The Quarter in Context

Close-up of a plasma cutting machine working on a metal sheet in an industrial setting.

Parker-Hannifin's fiscal year closed on June 30, 2026, and the standalone fourth-quarter sales of $5.755 billion were the largest of the fiscal year, ahead of the $5.486 billion reported for the fiscal third quarter and $5.084 billion in the fiscal first quarter. Full-year fiscal 2026 revenue totaled $21.499 billion, a year-over-year gain of roughly 9.8%. Fourth-quarter operating income reached $1.474 billion, lifting the full-year operating result to $5.068 billion and producing an operating margin of about 23.6% on the year's net sales. Operating cash flow for the year was $4.364 billion against $459 million of reported capital expenditure, an accounting free-cash-flow proxy of $3.905 billion — about 18.2% of sales — while the fiscal fourth-quarter cash conversion alone produced a derived free-cash-flow proxy of $1.563 billion.

The quarter and the year together read as a strong operating outcome for an industrial. The relevant question is not whether the result is good in isolation but whether the dated market price already assumes more than mid-cycle conditions can deliver. The deterministic reverse-Discounted-Cash-Flow setup implied an 11.3% per-year growth path off the trailing free-cash-flow proxy. That is a heavier ask than a mature cyclical motion-and-control business has historically delivered, and it sets the analytical tone for the sections that follow.

Business Model and Profit Engine

Parker designs, manufactures, and supports motion-and-control components for industrial and aerospace customers, and two reportable segments generated the fiscal 2026 net sales: Diversified Industrial (roughly 67% of net sales) and Aerospace Systems (roughly 33%). Diversified Industrial serves original-equipment manufacturers and an aftermarket replacement channel through field sales and independent distributors across off-highway, in-plant industrial equipment, transportation, energy, HVAC and refrigeration, and aerospace and defense verticals. Aerospace Systems supplies airframe and engine components, fuel systems, flight control systems, hydraulics, and thermal management directly to original-equipment manufacturers and end users in commercial transport, regional transport, defense fixed wing, helicopters, business jets, and energy platforms.

The profit engine flows from price × volume on hundreds of thousands of individual part numbers — no single product exceeded 1% of fiscal 2026 net sales — into a full-year operating margin near 23.6% and a free-cash-flow margin near 18.2%. Recurring revenue comes from the industrial aftermarket replacement cycle and from aerospace original-equipment-manufacturer content that follows platforms for decades; transactional revenue comes from new industrial original-equipment-manufacturer builds and short-cycle parts. The backlog of $12.8 billion at June 30, 2026, up from $11.0 billion a year earlier, with about 70% scheduled for delivery within the next twelve months, gives one-year forward visibility but is not a contractually fixed demand signal. Customer and product breadth are very large — several hundred thousand original-equipment-manufacturer and distribution customer locations across 44 countries — which mitigates concentration risk but also means that no individual channel carries the franchise. Working capital absorbs $3.17 billion of accounts receivable and $3.166 billion of inventory at quarter-end, and segment-level economics beyond the revenue split are not disclosed in the available evidence, which is a data gap.

Observers should not treat the 9.8% reported revenue growth as a steady-state run-rate. Pricing, mix, the Curtis Instruments acquisition completed in September 2025, and the pending CIRCOR Aerospace deal are inputs the filings do not separate. Capital intensity is modest relative to operating earnings — full-year capital expenditure of $459 million against $4.364 billion of operating cash flow — but goodwill of $11.109 billion and intangible assets of $7.280 billion at quarter-end point to a balance sheet that has been built significantly through acquisition. Conditions that would weaken the profit engine include industrial volume contraction that compresses fixed-cost absorption, aerospace original-equipment-manufacturer program delays, and acquisition-integration friction that the filings do not quantify. The mix of cyclical industrial OEM exposure and platform-dependent aerospace content also creates a pricing-and-inventory cycle that is not directly observable from headline margins, so a mid-cycle free-cash-flow normalization cannot be derived from a single fiscal-year result. The filings do not separate maintenance from growth capital expenditure, leaving reinvestment requirements and depreciation coverage as a qualitative judgment rather than a measured fact.

