The Quarter in Context

TG Therapeutics reported total revenue of $240.3 million for the three months ended June 30, 2026, up from $141.1 million in the year-ago quarter, with product revenue, net of $235.8 million supplying the bulk of the line and a small contribution from license, milestone, royalty and other revenue. Cost of revenue was $41.2 million, leaving an unstated gross margin in this filing because the XBRL concept for gross profit is not separately reported; the available metric pack therefore describes profitability only at the operating level. Operating income of $21.7 million in Q2 2026 was lower than the $34.8 million reported in Q2 2025, a year-over-year decline of roughly 38%, despite the larger revenue base, because research and development and selling, general and administrative expenses both expanded sharply. Net income for the quarter was $7.8 million, compared with $28.2 million a year earlier, after interest expense of $16.6 million and a $2.5 million income tax provision.
The six-month figures frame the year-to-date trajectory: total revenue of $445.3 million, operating income of $56.5 million, and net income of $27.6 million, with operating cash flow of $39.3 million and capital expenditure of only $0.3 million. The implied six-month free cash flow is therefore close to $39.0 million on a derived basis, but the first quarter of 2026 had been a $17.9 million operating cash outflow, so the run-rate is volatile and should not be treated as a steady-state number. The company also completed a treasury build-up, ending the quarter with $482.6 million of cash and $69.7 million of short-term investment securities, against a $745.4 million non-current loan payable that roughly tripled during the half-year. Reflecting management's described risk factors, BRIUMVI's commercial trajectory, competition, leverage, and the dilutive effect of stock-based compensation together dominate the picture for this quarter.
Business Model and Profit Engine
TG Therapeutics earns the vast majority of its revenue from product sales of BRIUMVI, the brand name for ublituximab-xiiy, an anti-CD20 monoclonal antibody approved for relapsing forms of multiple sclerosis. Customers in this business are specialty distributors, wholesalers, and indirectly payors and patients in the United States, while outside the U.S. the company captures economics through a partnership with Neuraxpharm and an older sublicense with Ildong Pharmaceutical, which generate license, milestone and royalty revenue. Recurring revenue is dominated by the commercial product, which is consumed on a dosing schedule rather than one-off. License and milestone revenue is lumpy by construction, tied to clinical, regulatory and commercial events rather than to steady demand. Segment economics at a granular geographic level are not disclosed, so the mix between domestic product revenue and partner economics is a data gap; the analyst should rely on the consolidated total revenue line.
Revenue becomes profit through three layered margins. First, gross profit: cost of revenue includes third-party manufacturing, royalties owed to the LFB Group under a long-running license agreement (recorded at $61.3 million for full-year 2025), and other production costs. Second, operating profit: heavy spend on R&D and SG&A, much of it in stock-based compensation, drives a low single-digit operating margin even when revenue is large; in Q2 2026, operating income was 9.0% of revenue. Third, cash conversion: capital expenditure is essentially de minimis at $0.3 million for the quarter, so the difference between operating cash flow and operating income reflects working-capital movements rather than investment in fixed assets. Working capital, however, is a real consumer of cash, with accounts receivable rising by $95.9 million and inventory by $80.1 million during the six-month period, even as accounts payable and accrued expenses grew alongside.
Pricing power for a single-product launch in a crowded multiple-sclerosis field is constrained by the presence of competitor anti-CD20 therapies and the broader landscape of disease-modifying treatments, a risk the company itself flags. Operating leverage is real but partially offset by the need to fund continued R&D in azer-cel and other pipeline assets and by elevated selling expense to support the BRIUMVI launch; the quarter's year-over-year operating-income decline despite a larger revenue base illustrates this tension. Fixed costs include commercial infrastructure, headcount, and facility leases; variable costs include royalties, third-party manufacturing, and product-specific selling. Capital intensity is low, but capital allocation has shifted toward debt and share repurchases rather than acquisitions. Observable conditions that would weaken the profit engine include a slower-than-expected commercial ramp, competition compressing price or share, an R&D setback for azer-cel, and rising interest expense that pulled pre-tax income lower in this quarter.
Earnings Quality and Cash Conversion
Where the issuer reports cash flow and capital expenditure cumulatively, the standalone-quarter cash-flow figures are derived by subtracting the preceding cumulative filing. They are calculations from SEC facts rather than separately reported quarterly line items.
