The investment case — and what could go wrong
  • Revenue of $0.3 million came entirely from data delivery, with subscription revenue at zero after the BEAM platform was decommissioned in May 2025.
  • Data delivery revenue was $0.3 million in Q2 2026 versus $0.1 million in Q2 2025, and the company ties this growth to the transition toward a unified iRWD platform and higher data-delivery volumes.
  • In a separate, more conservative owner-earnings sensitivity—not an alternate definition of reported free cash flow—treating TTM stock-based compensation of $0.0 billion as an economic dilution cost produces approximately -$0.0 billion.

Selected from this article · 2026-09-18

Read on for the full picture

The Quarter in Context

Detailed view of a server rack with a focus on technology and data storage.

OneMedNet's second-quarter 2026 results, reported in the Form 10-Q for the period ended June 30, 2026, show a small company still spending far more than it earns. Revenue of $0.3 million came entirely from data delivery, with subscription revenue at zero after the BEAM platform was decommissioned in May 2025. Cost of revenue was $0.9 million, producing a gross loss of $0.6 million and an operating loss of $2.3 million for the quarter. The headline prior-year quarterly net income figure of $3.0 million was driven by a $3.7 million troubled-debt-restructuring gain that did not recur in 2026.

The balance sheet at June 30, 2026 carries $0.4 million of cash and equivalents against $4.7 million of current liabilities and a $3.5 million stockholders' deficit, with management explicitly stating that the cash balance is not adequate to fund operations for at least twelve months. During the first six months of 2026, $3.4 million of cash was consumed by operations and $0.3 million was used to repay loans, while $2.8 million of new financing came in, almost entirely from related-party subscriptions and a standby equity purchase agreement. Net loss for the six months was $4.6 million.

Business Model and Profit Engine

OneMedNet describes itself as a healthcare software company that connects hospitals and imaging centers to life-science customers who need regulatory-grade imaging real-world data, branded as iRWD. Two revenue lines appear in the filing. Data delivery revenue was $0.3 million in Q2 2026 versus $0.1 million in Q2 2025, and the company ties this growth to the transition toward a unified iRWD platform and higher data-delivery volumes. Subscription revenue was zero in Q2 2026 versus $47,000 a year earlier, reflecting the BEAM platform decommissioning.

The mechanics of turning revenue into profit are weak. Cost of revenue was $0.9 million against $0.3 million of revenue, producing a negative gross margin, and management attributes the increase primarily to software costs tied to the AI-enabled platform and to data acquisition and curation costs for the iRWD product. General and administrative expense of $1.0 million, sales and marketing of $0.4 million, and research and development of $0.3 million sit on top of that cost base. As a result, every dollar of reported revenue is currently being produced at a gross loss and then absorbed by additional operating expenses. Pricing power, unit economics, and operating leverage cannot be tested from a single quarter of negative gross profit; the filings do not disclose unit pricing, contract duration, or contribution margins at the customer or cohort level, which is a meaningful disclosure gap.

Capital intensity is low in the traditional sense. Cash capital expenditure for the first six months of 2026 was just $0.01 million. The investment burden is instead in operating costs, working capital, and equity issuance: accounts receivable rose to $0.7 million from $0.5 million at year-end 2025, and deferred revenue increased to $0.7 million from $0.4 million. Stock-based compensation was $0.9 million in the first six months, which is a non-cash expense but a real economic cost to existing shareholders. Customer concentration is not disclosed numerically, and the filings do not separate segment contribution, so cross-subsidy between subscription and data delivery is not analyzable from the evidence available.

Observable conditions that would weaken the profit engine further include continued revenue concentration in a single small product line, the absence of disclosed multi-year customer contracts, the lack of disclosed cohort-level pricing, and the requirement that the company keep raising equity to fund operations. Observable conditions that would strengthen it would be the appearance of positive gross margins, disclosure of recurring multi-year contracts, and a self-funded operating cash flow line, none of which are present in the June 30, 2026 10-Q.

