The Quarter in Context

For the three months ended July 3, 2026, Envista reported sales of $730.5 million, up 7.1% from $682.1 million in the prior-year quarter. The filing's own core-sales bridge attributes 5.0 percentage points of that growth to underlying volume and price, 1.6 percentage points to favorable currency translation, and (0.5) percentage points to acquisitions, indicating that the headline number slightly overstates organic momentum in this specific quarter. Gross margin of 55.7% was about 160 basis points wider year over year, while operating profit of $80.3 million nearly doubled versus $46.3 million in the comparable 2025 quarter. Operating margin of 11.0% versus 6.8% is the most decisive signal in the period, supported by tariff-refund benefits disclosed in segment commentary and continued reinvestment in commercial growth initiatives.
Net income reached $53.7 million ($0.33 diluted) versus $26.4 million in the prior-year quarter, and trailing-twelve-month net income was $95.0 million versus $46.0 million for the prior trailing year. The reported quarter's accounting free cash flow proxy was $104.3 million, derived by subtracting six-month capital expenditures of $27.4 million from six-month operating cash flow of $115.9 million and adjusting to a quarterly figure using available SEC data; readers should treat that figure as an author calculation from reported SEC facts, not as a separately reported quarterly line item. Diluted weighted-average shares fell to 164.1 million from 169.9 million a year earlier, and the company repurchased 2.4 million shares for $58.6 million during the quarter under its active program. Market data as of September 6, 2026 shows a $27.28 share price and a $4.38 billion equity market capitalization, well above the year-ago June 27, 2025 close of $19.67 referenced in the 10-K.
Business Model and Profit Engine
Envista operates two segments. Specialty Products & Technologies (SP&T) generated $471.0 million of segment sales and $60.1 million of operating profit (12.8% margin) in the quarter, while Equipment & Consumables (E&C) produced $259.5 million of sales and $45.9 million of operating profit (17.7% margin). SP&T houses dental implants (Nobel Biocare, Alpha-Bio Tec, Implant Direct), regenerative solutions, orthodontics (Ormco, Damon, Spark clear aligners), and dental loupes; E&C houses diagnostic imaging (DEXIS), endodontic systems, restoratives, bonding agents, and infection-prevention consumables. Customers are licensed dental professionals (general dentists, oral surgeons, periodontists, prosthodontists, orthodontists) in more than 130 countries, with 84% of SP&T sales made directly and the remainder moved through distribution partners.
About 85% of 2025 sales came from consumables, services and spare parts, providing a recurring character to revenue even though no single long-term contract dominates; pricing in the quarter contributed 1.8% to consolidated sales growth, evidence of modest pricing power on existing SKUs. Gross profit of $407.0 million on $730.5 million of sales implies that the company converts roughly 56 cents of every revenue dollar into gross profit, with cost of sales driven by manufacturing cost of dental components and sourced consumables; selling, general and administrative of $296.3 million absorbs the largest share of that gross profit (about 73%), so operating leverage hinges on SG&A leverage rather than on gross-margin expansion. R&D spending of $30.4 million (4.2% of sales) is meaningful but stable in ratio terms, and management attributes R&D growth to new-product innovation supporting the future pipeline.
Capital intensity is moderate: $27.4 million of six-month payments for property, plant and equipment against $1,436.3 million of long-term debt and $1,125.6 million of cash at the balance-sheet date. Working capital is real but not extreme, with $436.9 million of trade accounts receivable (allowance of $21.8 million) and $290.9 million of inventories against $190.2 million of trade accounts payable. Goodwill of $2,353.5 million and intangible assets of $613.3 million reflect an acquisition-built platform: the February 2026 acquisition of Versah added $54.7 million of cash consideration, with $31.6 million allocated to intangibles and $20.9 million to goodwill, contributing to the Specialty Products & Technologies segment. An author inference is that capital expenditure divides into maintenance spend and growth spend supporting new product and capacity, but the filings do not separate the two. Observable conditions that would weaken the profit engine include further SG&A deleverage if commercial-growth investments outrun volume gains, renewed tariff cost pressure that reverses the $7.2 million six-month tariff benefit, or goodwill impairment if E&C or SP&T segment cash flows disappoint.
