The Quarter in Context

Kadant's second quarter of fiscal 2026 produced record revenue of $312.9 million, up 22.6% versus $255.3 million a year earlier, with operating income of $50.9 million (16.3% of revenue) and net income attributable to the company of $32.5 million. The diluted EPS line of $2.75 versus $2.22 a year earlier simply reflects the larger revenue base and similar diluted share count of about 11.8 million shares. Operating cash flow for the quarter reached $53.5 million and capital expenditure reached $10.9 million, leaving an accounting free-cash-flow proxy of $42.6 million; the filing flags that $5.8 million of that outflow purchased a previously leased manufacturing facility in the Flow Control segment, which is an investing rather than maintenance item, so the headline proxy is not a clean maintenance number.
The most consequential event of the period sits outside the income statement. On January 29, 2026, the company announced the acquisition of voestalpine BÖHLER Profil for roughly €157 million in cash, and that deal closed during the second quarter for $171.8 million of net consideration. Goodwill jumped from $555.6 million at the start of the fiscal year to $660.9 million on July 4, 2026, while long-term obligations expanded from $371.4 million to $507.5 million as the company drew on its $750 million revolving credit facility. A revised $50 million share-repurchase authorization was approved in May 2026, although no shares have been bought back under it yet.
Business Model and Profit Engine
Kadant sells engineered equipment and recurring parts to process industries that produce paper, packaging, tissue, wood products, metals, food and recycled fiber. Customers are industrial manufacturers and OEM channels, not consumers; roughly two-thirds of Q2 revenue came from parts and consumables ($214.2 million) and the remainder from capital equipment ($98.7 million), with point-in-time recognition accounting for $290.9 million of the $312.9 million quarter. Parts and consumables are the recurring engine because doctor blades, debarker tooling, screens and similar items are consumed during normal operation; capital revenue is lumpy and depends on customer order timing, which the filing illustrates with customer deposits of $49.5 million at quarter-end and $7.5 million of cash outflow from that line during the first half. Revenue is geographically diversified: North America contributed $186.8 million in Q2, Europe $72.8 million, Asia $33.5 million and rest-of-world $19.7 million.
The profit engine converts revenue through cost of revenue ($175.9 million, 56.2% of revenue), selling, general and administrative ($81.6 million), and research and development ($4.5 million) into operating income of $50.9 million. On a trailing-twelve-month basis, revenue of $1,152.2 million produced operating income of $173.3 million (15.0% margin) and an accounting free-cash-flow proxy of $160.0 million (13.9% margin). The 10-K provides segment economics: in fiscal 2025 Flow Control generated 52.3% gross margins and 24.2% segment operating income margin on $382.9 million of revenue, Industrial Processing ran at 43.0% and 16.5% on $409.5 million, and Material Handling at 38.1% and 15.9% on $259.9 million. Material Handling is therefore the lowest-margin segment and a structural drag, while Flow Control is the cash-rich engine that funds the rest of the portfolio. Segment mix, not margin expansion, is the principal driver of consolidated margin movement; a higher Flow Control share mechanically lifts blended margin and vice versa. Fixed and variable costs are not separately disclosed, so a clean operating-leverage number cannot be computed from the available evidence; this is a labeled data gap.
Capital intensity is moderate. Capital expenditure of $14.2 million in the first half of fiscal 2026 (and a $12 to $16 million plan for the back half) compares with depreciation and amortization of $30.2 million for the same six-month period. Working capital is meaningful, with accounts receivable of $168.7 million, inventory of $216.5 million and customer deposits of $49.5 million at quarter-end; the company funds roughly $356.7 million of working capital out of operations. Goodwill of $660.9 million and intangibles of $325.3 million reflect an acquisition-built balance sheet, with $85.5 million of accumulated impairment already sitting in the Industrial Processing segment. Conditions that would weaken the profit engine include a sharp slowdown in paper or tissue mill capex, raw-material cost spikes in steel and composites that the company cannot pass through, tariff escalation that raises the cost of Chinese-made parts, and any goodwill impairment in Industrial Processing if the acquired businesses underperform; tariff risk is flagged explicitly in the revised Item 1A risk factor and is not hypothetical.
Earnings Quality and Cash Conversion
Where the issuer reports cash flow and capital expenditure cumulatively, the standalone-quarter cash-flow figures are derived by subtracting the preceding cumulative filing. They are calculations from SEC facts rather than separately reported quarterly line items. Reported earnings look clean. Net income to Kadant of $32.5 million in Q2 tracks operating income of $50.9 million after $5.3 million of net interest expense and a $13.2 million tax provision at a 28.6% effective rate. The tax rate is higher than the U.S. statutory 21% because of the geographic mix of earnings and nondeductible expenses; management does not flag any one-time benefits, and the prior-year quarter ran at 26.9%, so the comparison is not distorted by a discrete item. Stock-based compensation was $2.9 million in Q2 and $5.8 million in the first half, a small fraction of operating income and consistent with prior periods, so it is not a meaningful management-driven earnings lever.