Reported net income of $7.8 million for the quarter is real GAAP income, but its quality is shaped by three non-cash items the reader must size. First, stock-based compensation was $27.9 million in the quarter and $47.8 million for the six-month period, which is a large gap between cash profit and book profit; this is real economic dilution that adds shares over time. Second, deferred income taxes added back $4.6 million in the six-month cash flow statement, reflecting the release of valuation allowance on certain deferred tax assets, which lifted reported earnings without an equivalent operating cash event. Third, a $9.2 million loss on extinguishment of debt in the first quarter of 2026 was a non-operating item that reduced six-month GAAP earnings but did not affect underlying operating cash generation. Taken together, the picture is that operating cash conversion for the first half of 2026 was about $39.3 million, close to operating income, and was driven by a working-capital tailwind from rising payables that may not repeat.
The six-month free-cash-flow proxy of roughly $39.0 million (operating cash flow of $39.3 million less capex of $0.3 million) is a derived figure; the filings do not separate maintenance from growth capital expenditure, so the result should be treated as an accounting proxy and not as a maintenance-capex owner earnings figure. With first-quarter operating cash flow of negative $17.9 million, the second quarter of $39.3 million is materially better, but the volatility argues against annualizing a single quarter. The company's own SEC-K risk-factor language notes a history of operating losses and uncertainty about the durability of profitability, which the second-quarter GAAP profit does not by itself refute.
Business Quality, Moat, and Industry Position
The competitive moat in this business is built on three things: a regulatory approval to market BRIUMVI for relapsing forms of multiple sclerosis in the United States, an in-licensed and protected molecule from the LFB Group, and a commercial organization capable of selling in a specialty channel. None of those is unassailable. Competitor anti-CD20 therapies already exist on the market, and the company's own filings warn of substantial competition that could compress or eliminate the commercial opportunity. Pipeline diversification is limited: azer-cel is a meaningful bet, but the company has terminated other in-licensed programs (TG-1701, TG-1801) during 2025, narrowing the future set of launches.
In industry-position terms, TG Therapeutics is an important participant rather than a structural bottleneck in either the multiple-sclerosis market or the broader pharmaceutical value chain. It depends on third-party contract manufacturers for commercial and clinical supply and relies on partners (Neuraxpharm, Ildong) for ex-U.S. commercialization, so it does not control its own distribution or supply. The defensible economic position is the FDA approval, the brand, and the commercial relationships; that is meaningful but not invulnerable. Customer concentration is not disclosed at a payor or distributor level, which is itself a data gap. Capital intensity is low, but the offsetting concern is leverage: the loan payable grew from $245.6 million at year-end 2025 to $745.4 million as of June 30, 2026, with interest expense of $16.6 million in the quarter.
Management and Capital Allocation
Management's capital-allocation choices in 2025 and the first half of 2026 reveal priorities and trade-offs. In September 2025 the company announced completion of a $100 million share repurchase program and authorized a new $100 million repurchase program; in March 2026 the board increased the program to $300 million. The program had about $200.0 million of remaining capacity at quarter-end and no repurchases were executed during Q2 2026, suggesting that management is willing to be patient rather than chase the share price. The company also raised $500 million of incremental loan financing during the half-year, which lifted the loan payable to $745.4 million and lifted six-month interest expense to $24.2 million. The stated rationale, per management's discussion, is to fund operations and pipeline development without an immediate equity raise. Together, those choices imply a deliberate mix: maintain leverage flexibility, repurchase shares opportunistically, and preserve cash for pipeline.
Management compensation is heavily weighted toward equity, with $27.9 million of stock-based compensation in the quarter and roughly $81 million on a trailing-twelve-month basis. That compensation structure aligns executives with shareholders over the long run but adds to share count pressure. Diluted weighted-average shares were 157.3 million in Q2 2026, down from 162.6 million a year earlier, helped by buybacks, but the diluted figure still exceeds the 153.1 million shares outstanding because of outstanding options and unvested restricted stock. Cash dividends are not paid, and the company's loan agreement restricts them in any case. The capital allocation framework is internally consistent but has not yet been stress-tested by a revenue shock or a clinical setback.
Valuation and What the Market Already Expects
The market data dated September 5, 2026 puts TG Therapeutics at a $55.985 share price and an $8.57 billion equity market capitalization, on 153.1 million shares outstanding. On a trailing-twelve-month basis, revenue was $799.5 million and operating cash flow $17.9 million; the second-quarter GAAP diluted EPS was $0.05 and the trailing-twelve-month EPS was $2.77, but the trailing figure is inflated by a $390.9 million Q3 2025 net income line that appears to include a one-time tax-related benefit rather than ordinary operating performance. The market capitalization is therefore pricing in a substantial acceleration in operating profit and free cash flow from the small year-to-date base.
