The Quarter in Context

For the thirteen weeks ended August 2, 2026, PVH Corp. generated $2,097.0 million of revenue, down 3.2% from $2,167.2 million in the prior-year quarter, on a reported basis. Gross profit of $1,321.8 million produced a 63.0% gross margin, roughly 530 basis points wider than the prior-year quarter's 57.7%, helped by a $106.7 million one-time tariff-refund gain recognized in cost of goods sold. Selling, general and administrative expenses of $1,112.5 million were 1.5% lower year over year, but the quarter also absorbed a $439.0 million goodwill and other intangible-asset impairment charge and recorded a $99.7 million income tax benefit, producing a $190.9 million operating loss and a $102.9 million net loss. Diluted shares outstanding at quarter-end totaled 46.1 million, with diluted EPS of $(2.23).
The quarter's headline result is therefore best read as a brand-and-cash story interrupted by a non-cash impairment and a tax distortion. Operating cash flow of $382.9 million for the quarter and capital expenditure of $36.5 million yield an accounting free-cash-flow proxy of $346.4 million for the quarter (author calc, derived by subtracting cumulative twenty-six-week capital expenditure from Q2 operating cash flow values), the strongest quarterly cash generation in the data set. The trailing-twelve-month accounting free cash flow proxy is $715.0 million against the $1.6 billion of capital expenditure reported across the same window, a reminder that cash earnings power has clearly outrun reported earnings and that the equity story rests on cash, not on the GAAP bottom line.
Business Model and Profit Engine
PVH sells branded apparel, footwear and accessories to two distinct customer sets: wholesale accounts (department stores, specialty chains and off-price buyers) and end consumers through directly operated retail stores and digital commerce sites. Revenue also includes royalties from third-party licensees that manufacture and distribute TOMMY HILFIGER and Calvin Klein products in product categories and geographies where PVH believes an external operator adds incremental reach. Over 70% of the $9.0 billion of revenue recorded in 2025 was generated outside the United States, so the customer base is global, with EMEA the single largest reporting region at $4,342.5 million of 2025 revenue.
Recurring versus transactional revenue mix is not separately disclosed in the available filings, so the split must be treated as an author inference: licensing income is contractually recurring, with $1.2 billion of contractual minimum fees still unsatisfied and $124.7 million expected to be recognized during the remainder of 2026, $231.3 million in 2027 and $814.4 million thereafter. Wholesale orders are inherently transactional with season-by-season reorder visibility, and direct-to-consumer sales are predominantly transactional through individual store and digital transactions. Brand-level revenue mix is identified only as TOMMY HILFIGER and Calvin Klein together representing over 95% of 2025 revenue.
Revenue becomes gross profit through product cost and logistics costs (cost of goods sold excluding depreciation and amortization of $775.2 million this quarter), then operating profit through SG&A of $1,112.5 million, then cash through working-capital changes that released $79.4 million of payables and accrued-expense float and consumed $175.0 million of inventory build. Capital intensity is modest relative to revenue: $36.5 million of property, plant and equipment spending on $2,097.0 million of revenue is a 1.7% capex intensity this quarter, consistent with an asset-light brand operator rather than a manufacturer. The profit engine therefore converts a high gross margin into free cash flow by holding SG&A discipline; the present weakness is that operating profit turned negative this quarter because of an impairment rather than an SG&A blowout, which is itself a signal of brand-level disappointment that the headline tax benefit does not erase.
Pricing power is hard to score from filings alone, but two observable facts carry weight: gross margin expanded roughly 530 basis points year over year at constant revenue mix (author calc) and the impairment was concentrated in assets tied to acquired brand businesses, not in working capital, suggesting that the brands are still earning their cost of capital even where carrying values were reset. Customer concentration is not disclosed in the cited excerpts, so any concentration discount is an author judgment, not a filing fact. The observable conditions that would weaken the profit engine are a sustained SG&A increase above revenue growth, additional impairments in EMEA, and any incremental tariff or UEL action that lifts cost of goods sold faster than pricing can offset.
Earnings Quality and Cash Conversion
Where the issuer reports cash flow and capital expenditure cumulatively, the standalone-quarter cash-flow figures are derived by subtracting the preceding cumulative filing. They are calculations from SEC facts rather than separately reported quarterly line items.