Earnings Quality and Cash Conversion

Where the issuer reports cash flow and capital expenditure cumulatively, the standalone-quarter cash-flow figures are derived by subtracting the preceding cumulative filing. They are calculations from SEC facts rather than separately reported quarterly line items. Earnings quality is supported by the gap between reported net income and operating cash flow. Full-year net income of $3.649 billion against $4.364 billion of operating cash flow indicates that non-cash charges and working-capital releases added roughly $715 million of bridge between the two — a positive direction for cash conversion, not a weakness in reported income. Reported diluted earnings per share for the fiscal third quarter stood at $7.06, with a trailing-twelve-month diluted figure of $27.32, while full-year diluted weighted-average shares of 128.0 million declined modestly from prior periods, indicating modest buyback-driven per-share accretion rather than dilution. Stock-based compensation of $179 million for the year is small relative to operating income and does not raise a comparability concern.

The accounting free-cash-flow proxy of $3.905 billion is operating cash flow minus total reported capital expenditure, and the filings do not separate maintenance from growth capital expenditure. Quarterly operating cash flow is derived by subtracting cumulative nine-month totals from the full-year figure in the available evidence; those derived values are author calculations, not separately reported line items, and the same labelling applies to any standalone-quarter cash-flow statement built from them. Capital expenditure rose about 32.1% year-over-year on a trailing basis, which is consistent with capacity build-out but cannot be attributed by the filings to maintenance versus growth, so the operating-lease footnote and segment-level discussion inside the Form 10-K remain the only additional disclosure a reader can obtain. Reported net income is the starting point; lifting it further by removing depreciation, amortization, or stock-based compensation is not supported here.

Business Quality, Moat, and Industry Position

On the available evidence, the company is best described as an important participant, not a demonstrated core supply-chain bottleneck. This classification describes strategic position only; it is not independent proof of a moat or valuation upside. Parker is one of two reportable segments in a deeply diversified industrial portfolio, and it competes against named global players — Bosch Rexroth, Emerson/ASCO, Danfoss, Donaldson, Gates, IMI/Norgren, SMC, Swagelok, and Trelleborg in Diversified Industrial; Eaton, Honeywell Aerospace, Moog, RTX, Safran, Senior, Triumph, and Woodward in Aerospace Systems. The Form 10-K states that no single competitor matches its full product breadth, which is a structural claim that the filings support by enumeration rather than by share data. Competition is described as based on product quality and innovation, customer experience, manufacturing and distribution capability, aftermarket support, and price — a mix that points to a durable position built on engineering, qualification, and installed-base switching costs rather than on commodity pricing.

Aerospace Systems carries multi-decade original-equipment-manufacturer content positions on commercial transport, defense fixed wing, helicopters, and business jets, with an aftermarket replacement cycle that follows platform lifecycles. Diversified Industrial sells both standard catalog parts and engineered-to-order components to original-equipment-manufacturers, with aftermarket replacement revenue layered on top. The breadth of the portfolio is the moat's centre of gravity: thousands of part numbers, hundreds of thousands of customer locations, and a decentralized operating structure that is described in the filing as fostering customer engagement. Bottleneck analysis is incomplete on the available evidence: substitutability of specific part numbers, qualification barriers for new aerospace programs, supply concentration on raw materials, and capacity elasticity for industrial volume swings are not quantified in the filings, so the classification as an important participant rests on the breadth and qualification-cycle characterizations rather than on measurable share data. The available evidence does not quantify the relative contribution of aftermarket versus original-equipment revenue, segment-level operating margins, or share data, so any durability claim here is qualitative and rests on the filings' own characterizations rather than on independently measurable market shares.

Management and Capital Allocation

Fiscal 2026 capital returned to shareholders was substantial. Full-year dividends paid totaled $936 million and share repurchases totaled $1.262 billion, for a combined $2.198 billion returned, against $3.905 billion of the accounting free-cash-flow proxy — a payout ratio near 56% on that base. The fiscal fourth-quarter dividend of $253 million and repurchases of $255 million suggest management is sustaining cash returns at the margin while continuing to grow the balance sheet through acquisition. Curtis Instruments closed in September 2025, Filtration Group Corporation closed in August 2026 (after the fiscal year-end but disclosed in the filing), and CIRCOR Aerospace was under definitive agreement at fiscal year-end. The filings do not quantify acquisition returns, so the discipline of capital allocation must be inferred from the pattern of activity rather than measured.

Goodwill of $11.109 billion against stockholders' equity of $15.404 billion at quarter-end signals that more than 70% of equity book value is intangible, which raises the long-run importance of acquisition discipline. The arithmetic also implies a negative tangible book value of approximately $2.985 billion, but this figure is a derived balance-sheet calculation, not a liquidation floor: the negative position reflects acquisition-driven growth that converted cash and equity into goodwill and intangibles, not operating-asset deterioration, and asset-based floor reasoning cannot rescue a price against a going-concern earnings power test. Incentive plans documented across the filing include performance-bonus plans, long-term incentive performance awards tied to financial metrics, and stock-settled appreciation rights, which on their face align management with per-share value creation. The CEO has been in the role since January 2023 and Chairman since January 2024, the Chief Operating Officer has been President and Chief Operating Officer since 2023-2024, and the named officers show multi-decade Parker tenure, which is consistent with cultural continuity but cannot substitute for verifiable post-acquisition return-on-invested-capital evidence that the available filings do not provide.

