The Quarter in Context

For the three months ended June 30, 2026, Illinois Tool Works reported operating revenue of $4,301 million, up 6.1% from $4,053 million in the prior-year quarter. Operating income of $1,147 million produced a 26.7% operating margin, up from 26.4% a year ago, and net income of $815 million translated to diluted EPS of $2.84 versus $2.58. The free cash flow proxy — operating cash flow less total capital expenditure, with maintenance-versus-growth split not disclosed — was $631 million in the quarter.
The six-month picture shows revenue of $8,317 million (up 5.4%) and operating income of $2,167 million at a 26.0% margin. Trailing-twelve-month operating cash flow of $3,330 million and the same-period free cash flow proxy of $2,921 million frame the cash-generating scale. Total debt reached $9,694 million against $839 million of cash at quarter end, and the company repurchased $750 million of stock in the quarter (roughly double the prior-year quarter's $375 million) at an average price of $255.37 per share, leaving $865 million of authorization remaining under the 2023 Program.
Business Model and Profit Engine
ITW organizes 88 divisions across seven reporting segments: Automotive OEM; Food Equipment; Test & Measurement and Electronics; Welding; Polymers & Fluids; Construction Products; and Specialty Products. Customers are predominantly industrial buyers — top-tier automotive OEMs and tiers, commercial food service and retail operators, electronics manufacturers, fabrication and construction end users, and the aftermarket channel. Revenue is recognized predominantly at shipment, with limited over-time treatment for highly customized Test & Measurement installations and customer-acceptance situations in Food Equipment and Specialty Products. A modest, more recurring service layer (annual service contracts in Food Equipment and on-demand repairs) sits against the largely transactional equipment-and-consumables base.
Revenue becomes profit through what management labels the ITW Business Model: 80/20 Front-to-Back, customer-back innovation, and a decentralized entrepreneurial culture. Operationally, that framework produced second-quarter operating margin of 26.7% on $4,301 million of revenue and trailing-twelve-month operating income of $4,364 million on $16,469 million of revenue. The biggest absolute revenue contributor in Q2 was Automotive OEM at $857 million, followed by Test & Measurement and Electronics at $769 million, Food Equipment at $692 million, Welding at $549 million, Construction Products at $494 million, Polymers & Fluids at $476 million, and Specialty Products at $468 million. The available filings do not break out segment operating income for the quarter, so cross-subsidy between segments is a data gap rather than a confirmed observation.
Pricing power is hinted at rather than demonstrated. Specialty Products management commentary attributed a 110-basis-point margin decline to "unfavorable price/cost of 160 basis points," implying pass-through capability exists but was negative sequentially. Capital intensity is light: additions to plant and equipment of $92 million in the quarter against $4,301 million of revenue is roughly 2.1%, consistent with a parts-and-attachments manufacturer rather than a heavy-asset fabricator. Working capital absorbed cash (trade receivables rose $349 million in the first half and inventories $107 million), yet operating cash flow still exceeded net income, indicating reasonable earnings quality. The purpose of capital expenditure — whether maintenance, growth, or a mix — is not separately disclosed in the filings, and any inference is the author's. Conditions that would weaken the profit engine include sustained negative price/cost spreads, automotive OEM volume softness, and a loss of customer-back innovation effectiveness — none of which the filings quantify going forward.
Earnings Quality and Cash Conversion
Operating cash flow of $723 million in the quarter comfortably outpaced the non-cash-adjusted earnings line once trade-receivable and inventory builds are netted out, and trailing-twelve-month operating cash flow of $3,330 million exceeded trailing-twelve-month net income of $3,194 million — a textbook sign that reported earnings are not capitalized into working-capital strain. The free cash flow proxy (operating cash flow less total capital expenditure, with the filings not separating maintenance from growth capex) was $631 million in Q2 2026 and $2,921 million on a trailing-twelve-month basis. The standalone-quarter cash-flow figures are derived by subtracting the preceding cumulative filing from the six-month figure, since the issuer reports cash flow and capital expenditure cumulatively rather than as separate quarterly line items.
Stock-based compensation is small at $22 million in the quarter ($74 million trailing twelve months), so equity dilution is modest. Diluted weighted-average shares fell to 287.0 million in Q2 2026 from 292.9 million a year earlier, a 2.0% reduction driven by repurchases. The trade-receivable build of $349 million in the first half (versus $190 million in the prior-year half) is the single working-capital flag worth watching, but the absolute level of $3,564 million remains within normal seasonal range for an industrial of this revenue base. A discrete $34 million first-quarter 2026 tax benefit from a U.S. audit resolution lifted reported net income in the half, which is a one-off that flatters rather than distorts comparability; it does not, on its own, change the assessment of underlying earnings quality.
Business Quality, Moat, and Industry Position
On the available evidence, the company is best described as an important participant rather than a demonstrated core supply-chain bottleneck. That classification describes strategic position only; it is not independent proof of a moat or valuation upside. Management frames its competitive position around the ITW Business Model: 80/20 Front-to-Back discipline, customer-back innovation (backed by a portfolio of approximately 21,800 granted and pending patents), and 88 decentralized divisions serving niche industrial markets. These are observable structural claims, not merely slogans: seven-segment revenue reporting shows the company is not dependent on any single end market, with Q2 2026 segment revenue ranging from $468 million (Specialty Products) to $857 million (Automotive OEM).
