The Quarter in Context

The New York Times Company delivered Q2 2026 revenue of $762.5 million, up 11.2% from $685.9 million a year earlier, and operating profit of $118.0 million versus $106.6 million. Subscription revenue rose to $537.9 million (70.5% of total) from $481.4 million, advertising grew to $149.1 million from $134.0 million, and affiliate, licensing and other reached $75.5 million from $70.5 million. Diluted EPS was $0.57 versus $0.50 (+14.0%), and net income of $93.4 million compares to $82.9 million. Six-month operating cash flow climbed to $286.5 million from $212.7 million, a 34.7% improvement that the filing attributes to working capital, higher net income and lower cash taxes from the One Big Beautiful Bill Act provisions.
Two items complicate the quarter-on-quarter comparison. A $9.2 million multiemployer pension plan liability adjustment and $4.6 million of generative-AI litigation costs were charged to operating costs. The filing does not separate maintenance from growth capital expenditure, so the result of operating cash flow minus capital expenditure is best treated as an accounting free-cash-flow proxy rather than a clean owner-earnings figure. The market capitalization was $10.87 billion as of September 2, 2026, at $67.73 per share.
Business Model and Profit Engine
The customer base is a global audience paying for a digital subscription bundle anchored by the news product, The Athletic (sports), Audio, Cooking, Games and Wirecutter, plus print subscribers. In Q2 2026, 75.8% of subscription revenue came from digital-only subscriptions ($407.9 million), with print contributing $130.0 million (24.2%). Readers pay in advance and revenue is recognized ratably; unexpired subscriptions on the balance sheet stood at $211.2 million at June 30, 2026. Advertising is sold directly by NYT sales teams or through third-party programmatic exchanges; in Q2 2026 digital advertising was 76.4% of advertising revenue ($114.0 million) versus 23.6% print. Affiliate, licensing and other includes Wirecutter referrals, commercial printing, live events, building rentals ($6.7 million in Q2 2026) and retail commerce.
Revenue moves through a largely fixed cost structure. Cost of revenue, sales and marketing, product development and general and administrative together totaled $609.5 million, leaving $153.0 million of gross contribution before depreciation and amortization, generative-AI litigation costs and pension adjustments. Q2 2026 operating margin was 15.5%, in line with 15.5% a year earlier, while management's adjusted operating margin (which excludes amortization, severance, withdrawal costs, AI litigation and the pension adjustment) was 20.4%, up 90 basis points. Diluted weighted-average shares outstanding fell to 163.0 million in Q2 2026 from 164.3 million a year earlier, reflecting ongoing buybacks. Capital intensity is low: trailing-twelve-month capital expenditure was $35.2 million against $658.3 million of operating cash flow.
The filing does not disclose unit economics for individual products or subscriber-level contribution, so per-subscriber revenue, churn or lifetime value are unavailable from available evidence; the 12.78 million total subscribers referenced is a year-end 2025 figure from the 10-K, not a current quarter disclosure. Customer concentration data, including the relative weight of advertising verticals, is also not broken out in a way that supports a concentration ratio. Observable conditions that would weaken the engine include a sustained digital subscriber net-add slowdown, a print circulation decline steeper than the 0.9% year-over-year print subscription dip in Q2 2026, or material advertising share loss to large platform competitors. The company has not, in the available filings, disclosed a customer concentration metric; that gap is noted.
Earnings Quality and Cash Conversion
Where the issuer reports cash flow and capital expenditure cumulatively, the standalone-quarter cash-flow figures are derived by subtracting the preceding cumulative filing. They are calculations from SEC facts rather than separately reported quarterly line items.
Trailing-twelve-month operating cash flow was $658.3 million, and the trailing-twelve-month accounting free-cash-flow proxy (operating cash flow minus total capital expenditure) was $623.0 million, equivalent to roughly a 21% FCF margin on trailing revenue. Q2 2026 operating cash flow itself was $194.3 million, derived by subtracting the six-month figure minus the first-quarter figure rather than a directly reported quarterly line item, and should be read as an author calculation from reported SEC facts. Working capital was a source of cash in the half, with accounts receivable declining $54.8 million, partly offset by a $41.8 million decline in accounts payable and accrued liabilities.
