The Quarter in Context

The filing under review is Affirm Holdings, Inc.'s Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended June 30, 2026. Because the 10-K reports full-year and quarterly cumulative numbers derived from prior filings, the fourth fiscal quarter is reconstructed by subtracting the nine-month cumulative figures in earlier 10-Q filings from the full-year totals; these quarterly results are author-derived calculations, not directly reported standalone-quarter line items. On that basis, fourth-quarter revenue was $387.5 million, up roughly 26.4% from the prior-year quarter, and fourth-quarter operating income was $147.3 million versus $58.1 million a year earlier.
Trailing-twelve-month revenue was $1.444 billion. Operating cash flow for the same TTM period was $1.231 billion, against $238.3 million of capital expenditure, leaving an accounting free-cash-flow proxy of approximately $993 million for the year. This TTM cash generation comfortably exceeds the cumulative reported earnings line in the income statement, indicating that reported accounting earnings do not fully capture the cash the model produces. The single most important contextual fact is the gap between a roughly $25.5 billion equity-market valuation at $76.21 per share on August 27, 2026 and a trailing cash conversion that, while strong, is modest relative to that capitalization.
Business Model and Profit Engine
Affirm earns revenue from two distinct counterparties for the same transaction. Merchants pay Affirm a fee when Affirm helps convert a sale at checkout; consumer-facing interest income is earned on interest-bearing installment loans that Affirm originates or purchases from originating bank partners; interchange revenue is shared from card-issuing partners on Affirm Card transactions. The merchant fee is the price of higher conversion and higher average order value, while the consumer interest is the price of pay-over-time optionality. Recurring exposure therefore comes from repeat consumers and from merchants that keep Affirm turned on at checkout, not from a single loan event.
The principal revenue engines, by gross merchandise volume mix for fiscal 2026, were interest-bearing monthly installment loans (70%), Pay-in-X (16%) and 0% APR monthly installment loans (14%); the Affirm Card and in-app channels accounted for roughly 25% of transactions during the year. Affirm facilitated $50.2 billion of GMV in fiscal 2026, and the platform counted approximately 571 thousand active merchants at year-end, ranging from small direct-to-consumer brands to large omni-channel enterprises.
Revenue becomes profit through a relatively fixed technology and risk platform layered onto a high-volume transaction business. The filing describes proprietary transaction-level underwriting, machine-learning risk models built on data from approximately 553 million loans to date, and a low-touch integration experience that can be completed in days. Because underwriting and servicing scale with GMV rather than headcount, incremental transactions should expand gross profit and operating profit more than proportionally once the platform is in place. Reported fourth-quarter operating margin was 38.0%, indicating that fixed-cost absorption is now substantial.
Pricing power exists on both sides. Merchants accept that Affirm takes a higher take rate on 0% APR products, which are explicitly positioned as an alternative to discounting. Consumers are charged simple interest, no deferred interest, no compounding interest and no late fees, with rates that vary by transaction risk, creditworthiness, term and merchant arrangement. Capital intensity is low in the conventional sense: payments for property, plant and equipment were $238.3 million on a TTM basis. However, the platform is capital-intensive in the economic sense, because Affirm relies on warehouse credit facilities, securitization, pass-through loan sales and forward-flow arrangements to fund loans it retains. Fixed versus variable costs and detailed unit economics per loan are not disclosed at the level required to quantify contribution margin; the absence of a gross-profit XBRL concept and the lack of segment-level economics are data gaps.
The principal observable conditions that could weaken the profit engine are: (i) regulatory caps on consumer interest rates that compress the interest-bearing leg, which Affirm identifies as a forward-looking risk; (ii) loss of access to warehouse or securitization funding at acceptable terms; and (iii) deterioration in credit performance that increases the provision for credit losses on retained loans. Affirm's claim of repeat-consumer dominance (96% of fiscal 2026 transactions were from repeat consumers) is favorable but is itself a disclosure metric and is not an audited statistic.