Valuation and What the Market Already Expects

At a dated share price of $1,001.74 and a market capitalization near $126.3 billion as of August 21, 2026, Parker trades at a price that carries a heavy expectation of future cash-flow expansion. On the trailing accounting free-cash-flow proxy, that market capitalization implies a free-cash-flow yield — an author-derived approximation calculated as $3.905 billion divided by the $126.306 billion dated market capitalization, not a directly reported filing fact — of roughly 3.1%, a level that is consistent with a richly priced industrial but offers little buffer if any single operating assumption slips. Because same-date balance-sheet adjustment data were unavailable, the equity-value bridge does not include a net-cash adjustment, and any commentary on enterprise-value yield should be treated as directionally indicative rather than precise. Terminal-multiple, exit-multiple, and independent fair-value ranges are intentionally omitted from this section.

Qualitatively, the dated price already discounts a long, clean run, depending on continuing aerospace original-equipment-manufacturer production strength, smooth integration of recent acquisitions, and stable industrial aftermarket pricing. The reverse-Discounted-Cash-Flow setup implied an 11.3% per-year growth path on the trailing free-cash-flow proxy. For a mature industrial whose fiscal 2026 organic-plus-acquisition revenue growth was 9.8%, that implied path is aggressive, and a reader is entitled to ask whether mid-cycle cash generation is more likely to be a year of margin compression followed by a rebound than a straight line at this margin level.

Ten-Year Cash Flow to Fair Market Value

The starting free cash flow is the normalized SEC cash-flow proxy, while every growth rate, discount rate and terminal rate below is an explicit editorial assumption rather than company guidance. Each annual cash flow is forecast and discounted separately; terminal value is year-ten free cash flow multiplied by one plus terminal growth, divided by discount rate minus terminal growth, and then discounted back ten years. Fair market capitalization equals that explicit ten-year present value plus discounted terminal value and a same-date balance-sheet adjustment when available. If current cash and debt facts do not share one report date, the table shows the adjustment as unavailable and conservatively applies zero. The share count is derived from the dated market capitalization and share price so US shares and foreign ADRs use a consistent traded-security denominator.

Year

Bear FCF

Base FCF

Bull FCF

1

$3.83B

$4.06B

$4.3B

2

$3.75B

$4.22B

$4.73B

3

$3.68B

$4.39B

$5.2B

4

$3.6B

$4.57B

$5.72B

5

$3.53B

$4.75B

$6.29B

6

$3.58B

$4.89B

$6.6B

7

$3.62B

$5.04B

$6.93B

8

$3.67B

$5.19B

$7.28B

9

$3.72B

$5.35B

$7.64B

10

$3.77B

$5.51B

$8.03B

Scenario

Growth years 1–5 / 6–10

Discount

Terminal

10-year PV

Terminal PV

Balance-sheet adjustment

Fair market cap

Fair value/share

Margin of safety

Terminal share

Bear

-2.0% / 1.3%

11.0%

2.0%

$21.7B

$15.1B

N/A (treated as $0)

$36.7B

$291

-243.8%

41.0%

Base

4.0% / 3.0%

9.0%

3.0%

$30.1B

$39.9B

N/A (treated as $0)

$70B

$555

-80.4%

57.1%

Bull

10.0% / 5.0%

8.5%

3.5%

$39.3B

$73.5B

N/A (treated as $0)

$113B

$895

-12.0%

65.1%

In the reverse-DCF, holding the 9% discount rate and 3% terminal growth fixed, and solving only for one constant growth rate rather than using the base-case growth path, the current market capitalization implies roughly 11.3% annual free cash flow growth for ten years. This is a sensitivity framework, not a price target: the terminal-value share shows how strongly each result depends on assumptions beyond the explicit forecast. Negative margin of safety means the current market capitalization exceeds the scenario value.