Earnings Quality and Cash Conversion

Where the issuer reports cash flow and capital expenditure cumulatively, the standalone-quarter cash-flow figures are derived by subtracting the preceding cumulative filing. They are calculations from SEC facts rather than separately reported quarterly line items. Reported earnings quality is poor. Net loss for Q2 2026 was $2.2 million, and net loss for the first six months was $4.6 million, against a $0.4 million loss a year earlier for the half-year period once the $3.7 million troubled-debt gain is stripped out. The Q2 2025 net income of $3.0 million was almost entirely the result of non-operating fair-value and restructuring gains, not recurring business performance, so the year-over-year swing is dominated by the absence of those gains rather than an operational deterioration that should be read at face value.

Cash conversion is negative. Operating cash outflow for the first six months of 2026 was $3.4 million, slightly improved from $4.0 million a year earlier. The single-quarter operating cash outflow for Q2 2026, derived by subtracting the reported $1.5 million first-quarter cash flow from the $3.4 million six-month figure, was approximately $1.9 million, which is an author calculation from reported SEC facts rather than a directly reported quarterly line item. Capital expenditure was negligible at $0.01 million for the six-month period. Free cash flow for the six months was therefore a loss of roughly $3.4 million. There is no dividend or buyback program; the company is consuming cash and issuing equity rather than returning it.

Accounting free cash flow remains -$0.0 billion. In a separate, more conservative owner-earnings sensitivity—not an alternate definition of reported free cash flow—treating TTM stock-based compensation of $0.0 billion as an economic dilution cost produces approximately -$0.0 billion. This is an analytical approximation, not a company-reported measure, and it treats compensation paid in shares as an economic cost even though the cash-flow reconciliation adds it back.

Business Quality, Moat, and Industry Position

On the available evidence, the company is best described as an ordinary participant, not a demonstrated core supply-chain bottleneck. This classification describes strategic position only; it is not independent proof of a moat or valuation upside. The company claims competitive advantages in compliance, privacy, clinical curation, and AI-enabled processing of imaging archives, and it reports access to a federated network of more than 2,130 healthcare sites. Whether that scale of access translates into pricing power, switching costs, or durable customer relationships is not demonstrated in the financial statements. Subscription revenue has gone to zero, the gross margin on data delivery is deeply negative, and the customer base is not numerically disclosed.

Material weaknesses in internal controls were disclosed for the period ended June 30, 2026, including segregation-of-duties and revenue-recognition issues, with management describing an ongoing remediation process that is not yet complete. For a company selling data to regulated life-science customers, the combination of negative gross margin and ineffective disclosure controls is an important counter-signal to any quality narrative.

Management and Capital Allocation

Management has consistently used equity issuance to fund operations. During the six months ended June 30, 2026, the company raised $2.1 million through related-party subscription agreements and $1.0 million under a standby equity purchase arrangement with Yorkville, while repaying only $0.3 million of loans. The cover page of the 10-Q discloses that as of August 11, 2026 there were 59.3 million shares outstanding, up from 52.0 million at year-end 2025, an increase of roughly 14 percent in seven months driven by these issuances and stock-compensation vesting.

Capital allocation so far is consistent with a company in survival mode rather than in a position to compound owner capital. There are no share repurchases and no dividends, and the company has explicitly disclosed material weaknesses in internal control and a going-concern qualification. The combination of dilutive related-party subscriptions and an open standby equity facility with Yorkville, which is a structured equity source rather than a long-term capital partner, is observable conduct that an investor should weigh against management's stated strategy.

