The Quarter in Context

For the three months ended August 1, 2026, Ross Stores reported sales of $6.265 billion, up about 13% from $5.529 billion a year earlier, with comparable-store sales growth of 10% driven by approximately 7% traffic and 3% basket gains. Operating income reached $1.104 billion versus $638 million, lifting the operating margin to 17.6% from 11.5%, while diluted EPS rose to $2.66 from $1.56. Management attributes roughly 405 basis points of the cost-of-goods-sold improvement to a $253 million benefit from refunds of IEEPA tariffs previously paid, with a smaller but still material contribution in the prior-year quarter from higher tariff costs.
The context matters because the year-ago quarter was depressed by tariffs and other costs, so part of the headline margin expansion is catch-up rather than a clean run-rate. The trailing-twelve-month revenue figure stands at $24.512 billion, up 13.3% year over year, and trailing-twelve-month operating income is $3.370 billion, up 73%. A reader should treat the quarter as evidence of restored margin discipline, not necessarily as a forecast for fiscal 2026 in full, especially because the tariff benefit is by definition non-recurring.
Business Model and Profit Engine
Ross operates two banners of off-price retail apparel and home fashion: Ross Dress for Less and dd's DISCOUNTS, with 1,904 and 363 stores respectively as of January 31, 2026. Customers are value-driven middle-income and moderate-income households who buy brand-name and designer apparel, accessories, footwear and home goods at everyday discounts of 20% to 60% off department and specialty store regulars (Ross) and 20% to 70% off moderate department and discount store regulars (dd's). The customer value proposition is a "treasure-hunt" assortment that changes frequently as new merchandise arrives three to six times per week, with no allowance, return or drop-ship requirements imposed on vendors. The customer pays cash or card at the register; there are no loyalty contracts or subscription commitments that make the revenue recurring in the contractual sense, so every transaction stands on its own.
The revenue engine is a single reportable segment, with merchandise mix dominated by Home Accents and Bed & Bath (about 24% of Q2 sales), Ladies (23%), Men's (16%), Accessories/Lingerie/Jewelry/Cosmetics (15%), Shoes (13%) and Children's (9%). Ross converts revenue into gross profit by sourcing closeouts, overruns and some upfront production at net prices below what department and specialty stores pay, then marks merchandise up less than those stores, so the value proposition is structural rather than promotional. Cost of goods sold as a percentage of sales fell 625 basis points year over year in Q2: 405 basis points from the IEEPA tariff recovery, 110 basis points of underlying merchandise-margin gain, 100 basis points of distribution-cost timing benefit, and 25 basis points of occupancy leverage, partially offset by 10 basis points of higher domestic freight and 5 basis points of higher buying costs. Distribution and occupancy are largely fixed in store terms, so same-store sales growth flows through to operating margin with meaningful operating leverage.
SG&A as a percentage of sales moved from 16.1% to 16.2% in Q2, a 15-basis-point deleverage attributable to higher incentive compensation expense, so the discipline on controllable costs remains intact. Six-month operating income of $1.908 billion against sales of $12.275 billion implies a 15.5% margin, which is a more representative run-rate than the 17.6% Q2 figure because it strips out the concentrated IEEPA benefit. Working-capital dynamics are an important piece of the engine: accounts payable grew $226 million in the six-month period, merchandise inventory grew $456 million, and accounts payable leverage was 85% at both August 1, 2026 and August 2, 2025, meaning suppliers fund a meaningful slice of in-stock inventory. Capital intensity is moderate and predictable: six-month additions to property and equipment were $460 million against $1.712 billion of operating cash flow, and management projects roughly $1.1 billion of full-year fiscal-2026 capex to fund new stores, distribution capacity, information technology and corporate facilities. The filings do not separate maintenance from growth capex, so the recurring component cannot be isolated from the reported total.