Long-term supply agreements characterize the Automotive OEM book, and customer-owned tooling reimbursements are recorded as cost offsets rather than revenue, suggesting contractual stickiness rather than spot-market dependence. The seven-segment portfolio also provides natural cyclicality diversification — automotive volumes, construction demand, food-service capex, electronics capex and welding activity do not peak together. What the available evidence does not establish is whether the moat is widening, narrowing, or stable. Peer comparison data is absent; the segment operating income breakdown is absent; patent renewal rates and customer-concentration percentages are absent. The After-tax ROIC figure of 29.7% annualized for Q2 2026 is a high-quality return metric that the company itself discloses, but it is a non-GAAP measure that management labels as not GAAP-defined and not necessarily comparable to peers.
Management and Capital Allocation
Capital allocation runs in a clear order: internal investment, an attractive dividend, strategic selective acquisitions, and active share repurchases. The dividend totaled $463 million paid in Q2 2026 at $1.61 per share declared for the quarter, versus $1.50 a year earlier. Share repurchases accelerated to $750 million in Q2 2026 (2.9 million shares at an average of $255.37) versus $375 million in the prior-year quarter. On a trailing-twelve-month basis, the company returned roughly $1,875 million via repurchases and $1,833 million via dividends — together about $3.7 billion against $2,921 million of free cash flow proxy, with the gap funded by net debt issuance of $855 million in the half-year.
Acquisition activity is light: only one $120 million deal in Test & Measurement and Electronics in October 2025 was disclosed as material in the recent period. The 2023 repurchase program had $865 million of remaining authorization at quarter end. Management incentives (long-term equity plans including stock options, performance share units, restricted stock units, and a clawback policy) are visible in the exhibits, but specific grant sizes and performance-metric calibration are not in the cited excerpts and so are not quantified here.
Valuation and What the Market Already Expects
On the dated market snapshot (August 3, 2026), ITW traded at $290.01 per share for a market capitalization of $83,436 million. Trailing-twelve-month free cash flow proxy of $2,921 million implies a free cash flow yield of roughly 3.5% on that dated market cap. That yield is modest for a quality industrial compounder, and on the qualitative read it suggests the market is already pricing in substantial durability, limited growth slippage, and continuity of capital returns — none of which the base case in the following section confirms. The central valuation burden is therefore not the segment economics, which look solid, but the entry price relative to what the cash-flow base appears to support.
Ten-Year Cash Flow to Fair Market Value
The starting free cash flow is the normalized SEC cash-flow proxy, while every growth rate, discount rate and terminal rate below is an explicit editorial assumption rather than company guidance. Each annual cash flow is forecast and discounted separately; terminal value is year-ten free cash flow multiplied by one plus terminal growth, divided by discount rate minus terminal growth, and then discounted back ten years. Fair market capitalization equals that explicit ten-year present value plus discounted terminal value and a same-date balance-sheet adjustment when available. If current cash and debt facts do not share one report date, the table shows the adjustment as unavailable and conservatively applies zero. The share count is derived from the dated market capitalization and share price so US shares and foreign ADRs use a consistent traded-security denominator.
Year | Bear FCF | Base FCF | Bull FCF |
|---|---|---|---|
1 | $2.9B | $3.0B | $3.2B |
2 | $2.8B | $3.2B | $3.5B |
3 | $2.7B | $3.3B | $3.9B |
4 | $2.7B | $3.4B | $4.3B |
5 | $2.6B | $3.6B | $4.7B |
6 | $2.7B | $3.7B | $4.9B |
7 | $2.7B | $3.8B | $5.2B |
8 | $2.7B | $3.9B | $5.4B |
9 | $2.8B | $4.0B | $5.7B |
10 | $2.8B | $4.1B | $6.0B |
Scenario | Growth years 1–5 / 6–10 | Discount | Terminal | 10-year PV | Terminal PV | Balance-sheet adjustment | Fair market cap | Fair value/share | Margin of safety | Terminal share |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Bear | -2.0% / 1.3% | 11.0% | 2.0% | $16.2B | $11.3B | N/A (treated as $0) | $27.5B | $95.51 | -203.6% | 41.0% |
Base | 4.0% / 3.0% | 9.0% | 3.0% | $22.5B | $29.9B | N/A (treated as $0) | $52.4B | $182.01 | -59.3% | 57.1% |
Bull | 10.0% / 5.0% | 8.5% | 3.5% | $29.4B | $55.0B | N/A (treated as $0) | $84.4B | $293.30 | 1.1% | 65.1% |
In the reverse-DCF, holding the 9% discount rate and 3% terminal growth fixed, and solving only for one constant growth rate rather than using the base-case growth path, the current market capitalization implies roughly 9.7% annual free cash flow growth for ten years. This is a sensitivity framework, not a price target: the terminal-value share shows how strongly each result depends on assumptions beyond the explicit forecast. Negative margin of safety means the current market capitalization exceeds the scenario value.
