The Quarter in Context

Illustration for Circle Internet Group: Assessing Yield, Cash Conversion, and Price: Drombeg Stone Circle West.jpg

Circle Internet Group's second-quarter 2026 results, filed on Form 10-Q for the period ended June 30, 2026, show a sharply different earnings mix than headlines about 'crypto' might suggest. Total revenue and reserve income of $701.3 million broke into $667.7 million of reserve income and only $33.6 million of other revenue, with distribution and transaction costs of $410.4 million absorbing most of the gross yield. Operating income from continuing operations swung to $34.4 million from a loss of $325.6 million in the prior-year quarter, the swing driven by the absence of a one-time $423.8 million IPO-related stock-based compensation charge that had crushed the comparable quarter.

The balance sheet at June 30, 2026 carried $1.73 billion of unrestricted cash and equivalents against $73.2 billion of cash segregated for the benefit of stablecoin holders, with $72.9 billion of matching deposits from stablecoin holders sitting on the liability side. The corporate balance sheet remains small, with only $3.5 billion of stockholders' equity, $265.7 million of goodwill, and $446.6 million of intangible assets. Outside the segregated silo, the franchise that earns Circle its free cash flow is essentially a thin platform with a large contractual position in U.S. dollar yield on behalf of its stablecoin holders.

Business Model and Profit Engine

Circle earns money primarily by issuing USDC, holding the backing cash and short-duration Treasuries at BlackRock-managed Circle Reserve Fund, and keeping the spread between that yield and what it shares with distribution partners. Reserve income of $667.7 million in Q2 2026 versus $634.3 million a year earlier reflects slightly higher average reserve yield offset by mixed circulation trends, and the company explicitly discloses that a 100-basis-point move in rates changes modeled reserve income by roughly $737 million for the next twelve months while changing distribution and transaction costs by approximately $360 million in the same direction. Distribution and transaction costs of $410.4 million in Q2 2026 are the single largest expense category and largely reflect revenue-sharing with exchanges, wallets, and partners where USDC is held or transacted.

The profit engine is therefore a near-pure interest-rate spread on a regulated money-like liability, not a software model with recurring subscription fees. Other revenue of $33.6 million, which is the only line the available SEC data labels as 'Revenue,' is described in the filing as arising from Circle Payments Network, StableFX, developer services, subscription and API products, and other application-layer fees. This non-interest revenue stream is small, grew roughly 41% year over year, and consists primarily of variable transactional and developer usage rather than durable contracted ARR. Pricing power on this revenue line is best characterized as emerging; the unit economics, customer cohorts, and gross margin for specific Circle Application products are not separately disclosed in the filing, so segment-level economic durability is a data gap.

Capital intensity is low in the conventional sense, with property and equipment of only $22.2 million at June 30, 2026 against trailing-twelve-month operating cash flow near $777 million. Maintenance-versus-growth reinvestment is not separated in the filing, so any claim that recent software capitalization represents growth capex rather than feature maintenance is an inference. The path from revenue to operating profit to cash remains intact: in Q2 2026, $701.3 million of total revenue and reserve income minus $412.5 million of distribution and other costs left $288.9 million of 'gross yield,' which absorbed $220.0 million of operating expenses other than stock-based compensation to produce the $34.4 million operating income figure. The same period's operating cash flow of $517.4 million (cumulative for the six months ended June 30, 2026, less Q1 2026) is far higher than net income because of working-capital movements, in particular a $222.0 million ARC-token sale noted in management's discussion, and reflects reserve-asset working capital that the author does not separate from operating cash conversion.

Earnings Quality and Cash Conversion

Where the issuer reports cash flow and capital expenditure cumulatively, the standalone-quarter cash-flow figures are derived by subtracting the preceding cumulative filing. They are calculations from SEC facts rather than separately reported quarterly line items.

Earnings quality is mixed by design rather than by accident. The headline net-income line includes roughly $53.6 million of stock-based compensation in Q2 2026 and $105.4 million for the half-year on a U.S. GAAP basis, which is far below the $435.0 million recognized in Q2 2025 because the prior-year IPO vesting event had triggered a large one-time charge. Excluding that IPO-related distortion, the run-rate stock-based compensation is in the low-double-digit millions per quarter, which remains an above-industry dilution drag on equity but is no longer the main distorter. Management discloses in its Critical Accounting Estimates section that estimates in the financial statements involve significant judgment and that actual results may differ, a standard caveat but worth remembering when translating headline earnings into cash.