The dated market capitalization stands well above every deterministic scenario produced from the available assumptions. With a base-case free cash flow of $17.4 million (trailing twelve months) and a 9% discount rate, the available bear, base, and bull cases imply per-share equity values that are a small fraction of the $55.985 market price, with the bull case still well below the market. The same-date balance-sheet adjustment is unavailable, so the equity-value bridge is unadjusted; the gap between market and model is therefore larger, not smaller, than the available numbers show. Reverse-DCF reasoning is the useful lens here: the market is implicitly underwriting sustained mid-double-digit revenue growth, sustained double-digit operating margins, and a low double-digit free-cash-flow margin well into the future, with success in the azer-cel pipeline as an additional option. That is a plausible story for a high-quality biotech, but it is a story, not an audited fact. The investor who buys at $55.985 is paying for execution that has not yet been demonstrated.
Ten-Year Cash Flow to Fair Market Value
The starting free cash flow is the normalized SEC cash-flow proxy, while every growth rate, discount rate and terminal rate below is an explicit editorial assumption rather than company guidance. Each annual cash flow is forecast and discounted separately; terminal value is year-ten free cash flow multiplied by one plus terminal growth, divided by discount rate minus terminal growth, and then discounted back ten years. Fair market capitalization equals that explicit ten-year present value plus discounted terminal value and a same-date balance-sheet adjustment when available. If current cash and debt facts do not share one report date, the table shows the adjustment as unavailable and conservatively applies zero. The share count is derived from the dated market capitalization and share price so US shares and foreign ADRs use a consistent traded-security denominator.
Year | Bear FCF | Base FCF | Bull FCF |
|---|---|---|---|
1 | $18.8M | $20M | $21M |
2 | $20.3M | $23M | $25.5M |
3 | $21.9M | $26.4M | $30.8M |
4 | $23.7M | $30.4M | $37.3M |
5 | $25.5M | $35M | $45.1M |
6 | $26.3M | $37.4M | $49.5M |
7 | $27.1M | $40M | $54.3M |
8 | $27.9M | $42.8M | $59.6M |
9 | $28.8M | $45.8M | $65.4M |
10 | $29.6M | $49M | $71.8M |
Scenario | Growth years 1–5 / 6–10 | Discount | Terminal | 10-year PV | Terminal PV | Balance-sheet adjustment | Fair market cap | Fair value/share | Margin of safety | Terminal share |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Bear | 8.0% / 3.0% | 11.0% | 2.0% | $141M | $118M | N/A (treated as $0) | $259M | $1.69 | -3205.9% | 45.6% |
Base | 15.0% / 7.0% | 9.0% | 3.0% | $210M | $356M | N/A (treated as $0) | $566M | $3.69 | -1415.3% | 62.9% |
Bull | 21.0% / 9.8% | 8.5% | 3.5% | $277M | $657M | N/A (treated as $0) | $935M | $6.11 | -817.0% | 70.3% |
The current market capitalization falls outside the model's -10% to 40% ten-year reverse-DCF search range. This is a sensitivity framework, not a price target: the terminal-value share shows how strongly each result depends on assumptions beyond the explicit forecast. Negative margin of safety means the current market capitalization exceeds the scenario value.
Five Value-Investing Lenses
Benjamin Graham Lens
Graham's test for an investment versus a speculation starts with balance-sheet resilience and a margin of safety relative to normalized earning power. Here, normalized free cash flow on the available trailing-twelve-month number is $17.4 million, against a dated equity market capitalization of $8.57 billion and a loan payable that has roughly tripled in six months to $745.4 million. Stockholders' equity of $604.1 million is small relative to that market value, and the company itself acknowledges uncertainty about the durability of profitability. The market price is many multiples of any defensible normalized earnings power and is not supported by a margin of safety; this profile resembles a speculation on future cash flow rather than a Graham-style investment at the current price.
Benjamin Franklin Lens
Franklin's discipline applies to capital stewardship, opportunity cost, and the avoidance of waste. TG Therapeutics has been disciplined in two respects: capital expenditure is de minimis, and the company has chosen to raise debt rather than dilute shareholders aggressively while executing a measured share-repurchase program with $200.0 million of remaining authorization. On the other hand, the company took on a large new loan, paid $16.6 million of interest in a single quarter, and absorbed a $9.2 million loss on debt extinguishment in the first quarter of 2026. The opportunity cost of buying back stock at $55.985 per share, when the valuation analysis cases imply fair values that are a small fraction of that price, is the central Franklin question here.