Earnings Quality and Cash Conversion
Where the issuer reports cash flow and capital expenditure cumulatively, the standalone-quarter cash-flow figures are derived by subtracting the preceding cumulative filing. They are calculations from SEC facts rather than separately reported quarterly line items. On a trailing-twelve-month basis, Affirm generated approximately $1.231 billion of operating cash flow against $238.3 million of capital expenditure. Subtracting capital expenditure from operating cash flow yields an accounting free-cash-flow proxy of about $993 million, but the filing does not separate maintenance from growth capital expenditure, so this is an accounting residual, not a true maintenance-capex owner earnings figure. Stock-based compensation was $304.7 million on a TTM basis, which is economically a real cost of running the business even though it is a non-cash GAAP expense.
Reported net income for the fiscal year was unusually high at $1.617 billion in the fourth quarter, driven by a tax benefit recognized in the period; this lifts reported income relative to cash earnings and is not evidence of superior underlying earnings power. The TTM net income line of $1.930 billion therefore overstates ongoing economic earnings. Operating income, by contrast, improved to $417.0 million on a TTM basis, a cleaner proxy for recurring operating performance. The fourth-quarter operating cash flow figure of $296.2 million is an author-derived subtraction of nine-month cumulative filings and should be treated as calculated rather than reported.
Net-cash and net-debt positions cannot be quantified from the available SEC data because calculated.balanceSheetAsOf is null and the available snapshots do not include a same-date total debt or short-term investment balance. The filing does reference convertible senior notes due 2026 and 2029 and a revolving credit agreement with Barclays, plus warehouse and securitization funding, but the exact debt balances are not in the available snapshot set. Stockholders' equity was $5.484 billion at June 30, 2026, with $1.630 billion of cash and equivalents and modest goodwill and intangibles of $550.9 million combined. Diluted weighted-average shares grew 1.1% year over year to roughly 348 million, a slow but real dilution path.
Business Quality, Moat, and Industry Position
Affirm's stated competitive advantages center on four claims: network effects between consumers and merchants; engineering and technology infrastructure; a proprietary data set of approximately 553 million loans feeding machine-learning underwriting; and capital-markets expertise in funding loan assets. The network effect claim is supported by disclosure that 96% of transactions in fiscal 2026 came from repeat consumers, which suggests that the platform retains usage once acquired.
The moat, however, must be tested against competitors. The filing itself names substantially larger card issuers (Synchrony, J.P. Morgan Chase, Citibank, Bank of America, Capital One, Bread Financial, American Express), PayPal, Block and Klarna as direct or adjacent competitors, and acknowledges that some of those competitors can cross-subsidize pay-over-time offerings and have lower funding costs. Affirm also depends on originating bank partners such as Celtic Bank and Lead Bank and on card-issuing partners for regulatory capacity and funding, meaning that Affirm does not directly own all of the inputs to its product. The Affirm Bank plan, mentioned as a forward-looking item, is an attempt to internalize more of that stack, but the timing and benefits are not yet realized.
Industry position is therefore best described as an important participant in pay-over-time at checkout, not the bottleneck of the broader consumer-credit stack. The data and underwriting advantage is real and durable, but capital cost and regulatory scale tilt the long-run competitive field toward better-funded incumbents.
Management and Capital Allocation
Affirm is led by founder-Chairman and Chief Executive Officer Max Levchin, whose presence and continued equity exposure indicate long-term alignment. The CFO, Rob O'Hare, and Chief Legal Officer, Katherine Adkins, each adopted Rule 10b5-1 trading plans during the quarter; Mr. Levchin terminated a prior trading plan on June 15, 2026. The existence of multiple insider 10b5-1 plans is a neutral disclosure rather than a negative signal, but the size of Mr. Levchin's previously disclosed plan (up to 4,000,000 employee stock options) indicates that equity compensation continues to be a large economic event for senior insiders.
Capital allocation so far has prioritized growth. There were no share repurchases in fiscal 2026 and no dividends paid. Stockholders' equity of $5.484 billion reflects retained losses converted into book value through prior equity raises and accumulated net income. Capital intensity in the economic sense is meaningful: the platform depends on diversified funding channels (warehouse, securitization, pass-through, forward flow) to support GMV growth. Management's stated strategic priority of launching Affirm Bank implies a future shift of capital from external funding partners onto Affirm's own balance sheet, which could change both the funding-cost structure and the regulatory risk profile. The absence of buybacks during a year of strongly positive operating cash flow is a missed opportunity-cost signal, although the capital is being reinvested into a scaling platform rather than wasted.