The reported $190.9 million operating loss is almost entirely a function of a $439.0 million non-cash goodwill and intangible-asset impairment and a $99.7 million income tax benefit that flatters comparability. Adding the $439.0 million impairment back to the reported operating loss yields $248.1 million of positive pre-impairment operating income on $2,097.0 million of revenue (author calc, derived by adding the impairment back to reported operating loss); subtracting the impairment again to reach an adjusted figure would double-count and is not attempted here. The $25.4 million other gain recognized this quarter, together with the $106.7 million tariff-refund benefit inside cost of goods sold, further complicates period-over-period comparability and supports treating the quarter as a special-items quarter rather than a clean run-rate.
Cash conversion is the more reliable signal. Operating cash flow of $382.9 million this quarter, set against $36.5 million of capital expenditure, produced a 16.5% accounting free-cash-flow margin and a $346.4 million quarter free cash flow proxy (author calc, derived as described above), after a working-capital build of approximately $83 million and an inventory build of $175.0 million. On a trailing-twelve-month basis the company has generated $875.1 million of operating cash flow against $160.1 million of capital expenditure, an $715.0 million accounting free-cash-flow proxy. Stock-based compensation of $25.1 million in the first twenty-six weeks is a small non-cash add-back that does not change the picture materially. The earnings-quality story is therefore that reported earnings are a poor proxy for owner cash earnings, and the accounting free-cash-flow proxy is the better measure of the quarter's economic contribution.
Business Quality, Moat, and Industry Position
On the available evidence, the company is best described as an important participant, not a demonstrated core supply-chain bottleneck. This classification describes strategic position only; it is not independent proof of a moat or valuation upside.
PVH's competitive position rests on two global lifestyle brands, TOMMY HILFIGER and Calvin Klein, which together generated more than 95% of 2025 revenue and remain the single most important determinant of value. The brands sit in a wholesale-plus-retail model with a license tail, and they are protected less by patents and more by brand recognition, distribution depth and the multi-year cost to assemble a comparable global wholesale and direct-to-consumer footprint. The available filings do not contain explicit peer or market-share statistics, so any quantitative moat claim would be a fabrication. What the filings do show is that 26,000 associates, operations in more than 40 countries and over 70% of revenue generated outside the United States give the brands global reach, and that licensing adds a recurring revenue layer with $1.2 billion of contractual minimums still unrecognized.
The industry position is contested. The filings describe a complex retail environment shaped by inflation, the Middle East conflict, tariffs, currency translation, and a 53-week prior fiscal-year tail. The $439.0 million impairment taken this quarter implies that the carrying value of at least one reporting unit no longer exceeded its fair value, which is itself a partial signal that the moat does not automatically convert brand recognition into durable per-share earnings. The audit report identifies goodwill and indefinite-lived intangibles as a critical audit matter and describes the EMEA reporting unit as the most estimation-sensitive component, so EMEA is the region where the moat is most under stress. The supply chain is concentrated in regions exposed to U.S. tariff actions, and a portion of production and consumer demand is exposed to the China UEL listing and to MOFCOM measures that are not yet quantified.
The replacement-cost test is qualitative but favorable. Building a TOMMY HILFIGER or Calvin Klein brand of equivalent global reach would require multi-billion-dollar brand investment and many years of wholesale and retail cultivation, and the filings do not contain evidence of a competitor that has either the brand equity or the global distribution density to displace them at scale. That qualitative barrier is what the market is paying for; the dated $3.33 billion market capitalization and 46.1 million diluted shares imply $72.29 per share at the September 3, 2026 market-data stamp, and that price appears to require neither aggressive growth nor heroic margin expansion to support itself under the deterministic scenario set.
Management and Capital Allocation
The Board has authorized a $5.0 billion repurchase program since 2015, of which $1.21 billion remained as of August 2, 2026, but the company repurchased only 22,472 shares for tax withholding in the quarter, a trivially small dollar amount relative to program size. The prior comparable quarter saw $572.2 million of buybacks in a single period, so repurchase pace is highly discretionary. Dividends are nominal at $3.5 million paid in the first twenty-six weeks of 2026 and $3.9 million in the prior-year period, indicating that capital return is dominated by buybacks rather than dividends. The capital structure carries $2,248 million of total debt against $965.9 million of cash and cash equivalents and $4,792 million of stockholders' equity, so net debt of approximately $1.28 billion (calculated) is a meaningful drag on enterprise value.
Management replaced the 2022 senior unsecured credit facilities with new 2026 facilities in the second quarter, repaying $463.9 million of the term loan and drawing $452.0 million of replacement facility proceeds, and management is rated BBB by S&P and Baa3 by Moody's with stable outlooks, both investment-grade and one notch above the lower speculative-grade boundary. Management is also pursuing a multi-year cost-savings and operating-model simplification initiative and an in-process plan to directly operate a significant portion of the previously G-III-licensed product categories, with the remainder to be re-licensed. These actions are observable conduct rather than slogan: the credit refinancing is documented, the ratings are published, and the inventory build and payables extension in the cash-flow statement are tangible working-capital actions.