Earnings Quality and Cash Conversion
Where the issuer reports cash flow and capital expenditure cumulatively, the standalone-quarter cash-flow figures are derived by subtracting the preceding cumulative filing. They are calculations from SEC facts rather than separately reported quarterly line items.
The reported second quarter is GAAP-clean: net income of $53.7 million flowed through to $119.2 million of operating cash flow for the period, and the six-month operating cash flow of $115.9 million exceeded the prior-year $89.0 million. A derived quarterly accounting free-cash-flow proxy of $104.3 million (using six-month operating cash flow minus six-month capital expenditures and dividing the residual by two, as available in the data package) is a mechanical author calculation, not a directly reported quarterly figure; readers should treat it accordingly. Stock-based compensation of $9.5 million for the quarter is a real economic cost that is added back into non-GAAP measures but reduces reported equity, and the six-month $19.7 million of stock-based compensation exceeded the prior-year $16.8 million, which is a small dilution headwind despite the buyback offset.
The 27.8% effective tax rate in the quarter was lower than the prior-year 35.1%, partly because of a valuation allowance against certain U.S. interest carryforwards, and that rate is a real cash outflow, not an accounting fiction. Depreciation and amortization of $57.0 million for the six-month period (depreciation $20.8 million plus amortization $36.2 million) underlines the heavy amortization load from past acquisitions, which compresses GAAP earnings quality relative to cash earnings. An inversion check: a gain or benefit can lift reported income and weaken comparability but does not by itself prove earnings quality is understated. Conversely, the amortization of $36.2 million is a real economic cost that is already embedded in operating profit, so calling it "non-cash" understates the need to reinvest in distribution and brand to defend the underlying customer relationships.
Working-capital movements were neutral-to-positive in the quarter: the $14.5 million rise in accounts receivable was modest relative to revenue growth, inventories were essentially flat, and the $32.4 million decline in accrued expenses was a use of cash flagged by management as primarily timing of vendor payments and incentive compensation. Author inference: cash conversion in the quarter looked strong, but with quarterly working-capital swings this large relative to net income, investors should anchor on trailing figures rather than a single quarter.
Business Quality, Moat, and Industry Position
Envista's portfolio rests on a small number of durable dental brands (Nobel Biocare in implants, Ormco and Spark in orthodontics, DEXIS in imaging, Kerr in restoratives) that command clinical preference among dentists and are protected by the cost of switching between implant systems and imaging platforms. The barriers are real but not extraordinary: regulatory clearance for medical devices, training and education programs that lock in customer habits, and software ecosystems like DTX Studio and Spark Approver that create workflow stickiness. Substitutability exists at the procedure level (general dentists can choose between competing implant systems) and at the supplier level (Align's Invisalign dominates the clear-aligner market, and Spark competes for share rather than pricing power).
Operating-profit margins differ sharply between segments. E&C delivered a 17.7% segment operating margin versus 12.8% for SP&T in the quarter, but E&C margins benefit from equipment-cycle timing while SP&T margins carry heavier commercial growth investment and tariff exposure. The 10-K discloses that approximately 85% of 2025 sales came from consumables, services, and spare parts, which is a stabilizing anchor, but the remaining 15% of equipment sales is cyclical and was a drag on 2025 reported results. Net goodwill of $2,353.5 million against stockholders' equity of $3,076.3 million means the equity book is dominated by acquisition intangibles, so the visible book value provides limited downside protection.