The most important earnings-quality fact is the divergence between 'reserve income' of $667.7 million and the corporation's own distributable cash. Of that reserve income, $410.4 million is paid out or shared with distribution partners, leaving a residual that funds the company's own operating budget and produces operating income of $34.4 million for the quarter. This is the structural shape of the business, and the filings make clear that an equal interest-rate move changes reserve income and distribution costs in the same direction, so the net interest margin of USDC for Circle compresses less than gross yield in a falling-rate scenario but does still shrink. Outside the reserve engine, the company recorded $8 million of digital-asset losses/gains in Q2 2026 and a $6.7 million change in fair value of convertible debt, warrant liability, and embedded derivatives, both of which the author treats as non-recurring noise rather than core operating earnings.

Cash conversion is the strongest signal in the package. Trailing-twelve-month operating cash flow of $776.9 million far exceeds trailing-twelve-month operating income of $215.6 million, and trailing-twelve-month free cash flow of $761.5 million is the more useful run-rate figure for valuation. Capital intensity is negligible: $15.4 million of trailing capex against $15.0 million in the most recent quarter. The key standing caveat is that 'free cash flow' here is operating cash flow less total capital expenditure, an accounting proxy that does not separately distinguish maintenance from growth, and growth capex may include capitalized software development of $35.8 million in the first half of 2026, which the filing describes as supporting the platform but does not label as growth capex versus maintenance.

Business Quality, Moat, and Industry Position

On the available evidence, the company is best described as an important participant, not a demonstrated core supply-chain bottleneck. This classification describes strategic position only; it is not independent proof of a moat or valuation upside.

The 'moat' question for CRCL turns on regulatory positioning, network distribution, and reserve-asset safety rather than on traditional product differentiation. USDC is the second-largest U.S. dollar stablecoin, which gives Circle some structural advantages in liquidity, exchange listings, and developer mindshare, but stablecoins are a contested market where Tether and a growing roster of bank- and payment-issuer-affiliated tokens compete for the same dollar of circulation. The 10-Q notes that periods of uncertainty could trigger rapid redemption requests and that the company is exposed to operational challenges, regulatory changes, and the broader digital-asset industry's reputational shocks.

Circle does possess two identifiable operating advantages. First, the Circle Reserve Fund is managed by BlackRock with disclosed investment guidelines, and Circle is the only shareholder, a structural setup that gives Circle direct control over the asset side of the spread and a counterparty name that carries weight in institutional adoption. Second, Circle's distribution agreements, including those filed as exhibits with Coinbase, give it access to the largest U.S. crypto exchange's order flow, and the revenue-sharing economics of those deals are described in the filing. The 10-K and 10-Q both flag that the loss or material change of these arrangements would be a serious risk, which is evidence the moat is real but contracted, not self-sustaining.

The supply-chain position is hard to score because Circle is not a 'bottleneck' in the conventional sense; it is one of two meaningful U.S. dollar stablecoin issuers with a fully-regulated reserve structure, sitting between end users and a yield-bearing reserve managed by BlackRock, with substitutable alternatives on both the issuance side (other stablecoins, tokenized money-market funds) and the redemption side (fiat on-ramps through banks and payment processors). Strategic importance to the digital-asset ecosystem is high; strategic importance as classically defined is moderate at best. The available SEC data does not provide peer market-share data, customer-concentration disclosures, or contract terms beyond the existence of major distribution deals, which limits a direct moat comparison.

Management and Capital Allocation

Capital allocation under CEO Jeremy Allaire and CFO Jeremy Fox-Geen has, to date, consisted of equity issuance, opportunistic acquisitions, capitalized software development, and a Circle Foundation charitable program. The IPO in June 2025 priced at $31.00 per share and raised $583.0 million in net proceeds; a follow-on offering in August 2025 priced at $130.00 per share and raised $444.8 million. On the use-of-cash side, the filing discloses capitalized software development costs of $35.8 million for the six months ended June 30, 2026, $11.7 million in purchases of strategic investments, and $10.4 million in long-lived-asset purchases, with charitable contributions to the Circle Foundation also appearing as a non-cash line in the equity rollforward.

The capital-return policy is essentially absent. The available SEC data reports zero share repurchases on a trailing-twelve-month basis and no dividends paid. This is reasonable for a company that just completed its IPO and faces a heavy product roadmap, but it does mean the equity story is pure compounding rather than direct return of cash. Stock-based compensation of $105.4 million in the first half of 2026 is meaningful and represents dilution that the cash-flow bridge must implicitly absorb. For a Buffett-style owner, the absence of buybacks combined with high SBC and a controlling founder structure places management quality and capital discipline squarely in the judgment column rather than the evidence column.