Reported earnings benefit from a one-time tax tailwind: the One Big Beautiful Bill Act generated roughly $65 million of lower cash taxes for fiscal 2025 and an expected $60 million for fiscal 2026, which the filing notes is not expected to recur in 2027. Stock-based compensation was $20.0 million in Q2 2026 and is a real economic cost that dilutes per-share economics; it is added back in headline operating cash flow but reduces per-share ownership. Two charges, generative-AI litigation costs ($4.6 million) and the multiemployer pension adjustment ($9.2 million), reduced GAAP operating profit in the quarter but the filing does not provide a normalized run-rate excluding both items, so no charge-reversal figure is presented here. Net income for Q2 2026 was $93.4 million, and the TTM diluted EPS is $2.11, so the dated price of $67.73 corresponds to a trailing P/E of roughly 32x.
Business Quality, Moat, and Industry Position
The moat is journalistic brand, an established bundle of habit-forming digital products and a recurring consumer revenue base that, as of December 31, 2025, encompassed approximately 12.78 million subscribers, the highest in the company's history. The filing cites more Pulitzer Prizes than any other news organization as evidence of editorial differentiation. The business operates in consumer discretionary media where substitutability is high at the individual article level but lower for a true cross-format bundle: news, sports, audio, games, recipes and product reviews. Direct competitors include other national news brands, sports media (The Athletic competes with league-owned and start-up sports outlets) and free alternatives; the filing does not provide peer market share figures, so a quantitative moat assessment is unavailable.
The company has one reportable segment following a 2025 internal reporting change, so segment contribution and cross-subsidy between subscription, advertising and other cannot be quantified from the available filings. The supply-chain position is upstream of advertising demand and downstream of large distribution platforms: the filing explicitly identifies dependence on third-party platforms (Apple, Alphabet) for subscriber acquisition and retention, and on programmatic exchanges for a portion of advertising sales. These dependencies weaken pricing power at the margin but do not undermine the bundle economics. Important participant rather than core bottleneck is the appropriate framing given the available evidence; quantitative scoring is limited because the available SEC data does not include a peer comparable set.
Management and Capital Allocation
Management returned substantial cash in the first half of 2026. Share repurchases of $91.8 million fully utilized the 2023 authorization and left approximately $239.7 million remaining under the 2025 plan; an additional $18.7 million was repurchased in July 2026. Dividends paid totaled $67.6 million for the half, and the Board raised the quarterly dividend from $0.18 to $0.23 per share in February 2026. Diluted weighted-average share count declined modestly from 164.8 million in the prior-year half to 163.4 million in the 2026 half, consistent with disciplined buyback execution.
Capital allocation also includes litigation investment to defend copyright against generative AI model providers. The filing discloses ongoing suits against Microsoft, OpenAI and Perplexity, with the company seeking monetary and injunctive relief. These suits are an attempt to monetize intellectual property rather than a pure expense. There were no borrowings under the $400 million revolving credit facility as of June 30, 2026; only $0.4 million in outstanding letters of credit and the Company was in compliance with covenants. A data gap should be flagged: a current same-date total-debt figure is not available in the available snapshot, so a precise net-cash adjustment to enterprise value cannot be computed from same-date facts; the deterministic DCF accordingly applies no balance-sheet adjustment.
Valuation and What the Market Already Expects
Using the trailing-twelve-month accounting FCF proxy of $623.0 million against the dated market capitalization of $10.87 billion, the cash-flow yield is approximately 5.7%. A reverse DCF would need only a low-single-digit perpetual growth rate on this cash base to support the current market price, which is consistent with the company continuing to grow digital subscribers modestly and to extend advertising share against a backdrop of low capital intensity. The deterministic Gordon-growth framework implied approximately 3.2% perpetual growth when calibrating to the dated market cap, well below the 11.2% top-line growth observed in Q2 2026 but appropriate because FCF grows more slowly than revenue, working capital absorbs cash, and the base is already large. The cash-flow yield sits below the typical value-investing screen threshold of 8%-10% for a wide margin of safety, and the dated share price corresponds to a trailing P/E in the low thirties, a level that historically prices in continued high-single-digit earnings growth.
Qualitatively, the market is paying for execution: continued subscriber net adds toward the 15 million goal articulated in the 10-K, maintenance of pricing power on bundle renewals, and disciplined capital returns. The risk for a value investor is not that the business is bad but that the price already reflects the favorable scenario, so any disappointment in subscriber growth, advertising cyclicality or litigation outcomes would compress the multiple. Operating under the assumption that current FCF holds roughly flat in nominal dollars, a 25% drawdown would still leave the cash-flow yield under 7.6%, which is below the cushion many value frameworks require for an investment rather than a watchlist listing.
