The Quarter in Context

Veeva's fiscal second quarter ended July 31, 2026 produced $927.96 million of revenue, up 17.6% year over year, with subscription services at $766.76 million (82.6% of revenue) and professional services at $161.20 million. Gross profit reached $695.95 million, a 75.0% gross margin that barely budged from the prior-year 75.3%. Operating income of $275.02 million produced a 29.6% operating margin, well above the prior-year 24.8%, but part of the headline lift reflects a favorable shift in general and administrative expense, which fell to $71.31 million from $95.80 million a year earlier rather than any acceleration in core subscription profitability. Diluted EPS of $1.66 represented 39.5% year-over-year growth and the trailing-twelve-month EPS reached $5.82.
The second quarter needs to be read alongside a strong six-month print. Subscription revenue for the first half of fiscal 2027 grew 15.7% to $1.497 billion, total revenue grew 17.0% to $1.811 billion, and operating income reached $548.13 million versus $429.64 million in the comparable period. Operating cash flow for the six months was $1.366 billion, far above the $534.37 million of net income, because the company collected $768.31 million of deferred-revenue-related receivables, a working-capital tailwind that investors should not assume will repeat every period. Stock-based compensation of $256.06 million for the six months was a non-trivial drag on cash earnings, and the company repurchased $472.67 million of stock at an average price meaningfully below the current quote.
Business Model and Profit Engine
Life sciences companies pay Veeva for industry-cloud software that supports research and development, regulatory, quality, and commercial functions. Subscription revenue is the principal engine: customers contract for multi-year access to Veeva's Vault platform and adjacent solutions, paying recurring fees that the company recognizes ratably. Professional services revenue, at 17.4% of the quarter's mix, funds implementation, configuration, and consulting work, and the company discloses this as a complementary offering rather than a stand-alone growth pillar. Direct customers are pharmaceutical, biotechnology, and medical-device companies; clinical research sites are a secondary customer group addressed through specialized Vault solutions.
Revenue becomes gross profit with striking efficiency. Cost of subscription was $105.68 million in the quarter versus $766.76 million of subscription revenue, an 86% subscription gross margin, while cost of professional services was $126.34 million versus $161.20 million of services revenue. The blended 75% gross margin reflects the company's stated infrastructure advantages and the absence of meaningful inventory or heavy physical-asset depreciation in the cost stack. Operating leverage showed up in research and development ($222.92 million), sales and marketing ($126.70 million), and general and administrative ($71.31 million); the year-over-year decline in G&A is a notable efficiency signal but partly reflects one-time timing differences the filing does not decompose. Operating income of $275.02 million became net income of $273.43 million because other income of $74.51 million (largely investment income on the short-term portfolio) and a $76.10 million tax provision nearly offset each other.
Pricing power is supported by switching costs, regulatory complexity, and the breadth of the Vault platform rather than by explicit price increases disclosed in the filing; the company does not publish unit-level pricing, and customer concentration is not separately broken out in the cited excerpts. Capital intensity is genuinely low: property and equipment net is just $79.48 million against $9.06 billion of total assets. The dominant capital allocation has shifted toward share repurchases (a $2.0 billion program authorized in January 2026, of which approximately $1.35 billion remained at quarter-end after $245.73 million of Q2 repurchases at an average price of $174.48 per share) and small bolt-on acquisitions ($70 million net of cash for Ostro in March 2026). The maintenance-versus-growth split of reinvestment is not disclosed in the filing, so any allocation between those two categories is an author inference. Observable conditions that would weaken the profit engine include a sustained deceleration of subscription revenue, a compression of subscription gross margin, or a meaningful increase in stock-based compensation as a percentage of revenue, none of which the latest quarter reveals, though the year-over-year SBC growth of 12.2% on 17.6% revenue growth is moving in the right direction.
Earnings Quality and Cash Conversion
Where the issuer reports cash flow and capital expenditure cumulatively, the standalone-quarter cash-flow figures are derived by subtracting the preceding cumulative filing. They are calculations from SEC facts rather than separately reported quarterly line items.
Operating cash flow of $1.366 billion for the six months significantly exceeded net income of $534.37 million, a 2.56x cash-to-net-income ratio that looks flattering but is largely driven by the $768.31 million reduction in accounts receivable and a $200.00 million reduction in deferred revenue, the latter of which is a future-period headwind. Stock-based compensation, depreciation and amortization, and deferred-income-tax adjustments together contributed another $305.05 million of non-cash add-back. The filing does not separately disclose a property, plant, and equipment line item in the available financial statement package, so a clean accounting free-cash-flow proxy cannot be constructed from same-unit facts.
Quarterly operating cash flow of $238.71 million was below the $273.43 million of net income, a reminder that headline six-month cash conversion should be discounted for the seasonal collection pattern. The recurring cash-versus-accounting gap is structurally favorable because customers typically prepay annual subscriptions, but the magnitude of that gap will compress in any quarter where collections slow. Earnings quality is therefore best described as strong but not pristine: GAAP profitability is real, the deferred-revenue balance of $1.31 billion is a real future-revenue cushion, and stock-based compensation is a real economic cost that the company does not separate as a cash line.