Valuation and What the Market Already Expects
The dated market capitalization is $25.522 billion at $76.2075 per share on August 27, 2026. Against TTM operating cash flow of $1.231 billion, the market is paying roughly 20.7 times trailing operating cash flow. Against the $993 million TTM free-cash-flow proxy, the multiple expands to about 25.7 times. Neither multiple is extreme for a growth platform, but neither provides a margin of safety at the price level observed on that date.
Net cash is not available as a same-date adjustment because the balance-sheet calculation is null in the available SEC data; therefore, enterprise value cannot be computed more precisely than by treating market capitalization as a clean equity value. The absence of a same-date net-cash bridge is a limitation, not a value judgment.
Ten-Year Cash Flow to Fair Market Value
The starting free cash flow is the normalized SEC cash-flow proxy, while every growth rate, discount rate and terminal rate below is an explicit editorial assumption rather than company guidance. Each annual cash flow is forecast and discounted separately; terminal value is year-ten free cash flow multiplied by one plus terminal growth, divided by discount rate minus terminal growth, and then discounted back ten years. Fair market capitalization equals that explicit ten-year present value plus discounted terminal value and a same-date balance-sheet adjustment when available. If current cash and debt facts do not share one report date, the table shows the adjustment as unavailable and conservatively applies zero. The share count is derived from the dated market capitalization and share price so US shares and foreign ADRs use a consistent traded-security denominator.
Year | Bear FCF | Base FCF | Bull FCF |
|---|---|---|---|
1 | $1.04B | $1.1B | $1.16B |
2 | $1.09B | $1.21B | $1.35B |
3 | $1.13B | $1.34B | $1.57B |
4 | $1.19B | $1.48B | $1.83B |
5 | $1.24B | $1.64B | $2.14B |
6 | $1.28B | $1.73B | $2.28B |
7 | $1.32B | $1.82B | $2.44B |
8 | $1.36B | $1.91B | $2.61B |
9 | $1.4B | $2.02B | $2.79B |
10 | $1.44B | $2.12B | $2.98B |
Scenario | Growth years 1–5 / 6–10 | Discount | Terminal | 10-year PV | Terminal PV | Balance-sheet adjustment | Fair market cap | Fair value/share | Margin of safety | Terminal share |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Bear | 4.6% / 3.0% | 11.0% | 2.0% | $7.12B | $5.74B | N/A (treated as $0) | $12.9B | $38.4 | -98.4% | 44.6% |
Base | 10.6% / 5.3% | 9.0% | 3.0% | $9.99B | $15.4B | N/A (treated as $0) | $25.4B | $75.8 | -0.6% | 60.6% |
Bull | 16.6% / 6.9% | 8.5% | 3.5% | $13B | $27.3B | N/A (treated as $0) | $40.2B | $120 | 36.6% | 67.8% |
In the reverse-DCF, holding the 9% discount rate and 3% terminal growth fixed, and solving only for one constant growth rate rather than using the base-case growth path, the current market capitalization implies roughly 8.3% annual free cash flow growth for ten years. This is a sensitivity framework, not a price target: the terminal-value share shows how strongly each result depends on assumptions beyond the explicit forecast. Negative margin of safety means the current market capitalization exceeds the scenario value.
Five Value-Investing Lenses
Benjamin Graham Lens
Affirm passes only a partial Graham downside test. The business is profitable on a TTM operating basis with stockholders' equity of $5.484 billion and $1.630 billion of cash, and operating cash flow comfortably covers capital expenditure, so the balance sheet is not obviously fragile. However, Graham's framework demands a margin of safety between price and a conservatively normalized earnings power. At a TTM operating-cash-flow multiple near 20 times and a dated market capitalization within the deterministic base-scenario range, there is no meaningful price-to-value cushion at the August 27, 2026 quote. Graham would treat the current price as an aggressive bet on continued compounding, not as a defensive investment. The lack of a true, same-date net-cash position in the available SEC data also limits a textbook net-current-asset-style check.