Five Value-Investing Lenses

Benjamin Graham Lens

The Graham lens asks whether the dated price leaves a margin of safety against downside. With a dated price substantially above the deterministic base scenario, the price fails that test on the available evidence, and a return-to-base would imply a substantial drawdown rather than a cushion. A Graham analyst would note that Parker's balance sheet carries $11.109 billion of goodwill and $7.280 billion of intangible assets against $15.404 billion of stockholders' equity, producing a derived negative tangible book value of approximately $2.985 billion; this is an arithmetic outcome of acquisition accounting rather than a Graham-era liquidation anchor, and the case for the Graham floor depends entirely on going-concern earnings power, not on asset-based salvage.

Benjamin Franklin Lens

The Franklin lens focuses on capital discipline and opportunity cost. Parker's fiscal 2026 capital return of $2.198 billion against an accounting free-cash-flow proxy of $3.905 billion leaves meaningful reinvestment headroom, and the filings show that headroom being deployed into three acquisitions inside roughly twelve months. The opportunity-cost question is whether those deals will earn returns above the cost of capital, which the available evidence does not quantify. A Franklin-style reading treats the pattern of return plus reinvestment as the operative signal — discipline in execution is what matters, not slogans.

Warren Buffett Lens

The Buffett lens asks about owner economics and the durability of competitive advantage. Operating cash flow that exceeded net income by a wide margin in fiscal 2026, a capital-light cash-conversion profile relative to operating earnings, and a backlog that grew year over year are all supportive qualitative signals. Capital allocation through repurchases at what the dated price implies is a high-multiple of free cash flow, which historically destroys rather than creates value at the margin. The dated acquisition cadence is the offsetting factor, and its long-run economics are not visible in the available evidence.

Charlie Munger Lens

The Munger lens asks about incentives, inversion, and bias. Management's incentive plans include long-term performance awards tied to financial metrics and stock-settled appreciation rights, which directionally align with per-share value creation. Inversion asks what would break the thesis: a sharp industrial volume contraction, an aerospace original-equipment-manufacturer program delay, or an acquisition integration that disappoints. The bias check is to refuse to let the 9.8% reported revenue growth become a mental anchor for a normalized run-rate; that figure embeds pricing, mix, and acquisition contribution that the filings do not separate.

Li Lu Lens

The Li Lu lens asks whether the business sits inside the circle of competence and whether permanent loss is a real risk. Parker is a motion-and-control franchise whose economic logic is well documented and whose accounting free-cash-flow proxy is positive, so the comprehension test is passed. Permanent loss is most likely through a balance-sheet impairment cycle tied to goodwill if acquisitions underperform, a possibility the available evidence cannot quantify. Cultural continuity and decentralized operations are observable signals, but durable advantage ultimately rests on customer qualification cycles and installed-base economics that the filings describe qualitatively rather than measure.

Risks, Disconfirming Evidence, and What Would Prove This Thesis Wrong

Three observable thesis breakers stand out. First, a sustained compression of aerospace original-equipment-manufacturer build rates would directly weaken Aerospace Systems margins and free cash flow, and that exposure is structural rather than cyclical. Second, a renewed industrial volume downturn would erode Diversified Industrial's fixed-cost absorption and produce a sharper operating-margin contraction than the 23.6% fiscal 2026 result suggests is possible. Third, an acquisition-integration shortfall that produces goodwill impairment would convert today's strong reported return-on-equity into a much weaker economic return, and goodwill of $11.109 billion is large enough to matter. Independent customer, supplier, and competitor verification is not in the available evidence, which limits scuttlebutt-based confirmation; the absence of segment-level operating margins and of aftermarket-versus-original-equipment revenue split is the most consequential data gap. The most likely wrong assumption is that recent revenue growth of 9.8% approximates a normalized pace; that figure combines organic growth, pricing, and acquisitions in a way the filings do not decompose, so treating it as a recurring run-rate overstates the base.

Investment Conclusion

Parker-Hannifin is a high-quality motion-and-control franchise whose fiscal 2026 operating result is genuinely strong, but the dated share price of $1,001.74 and a market capitalization near $126.3 billion sit substantially above the deterministic base scenario and require the business to grow at a pace its filings do not support as normalized. With no margin of safety, no same-date balance-sheet adjustment to soften the enterprise-value-to-equity bridge, and an acquisition cadence whose returns are not yet visible, the dated price does not pay the reader for the cycle risk that a diversified industrial always carries. The rating is Overvalued.

*This article is for educational and informational purposes only and does not constitute investment advice, an offer to buy or sell any security, or a recommendation to take any action. Information has been drawn from public SEC filings and a dated market snapshot; all forward-looking statements are assumptions, not stated forecasts, and investors should perform their own due diligence. *

Share this article

FacebookX

4 sources

Sources