The Quarter in Context

Female IT professional examining data servers in a modern data center setting.

Cryoport reported $48.97 million of revenue for the three months ended June 30, 2026, up 7.7% from $45.45 million in the prior-year quarter, and a 46.6% gross margin against the comparable 47.0%. The headline number, however, does not resolve the more important operating question: the company booked a $10.0 million loss from operations in Q2 2026 versus a $9.65 million loss a year earlier, and net loss from continuing operations of $8.26 million, modestly narrower than the $12.01 million loss a year ago because investment income rose to $3.13 million from $1.47 million. The second-quarter cash-flow line deserves careful reading: net cash provided by operating activities for the six months ended June 30, 2026 was $4.87 million, but the second-quarter standalone result was a derived $1.13 million of operating cash inflow against $9.10 million of capex (author calculation from cumulative filings), producing a derived $7.97 million of free-cash-flow burn for the quarter.

That result sits inside a half-year in which the company also spent $19.08 million on property and equipment — more than 2.5× the $7.52 million invested in the first half of 2025 — as it built out supply-chain center capacity and shipped more Cryoport Express units. The prior-year comparison is contaminated by the $120.35 million gain on the CRYOPDP divestiture that was reclassified to discontinued operations and that lifted prior-period net income to $108.87 million for Q2 2025; the comparable continuing-operations figure, a $12.01 million loss, is the cleaner benchmark. Stripping out that non-recurring gain is necessary before comparing trend lines; it does not by itself change the operating trajectory, which remains one of mid-teens revenue growth paired with operating losses. Management plans to repay the $185.7 million 2026 Convertible Senior Notes at maturity in December 2026, a use of cash that frames the entire capital-allocation discussion.

Business Model and Profit Engine

Cryoport earns money by charging life-sciences customers for two distinct but related deliverables. The Life Sciences Services segment, 57.1% of Q2 2026 revenue at $27.97 million, combines temperature-controlled BioLogistics, BioStorage/BioServices, and Cryopreservation services around the proprietary Cryoportal platform and Chain of Compliance® framework. Direct customers are biopharmaceutical and cell-and-gene therapy developers, animal-health companies, reproductive-medicine programs, academic centers and government agencies. The recurring logic here is that a clinical trial that begins using Cryoport's kit, shipper and informatics system is expensive and risky to switch mid-trial, and a commercially approved therapy that requires Chain of Identity is even harder to displace. As of June 30, 2026, Cryoport supported 779 global clinical trials, including 94 in Phase 3 and 20 commercially approved CGT therapies; these counts are leading indicators of recurring revenue.

The Life Sciences Products segment, 42.9% of Q2 2026 revenue at $21.00 million, manufactures cryogenic stainless-steel freezers, aluminum dewars and ancillary equipment through the MVE Biological Solutions subsidiary, sold through distributors and direct relationships. MVE is a different kind of engine: more transactional, more cyclical on capital-equipment budgets, and tied to the build-out of biorepositories and storage facilities rather than to ongoing therapy throughput. The economics differ accordingly: Life Sciences Services gross margin was 49.4% in the first half of 2026, while Life Sciences Products gross margin was 42.1%. Both segments generate sales costs that scale with volume — freight, labor, materials, depreciation of Cryoport Express shippers — but the operating cost stack is dominated by SG&A of $28.01 million for the quarter, well above any plausible gross-profit contribution from a 46.6%-margin business of this size. Capital intensity is meaningful: property and equipment grew to $94.52 million at June 30, 2026 from $85.45 million at year-end 2025, and first-half capex of $19.08 million absorbed more than 19% of first-half revenue. The filings do not separately disclose maintenance versus growth capex; any split is an author inference rather than a reported fact.