Valuation and What the Market Already Expects

The dated market capitalization of $41.2 million as of September 18, 2026, against trailing-twelve-month revenue of approximately $1.5 million and a deeply negative free-cash-flow base, prices in a substantial and sustained operational turnaround that is not visible in the filings,. The market is therefore already paying for a future state in which revenue scales meaningfully, gross margins turn positive, and the company reaches self-funded profitability. Because the current free-cash-flow base is negative, no mechanical P/E ratio is meaningful and a trailing earnings multiple cannot be reported without misleading the reader. The cash-flow yield of the dated market capitalization against current cash flow is not a usable value signal, since both operating and free cash flow are losses.

Qualitatively, the dated market capitalization implies that the market expects something on the order of tens of millions of dollars of cumulative positive free cash flow at some maturity horizon, or a strategic transaction at a meaningful premium, in order to justify the equity value. The reverse-DCF implication is therefore that the equity is being priced for a recovery, not for the currently observable loss-making business. Any such recovery depends on a path that is not demonstrated in the June 30, 2026 financials.

Ten-Year Cash Flow to Fair Market Value

A direct ten-year compounding from a negative free cash flow base is not valid. With the trailing-twelve-month free-cash-flow proxy running at approximately a $6.9 million loss and the first six months of 2026 at a $3.4 million operating cash outflow, there is no positive base from which to compound. Rather than estimate a single intrinsic value, three normalization paths are sketched below as author assumptions rather than stated forecasts. Each path uses a different assumed revenue base and free-cash-flow margin in year five and year ten, and each applies a 10 percent discount convention as a clearly labelled author assumption. None of these inputs is an audited fair value.

In a bear case, revenue stays near current levels at roughly $1 million per year and the free-cash-flow margin never turns positive, so the cumulative undiscounted free cash flow over ten years is a loss and the equity has no cash-flow backing at the dated market capitalization. In a base case, author-assumed revenue grows toward $5 million by year five and $10 million by year ten, and free-cash-flow margin turns modestly positive at 5 percent by year ten, producing approximately $0.5 million of free cash flow by year ten and a heavily negative cumulative discounted total. In a bull case, revenue reaches $25 million by year five and $50 million by year ten with a 15 percent free-cash-flow margin, producing about $7.5 million of free cash flow by year ten and a cumulative discounted figure that remains a fraction of the dated $41.2 million market capitalization. Under all three author-assumed paths, the dated market capitalization is not supported by the cash flow that the assumptions themselves generate. Any reader using a different discount rate or margin assumption would obtain a different result; the inputs are author assumptions only.

Five Value-Investing Lenses

Benjamin Graham Lens

The Graham lens asks whether the price provides a margin of safety relative to a defensible value floor. At OneMedNet, the value floor is hard to anchor because free cash flow is negative and tangible book value is negative at minus $3.5 million. The dated market capitalization of $41.2 million is therefore many multiples of any measurable per-share liquidation or asset floor. The going-concern warning and the deeply negative trailing free cash flow together mean there is no Graham-style downside protection in the security at the current price, and a famous small-cap data story is not, on its own, evidence of cheapness.

Benjamin Franklin Lens

The Franklin lens frames this as a question of discipline, compounding, and opportunity cost. The company is consuming cash rather than compounding it, with $3.4 million of six-month operating outflows funded by $2.8 million of equity issuance. Each new share issued dilutes existing holders, and the dilutive cost of capital is being paid by those same holders. The opportunity cost for an outside investor is to compare the prospective return from owning this security against the alternative of holding cash or a diversified portfolio. With no cash dividend, no buyback, and a negative free cash flow, the compounding engine is not running in the shareholders' favor.

Warren Buffett Lens

The Buffett lens focuses on owner economics and capital allocation. Owner earnings here would require a positive, growing, and durable free cash flow, but the filings show the opposite: a $3.4 million six-month operating cash outflow and a $0.4 million cash balance. Management is allocating capital not toward productive reinvestment but toward staying alive, with most financing coming from related-party subscriptions and a standby equity facility. A company whose every quarter requires new equity to cover its burn is not yet a vehicle for owner-earnings analysis; the necessary condition, a positive and persistent free cash flow, is absent.