Ten-Year Cash Flow to Fair Market Value
The starting free cash flow is the normalized SEC cash-flow proxy, while every growth rate, discount rate and terminal rate below is an explicit editorial assumption rather than company guidance. Each annual cash flow is forecast and discounted separately; terminal value is year-ten free cash flow multiplied by one plus terminal growth, divided by discount rate minus terminal growth, and then discounted back ten years. Fair market capitalization equals that explicit ten-year present value plus discounted terminal value and a same-date balance-sheet adjustment when available. If current cash and debt facts do not share one report date, the table shows the adjustment as unavailable and conservatively applies zero. The share count is derived from the dated market capitalization and share price so US shares and foreign ADRs use a consistent traded-security denominator.
Year | Bear FCF | Base FCF | Bull FCF |
|---|---|---|---|
1 | $0.613B | $0.651B | $0.688B |
2 | $0.604B | $0.68B | $0.76B |
3 | $0.595B | $0.71B | $0.84B |
4 | $0.586B | $0.742B | $0.928B |
5 | $0.577B | $0.775B | $1.02B |
6 | $0.585B | $0.798B | $1.08B |
7 | $0.594B | $0.822B | $1.13B |
8 | $0.603B | $0.847B | $1.19B |
9 | $0.612B | $0.872B | $1.25B |
10 | $0.621B | $0.899B | $1.31B |
Scenario | Growth years 1–5 / 6–10 | Discount | Terminal | 10-year PV | Terminal PV | Balance-sheet adjustment | Fair market cap | Fair value/share | Margin of safety | Terminal share |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Bear | -1.5% / 1.5% | 11.0% | 2.0% | $3.52B | $2.48B | N/A (treated as $0) | $6B | $37.4 | -81.1% | 41.3% |
Base | 4.5% / 3.0% | 9.0% | 3.0% | $4.88B | $6.52B | N/A (treated as $0) | $11.4B | $71 | 4.6% | 57.2% |
Bull | 10.5% / 5.0% | 8.5% | 3.5% | $6.38B | $12B | N/A (treated as $0) | $18.4B | $114 | 40.8% | 65.2% |
In the reverse-DCF, holding the 9% discount rate and 3% terminal growth fixed, and solving only for one constant growth rate rather than using the base-case growth path, the current market capitalization implies roughly 3.2% annual free cash flow growth for ten years. This is a sensitivity framework, not a price target: the terminal-value share shows how strongly each result depends on assumptions beyond the explicit forecast. Negative margin of safety means the current market capitalization exceeds the scenario value.
Five Value-Investing Lenses
Benjamin Graham Lens
Graham's framework distinguishes investment from speculation by testing balance-sheet resilience, normalized earning power and downside protection. The balance sheet is liquid: cash and short-term marketable securities of $660.8 million versus a low fixed debt footprint, with $1.22 billion of cash and securities supporting operating flexibility. However, the dated market price implies a cash-flow yield near 5.7% and a trailing P/E in the low thirties; Graham's margin-of-safety discipline would generally demand a materially higher yield and lower multiple relative to normalized earnings power, particularly given the non-recurring tax tailwind of approximately $60 million in 2026. The valuation analysis confirms that the bear case leaves the stock roughly 81% above the bear-case fair value, so the dated price does not, in this author's view, pass a strict Graham downside floor. The filing does not separate maintenance from growth capital expenditure, so any pretax-of-growth FCF estimate carries additional uncertainty.
Benjamin Franklin Lens
Franklin's lens, applied through the modern virtues of thrift, compounding and opportunity cost, asks whether the capital being deployed is being used with discipline. Management is buying back shares at an average Q2 price of $74.80, paying a 0.23 per share dividend, and operating with zero revolver borrowings. The capital-allocation pattern reflects restraint. The opportunity cost question is whether this is the most productive use of cash versus paying down what appears to be a small debt balance, increasing the dividend, or making an AI-related acquisition. The filing discloses ongoing investment in AI capabilities and litigation to defend content rights against AI model providers, which is consistent with a deliberate strategy rather than idle cash. Free cash flow is being compounded through buybacks at a multiple that the central DCF case suggests is approximately fair, so the return on this capital is uncertain rather than demonstrably poor.
Warren Buffett Lens
Buffett's owner-earnings proxy, calculated as operating cash flow minus capital expenditure, was $623.0 million on a trailing-twelve-month basis; stock-based compensation of $78.3 million is a real economic cost that reduces this further but is captured by the diluted share count decline. The capital-allocation record shows management is willing to repurchase stock, raise dividends modestly and avoid dilutive acquisitions, and the $400 million undrawn revolver plus $1.22 billion of cash and securities provides material balance-sheet flexibility. Buffett would also want a durable moat and a price that allows compounding from a reasonable starting yield. The starting cash-flow yield of approximately 5.7% is low relative to the wide-moat consumer staples he typically favors, but the recurring revenue from over 12 million subscribers does create the kind of owner economics he values. The dated price reflects strong execution already, which is the binding constraint.