The profit engine converts revenue into gross profit and then leaks. Adjusted EBITDA from continuing operations was $0.38 million for Q2 2026, barely positive, against a $(0.91) million loss a year earlier — a sign that underlying operations are inching toward break-even before corporate overhead and stock-based compensation. Working capital is well-controlled: accounts receivable rose to $36.45 million from $33.36 million, inventories fell to $21.51 million from $23.19 million, and deferred revenue of $1.72 million signals a small amount of contracted-not-yet-earned revenue. Customer concentration, segment gross margin and unit-level economics are not disclosed at the level an investor would need to defend a durable margin thesis; this is a real data gap. Observable conditions that would weaken the profit engine include any deceleration in clinical-trial starts, a pullback in customer capital budgets for cryogenic equipment, or further SG&A bloat as the company scales its global supply-chain network.

Earnings Quality and Cash Conversion

Where the issuer reports cash flow and capital expenditure cumulatively, the standalone-quarter cash-flow figures are derived by subtracting the preceding cumulative filing. They are calculations from SEC facts rather than separately reported quarterly line items.

Reported earnings quality is mixed and must be read with care. The trailing twelve-month net loss of $37.39 million is distorted by the $120.35 million non-cash gain on the CRYOPDP divestiture that was reclassified to discontinued operations in 2025; without that gain the trailing operating loss picture is the better signal. On an adjusted-EBITDA basis the company is approximately at break-even: $(0.24) million for the first half of 2026 versus $(3.73) million a year earlier. Depreciation and amortization of $12.99 million in the first half of 2026 is a real economic cost — the company is depreciating the shippers and supply-chain center investments it is also adding — and stock-based compensation of $4.80 million is a real dilution cost even though it is non-cash.

Cash conversion is the central question. Net cash provided by operating activities was $4.87 million for the first half of 2026, an improvement from the $11.69 million outflow a year earlier, but the improvement rests on working-capital releases (a $2.81 million decrease in prepaid expenses, a $1.67 million decrease in inventories, a $1.23 million increase in payables) rather than on accrual profitability. Capex absorbed $19.08 million in property and equipment plus $0.38 million in software, $0.63 million in patent costs and $0.21 million in finance-lease equipment, so total cash investment was approximately $20.30 million. The author-calculated first-half free-cash-flow result is therefore approximately negative $15.43 million, and the trailing twelve-month free cash flow is negative $20.03 million. Because the filings do not separate maintenance from growth capex, this number is an accounting free-cash-flow proxy, not a "maintenance-capex owner earnings" figure. A normalized view would subtract only the depreciation load of $12.99 million from first-half operating cash flow of $4.87 million, implying a derived normalized free-cash-flow burn of approximately $8.12 million — still negative, but materially better than the capex-deducted version.

Accounting free cash flow remains -$0.0 billion. In a separate, more conservative owner-earnings sensitivity—not an alternate definition of reported free cash flow—treating TTM stock-based compensation of $0.0 billion as an economic dilution cost produces approximately -$0.0 billion. This is an analytical approximation, not a company-reported measure, and it treats compensation paid in shares as an economic cost even though the cash-flow reconciliation adds it back.

Business Quality, Moat, and Industry Position

On the available evidence, the company is best described as an important participant, not a demonstrated core supply-chain bottleneck. This classification describes strategic position only; it is not independent proof of a moat or valuation upside.

The defensible quality of the business rests on three observable anchors. First, the embedded position in cell-and-gene therapy logistics is supported by a stated 779 clinical trials and 20 commercial therapies as of June 30, 2026 — a customer base that cannot easily decouple from Cryoport's Cryoportal and Chain of Compliance® system mid-trial. Second, the MVE manufacturing franchise has decades of incumbency in cryogenic stainless-steel freezers and dewars, with recently launched products such as the Fusion® 800 Series freezer and CryoVerse™ Connect controller sustaining the equipment catalog. Third, the DHL master partnership agreement signed with the CRYOPDP divestiture gives Cryoport access to a global specialty-courier network without carrying that fixed cost on its own balance sheet.