Benjamin Franklin Lens
Franklin's discipline is best applied as thrift, compounding and opportunity cost. Affirm has compounded revenue at 26.4% year over year on a TTM basis and has converted a meaningful portion of that revenue into operating cash flow, which is a form of disciplined compounding of capital. However, the company paid no dividends, repurchased no shares and relied on equity-based compensation of $304.7 million on a TTM basis, which dilutes per-share value and is a real economic cost even if non-cash. The opportunity-cost test asks what an investor gives up by buying at the dated price rather than waiting: the dated multiple already requires a base-rate growth path, so the cost of being early is the cost of foregone compounding elsewhere if that path disappoints.
Warren Buffett Lens
Buffett would focus on owner earnings and capital allocation. The accounting free-cash-flow proxy of approximately $993 million on a TTM basis is a starting point, but maintenance versus growth capital expenditure is not disclosed, so this is not a true owner-earnings figure. The lack of buybacks or dividends in fiscal 2026 means capital is being retained for reinvestment; whether that reinvestment compounds at attractive returns depends on credit performance and on the success of the planned Affirm Bank transition. Buffett would also note that the competitive set includes much larger, better-funded incumbents who can cross-subsidize pay-over-time offerings, which limits the durability of any moat. At the current price, the equity looks like a quality business at a fair price rather than a quality business at a discount.
Charlie Munger Lens
Munger would invert the question: what would have to be true for the dated price to be a mistake? First, credit losses on retained loans could spike in a recession, which would directly attack the most economically valuable leg of the platform. Second, regulatory action to cap consumer interest rates would compress the interest-bearing revenue stream that funds the higher take rates Affirm earns on 0% APR products. Third, loss of access to warehouse or securitization funding, or the failure of the Affirm Bank plan, would force a structural repricing of the funding-cost advantage. Munger would also flag the high stock-based compensation relative to operating income as an incentive distortion worth watching. The base-rate scenario in the valuation analysis already discounts some of these risks; the bear scenario is closer to the inversion result.
Li Lu Lens
Li Lu would ask whether Affirm sits inside a circle of competence and whether the durable advantage is real. The product is conceptually simple: lend to consumers at the point of sale, price risk with proprietary data, and recycle capital through capital markets. The moat rests on data, underwriting and merchant integration, which are real but not unique over the very long horizon. The cultural posture of zero late fees and no compounding interest is a coherent operating philosophy, but a public company whose largest competitive threats are much larger incumbents is unlikely to be a permanent monopoly. The honest answer is that Affirm is a competent operator in an industry where permanent loss is possible if credit and regulation turn at once; the dated price does not give an obvious margin of safety against that loss.
Risks, Disconfirming Evidence, and What Would Prove This Thesis Wrong
The first observable thesis breaker is a sustained rise in the provision for credit losses on retained loans, which would directly compress operating cash flow and would invalidate the assumption that the TTM free-cash-flow proxy of about $993 million is sustainable. The second breaker is a regulatory move to cap consumer interest rates, which Affirm explicitly identifies as a forward-looking risk and which would compress the interest-bearing revenue engine that represented 70% of fiscal 2026 GMV. The third breaker is loss of access to warehouse or securitization funding at acceptable terms, which would impair Affirm's ability to fund its retained loan book and would unwind the capital-markets expertise advantage. A fourth, weaker breaker is unexpected dilution from stock-based compensation above the TTM run-rate of $304.7 million.
The single most likely wrong assumption is that the 96% repeat-consumer share implies durable pricing power; in fact, repeat usage does not equal pricing power if a competitor can offer merchants a lower take rate. The opportunity cost is the forgone compounding available in businesses priced at a clearer margin of safety. The conclusion would change to outright overvaluation if any one of the first three breakers materializes, because the dated price already embeds a base-rate growth path.
Investment Conclusion
Affirm Holdings is a cash-generating consumer-credit platform with a real underwriting data advantage but a competitive set that includes much larger, better-funded incumbents. At $76.2075 per share on August 27, 2026, the dated market capitalization of $25.5 billion sits within the deterministic base-scenario range from the long-horizon cash-flow valuation, leaving no margin of safety against credit, regulatory or funding disruption. The investment conclusion is fairly valued: the upside depends on compounding cash generation and successful execution of Affirm Bank, while the downside is meaningful if any one of the thesis breakers above occurs.
This article is for educational purposes only and is not investment advice. It relies solely on the available SEC filings and dated market snapshot and does not constitute a recommendation to buy or sell any security.
Share this article