Segment contribution between Ross and dd's DISCOUNTS is not disclosed, so the operating profit attributable to each banner cannot be derived from the available evidence; this is a data gap. Customer concentration is essentially retail foot traffic and is not disclosed by named customer, which is normal for the format; cyclicality is real because discretionary apparel and home spending track the broader middle-income consumer. Observable conditions that would weaken the profit engine include a sustained traffic decline, a return of tariff or other cost pressure that the IEEPA recovery merely masked, and any erosion of the treasure-hunt turnover that defines the format.
Earnings Quality and Cash Conversion
Where the issuer reports cash flow and capital expenditure cumulatively, the standalone-quarter cash-flow figures are derived by subtracting the preceding cumulative filing. They are calculations from SEC facts rather than separately reported quarterly line items.
Earnings quality is solid in the mechanical sense: net income for Q2 was $851 million, six-month net income was $1.501 billion, depreciation was $140 million in Q2, and stock-based compensation was $47 million in Q2, both normal non-cash components. The IEEPA tariff recovery is reported within Cost of goods sold rather than as an extraordinary item, so it lifts GAAP operating income and net income but is, by its nature, a one-time recovery of duties previously paid and should not be treated as recurring earning power. Diluted EPS of $2.66 in Q2 includes approximately $0.60 per share of IEEPA benefit, while the prior-year quarter included approximately $0.11 per share of tariff-related cost, so the year-over-year optics are flattering in a way that does not survive normalization.
Six-month operating cash flow reached $1.712 billion versus $1.078 billion in the prior-year period, well ahead of the $1.501 billion of net earnings, reflecting working-capital benefits and the $226 million increase in accounts payable alongside the $456 million increase in merchandise inventory. Accounts payable leverage of 85% indicates that suppliers fund a meaningful slice of in-stock inventory, which is a normal feature of off-price retail rather than a hidden liability. The Q2 standalone operating cash flow of $876 million and Q2 standalone capital expenditure of $251 million are derived figures obtained by subtracting the reported Q1 cumulative operating cash flow from the six-month total and the cumulative six-month figure from a comparable subtraction for capex; both should be read as author calculations from reported SEC facts rather than directly reported quarterly line items.
The derived quarterly free cash flow proxy (operating cash flow minus capital expenditure) of approximately $624 million is the author's accounting free-cash-flow proxy; the filings do not separate maintenance from growth capex, so this proxy does not isolate the recurring component. Six-month free cash flow on the same basis was about $1.252 billion. The IEEPA recovery was received substantially in cash during the quarter, so its cash-flow effect matched its income-statement effect and did not create a working-capital timing distortion that would otherwise complicate the conversion ratio.
Business Quality, Moat, and Industry Position
On the available evidence, the company is best described as an important participant, not a demonstrated core supply-chain bottleneck. This classification describes strategic position only; it is not independent proof of a moat or valuation upside.
Ross's economic moat rests on three observable elements rather than on intangible claims: a large store base of 2,267 stores clustered in densely populated markets, an experienced merchant team of more than 800 buyers averaging over seven years of experience, and an off-price buying model that sources closeouts, overruns and upfront production at structurally lower cost than full-price retail. The model is reinforced by physical infrastructure (own distribution centers, packaway capability that lets the company buy opportunistically and stage inventory), and by separate buying organizations for Ross and dd's DISCOUNTS led by chief merchandising officers. Packaway inventory was 36% of total inventory at August 1, 2026 versus 38% a year earlier, and aging is typically less than six months, so packaway is a working-capital tool for opportunistic buying rather than a long-dated speculation.
Substitution risk is meaningful but bounded: consumers can buy from other off-price chains, mass merchants and online, but the treasure-hunt experience and the 20-60% discount positioning are not easily replicated at the same cost structure. The supply-chain position is that of a large downstream buyer of brand-name overruns and closeouts; Ross does not control supply of national brands and cannot dictate vendor pricing power. Direct customers are end consumers shopping physical stores; final demand is middle-income discretionary apparel and home spending. Order visibility is short by design, because Ross does not require advance commitments and merchandise is delivered three to six times per week, which limits forecasting precision but also limits downside from fashion misses.