Valuation and What the Market Already Expects

The dated market capitalization of $22.7 billion at $89.49 per share as of August 31, 2026 is the authoritative reference, and the trailing-twelve-month free-cash-flow yield implied by that price and the $761.5 million free cash flow proxy is roughly 3.4 percent at the corporate level. On total revenue and reserve income of $1.4 billion for the first half of 2026, the price implies a multiple closer to 8x trailing run-rate, but the right denominator for valuation is free cash flow to the corporate entity, not consolidated reserve interest income, because most of that interest is owed to stablecoin holders. The dated market capitalization sits within 20 percent of the valuation analysis scenario, so price discipline is being discussed only as an assumption about what the market already requires: sustained reserve-asset growth, stable distribution economics, and continued flow-through to free cash flow.

The principal observable valuation burden is that the dated market capitalization is high relative to a normal conventional multiple range for any non-financial operating business and depends on either continued growth in USDC circulation or a persistence of interest rates at or above recent levels, both of which are uncertain. Balance-sheet adjustments at the equity-bridge level were not available in the available evidence because same-date debt was not separately reported, so any net-cash commentary in this section is intentionally qualitative. The market's reverse-DCF implied growth rate, derived from the dated market capitalization and the available free cash flow run rate, is qualitatively aggressive; a public reader should treat it as an unsourced rough sensitivity rather than as a calibrated target.

Ten-Year Cash Flow to Fair Market Value

The starting free cash flow is the normalized SEC cash-flow proxy, while every growth rate, discount rate and terminal rate below is an explicit editorial assumption rather than company guidance. Each annual cash flow is forecast and discounted separately; terminal value is year-ten free cash flow multiplied by one plus terminal growth, divided by discount rate minus terminal growth, and then discounted back ten years. Fair market capitalization equals that explicit ten-year present value plus discounted terminal value and a same-date balance-sheet adjustment when available. If current cash and debt facts do not share one report date, the table shows the adjustment as unavailable and conservatively applies zero. The share count is derived from the dated market capitalization and share price so US shares and foreign ADRs use a consistent traded-security denominator.

Year

Bear FCF

Base FCF

Bull FCF

1

$0.822B

$0.876B

$0.921B

2

$0.888B

$1.01B

$1.11B

3

$0.959B

$1.16B

$1.35B

4

$1.04B

$1.33B

$1.63B

5

$1.12B

$1.53B

$1.98B

6

$1.15B

$1.64B

$2.17B

7

$1.19B

$1.75B

$2.38B

8

$1.22B

$1.88B

$2.61B

9

$1.26B

$2.01B

$2.87B

10

$1.3B

$2.15B

$3.15B

Scenario

Growth years 1–5 / 6–10

Discount

Terminal

10-year PV

Terminal PV

Balance-sheet adjustment

Fair market cap

Fair value/share

Margin of safety

Terminal share

Bear

8.0% / 3.0%

11.0%

2.0%

$6.18B

$5.18B

N/A (treated as $0)

$11.4B

$44.7

-100.1%

45.6%

Base

15.0% / 7.0%

9.0%

3.0%

$9.19B

$15.6B

N/A (treated as $0)

$24.8B

$97.6

8.3%

62.9%

Bull

21.0% / 9.8%

8.5%

3.5%

$12.1B

$28.8B

N/A (treated as $0)

$40.9B

$161

44.5%

70.3%

In the reverse-DCF, holding the 9% discount rate and 3% terminal growth fixed, and solving only for one constant growth rate rather than using the base-case growth path, the current market capitalization implies roughly 10.2% annual free cash flow growth for ten years. This is a sensitivity framework, not a price target: the terminal-value share shows how strongly each result depends on assumptions beyond the explicit forecast. Negative margin of safety means the current market capitalization exceeds the scenario value.

Five Value-Investing Lenses

Benjamin Graham Lens

On the Graham downside floor, Circle's corporate balance sheet (outside the segregated silo) carries roughly $1.73 billion of unrestricted cash against no separately disclosed corporate debt, plus $265.7 million of goodwill and $446.6 million of intangibles on the asset side. For a defensive investor, the immediate solvency test is comfortable: tangible book is around $3.06 billion and the dated equity market capitalization is approximately $22.7 billion, so the cash and tangible-asset base covers a substantial portion of the equity value at the corporate level. Graham's discipline, however, asks whether the price provides a margin of safety relative to a defensible normalized earnings power; here, normalized earnings power is still being established because free cash flow depends on volatile interest rates and circulation trends that are explicitly disclosed as uncertain, so confidence in any steady-state multiple must be reduced.

Benjamin Franklin Lens

Franklin-style discipline applied to CRCL means asking whether the dated equity price represents a frugal use of capital and a sober respect for opportunity cost. The company completed an IPO at $31 per share and a follow-on at $130 per share; the dated price of $89.49 sits below the follow-on but well above the IPO, so the average dollar raised by the company is at a lower cost than today's secondary buyer is paying, which is a mild warning to the public reader about discipline. Inside the company, six-month operating expenses excluding distribution costs were $496.8 million against $33.6 million of other revenue, an 88 percent cost-to-revenue ratio on the application side, which is the kind of ratio that calls for thrift rather than expansion until that mix shifts. A Franklin-style investor, then, would prefer to wait for evidence that per-dollar spend translates into durable cash before underwriting today’s multiple.

