% | $166M | $220M | N/A (treated as $0) | $386M | $20.8 | 64.2% | 57.1% |
Bull | 10.0% / 5.0% | 8.5% | 3.5% | $217M | $405M | N/A (treated as $0) | $622M | $33.5 | 77.8% | 65.1% |
The current market capitalization falls outside the model's -10% to 40% ten-year reverse-DCF search range. This is a sensitivity framework, not a price target: the terminal-value share shows how strongly each result depends on assumptions beyond the explicit forecast. Negative margin of safety means the current market capitalization exceeds the scenario value.
Five Value-Investing Lenses
Benjamin Graham Lens
Unifi passes the qualitative downside test but fails the quantitative one. Trailing operating cash flow of $26.5 million against $5.0 million of capex produces a positive accounting free-cash-flow proxy, and the company has continued to service its debt, sold the Madison facility and entered a subsequent asset sale agreement, all of which suggest balance-sheet resilience in motion. On the other hand, fiscal 2026 still produced a $24.6 million net loss and an operating loss, so normalized earning power is not yet established on an income basis, and the share price is not so far below tangible book that it provides an automatic margin of safety. The discipline Graham emphasized is satisfied by the cash flow, not by the reported loss.
Benjamin Franklin Lens
Capital discipline is the strongest Franklin signal in this filing. Capex fell from $10.5 million in fiscal 2025 to $5.0 million in fiscal 2026, the dividend is zero and no shares were repurchased in fiscal 2026, so the company is preserving cash rather than spending it. The opportunity cost is real: $21.5 million of trailing free cash flow at a 15.6% yield, if maintained and redeployed into debt reduction or buybacks at a discount to tangible book, would compound book value quickly, but the asset-sale proceeds are directed to debt rather than to shareholders. Franklin would call that a disciplined choice rather than a wasteful one, but the test is whether management extends the discipline past the current downturn.
Warren Buffett Lens
The owner-economics lens sees a business that throws off more cash than it earns and that is shrinking its asset base to do so. Operating cash flow of $26.5 million versus reported operating loss of $14.6 million is unusual and is partly explained by working-capital release and depreciation outpacing capex; both effects will fade as the asset base ages and receivables normalize. Capital allocation has favored debt reduction and asset sales rather than repurchases at a price below tangible book, even though the 2018 program has unused authorization, which a Buffett-style investor would view as a missed opportunity. Stock-based compensation of $3.5 million against a $24.6 million net loss is a real cost that should be subtracted from any owner-earnings proxy, but the filings do not separate maintenance from growth capex, so the proxy should be labelled as such.
Charlie Munger Lens
The Munger lens asks whether the incentives, inversions and biases line up. Management compensation is equity-heavy, which aligns with shareholders in principle, but the recent change to a 200% vesting expectation for the first tranche of PSUs granted in November 2025 raises a question about whether targets are calibrated to upside or simply reset on the way down. Inverting the thesis: the most plausible wrong assumption is that Americas gross margin of 1.5% in fiscal 2026 is sustainable, because a 22.7% revenue decline in the segment over two years was met by aggressive cost actions whose one-time character is not disclosed. Tariff and trade-policy assumptions are outside management's control, and the bias risk is to under-weight that exposure after a year in which antidumping duties happened to help.
Li Lu Lens
The circle-of-competence question is whether a U.S.-listed recycled-yarn manufacturer with a regional trade-compliance moat fits a durable-compounder framework. The cultural evidence is mixed: the company has a clear sustainability narrative through REPREVE and a clear regional-manufacturing rationale through Compliant Yarns, but it has also produced three consecutive annual losses and a deeply cyclical demand profile. Permanent-loss risk is concentrated in Americas demand and trade policy rather than in the share count or balance sheet, which limits but does not eliminate the downside. Li Lu's discipline would treat this as a watchlist name with structural optionality, not as a high-confidence long, until normalized earnings and a cleaner capex profile emerge.
Risks, Disconfirming Evidence, and What Would Prove This Thesis Wrong
The first observable thesis breaker is a return to negative Americas gross profit. Fiscal 2026 Americas gross profit of $4.8 million was the difference between a $20.2 million loss in fiscal 2025 and a positive result, and it depended on cost actions taken in fiscal 2025 and 2026; if Americas gross profit turns negative in fiscal 2027, the cash-flow yield story breaks. The second breaker is a tariff reversal. The recent antidumping and countervailing duties on polyester textured yarn imports from six Asian countries are described as a normalizing factor for U.S.-produced yarns, but a reversal or material reduction would erode the Americas regulatory moat. The third breaker is working-capital reversal. Inventory and accounts receivable releases contributed to fiscal 2026 operating cash flow; if customer payment patterns tighten or inventory builds, operating cash flow could compress even if gross profit holds.
Disconfirming evidence already in the filing includes the disclosure that REPREVE Fiber sales fell from $188.5 million in fiscal 2024 to $157.4 million in fiscal 2026, that SG&A still consumes $44.7 million against a $30.5 million gross profit, and that stock-based compensation continues at $3.5 million despite the loss. Customer, supplier and order-book concentration are not disclosed, which limits the ability to verify durability claims and is itself a risk. The August 2026 asset-sale agreement in Yadkin County is conditional and may not close, so the projected debt reduction should be treated as an opportunity rather than a fact.
Investment Conclusion
The dated share price of $7.44 on August 27, 2026 implies a market capitalization of $138.3 million, which is more than 20% below the deterministic base scenario, so the dated valuation burden sits on the bear case rather than on the share price itself. The decisive cash-flow signal is the trailing accounting free-cash-flow proxy of roughly $21.5 million, which produces a double-digit cash-flow yield that is unusual for an industrial and that is the principal reason the dated price looks attractive on a cash basis. Because the dated market capitalization is more than 20% below the deterministic base scenario, the shares should not be called overvalued unless a non-valuation risk independently supports that conclusion, and no such risk has been demonstrated. The investment conclusion is therefore Worth watching, with an upgrade contingent on fiscal 2027 Americas gross margin staying positive and operating cash flow holding at or above the trailing level.
*This article is for educational purposes only and is not investment advice. It reflects the author's interpretation of public SEC filings and a dated market snapshot, and it contains forward-looking statements that may not materialize. *
PLACES IN THIS STORY
Explore the destinations behind this report
Puerto Rico
Carolina
Browse travel guides, places to stay, attractions and local food in Carolina.
Explore Carolina →Carolina, Puerto Rico Travel Guide: A Well-Balanced City BaseShare this article