Five Value-Investing Lenses
Benjamin Graham Lens
Graham's discipline tests balance-sheet resilience and normalized earning power against the price. On the available filings, ITW carries $9,694 million of total debt against $839 million of cash at quarter end, and stockholders' equity of $2,895 million is heavily affected by treasury stock accounting, leaving a negative tangible book value of approximately -$2,737 million. The after-tax ROIC of 29.7% annualized for Q2 2026 signals a high-quality earner that is not dependent on leverage to generate returns. However, the dated market capitalization of $83,436 million is more than 20% above the deterministic base-scenario fair market cap, so the margin-of-safety test fails at the current price. This is investment, not speculation, but it is investment without a margin of safety.
Benjamin Franklin Lens
Franklin's modern application emphasizes thrift, compounding, and opportunity cost. ITW's first-half dividend of $921 million declared ($1.61 per share quarterly rate, up from $1.50 a year earlier) is the visible thrift discipline returned to shareholders, while the trailing-twelve-month repurchase of $1,875 million compounds the per-share claim on the business. Capital expenditure of $187 million in the half against $8,317 million of revenue is frugal at roughly 2.2% of revenue. The opportunity-cost test asks whether the $750 million repurchased in Q2 2026 at an average of $255.37 is a better use of cash than bolt-on M&A or debt reduction; the available filings do not provide a quantified answer, but the implied buyback yield relative to the free cash flow proxy looks thin at today's price.
Warren Buffett Lens
Owner earnings here are the free cash flow proxy: $2,921 million trailing twelve months. Capital allocation has been shareholder-friendly via dividends and aggressive repurchases, and acquisition activity is selective and small ($120 million in October 2025). The moat case rests on customer-back innovation, the 80/20 process, and the patent portfolio — all observable structural claims rather than slogans. The dated market cap sits materially above the deterministic base-scenario fair market cap, so even with high-quality owner economics, the price is asking for more growth and more durability than the base case supplies.
Charlie Munger Lens
Munger would invert: what would break this thesis? First, automotive OEM volume softness, since the segment is the largest revenue contributor at $857 million in Q2 2026. Second, sustained negative price/cost spreads, which Specialty Products management already flagged at 160 basis points in the quarter. Third, capital-allocation drift, since trailing-twelve-month repurchases plus dividends of approximately $3,708 million exceeded the trailing-twelve-month free cash flow proxy of $2,921 million, with the gap funded by net debt issuance of $855 million in the half. The incentive question — management equity plans are disclosed, but the cited excerpts do not quantify compensation alignment with per-share intrinsic value. The largest single wrong assumption is that the post-2012 margin and return discipline will continue unchanged at every point in the cycle.
Li Lu Lens
Li Lu would test circle of competence, culture, and durable advantage. ITW operates in many end markets, which strains a single-domain circle-of-competence test, but the company's culture is observable: 88 decentralized divisions, a multi-decade focus on niche industrial problems, and a stated long-running framework that exited commoditized product lines. The durability case is strongest where customer-back innovation meets long-term supply agreements, as in Automotive OEM. The permanent-loss risk is concentrated in customer concentration and end-market cyclicality, neither of which the available filings quantify by name — a transparency gap that lowers confidence in any single segment forecast.
Risks, Disconfirming Evidence, and What Would Prove This Thesis Wrong
The dated market price implies the deterministic base-scenario fair market cap is materially exceeded, so the central disconfirming evidence is the gap between today's price and the base-case intrinsic value. Three observable thesis breakers: (1) sustained negative organic revenue growth across multiple segments, with Automotive OEM, Test & Measurement and Electronics, and Construction Products all currently posting low-single-digit organic growth that could turn negative in a downturn; (2) price/cost spread compression beyond a single quarter, which Specialty Products management already disclosed as 160 basis points unfavorable; (3) capital-allocation reversal — the trailing-twelve-month shareholder return of approximately $3,708 million exceeds the trailing-twelve-month free cash flow proxy of $2,921 million, and a sustained funding gap funded by debt rather than disciplined pacing would weaken per-share intrinsic value over time. A same-date balance sheet with both cash and debt aligned to the snapshot date is not in the available evidence, so a precise current net-cash or net-debt figure is not stated here.
Investment Conclusion
ITW is a high-quality industrial compounder with diversified end markets, durable cash conversion, and disciplined capital allocation. At the dated market price of $290.01 (market capitalization of $83,436 million as of August 3, 2026), however, the priced-in growth and durability exceed the deterministic base-scenario fair market cap by more than 20%, and the implied reverse-DCF growth required sits well above the company's recent trend. The operating quality is not in question; the entry price is. Conclusion: Overvalued at the dated market price, worth watching for a better entry that would restore margin of safety.
*This article is for educational and informational purposes only and does not constitute investment advice or a recommendation to buy or sell any security. Past performance does not guarantee future results. All investing involves risk, including the potential loss of principal. *
Share this article