The moat is durable as long as vendor partners continue to generate overruns and Ross continues to convert buying talent into gross-margin advantage, both of which the available evidence supports as observable today. None of these advantages is legally protected: there are no patents, no regulatory barriers, and no brand-pricing power in the consumer sense, so the moat is real but functional rather than structural.
Management and Capital Allocation
Management's capital allocation is conventional for a mature, cash-generative retailer and is observable in the numbers. During the six months ended August 1, 2026, Ross repurchased 2.9 million shares for $637.5 million under a new $2.55 billion two-year authorization, paid $286 million in dividends at a $0.4450 quarterly rate, and repaid $500 million of maturing Senior Notes. The combination of buybacks ($637.5 million), dividends ($286 million) and debt repayment ($500 million) absorbed roughly $1.42 billion against $1.252 billion of six-month free cash flow plus a drawdown of prior cash balances; the policy is to return substantially all free cash flow while also delevering the balance sheet. The company has $1.9 billion remaining under the current buyback authorization and $1.3 billion available under a revolving credit facility, so the capital-return runway extends well beyond the current quarter.
Management disclosure is candid and detailed: the tariff benefit is quantified in dollars and basis points, segment reporting notes a single reportable segment, packaway inventory is reported as a percentage of total inventory, and the supply-chain finance program is described and disclosed on the balance sheet. Diluted shares outstanding declined about 1.6% year over year as buybacks outpaced stock-plan issuance, providing a small per-share tailwind that should continue as long as the buyback authorization remains. Stock-based compensation for Q2 of $47 million and six-month of $106 million is a normal non-cash component, and the unamortized stock-award expense of $228 million over a weighted-average 1.8-year remaining period is consistent with the three-to-five-year vesting disclosed. A data gap remains: the available evidence does not disclose return on invested capital, segment contribution by banner, sales per square foot or four-wall store margins, so a fully resolved view of management's capital efficiency at the unit level is not available from the package.
Valuation and What the Market Already Expects
The dated market snapshot is a share price of $229.24 on September 2, 2026, implying a market capitalization of approximately $73.5 billion. Trailing-twelve-month free cash flow on the accounting proxy of operating cash flow minus total capex is approximately $2.79 billion, against a market capitalization of $73.5 billion, which places the dated free-cash-flow yield in the high-3% to low-4% range before any growth assumption is layered in. Because the yield is modest on its own, the dated market capitalization is qualitatively consistent with a market that already requires mid-to-high single-digit free-cash-flow growth to justify the price, growth that exceeds the company's longer-term sales record and that depends on continued traffic-driven comp gains plus stable to expanding margins. The balance sheet is not the binding constraint: cash and equivalents stood at $4.288 billion at August 1, 2026, while current debt was $241 million and long-term debt was $777 million, with total stockholders' equity of $6.743 billion, so downside protection at the asset level is strong. The constraint is the price itself: even on a constructive operating view, the dated price embeds growth that has to be delivered rather than earned today, and a permanent impairment of the underlying business would still be cushioned by the balance sheet rather than by the entry price. The article refrains from identifying a specific per-share fair value or a margin-of-safety percentage and instead points to the qualitative gap between the dated price and the operating normalization that would justify it.
Ten-Year Cash Flow to Fair Market Value
The starting free cash flow is the normalized SEC cash-flow proxy, while every growth rate, discount rate and terminal rate below is an explicit editorial assumption rather than company guidance. Each annual cash flow is forecast and discounted separately; terminal value is year-ten free cash flow multiplied by one plus terminal growth, divided by discount rate minus terminal growth, and then discounted back ten years. Fair market capitalization equals that explicit ten-year present value plus discounted terminal value and a same-date balance-sheet adjustment when available. If current cash and debt facts do not share one report date, the table shows the adjustment as unavailable and conservatively applies zero. The share count is derived from the dated market capitalization and share price so US shares and foreign ADRs use a consistent traded-security denominator.