Cash conversion is healthy but lumpy. Operating cash flow for the first half of $75.4 million exceeded net income of $58.7 million, helped by $30.2 million of depreciation and amortization, but was offset by $14.7 million of working-capital headwinds spread across accounts receivable, customer deposits and incentive payments. Capital expenditure of $14.2 million in the half was inflated by the $5.8 million previously leased facility purchase, so a normalized maintenance run-rate would be modestly lower than reported; the filings do not separate maintenance from growth capex, so any subtraction of total capex from operating cash flow remains an accounting free-cash-flow proxy, not a clean owner-earnings figure. The acquisition of Kadant Profil absorbed $171.8 million of investing cash and was funded by $190.9 million of new revolver borrowings plus $49.2 million of debt repayment, leaving long-term obligations at $507.5 million and stockholders' equity of $1,022.9 million. The leverage ratio of 1.72 against the 3.75 covenant is comfortable today but leaves little room for another large debt-funded deal before constraints bind.
Business Quality, Moat, and Industry Position
Kadant's competitive position rests on a large installed base of equipment in papermaking, tissue, wood-products and fiber-processing lines, supplemented by an explicit acquisition strategy. The company says some of its businesses or their predecessors have operated for more than 100 years and that it has one of the largest installed bases in its markets. Parts and consumables are tied to that installed base: a doctor blade has a service life of eight hours to two months depending on application, which forces repeat purchases and supports the recurring share of revenue. That is a real switching-cost argument, but it is moderated by the fact that several product lines (doctor blades, rotary joints, debarker tooling) face competition from regional specialty manufacturers, and the company does not claim patent or technology exclusivity in any of its disclosures.
The product portfolio is genuinely diversified across three reportable segments and more than half a dozen end-markets including packaging, paper, tissue, wood products, food, metals, mining and waste management. Geographic diversification is similarly broad, with material exposure to the United States, Canada, China, Germany, Finland and other markets, and roughly half of revenue coming from outside the United States. Goodwill of $660.9 million and accumulated impairment of $85.5 million concentrated entirely in that segment show that past acquisitions have not been uniformly successful, which is a relevant counterweight to a pure moat narrative. The company is an important participant in its supply chain rather than a clear bottleneck: customers buy engineered subsystems that integrate into larger production lines, but switching costs exist mainly for parts and consumables rather than for the underlying capital equipment. We classify Kadant as an important participant because of the installed-base argument, while recognizing the absence of any direct claim to monopoly power.
Management and Capital Allocation
Capital allocation has been steady rather than aggressive. The company paid $8.3 million in dividends in the first half of fiscal 2026, declared a $0.36 per share quarterly dividend, and refreshed a $50 million repurchase authorization in May 2026 that has not yet been used. Dilution from stock-based compensation is modest: treasury stock declined only marginally from 2,835,165 to 2,815,057 shares during the half, and basic share count moved from 11,808 thousand to 11,801 thousand, so equity comp is more than offset by net retentions. Acquisitions are the dominant capital story. Kadant closed Babbini in July 2025 for $16.5 million, Clyde Industries in October 2025 for $173.7 million, and Kadant Profil during Q2 2026 for $171.8 million of net consideration; the company also entered an agreement for voestalpine BÖHLER Profil in January 2026. Three acquisitions within roughly twelve months meaningfully expanded the Industrial Processing segment and explain the $135 million goodwill increase during the first half. Management discloses acquisition costs and purchase-accounting amortization transparently and now excludes intangible amortization from adjusted operating income under a methodology announced February 19, 2026, which is a candid disclosure practice. The same disclosure shows that adjusted EBITDA margin reached 21.8% in Q2 versus 20.5% a year earlier, so operating leverage is real rather than manufactured.