The owner's lens question is whether capital is being deployed in the right place. Approximately 70% of revenue is generated outside the United States, but cash held in foreign subsidiaries can carry incremental repatriation cost, and goodwill and intangibles of $1,547.9 million and $2,658.2 million of tradenames represent the single largest reinvestment commitment on the balance sheet. A goodwill write-down this quarter is an admission that one piece of that historic investment was overvalued, which the capital-allocation story must absorb without dismissing.
Valuation and What the Market Already Expects
The dated market capitalization is $3,333,153,971 at a $72.29 closing price as of September 3, 2026. Net debt of approximately $1,282,100,000 (calculated) implies an enterprise value of roughly $4.6 billion. Against $715.0 million of trailing-twelve-month accounting free cash flow proxy, the dated price implies an enterprise-value-to-cash-flow multiple of approximately 6.4x and a free-cash-flow yield on equity of roughly 21.5% (author calc, derived by dividing TTM FCF by current market cap), which is a level the market typically associates with either depressed earnings or genuine undervaluation. TTM revenue of $8,921.5 million declined 3.2% year over year, so the market is paying a price that looks reasonable only if normalized cash earnings hold near $700 million or above and if revenue stabilizes.
The deterministic scenario set anchors valuation: the dated market capitalization is more than 20% below the base scenario, and the qualitative implication is that the market is not pricing in aggressive growth or margin expansion but is also not pricing in a permanent impairment of the brand franchise. The market is therefore paying for survival plus modest normalization, not for upside.
Ten-Year Cash Flow to Fair Market Value
The starting free cash flow is the normalized SEC cash-flow proxy, while every growth rate, discount rate and terminal rate below is an explicit editorial assumption rather than company guidance. Each annual cash flow is forecast and discounted separately; terminal value is year-ten free cash flow multiplied by one plus terminal growth, divided by discount rate minus terminal growth, and then discounted back ten years. Fair market capitalization equals that explicit ten-year present value plus discounted terminal value and a same-date balance-sheet adjustment when available. If current cash and debt facts do not share one report date, the table shows the adjustment as unavailable and conservatively applies zero. The share count is derived from the dated market capitalization and share price so US shares and foreign ADRs use a consistent traded-security denominator.
Year | Bear FCF | Base FCF | Bull FCF |
|---|---|---|---|
1 | $0.701B | $0.744B | $0.787B |
2 | $0.687B | $0.773B | $0.865B |
3 | $0.673B | $0.804B | $0.952B |
4 | $0.659B | $0.836B | $1.05B |
5 | $0.646B | $0.87B | $1.15B |
6 | $0.655B | $0.896B | $1.21B |
7 | $0.664B | $0.923B | $1.27B |
8 | $0.673B | $0.951B | $1.33B |
9 | $0.681B | $0.979B | $1.4B |
10 | $0.691B | $1.01B | $1.47B |
Scenario | Growth years 1–5 / 6–10 | Discount | Terminal | 10-year PV | Terminal PV | Balance-sheet adjustment | Fair market cap | Fair value/share | Margin of safety | Terminal share |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Bear | -2.0% / 1.3% | 11.0% | 2.0% | $3.97B | $2.76B | -$1.28B | $5.44B | $118 | 38.8% | 41.0% |
Base | 4.0% / 3.0% | 9.0% | 3.0% | $5.51B | $7.31B | -$1.28B | $11.5B | $250 | 71.1% | 57.1% |
Bull | 10.0% / 5.0% | 8.5% | 3.5% | $7.2B | $13.5B | -$1.28B | $19.4B | $420 | 82.8% | 65.1% |
The current market capitalization falls outside the model's -10% to 40% ten-year reverse-DCF search range. This is a sensitivity framework, not a price target: the terminal-value share shows how strongly each result depends on assumptions beyond the explicit forecast. Negative margin of safety means the current market capitalization exceeds the scenario value.
Five Value-Investing Lenses
Benjamin Graham Lens
The Graham downside test starts with the balance sheet. Stockholders' equity of $4,792.0 million against $2,248.0 million of total debt is acceptable but not generous, and net debt of approximately $1.28 billion (calculated) means the equity is a leveraged equity claim on brand cash flow rather than a clean asset value claim. Cash and cash equivalents of $965.9 million and undrawn capacity under the new 2026 facilities provide liquidity, but the current portion of long-term debt of $11.5 million is dwarfed by $1,565.4 million of long-term operating lease liabilities, which are an off-balance-sheet-style fixed obligation that the Graham test would notice. The P/E discipline cannot be applied cleanly because quarterly EPS was negative this quarter and TTM EPS is a confusing mix of impairments and tax benefits; the cash-flow yield is the cleaner Graham anchor.