Year | Bear FCF | Base FCF | Bull FCF |
|---|---|---|---|
1 | $2.77B | $2.94B | $3.11B |
2 | $2.75B | $3.1B | $3.46B |
3 | $2.73B | $3.26B | $3.85B |
4 | $2.72B | $3.43B | $4.29B |
5 | $2.7B | $3.62B | $4.77B |
6 | $2.74B | $3.72B | $5.01B |
7 | $2.79B | $3.84B | $5.26B |
8 | $2.84B | $3.95B | $5.52B |
9 | $2.89B | $4.07B | $5.8B |
10 | $2.94B | $4.19B | $6.09B |
Scenario | Growth years 1–5 / 6–10 | Discount | Terminal | 10-year PV | Terminal PV | Balance-sheet adjustment | Fair market cap | Fair value/share | Margin of safety | Terminal share |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Bear | -0.7% / 1.8% | 11.0% | 2.0% | $16.3B | $11.8B | N/A (treated as $0) | $28.1B | $87.6 | -161.8% | 41.8% |
Base | 5.3% / 3.0% | 9.0% | 3.0% | $22.5B | $30.4B | N/A (treated as $0) | $52.9B | $165 | -38.9% | 57.4% |
Bull | 11.3% / 5.0% | 8.5% | 3.5% | $29.5B | $55.7B | N/A (treated as $0) | $85.2B | $266 | 13.7% | 65.4% |
In the reverse-DCF, holding the 9% discount rate and 3% terminal growth fixed, and solving only for one constant growth rate rather than using the base-case growth path, the current market capitalization implies roughly 8.6% annual free cash flow growth for ten years. This is a sensitivity framework, not a price target: the terminal-value share shows how strongly each result depends on assumptions beyond the explicit forecast. Negative margin of safety means the current market capitalization exceeds the scenario value.
Five Value-Investing Lenses
Benjamin Graham Lens
Graham's discipline is about balance-sheet protection, normalized earning power and a margin of safety relative to price. Ross enters this lens with conservative leverage: $4.29 billion of cash and equivalents against $241 million of current debt and $777 million of long-term debt, and $6.74 billion of stockholders' equity supporting roughly $15.98 billion of total assets. Current assets of $7.88 billion comfortably exceed current liabilities of $4.89 billion, so the working-capital position is not a margin-of-safety risk. The earnings-power test is harder: Q2 operating margin of 17.6% benefited from 405 basis points of tariff recovery that will not recur, so a normalized operating margin is more like the 15.5% reported for the first half or below the Q2 headline. Graham would likely view the dated market capitalization of $73.5 billion against a normalized free-cash-flow stream of closer to $2.5 billion as demanding rather than cheap, and would look for a price meaningfully below the implied value rather than at or above it.
Benjamin Franklin Lens
Franklin's lens applies thrift, compounding and opportunity cost. Ross's culture of cost discipline is observable in the self-service store format, in the lack of vendor allowances and in the steady SG&A ratio of 16.2% in Q2 that has barely moved year over year. The compounding question is whether reinvested capital earns an attractive return: six-month capex of $460 million funded new stores, distribution capacity, information technology and corporate facilities, and management has guided to roughly $1.1 billion of capex for fiscal 2026. Opportunity cost is the central tension here, because every dollar spent buying back stock at $229 or paying dividends instead of building stores is a judgment call about whether the stock is cheaper than the next warehouse. The honest read is that Ross's culture is genuinely thrifty, but the priced-in rate of return required today is high relative to the cash being returned.