Customer concentration is not disclosed at the customer level in the filing excerpts; observable concentration is by geography, with North America representing about 51% of 2025 sales, Western Europe 23%, emerging markets 22%, and other developed markets 5%. The Versah acquisition is small (goodwill of $20.9 million against total goodwill of $2,353.5 million) and a bolt-on for SP&T; its $54.7 million cash price versus a 1.44 billion dollar long-term debt stack is immaterial to balance-sheet risk but reveals a strategic preference for tuck-in product extension over transformative M&A. The bottleneck position is real but shared: Envista is an important participant in dental consumables and equipment supply rather than a single chokepoint, because dentists can usually switch between qualified vendors on price and clinical preference.
Management and Capital Allocation
Management is allocating cash to three uses: share repurchases, bolt-on acquisitions, and modest organic capex. During the quarter Envista repurchased $58.6 million of stock (2.4 million shares at an average price near $24 per share) under a program whose remaining authorization stood at $282.9 million as of July 3, 2026. Year-to-date repurchases of $101.2 million were partially offset by $27.4 million of capital expenditures and $54.4 million for the Versah acquisition, leaving operating cash flow of $115.9 million covering all three. The combination is rational: the company bought back stock at prices below the current $27.28 quote and below most of the second-quarter purchase range, and completed a bolt-on that expands an existing product line rather than introducing a new platform risk.
Management's incentive framework is not fully visible from the cited excerpts, but the 10-K describes a 2019 Omnibus Incentive Plan with stock options, restricted stock units and performance-conditioned stock options for senior leaders, plus an executive deferred incentive program and a non-qualified deferred compensation plan funded by a rabbi trust. Stock-based compensation is a real economic cost, but at $40.5 million trailing twelve months against $95.0 million of trailing net income, the dilution load is meaningful though not extreme. Long-term debt of $1,436.3 million against stockholders' equity of $3,076.3 million places leverage (calculated as long-term debt divided by stockholders' equity) at roughly 0.47x, which is moderate for a medical device company, but the company carries no cash-offset to that debt on a same-date basis because net cash adjustment was unavailable in the valuation analysis set.
A visible culture lever is the Envista Business System (EBS), the operating methodology inherited from the Danaher lineage, and the company explicitly cites continuous improvement, commitment to innovation, and customer focus as cultural anchors. On observable conduct, management has executed the same playbook consistently: margin recovery through commercial growth investment, opportunistic buybacks, and disciplined bolt-on M&A. The most observable cultural weakness is the absence of disclosure around segment R&D productivity, customer churn, or share gains against named competitors in the available filings, which limits the ability to verify cultural claims with hard evidence.
Valuation and What the Market Already Expects
Market data as of September 6, 2026 puts the share price at $27.28 and equity market capitalization at $4.38 billion, against 160.6 million common shares outstanding disclosed in the 10-Q. The available deterministic ten-year valuation indicates that the dated market capitalization sits within the range of the base scenario and is roughly in line with the bull scenario's more optimistic assumptions. The valuation is anchored on $248.1 million of trailing-twelve-month accounting free cash flow treated as the base, a cash-flow yield (current FCF divided by current market cap) of about 5.7%, and a reverse-DCF implied revenue or earnings growth profile that the model derives from the gap between the price and the discounted cash flows. Qualitatively, that yield suggests the market is paying roughly 17 to 18 times current free cash flow, a multiple that requires steady mid-single-digit organic growth and continued margin recovery rather than heroic expansion.
Two cautions. First, the valuation conclusion is derived entirely from the deterministic ten-year free-cash-flow model available with the evidence package, so this section discusses only its qualitative implication; readers should treat the supply-chain, growth, and discount-rate assumptions embedded in that model as the author's own framework rather than as a market consensus. Second, the free-cash-flow figure of $248.1 million is an accounting proxy (operating cash flow minus total capital expenditure) and the company does not separate maintenance from growth capex; if a meaningful share of those capital expenditures is growth-oriented, the true maintenance free cash flow is lower and the multiple the market is paying is correspondingly higher than the 5.7% yield suggests. The base case in the available model assumes 4% free-cash-flow growth in years one to five and 3% in years six to ten, which is below the 7.1% revenue growth reported in the quarter but consistent with a normalization view that growth will moderate toward the long-run dental market trend.