What the filings do not establish is the magnitude or durability of the moat. Pricing power is not separately disclosed, customer concentration is not quantified, and switching costs for clinical-trial customers are described qualitatively rather than measured. The 10-K identifies risks including market acceptance of the CGT market, regulatory change, foreign-currency exposure (international revenue was 19% of consolidated revenue in the first half of 2026, a $1.1 million FX tailwind versus the prior year), and dependence on a small number of high-value therapies. The competitive landscape — other temperature-controlled logistics providers and direct biopharma in-house capabilities — is not enumerated in the available filings. The MVE products segment faces more direct competition from other cryogenic-equipment manufacturers and is more sensitive to capital-spending cycles. In short, the moat is plausibly real but the evidentiary base to defend it is thinner than the management narrative suggests.

Management and Capital Allocation

Management's stated capital allocation priorities, as disclosed, are: (1) repay the $185.7 million 2026 Convertible Senior Notes at maturity in December 2026; (2) invest in supply-chain center expansion, additional Cryoport Express shippers and digital/AI capabilities; (3) maintain a repurchase authorization under the August 2024 $200 million program, of which $63.9 million remained available at June 30, 2026; and (4) retain flexibility for potential acquisitions. No shares were repurchased during the first half of 2026, and the 2022 Repurchase Program expired on December 31, 2025. No dividends are paid on common stock; the only dividend-like obligation is the paid-in-kind Series C Preferred Stock dividend with Blackstone, which added $4.0 million to accumulated deficit during the first half of 2026. This is a non-cash cost that nevertheless accretes the preferred stock balance to $46.28 million.

The balance sheet supports the near-term plan. Cash and short-term investments totaled $396.7 million at June 30, 2026, against current liabilities of $221.0 million including the $185.7 million convertible notes. Working capital is $239.2 million; stockholders' equity is $490.7 million. The convertible notes are the binding constraint: management's stated intent to repay at maturity means roughly $186 million of cash will leave the balance sheet in December 2026, leaving approximately $210 million of cash and investments to fund a business that is still burning on a free-cash-flow basis. Stock-based compensation of $4.80 million in the first half, equivalent to about 5% of first-half revenue, is a non-trivial dilution cost. The CRYOPDP divestiture in June 2025 also generated $210.24 million of investing cash inflow in the prior-year period, a one-time capital event whose absence in the 2026 comparison explains why first-half investing cash flow swung to $12.91 million provided versus $235.96 million provided a year earlier.

Valuation and What the Market Already Expects

The dated market data is August 25, 2026: market capitalization of $853.4 million against 50,649,100 shares outstanding and a $16.85 share price. The first-half 2026 operating cash flow of $4.87 million is positive but does not yet cover capex; trailing-twelve-month free cash flow is negative $20.03 million and trailing revenue is $186.45 million. Even on an adjusted-EBITDA basis the trailing run rate is essentially zero. With the $185.7 million convertible notes due inside four months, an investor at the dated price is paying $853.4 million of equity to own a business whose trailing free cash flow is approximately negative $20 million, with a near-term mandatory capital outflow that the current cash pile can fund but that compresses the optionality cushion.

A reverse-DCF interpretation therefore frames the question qualitatively. To justify the dated market capitalization, the market must be pricing in a normalized free-cash-flow base well above today's accounting result — high enough to service the post-convert note balance, sustain continued capex on supply-chain expansion, and reward equity holders. That required normalization cannot be derived from the filings alone; it would require sustained operating leverage as the 779 clinical-trial pipeline converts to commercial therapies, gross-margin expansion above 46.6%, and a step-down in SG&A intensity below the current 57%-of-revenue level. None of these is guaranteed. The market price appears to already require decisive operating improvement that the latest quarter does not yet demonstrate.

Ten-Year Cash Flow to Fair Market Value

A direct ten-year compounding exercise from the current free-cash-flow base is not possible because the base is negative. Using negative free cash flow as a starting point for compounding is invalid; a perpetuity of negative cash flow cannot produce a positive present value. Instead, the analysis proceeds through three explicit normalization paths that share the same starting revenue and gross margin but differ on the speed at which operating leverage appears. All inputs are author assumptions.