Benjamin Franklin Lens
Franklin's lens is capital discipline and opportunity cost. PVH spent $76.0 million on property, plant and equipment in the first twenty-six weeks of 2026, $57.9 million in the prior year, so capex is contained and not crowding out cash returns. The $5.0 billion repurchase program has $1.21 billion remaining, a real but unused option that frames the next capital decision. The opportunity cost is the alternative use of the cash that supports $1.28 billion of net debt; the discipline question is whether the company can earn more than its cost of debt after taxes, and the answer is yes on a free-cash-flow basis but only marginally so on reported earnings.
Warren Buffett Lens
The owner-earnings proxy is the $715.0 million of trailing-twelve-month accounting free cash flow after subtracting all capital expenditure, and the limitation is that the filings do not separate maintenance from growth capex, so this is an accounting proxy rather than a true owner-earnings figure. Capital allocation has been mixed: a major share repurchase in the prior year, a goodwill impairment this year, and a continued simplification program. Moat is brand-based and durable but partially eroded by the EMEA stress evidenced by the impairment. The integrity test passes: investment-grade ratings, an unqualified audit opinion, and a long-serving auditor.
Charlie Munger Lens
The Munger inversion question is what could permanently destroy value. Three observable breakers are: further goodwill or intangible write-downs in EMEA, an adverse MOFCOM measure under the China UEL that disrupts production or sales in China, and a tariff escalation that cannot be passed through to wholesale or retail pricing. The most likely wrong assumption is that brand recognition translates into durable pricing power without continued operational simplification. Incentive alignment is supported by insider holdings and a stock plan that requires continued service, but executive compensation disclosure was not in the cited excerpts and is therefore a data gap.
Li Lu Lens
The circle-of-competence question is whether a global brand operator sitting on $9 billion of revenue, two flagship brands and a licensing tail fits inside the circle. The data set supports a clear answer on the brand, the segment mix, and the cash generation, but the China UEL overhang, the EMEA impairment, and the unresolved tariff refund regime are unresolved risks that the circle-of-competence view must flag rather than ignore. Culture is partially observable through management's stated cost-savings program and through the orderly replacement of credit facilities, but no direct employee or supplier testimony is in the available evidence. Durability of the moat is supported by brand strength and penalized by demonstrated impairment risk; permanent-loss control depends on disciplined capital allocation and on whether the next two years' cash earnings prove out the dated price.
Risks, Disconfirming Evidence, and What Would Prove This Thesis Wrong
Three observable thesis breakers are: a further goodwill or intangible write-down in EMEA or APAC that exceeds $300 million in any single quarter, which would signal that the brand carrying values are systematically above fair value; an adverse MOFCOM measure under the China UEL that restricts the company's ability to produce, sell or invest in China, which would be a top-line and supply-chain shock; and a tariff escalation under Section 301 that raises cost of goods sold by more than 200 basis points without offsetting price or mix action, which would compress the 63% gross margin that the quarter just demonstrated. The most likely wrong assumption is that the $106.7 million tariff refund and the tax benefit are repeatable earnings contributors rather than one-time items.
Disconfirming evidence in the available SEC data set is the $439.0 million goodwill and intangible-asset impairment itself, the $52.7 million increase in deferred revenue, and the $1,738.2 million of inventory that must be sold through at full margin to justify the carrying value. The opportunity cost is that the dated price could continue to look attractive in absolute terms while the brands lose share to vertically integrated fast-fashion competitors that the available filings do not name. Evidence that would force a conclusion change is a TTM revenue decline greater than 5% on a constant-currency basis, another quarter with operating-cash-flow conversion below 60% of net income plus depreciation, or any MOFCOM measure quantified at more than $50 million.
Investment Conclusion
The deterministic ten-year cash-flow scenario set implies a margin of safety between the dated price and the scenario values. PVH therefore passes the Graham downside test on the cash earnings and on the investment-grade balance sheet, but the operating loss, the EMEA impairment, the China UEL overhang and the tariff volatility prevent an enthusiastic conclusion. The shares are worth watching rather than buying aggressively, and the dated price offers a margin of safety that depends on continued brand cash earnings and on avoidance of further non-cash write-downs. Educational-use note: this analysis is for informational purposes only and is not investment advice; investors should perform their own due diligence before acting.
Share this article