Warren Buffett Lens
Buffett would frame this as a question of owner earnings, moat, integrity, and capital allocation. Owner earnings on a trailing-twelve-month basis are thin: the available proxy is $17.4 million, and the first-half operating cash flow of $39.3 million was flattered by working-capital movements that may not repeat. The moat is real but narrow: a single approved product, in-licensed from a third party, facing entrenched competition. Capital allocation has been active and includes leveraged buybacks at a price that the deterministic scenarios imply is rich, which is the kind of decision Buffett would scrutinize. The honest Buffett answer is that the cash-flow yield today does not justify the price being asked.
Charlie Munger Lens
Munger would invert: what would have to be true for the current price to make sense, and what incentive or bias might be driving the buyer? The current price requires sustained double-digit revenue growth, double-digit operating margins, durable pricing power in a competitive multiple-sclerosis market, successful development of azer-cel, and a low cost of capital. Munger would also point to the disclosure that BRIUMVI is in-licensed, that LFB Group is owed escalating royalties, and that management's compensation is heavily equity-weighted, which can distort incentives toward near-term share-price support rather than long-term per-share value. The bias to guard against is the temptation to extrapolate a steep commercial ramp into perpetuity because the drug is exciting and the revenue growth is visible.
Li Lu Lens
Li Lu would ask whether this business sits inside his circle of competence, whether the culture is durable, and whether the downside can be controlled. TG Therapeutics is a single-product commercial-stage biotech with a small pipeline; Li Lu has historically been cautious about businesses whose value depends on a single molecule and on regulatory and clinical outcomes. Culture evidence from the filings is mixed: there is a code of ethics, a shared-services arrangement with a related party (FBIO), and heavy reliance on in-licensed assets rather than internally discovered ones. Permanent-loss risk is real: a negative azer-cel readout, a BRIUMVI safety signal, or a competitive entrant could compress the equity value materially because the moat is product-specific, not franchise-wide.
Risks, Disconfirming Evidence, and What Would Prove This Thesis Wrong
Prominent growth narratives can amplify attention bias and the price investors are willing to pay before cash flows arrive. That does not negate the operating evidence, but it raises the burden of proof for valuation and makes execution shortfalls more costly.
Three observable thesis breakers would force a re-rating. First, a sustained slowdown in BRIUMVI revenue growth, visible as a year-over-year quarterly growth rate that decelerates materially below the year-to-date trend and signals market-share loss to competitor anti-CD20 therapies or oral disease-modifying drugs. Second, a negative azer-cel clinical readout or a regulatory delay that removes the pipeline option value embedded in the share price. Third, a balance-sheet event that forces refinancing at materially worse terms, given that the loan payable has roughly tripled in six months and interest expense is already $16.6 million per quarter. The most likely wrong assumption is that the current revenue ramp is a steady-state run-rate rather than the early phase of a launch with all the volatility that implies.
Disconfirming evidence already in the record includes the year-over-year decline in quarterly operating income from $34.8 million to $21.7 million even as revenue grew, the volatile operating cash flow (negative $17.9 million in Q1, positive $39.3 million in Q2), the nine-figure debt issuance that triggered a $9.2 million extinguishment loss, and the elevated stock-based compensation that added $81.2 million of trailing-twelve-month dilution. None of these alone is dispositive, but together they describe a company whose GAAP earnings and cash flow are still small relative to its market capitalization.
Investment Conclusion
TG Therapeutics has achieved an important operational milestone: GAAP operating profit, positive six-month operating cash flow, and a fast-growing product franchise in BRIUMVI. The financial profile is real, but the dated market capitalization of $8.57 billion prices in a far larger and more durable franchise than the available deterministic scenarios support. With the same-date equity market capitalization more than 20% above the deterministic base scenario, the qualitative implication is that the valuation burden is heavy and the margin of safety is absent. The company is best treated as worth watching rather than as an investment at the current price, with a re-rating warranted only if free cash flow normalizes well above the available base case or if the market re-prices lower.
---
*This analysis is for educational and informational purposes only and does not constitute investment advice. All figures are derived from publicly filed SEC documents and a dated market snapshot as identified in the source ledger. *
Share this article