Warren Buffett Lens
Buffett would frame Ross through owner earnings, moat and capital allocation. The accounting free-cash-flow proxy for the trailing twelve months is approximately $2.79 billion, which is the author's calculation rather than a directly reported figure, and the filings do not separate maintenance from growth capex so this proxy overstates truly recurring cash. The moat is real but not exceptional: large store base, experienced merchant team and a buying model that is hard to copy, but no patent, no regulatory barrier and no brand-pricing power in the consumer sense. Capital allocation is shareholder-friendly and disciplined: buybacks, dividends, debt repayment and modest acquisitions, but the trade-off at today's price is that buybacks may be value-destroying rather than value-creating if the share price embeds optimistic assumptions. Buffett would likely classify Ross as a good business at a price that currently does not look attractive.
Charlie Munger Lens
Munger would invert the question: what is the most likely way this investment loses money permanently? The obvious answers are a multi-year traffic decline that compresses comp growth below zero, a return of cost pressure that the IEEPA benefit merely masked, and a multiple compression that is independent of business performance. The incentive check is positive: senior executives are paid partly in performance shares tied to fiscal-year goals, which align them with operating results, but Munger would still ask whether the in-flight share repurchase pace is consistent with intrinsic value or with momentum. The bias check is that this quarter reads as unambiguously good, but the year-ago quarter was unambiguously bad, so the year-over-year optics are flattering in a way that may not survive. Munger would likely conclude that the cognitive risk is paying a high price for a quarter that looks excellent in isolation.
Li Lu Lens
Li Lu would apply the circle-of-competence and durable-advantage tests. Off-price retail with two banners, a treasure-hunt model and a long merchant track record is comfortably inside the circle of competence for a fundamental investor. The cultural evidence is observable in the merchant training (more than 800 buyers averaging seven-plus years of experience), the deliberate clustering of stores and the consistent return of capital, all of which support the thesis that this is a culture built around the business rather than around financial engineering. The durable advantage is the buying organization, not the store base per se, because stores are replicable but the talent and vendor relationships are not. The permanent-loss control check is the central concern: at $229, an investor is paying for a normalized free-cash-flow stream that does not, on the evidence, grow fast enough to deliver satisfactory returns without multiple expansion, which is the one thing an investor cannot control.
Risks, Disconfirming Evidence, and What Would Prove This Thesis Wrong
Three observable thesis breakers would force a re-rating lower: (1) two or more consecutive quarters of negative comparable-store sales growth, which would signal that the traffic-driven comp model is breaking; (2) sustained operating margin below 14%, which would mean the 17.6% Q2 figure was a one-time peak rather than a floor; and (3) a return of tariff or other cost pressure that is not offset by pricing or supply-chain changes, which would compress merchandise margin back toward the 25%-of-sales level seen before the IEEPA recovery. Conversely, three pieces of evidence would force a re-rating higher and could justify a more constructive view: continued mid-single-digit comp growth, expansion of packaway-driven gross margin, and successful new-store openings in newer markets, all sustained over at least two years.
The most likely wrong assumption in the bullish case is that the Q2 2026 operating margin is a run-rate; the most likely wrong assumption in the bearish case is that traffic-driven comp growth stops abruptly. Opportunity cost is the relevant benchmark: at the dated share price and trailing free-cash-flow proxy, the return profile looks modest relative to a diversified equity portfolio of similar quality, which is the qualitative concern that should accompany any valuation conclusion. Disconfirming evidence would include inventory growth materially outpacing sales growth, accounts payable leverage collapsing below 75%, or a large debt-funded acquisition that breaks the disciplined capital-return story.
Investment Conclusion
Ross Stores is a high-quality off-price retailer with a real competitive advantage, conservative balance sheet and shareholder-friendly capital allocation. The current quarter was strong, but the dated market capitalization already prices in a future that requires sustained mid-to-high single-digit free-cash-flow growth and stable to expanding margins, which is above the company's longer-term record and above what the deterministic ten-year section supports. The shares therefore look Overvalued at the dated price, and the article refrains from identifying a specific per-share fair value or margin-of-safety percentage, instead pointing to the qualitative gap between today's price and the operating normalization that would justify it.
---
*This article is provided for educational and informational purposes only and does not constitute investment advice, a recommendation or a solicitation to buy or sell any security. *
Share this article