Valuation and What the Market Already Expects
At a $336.80 share price on August 12, 2026, the dated market capitalization of $3.977 billion sits a small distance below the base-scenario intrinsic value implied by the valuation analysis, and well below the bull case, while sitting well above the bear case. The market is therefore already paying for normalized FCF to grow meaningfully above maintenance levels, with a reverse-DCF growth requirement of approximately 7.8% on a free-cash-flow base of $160.0 million. The market-derived share count of 11.8 million is consistent with the July 31, 2026 share count of 11,809,117 disclosed on the 10-Q cover page, and the gap to fair value in the base scenario is not large enough on its own to constitute a margin of safety. Quarterly EPS of $2.75 produces a crude annualized run-rate of $11.00, which would yield a price-to-earnings ratio near 30.6x at the dated price; this is a mechanically annualized sensitivity, not a trailing-twelve-month P/E, and should be read alongside the cash-flow yield rather than as a standalone multiple. A trailing-twelve-month diluted EPS of $9.48 would imply a P/E closer to 35.5x, so the dated price is also high on an earnings basis. The cash-flow yield on the dated market cap, using trailing operating cash flow of $183.4 million and accounting free-cash-flow proxy of $160.0 million, is roughly 4.0% to 4.6%, which is reasonable for a compounder but not cheap. A same-date net-cash position could not be derived from the available filings because the most recent debt snapshots in the data package predate the current quarter, so the dated market capitalization is not adjusted here for any cash buffer or debt load.
Ten-Year Cash Flow to Fair Market Value
The starting free cash flow is the normalized SEC cash-flow proxy, while every growth rate, discount rate and terminal rate below is an explicit editorial assumption rather than company guidance. Each annual cash flow is forecast and discounted separately; terminal value is year-ten free cash flow multiplied by one plus terminal growth, divided by discount rate minus terminal growth, and then discounted back ten years. Fair market capitalization equals that explicit ten-year present value plus discounted terminal value and a same-date balance-sheet adjustment when available. If current cash and debt facts do not share one report date, the table shows the adjustment as unavailable and conservatively applies zero. The share count is derived from the dated market capitalization and share price so US shares and foreign ADRs use a consistent traded-security denominator.
Year | Bear FCF | Base FCF | Bull FCF |
|---|---|---|---|
1 | $0.2B | $0.2B | $0.2B |
2 | $0.2B | $0.2B | $0.2B |
3 | $0.2B | $0.2B | $0.2B |
4 | $0.2B | $0.2B | $0.3B |
5 | $0.2B | $0.2B | $0.3B |
6 | $0.2B | $0.3B | $0.3B |
7 | $0.2B | $0.3B | $0.4B |
8 | $0.2B | $0.3B | $0.4B |
9 | $0.2B | $0.3B | $0.4B |
10 | $0.2B | $0.3B | $0.4B |
Scenario | Growth years 1–5 / 6–10 | Discount | Terminal | 10-year PV | Terminal PV | Balance-sheet adjustment | Fair market cap | Fair value/share | Margin of safety | Terminal share |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Bear | 3.0% / 3.0% | 11.0% | 2.0% | $1.1B | $0.9B | N/A (treated as $0) | $1.9B | $164.74 | -104.4% | 44.2% |
Base | 9.0% / 4.5% | 9.0% | 3.0% | $1.5B | $2.2B | N/A (treated as $0) | $3.7B | $316.43 | -6.4% | 59.6% |
Bull | 15.0% / 5.9% | 8.5% | 3.5% | $2.0B | $3.9B | N/A (treated as $0) | $5.9B | $497.51 | 32.3% | 66.8% |
In the reverse-DCF, holding the 9% discount rate and 3% terminal growth fixed, and solving only for one constant growth rate rather than using the base-case growth path, the current market capitalization implies roughly 7.8% annual free cash flow growth for ten years. This is a sensitivity framework, not a price target: the terminal-value share shows how strongly each result depends on assumptions beyond the explicit forecast. Negative margin of safety means the current market capitalization exceeds the scenario value.
Five Value-Investing Lenses
Benjamin Graham Lens
Graham's discipline asks whether the price protects the buyer against permanent loss and whether balance-sheet resilience supports downside cases. Kadant's $134.5 million of cash and equivalents is more than enough to absorb normal working-capital volatility, and stockholders' equity of $1,022.9 million provides a substantial equity cushion against $510.6 million of long-term debt plus current maturities. The leverage ratio of 1.72 against the 3.75 covenant is conservative today, and the company's revolving credit facility of $750 million with $248.7 million still available provides ample liquidity. However, the dated price of $336.80 is far above the tangible book value of $36,782 thousand disclosed in the calculation, and price-to-tangible-book is therefore extremely high, which violates the classic Graham margin-of-safety test on book value.
Benjamin Franklin Lens
Franklin's modern application emphasizes thrift, discipline, compounding and opportunity cost. Kadant pays a quarterly dividend that has grown from $0.34 in Q2 2025 to $0.36 in Q2 2026, a 5.9% increase, and management has the discipline to use stock rather than cash for small equity-comp settlements. Capital expenditure of $14.2 million in the first half versus $30.2 million of D&A suggests the company reinvests less than it depreciates in a normalized year, which is genuinely thrifty. The opportunity cost is that an investor buying at $336.80 is foregoing roughly 4.0% to 4.6% of FCF yield today, and if the Kadant Profil integration stumbles the next decade's compounding will be lower than the deterministic base case implies.