Charlie Munger Lens
Munger would invert the question and ask what could go wrong. The filing itself lists risks including dependence on third-party platforms, generative AI competition, print cost inflation, and the concentration of control through the dual-class structure. Munger would also scrutinize the OBBBA tax benefit: roughly $60 million of fiscal 2026 cash-tax reduction that the filing explicitly says will not recur in 2027. Removing that one-time benefit from trailing FCF would push the cash-flow yield lower and the implied growth rate higher, reducing margin of safety. He would note that legal claims against OpenAI, Microsoft and Perplexity carry execution risk; success is uncertain and the lawsuit cycle is slow. The bias check is whether the AI litigation narrative is causing investors to overpay; the deterministic DCF suggests no meaningful margin of safety in the base case.
Li Lu Lens
Li Lu's framework emphasizes circle of competence, durable advantage and risk control. A subscription media business with a Pulitzer-grade news brand, a sports property (The Athletic) and a habit-forming bundle is inside the circle of competence for many investors. The culture evidence is largely observable: the company has consistently reported segment-level product investments, disclosed a multi-employer pension adjustment transparently, and maintained a clear capital-return policy. Durability is supported by the 12.78 million subscriber base and the recurring nature of subscription revenue, but free cash flow must hold up against content costs, AI disruption and platform dependence. The permanent-loss risk is structural rather than cyclical: a combination of AI-driven content commoditization, accelerating print decline and a platform-driven traffic reduction could compress both subscription and advertising economics simultaneously. The dated price does not, in this author's view, provide a meaningful margin of safety against that combination.
Risks, Disconfirming Evidence, and What Would Prove This Thesis Wrong
Three observable thesis breakers would force a re-evaluation. First, a sustained deceleration in digital subscriber net additions relative to the 15 million goal articulated in the 10-K, particularly if it coincides with churn acceleration visible in subscription revenue growth dipping below mid-single digits, would imply that the bundle is losing pricing power or that free alternatives are gaining ground. Second, a reversal of the OBBBA cash-tax benefit combined with normalization of cash tax payments to a higher run rate in 2027 would push the cash-flow yield meaningfully lower and require even higher implied growth to support the dated price. Third, an adverse outcome in the OpenAI, Microsoft or Perplexity litigation that removes the prospect of monetizing intellectual property would eliminate a potential growth lever and would also signal that AI platforms can use news content without paying, weakening the long-run subscription value proposition.
The most likely wrong assumption is that the 11.2% top-line growth in Q2 2026 can be sustained indefinitely; subscriber base is already large and the addressable market is finite, so a reversion toward mid-single-digit revenue growth would compress the multiple. A data gap is also worth flagging: the filing does not disclose same-date total debt in the available snapshot, so a precise net-cash adjustment to enterprise value was not possible in the valuation analysis, and any totalDebt value cited elsewhere should be treated as historical and excluded from current valuation.
Investment Conclusion
The New York Times Company is a high-quality subscription media business with a recurring revenue base, a defensible bundle of products and a management team returning meaningful capital. The Q2 2026 print was strong, with double-digit revenue and earnings growth, a 34.7% jump in six-month operating cash flow, and a trailing-twelve-month accounting free-cash-flow proxy of $623.0 million. However, the dated market capitalization of $10.87 billion at $67.73 per share corresponds to a trailing P/E in the low thirties and a cash-flow yield of approximately 5.7%, and the deterministic Gordon-growth framework places the dated price close to the base-case fair value, with fair value approximately 5% above the dated price, while remaining roughly 81% above the bear case. The combination of a strong business and a price that already reflects continued execution places this in the fairly valued zone today. Without a meaningful drawdown, the dated price does not, in this author's view, offer a margin of safety sufficient to justify an investment under a strict value-investing discipline, and the conclusion is fairly valued with a watchlist stance on further weakness.
This article is for educational and informational purposes only and does not constitute investment advice or a recommendation to buy or sell any security. The analysis reflects the author's interpretation of public SEC filings and market data as of the stated date and is subject to change as new information becomes available.
PLACES IN THIS STORY
Explore the destinations behind this report
United States
New York
Browse travel guides, places to stay, attractions and local food in New York.
Explore New York →New York City Travel Guide: Getting Around and Eating WellUnited Kingdom
York
Browse travel guides, places to stay, attractions and local food in York.
Explore York →York Travel Guide July 2026: Sights, Events and Practical Tips for a Summer VisitShare this article