The base assumption is that 2025 continuing-operations revenue of approximately $176.2 million grows at 12% per year, reaching approximately $548 million by year 10. Gross margin expands from 46.6% to 52% by year 5 and stabilizes, SG&A grows at 8% per year from the current base so its share of revenue falls from roughly 57% to roughly 31%, and capex runs at 12% of revenue. The bear path keeps revenue growth at 8%, gross margin flat at 47%, and SG&A share flat at 50%, implying a year-10 free cash flow of approximately $15 million against a 10% required yield, supporting equity value in the low hundreds of millions — well below the dated market capitalization. The base path, with full operating leverage, supports year-10 free cash flow in the $60-80 million range and equity value plausibly approaching but not clearly exceeding the dated $853 million. The bull path, assuming 18% revenue growth and faster margin expansion, could push year-10 free cash flow into the $150 million range. None of these paths is an audited fair value; each requires the company to do something it has not yet demonstrated on a sustained basis.

Five Value-Investing Lenses

Benjamin Graham Lens

Graham's discipline begins with balance-sheet resilience. Cryoport carries $396.7 million of cash and short-term investments, $185.7 million of current convertible debt, no separately disclosed long-term debt, and stockholders' equity of $490.7 million. Tangible book value is approximately $332.6 million after stripping goodwill of $22.1 million and intangibles of $136.0 million. The dated market capitalization of $853.4 million is roughly 2.6× tangible book, and the current ratio is approximately 2.1×. On a balance-sheet basis the company is not financially fragile; it can repay the convertible notes at maturity and still operate. Graham's earnings test, however, is harder: continuing operations produced a net loss in every quarter available, and trailing free cash flow is negative. Graham would view this as a speculation rather than an investment until sustained normalized earnings power is demonstrated. A famous life-sciences niche and a low share price relative to historical highs are not by themselves evidence of cheapness.

Benjamin Franklin Lens

Franklin's modern application emphasizes thrift, discipline and opportunity cost. Cryoport is spending approximately $19 million per half-year on capex while generating only $4.87 million of operating cash flow over the same period. Thrift would ask whether every supply-chain center built, every shipper added, and every AI capability deployed is producing incremental gross profit at a return above the cost of the convertible notes being repaid. Discipline would note that the company paused share repurchases in the first half of 2026 even with $63.9 million of authorization remaining, conserving cash ahead of the December maturity. Opportunity cost asks what an investor could earn in a low-risk security with the same $853 million of equity capital, given that the filing-level free-cash-flow yield is currently negative. The discipline on display is real, but the rate of capital deployment against an unproven cash-flow payoff is the central capital-allocation question.

Warren Buffett Lens

The owner-earnings test cannot be cleanly run because the cash-flow base is negative. The author's approximation, treating operating cash flow minus total capex as an accounting free-cash-flow proxy, yields approximately negative $15.4 million for the first half and negative $20.0 million trailing twelve months. The economic reality is better captured by comparing operating cash flow to depreciation and amortization — a derived cash-flow-from-existing-assets figure of approximately negative $8.1 million for the first half — but this is still not positive. Buffett would want a business with a durable moat, honest management and capital allocation that compounds per-share value; Cryoport has two of three, with the moat observable in clinical-trial embeddedness and the convertible-note repayment plan demonstrating discipline, but the compounding math simply does not work from a negative base. The CRYOPDP divestiture, which returned $133 million plus $77.2 million of intercompany loan repayment, was a significant portfolio-simplification event. Owner economics today are approximately zero; what the dated market price is paying for is owner economics several years out.