Warren Buffett Lens
Buffett would examine owner earnings, capital allocation and management integrity. Trailing operating cash flow of $183.4 million minus trailing capital expenditure of $23.4 million gives an accounting free-cash-flow proxy of $160.0 million, which is the same figure that anchors the valuation analysis; this is not Buffett's owner earnings, because the filings do not separate maintenance from growth capex, but it is a reasonable proxy. Management has used debt to acquire three businesses within roughly twelve months and has disclosed the resulting leverage and covenant headroom transparently; goodwill is now $660.9 million and intangible amortization is excluded from adjusted operating income under a clearly labeled methodology change. Buffett's screen is partly satisfied and partly uncomfortable: the acquisition cadence adds growth but also adds execution risk, and there is no obvious hidden asset or business outside the operating narrative.
Charlie Munger Lens
Munger would focus on incentives, inversion and bias. Insiders did not adopt or terminate a Rule 10b5-1 trading arrangement during the quarter, which is neutral evidence rather than a positive signal. Management compensation is not disclosed in detail in the available filings, but the company's pivot to adjusting out intangible amortization is a normal practice that has not yet distorted comparability. Inverting the thesis: if European and North American paper-mill capex contracts by 20% in a recession, parts revenue will compress too, because mills run slower and consume fewer consumables, and operating leverage would push margins down faster than revenue. The clearest bias risk is that an investor who admires Kadant's clean accounting and steady dividend could underestimate tariff exposure, since China is both a market and a manufacturing base for the company.
Li Lu Lens
Li Lu would test whether Kadant sits inside the circle of competence and whether the business has durable advantages and limited permanent-loss risk. The business is intellectually accessible: engineered equipment, consumables, three segments, recurring parts revenue, and an explicit acquisition program. The durability argument rests on the installed base, the recurring parts mix and the diversified end-market exposure, all of which are evident in the filings. Permanent loss could occur through a tariff-driven margin shock, a goodwill impairment in Industrial Processing, or a covenant breach on a heavily debt-funded next deal; the leverage ratio of 1.72 is comfortable today, but a 4.25-step-up to 4.25 to 1 during the four post-acquisition quarters is the company's own disclosed ceiling. On balance, the durability story is sound but the valuation does not reward the buyer for absorbing those tail risks.
Risks, Disconfirming Evidence, and What Would Prove This Thesis Wrong
Three observable thesis breakers stand out. First, a sustained drop in pulp, paper or tissue mill utilization would compress both capital orders and parts demand, and would show up first in the customer-deposit line and in the Industrial Processing segment's organic revenue. Second, a tariff escalation on Chinese-made equipment or steel and aluminum inputs would compress gross margins, and the risk-factor language in the 10-Q explicitly flags this as a current and ongoing exposure. Third, a goodwill impairment in Industrial Processing, where $85.5 million of accumulated impairment already sits, would force an honest mark-down of past acquisitions and would signal that the deal pipeline has stopped creating value. A fourth, smaller risk is that Kadant Profil integration distracts management or underperforms on revenue targets embedded in its contingent consideration; that risk is mechanical but undisclosed in detail.
The most likely wrong assumption is that the 7.8% reverse-DCF growth requirement embedded in the dated price is sustainable. The first-half year-over-year revenue gain of about 20% includes Babbini, Clyde Industries and Kadant Profil in the comparison base, so a clean organic comparison from the third quarter forward is the cleanest test of whether the market's implied growth matches reality. The opportunity cost of buying today is the alternative of waiting for either a price correction or for the integration to be visible in segment-level disclosure.
Investment Conclusion
The dated market capitalization of $3.977 billion on August 12, 2026 sits within striking distance of the deterministic base-scenario intrinsic value and well below the bull case, but the dated price already requires multi-year free-cash-flow compounding above maintenance levels, the balance sheet has just absorbed a $171.8 million debt-funded acquisition, and the cash-flow yield is reasonable rather than cheap. A margin of safety is therefore thin, and the cleanest path to fair-value resolution is execution rather than price compression. The thesis stays valid only if Kadant Profil integrates cleanly, organic revenue stays positive in the back half of fiscal 2026, and tariffs do not escalate further; under any other path the dated price does not compensate the buyer for the risk absorbed. On the available evidence, the investment conclusion is Fairly valued.
*This article is for educational and informational purposes only and does not constitute investment advice or a recommendation to buy or sell any security. Market data and operating results change over time; readers should perform their own due diligence before making any investment decision. *
Share this article