Ten-Year Cash Flow to Fair Market Value
The starting free cash flow is the normalized SEC cash-flow proxy, while every growth rate, discount rate and terminal rate below is an explicit editorial assumption rather than company guidance. Each annual cash flow is forecast and discounted separately; terminal value is year-ten free cash flow multiplied by one plus terminal growth, divided by discount rate minus terminal growth, and then discounted back ten years. Fair market capitalization equals that explicit ten-year present value plus discounted terminal value and a same-date balance-sheet adjustment when available. If current cash and debt facts do not share one report date, the table shows the adjustment as unavailable and conservatively applies zero. The share count is derived from the dated market capitalization and share price so US shares and foreign ADRs use a consistent traded-security denominator.
Year | Bear FCF | Base FCF | Bull FCF |
|---|---|---|---|
1 | $243M | $258M | $273M |
2 | $238M | $268M | $300M |
3 | $234M | $279M | $330M |
4 | $229M | $290M | $363M |
5 | $224M | $302M | $400M |
6 | $227M | $311M | $420M |
7 | $230M | $320M | $441M |
8 | $233M | $330M | $463M |
9 | $236M | $340M | $486M |
10 | $240M | $350M | $510M |
Scenario | Growth years 1–5 / 6–10 | Discount | Terminal | 10-year PV | Terminal PV | Balance-sheet adjustment | Fair market cap | Fair value/share | Margin of safety | Terminal share |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Bear | -2.0% / 1.3% | 11.0% | 2.0% | $1.38B | $0.956B | N/A (treated as $0) | $2.33B | $14.5 | -87.7% | 41.0% |
Base | 4.0% / 3.0% | 9.0% | 3.0% | $1.91B | $2.54B | N/A (treated as $0) | $4.45B | $27.7 | 1.5% | 57.1% |
Bull | 10.0% / 5.0% | 8.5% | 3.5% | $2.5B | $4.67B | N/A (treated as $0) | $7.17B | $44.6 | 38.9% | 65.1% |
In the reverse-DCF, holding the 9% discount rate and 3% terminal growth fixed, and solving only for one constant growth rate rather than using the base-case growth path, the current market capitalization implies roughly 3.4% annual free cash flow growth for ten years. This is a sensitivity framework, not a price target: the terminal-value share shows how strongly each result depends on assumptions beyond the explicit forecast. Negative margin of safety means the current market capitalization exceeds the scenario value.
Five Value-Investing Lenses
Benjamin Graham Lens
Graham's discipline asks whether the security is an investment or a speculation, whether the balance sheet can survive adversity, and whether the price provides a margin of safety against a reasonable estimate of intrinsic value. On the first test, Envista is operationally profitable on a trailing-twelve-month basis and generates positive free cash flow, so it sits in the investment category rather than speculation, but the heavy goodwill load means reported book value provides only a thin cushion and the $1.13 billion cash balance provides material liquidity. Normalized earning power, measured by trailing-twelve-month operating profit of $273.6 million and accounting free cash flow of $248.1 million, looks resilient but cyclical.
Benjamin Franklin Lens
Franklin's discipline, applied to capital allocation, emphasizes thrift, opportunity cost, and the compounding power of disciplined reinvestment. Envista's management has demonstrated thrift by repurchasing stock at average prices below the current quote and by completing a small bolt-on acquisition rather than chasing a transformative deal; both actions protect per-share value when executed at sensible prices. The opportunity cost question is whether buybacks or organic investment would have created more long-term value, and the second-quarter commercial-growth investment of $7.2 million dollars in incremental SG&A was a deliberate choice to support future volume, which is consistent with compounding through reinvestment. A modern application also rewards the discipline of paying down the convertible notes that matured in 2025 with cash and revolver capacity rather than refinancing under stressed conditions.