Charlie Munger Lens

Munger would invert the question: what would have to be true for the dated $853 million market capitalization to be a rational price? Three assumptions are stacked: (1) clinical-trial-to-commercial conversion at a pace that drives double-digit revenue growth for years; (2) operating leverage sufficient to push adjusted EBITDA from approximately zero today to a steady-state margin materially above current levels; and (3) capex intensity that declines as a share of revenue as the supply-chain network matures. Each is plausible and each is unsupported by the latest quarter. The bias risk is that a familiar life-sciences "platform" narrative and exposure to the cell-and-gene therapy theme will be substituted for cash-flow evidence. The incentive check is partially reassuring: management and directors own meaningful equity through restricted stock units and options, and Rule 10b5-1 plans adopted in May 2026 by the CEO and one director align insider selling with pre-set dates and price thresholds. The Blackstone Series C preferred dividend is a non-cash claim that nonetheless grows the preferred balance; Munger would ask whether this preferred overhang constrains common-stock optionality.

Li Lu Lens

Li Lu would place Cryoport inside his circle of competence only if the investor genuinely understands the cell-and-gene therapy market, the regulatory environment for patient-specific biological materials, and the unit economics of cold-chain logistics at clinical and commercial scale. The filings establish that the company exists at the intersection of high regulatory stakes and high patient-stakes consequences, which is exactly where culture and operational discipline matter most. The culture evidence is partial: disclosure controls are described as effective, the company survived a complex divestiture with continuing operations intact, and the integrated digital platform is a genuine organizational asset. Permanent-loss risk runs through three channels: a clinical-trial slowdown that compresses the services runway, a product-recall or chain-of-custody failure that damages trust in the platform, and a competitive entry that erodes the MVE equipment franchise. None of these is imminent in the available filings, but none is excluded either. Without a durable free-cash-flow base, the circle-of-competence test is not passed.

Risks, Disconfirming Evidence, and What Would Prove This Thesis Wrong

Three observable thesis breakers would force a conclusion change. First, a deceleration in clinical-trial count growth: the company added 51 trials net to reach 779 at June 30, 2026, and a multi-quarter pause or reversal would directly undermine the services-segment runway. Second, an SG&A-to-revenue ratio that fails to compress: SG&A was $28.01 million against $48.97 million of revenue in Q2 2026, or 57.2%, and if this ratio holds or rises, the adjusted-EBITDA path to positive free cash flow breaks. Third, a covenant, liquidity or refinancing event around the December 2026 convertible maturity that forces equity issuance at a depressed price — the $185.7 million note balance is large relative to trailing free cash flow and is concentrated in a single maturity. The most likely wrong assumption is that revenue growth alone will produce operating leverage; the filings show six consecutive quarters of operating losses with no clear narrowing of the absolute loss despite revenue rising from $41.45 million in Q4 2024 to $48.97 million in Q2 2026.

Disconfirming evidence within the available filings is already material: the $10.0 million Q2 operating loss, the negative trailing free cash flow, the zero trailing adjusted EBITDA from continuing operations, the $4.80 million of stock-based compensation in the first half, the paid-in-kind preferred dividend that grows the Blackstone claim, and the absence of any disclosed pricing power or customer-concentration metrics. The DHL partnership and CRYOPDP divestiture are positive structural events but do not by themselves generate cash. The educational-use disclaimer applies: this analysis is for educational purposes only, reflects evidence available on August 25, 2026, and is not investment advice or a recommendation to buy or sell any security.

Investment Conclusion

At the dated $16.85 share price and $853.4 million market capitalization, Cryoport is a growth-and-platform story whose accounting reality has not yet caught up with its narrative. The first-half 2026 quarter shows the right revenue trajectory — 11.9% growth, 46.2% gross margin — but the wrong earnings and cash trajectory — a $19.65 million loss from continuing operations, negative trailing free cash flow, and an adjusted-EBITDA line that is essentially at zero. The balance sheet can absorb the December 2026 convertible maturity, leaving the question whether operating leverage will arrive in time to validate the equity value. Because trailing free cash flow is negative, no deterministic fair value can be derived; the dated market price already embeds a normalization that the filings do not yet demonstrate. The qualitative conclusion is that Cryoport is worth watching for evidence of adjusted-EBITDA expansion and clinical-trial-to-commercial conversion, but it is not yet attractive on a margin-of-safety basis given the negative free-cash-flow base and the concentrated December 2026 maturity.

Share this article

FacebookX

4 sources

Sources