Charlie Munger Lens

The Munger lens asks whether the incentive structure and the inversion of the problem favor the long-term shareholder. Several observable features cut against that. Management compensation appears to include equity awards, with $0.9 million of stock-based compensation in six months, and the control environment has material weaknesses that management itself has flagged as unremediated. The most likely wrong assumption an investor could make is that management's stated strategy will translate into cash returns without further large dilutive raises. Inverting the question, an investor should ask what observable evidence would force a conclusion change: a quarter with positive gross margin, a multi-year customer contract at disclosed pricing, or a successful raise that takes the company to self-funded operations. None of these is present in the June 30, 2026 10-Q.

Li Lu Lens

The Li Lu lens emphasizes the circle of competence, durable advantage, and permanent-loss control. A pre-revenue-stage software platform selling curated imaging data to regulated customers is a difficult business to underwrite from public filings alone, particularly because unit economics, customer concentration, and contract duration are not disclosed. The permanent-loss risk is concrete: if the next equity raise fails, the company has stated it cannot continue as a going concern on the cash it holds. Culture-related signals are also weak, with disclosed internal-control material weaknesses, an ineffective disclosure-controls conclusion, and reliance on related-party bridge financing. The circle-of-competence test would caution an outside investor against paying a $41.2 million market capitalization for a business that has not demonstrated a positive gross margin and is being kept alive by dilutive issuance.

Risks, Disconfirming Evidence, and What Would Prove This Thesis Wrong

Prominent growth narratives can amplify attention bias and the price investors are willing to pay before cash flows arrive. That does not negate the operating evidence, but it raises the burden of proof for valuation and makes execution shortfalls more costly. The principal risks are immediate and material. First, the company has a stated going-concern qualification and $0.4 million of cash against $4.7 million of current liabilities. Second, gross margin on the only revenue line still active is deeply negative, and subscription revenue has gone to zero. Third, the company relies on related-party subscriptions and a standby equity purchase arrangement with Yorkville for working capital, which dilutes existing holders and creates a structural overhang on the share price. Fourth, disclosed material weaknesses in internal control over financial reporting are unremediated, which weakens confidence in the reported numbers themselves. Fifth, the company has historically held Bitcoin and recorded mark-to-market gains and losses on it, adding an idiosyncratic non-operating volatility layer that is not part of the core business and is no longer present after the Bitcoin position was sold down to zero during the first six months of 2026.

Three observable thesis breakers are defined here. If the company reports a quarter with positive gross margin on data delivery revenue, the bear case begins to weaken. If the company discloses multi-year customer contracts at meaningful pricing, durability improves. If the company completes an equity raise sufficient to fund operations for more than twelve months without recourse to the standby equity facility, the immediate solvency risk recedes. The most likely wrong assumption is that current dilution is at an end; the most likely opportunity cost is missing a recovery if one occurs, but recovery is not the base case supported by the filings.

Investment Conclusion

The combination of negative gross margin, negative free cash flow, a going-concern warning, unremediated internal-control material weaknesses, and a $41.2 million dated market capitalization leaves no observable margin of safety at the current price,. The dated price already prices in an operational turnaround that is not supported by current cash flow or by disclosed unit economics. Without a positive free-cash-flow base and without evidence of pricing power, customer concentration, or contract durability, this security does not pass the Graham downside test and does not yet meet the threshold for an investment-grade position under the five lenses applied here. The conditional conclusion is to remain outside the current circle of competence pending a demonstrated positive gross margin, a self-funded operating quarter, and disclosure of unit-level economics. The educational-use disclaimer below applies.

Educational use only. This article is not investment advice and is not a recommendation to buy, sell, or hold any security. The author has no position in ONMD at the time of writing. All figures are drawn from the cited SEC filings and the dated Nasdaq market snapshot; future filings may change the picture.

Share this article

FacebookX

4 sources

Sources