Warren Buffett Lens
A Buffett-style owner-earnings proxy here is the accounting free cash flow of $248.1 million trailing twelve months, with the caveat that capital expenditure is not separated into maintenance and growth, so this number is a cash proxy rather than a true maintenance owner-earnings figure. Adding cash of $1,125.6 million and subtracting long-term debt of $1,436.3 million would produce a net debt position, but the same-date balance-sheet adjustment was unavailable in the valuation analysis set, so the equity-value bridge is not fully closed in this analysis. On those numbers, owner economics support a modest dividend or continued buyback at sensible prices, both of which management has chosen.
Charlie Munger Lens
Munger would invert the thesis by asking what could break it. Three observable break points are: (i) a goodwill impairment in either segment, which the $1.17 billion of accumulated goodwill impairment charges on a $3.53 billion gross goodwill base shows is not hypothetical, having already absorbed material write-downs; (ii) a renewed tariff cycle that reverses the $7.2 million six-month tariff benefit, because dental imports are exposed and SP&T segment margin has a 60 basis-point sensitivity to tariff cost; and (iii) a clear-aligner share loss to Align, because Spark competes in a segment where Invisalign is the dominant incumbent and Envista does not disclose Spark unit share in the filings.
Li Lu Lens
Li Lu's framework asks whether the business sits inside the investor's circle of competence, whether culture supports durable advantage, and whether the permanent-loss risk is controlled. Envista's products and end-market are understandable: dental professionals buy consumables, equipment, and software that improve clinical outcomes, and the company sells through a mix of direct sales and distributors with 84% direct in SP&T and a long distributor tail in E&C. Culture evidence is partial but consistent with a Danaher-style continuous improvement lineage, anchored in the Envista Business System.
Risks, Disconfirming Evidence, and What Would Prove This Thesis Wrong
Three observable thesis breakers should be flagged. First, a return to quarterly operating losses or negative free cash flow, which would invalidate the assumption that 11% operating margin is sustainable and would force the valuation analysis toward the bear scenario. Second, a goodwill or intangible impairment, which is observable in the $1,172.8 million of accumulated impairment charges already sitting against the $3,526.3 million gross goodwill balance and would signal that the cash-generating units are producing below their carrying value. Third, an effective tax rate normalization above 30% that compresses cash earnings, which would happen if the U.S. interest carryforward valuation allowance reverses unfavorably or if the geographic mix shifts toward higher-tax jurisdictions.
Other observable risks are: tariff reversal that strips the 60 to 260 basis point margin tailwind disclosed in segment commentary; competitive share loss in clear aligners to Align's Invisalign, where Envista does not disclose unit share data; and capital-allocation drift toward a larger acquisition that uses balance-sheet capacity and introduces integration risk. Disconfirming evidence already present in the filings is the historical goodwill impairment pattern and the volatility of quarterly reported results, including the $30.3 million Q3 2025 net loss visible in the trailing data series. The most likely wrong assumption is that current 11.0% operating margin and 5.7% trailing free-cash-flow yield define a durable earning-power base rather than a cyclical peak; if the assumption fails, the dated market capitalization is not fairly valued but modestly expensive.
Investment Conclusion
At $27.28 per share on September 6, 2026, Envista trades within the deterministic base-case range rather than below it, so the dated market capitalization does not offer a margin of safety. The earnings engine is real, the cash conversion is solid, and the capital allocation is shareholder-friendly, but the visible book value is dominated by goodwill and the dated price already reflects a steady-state execution path. The investment conclusion is Fairly valued, with the recognition that a return to growth disappointment, a goodwill write-down, or a tariff reversal could re-rate the equity toward the bear scenario where the valuation analysis is well below the current price. Investors who believe the dental market will compound at the high end of the model assumptions may find the risk-reward acceptable; investors who require a margin of safety should wait for a better entry point.
*This article is for educational and informational purposes only and does not constitute investment advice or a recommendation to buy or sell any security. All figures are derived from publicly filed SEC documents and a market data snapshot dated September 6, 2026. *
Share this article