Warren Buffett Lens

A Buffett lens asks whether CRCL is a quality business with a durable moat, a candid management team, and a reasonable price. Management disclosure in the 10-Q is candid about regulatory uncertainty, redemption risk, and the structural dependence on the Coinbase relationship, which is positive from an integrity perspective. The moat is real but contracted: a regulated reserve structure and major-distribution access that competitors can partially replicate, particularly as bank-issued payment stablecoins enter the market. The owner-earnings proxy is operating cash flow less total capex and was $761.5 million on a trailing basis, but its durability rests on interest rates and USDC circulation that management cannot control.

Charlie Munger Lens

Inverting the question, what could permanently impair Circle's earning power? The most plausible single thesis-breaker is a regulatory regime that allows bank-issued payment stablecoins at scale, eroding USDC's structural advantage in distribution and reserve economics, or an interest-rate cut of 100 basis points or more that would shrink reserve income by an estimated $737 million while only reducing distribution and transaction costs by $360 million, compressing the corporate spread by roughly $377 million. A second path is an operational event at the BlackRock-managed Circle Reserve Fund or a major distribution partner that triggers a redemption panic, scenarios the filing explicitly flags as forward-looking risks. A third is dilutive equity issuance to fund growth: the diluted share count rose from 107.5 million in Q2 2025 to 268.6 million in Q2 2026, a 150 percent increase in twelve months that already substantially diluted legacy holders.

Li Lu Lens

The Li Lu circle-of-competence lens asks whether the public reader can understand the business model, whether the moat is durable, and whether the culture supports long-term compounding. The business model is genuinely understandable as a regulated yield spread on stablecoin float, which passes the comprehension bar, and the company's stated mission emphasizes an 'open, standardized' internet financial system rather than a closed platform, which is consistent with a culture that values durability over short-term extraction. However, the company is using AI in compliance and product features, an area where the filing discloses new and evolving risks; a Li Lu-style investor would treat that as a temporary reason to keep the position small or wait for the data to mature. Permanent-loss risk here is less about operational mismanagement and more about regulatory or rate-driven margin compression, so the conclusion is to keep the position on a watchlist rather than to underwrite the dated price today.

Risks, Disconfirming Evidence, and What Would Prove This Thesis Wrong

Prominent growth narratives can amplify attention bias and the price investors are willing to pay before cash flows arrive. That does not negate the operating evidence, but it raises the burden of proof for valuation and makes execution shortfalls more costly.

Three observable indicators could falsify this working thesis. First, a sustained decline in USDC circulation over two or more quarters, visible in the deposits-from-stablecoin-holders line on the balance sheet, would imply that the spread franchise is contracting and is something to monitor in subsequent 10-Qs. Second, a 100-basis-point or greater decline in the average reserve yield, paired with management's own modeled decline in reserve income, would compress the corporate free-cash-flow proxy and challenge the dated market capitalization. Third, a regulatory event that explicitly advantages bank- or payments-issuer-affiliated stablecoins in U.S. distribution would be a structural rather than cyclical shock, and the filing flags pending legislation such as the GENIUS Act as a future risk that may affect the business in ways that cannot yet be known.

Disconfirming evidence available in the filings includes the explicit risk-factor language about redemption runs, operational disruption, and negative publicity; the diluted share count more than doubling in twelve months; and the consistent recognition of meaningful stock-based compensation each quarter. Data gaps that prevent a tighter conclusion include the absence of segment gross margin disclosure for Circle Applications versus reserve income, the lack of net-cash adjustment at the equity bridge due to non-disclosure of corporate debt, and the omission of maintenance-versus-growth capex separation. The report identifies these gaps rather than papering over them.

Investment Conclusion

The dated market capitalization of $22.7 billion at $89.49 per share as of August 31, 2026 prices Circle Internet Group roughly in line with central-case free-cash-flow compounding expectations over the next decade, with high sensitivity to both interest-rate paths and USDC circulation. The business is real, cash-flow positive, and well-capitalized at the corporate level, but the dated price already reflects an aggressive long-term compounding case that the available evidence cannot independently confirm. The conclusion for the public reader is 'Fairly valued,' with the working assumption that any durable confirmation of USDC share gains and reserve-yield stability would tilt the picture more attractive, and any rate cuts or competitor encroachment would tilt it the other way. Educational-use only; not investment advice.

Share this article

FacebookX

4 sources

Sources