Business Quality, Moat, and Industry Position
On the available evidence, the company is best described as an important participant, not a demonstrated core supply-chain bottleneck. This classification describes strategic position only; it is not independent proof of a moat or valuation upside.
Veeva describes itself as the leading provider of industry cloud solutions for the global life sciences industry, with offerings spanning the development, quality, regulatory, and commercial functions of pharmaceutical and medical-device customers. The moat, as disclosed, rests on three observable supports: deep industry specialization in a regulated vertical where validation and qualification costs are high; a broad Vault platform that anchors multi-product cross-selling; and a customer-success culture that the filing repeatedly emphasizes. The 75% gross margin and 29.6% operating margin are evidence of pricing power and operating leverage consistent with a software-platform business model rather than a generic IT services firm.
The competitive set is not itemized in the cited excerpts, so any peer-level comparison would be fabrication; the filing does acknowledge that Vault is built on infrastructure provided by a long-standing value-added reseller relationship with salesforce.com, which is a relationship dependency rather than a competitive weakness. Switching costs are implied by the regulatory complexity of validated environments, but again the filing does not quantify customer churn or net revenue retention, and those metrics are therefore a data gap. Industry position appears strong, but the quantitative moat evidence in the available SEC data is limited to margin profile and growth, not to customer-count, retention, or wallet-share data. Veeva also operates as a Delaware public benefit corporation, an unusual governance choice that legally requires directors to balance stockholder financial interests with stakeholder interests; this is a structural feature an investor should price in rather than ignore.
Management and Capital Allocation
Capital allocation in the first half of fiscal 2027 was disciplined. The company repurchased $470.26 million of stock (excluding net-share settlement) at an average price below $200 per share, paid $66.30 million in taxes related to net-share settlement of equity awards, and deployed $81.83 million net of cash for the Ostro acquisition. No dividends are paid, and management has stated in the filing that dividends are not anticipated for the foreseeable future. Total cash plus short-term investments reached $7.24 billion at quarter-end, of which $5.43 billion sat in available-for-sale securities yielding other income of $148.93 million over six months, an effective roughly 4% yield on the investment portfolio that materially supports net income.
Management incentives are heavily equity-weighted, with stock-based compensation of $256.06 million in six months representing roughly 14% of revenue and 47.8% of net income. The size of that line is the most important incentive flag: it is large enough to dilute per-share economics, but the offsetting share repurchases at lower prices mitigate the dilution arithmetic. Capital intensity is essentially nil, so the dominant reinvestment choice is between buybacks, M&A, and balance-sheet accumulation; the company has chosen all three in measured doses. The Ostro acquisition adds an AI-driven patient engagement capability, which is strategically consistent with the company's stated Veeva AI direction, though the filing does not disclose a maintenance-versus-growth split of acquisition spend.
Valuation and What the Market Already Expects
The dated market capitalization of approximately $46.5 billion at $284.74 per share on August 27, 2026 is the authoritative equity value, and it must be bridged to enterprise value through same-date cash, debt, and minority interests. Cash and cash equivalents were $1.81 billion at July 31, 2026, and short-term investments were $5.43 billion, for $7.24 billion of liquid assets. The filing does not disclose a same-date debt balance within the cited excerpts, so a precise enterprise-value bridge cannot be completed from same-unit facts, and any inference about net debt should be omitted rather than guessed.
On a trailing-twelve-month basis, revenue of $3.458 billion implies a market-cap-to-revenue multiple of roughly 13.4x using only cash and short-term investments as a cash adjustment and ignoring the missing debt figure, and operating cash flow of $1.665 billion on a trailing basis implies a multiple in the high-twenties if debt is ignored. Both are elevated for an enterprise-software business, even a high-growth one, and the qualitative reverse-DCF implication is clear: the market is pricing in continued mid-teens subscription growth, sustained 75% gross margins, and durable cash conversion for many years into the future. A reader should treat any implied growth rate as author inference rather than an audited expectation, because no deterministic base scenario was available.
The trailing-twelve-month EPS of $5.82 against the $284.74 share price implies a trailing P/E of roughly 49x, which is a reasonable rough sensitivity rather than a target multiple, and the dated market capitalization leaves essentially no margin of safety against a meaningful growth disappointment. The conclusion here is qualitative: the price is full, and any thesis depends on the market continuing to underwrite a long compounding runway.
Ten-Year Cash Flow to Fair Market Value
A deterministic ten-year valuation is not available because capital expenditure data is missing from the available same-unit facts, so direct compounding from a current free-cash-flow base is invalid. Any ten-year view therefore depends on explicit normalization assumptions, and the table below uses only the six-month operating cash flow of $1.366 billion scaled to a notional annual run-rate, with FCF margin assumptions that must be labelled as author inputs rather than stated forecasts. Bear, base, and bull cases below assume revenue bases derived from current trailing revenue of $3.458 billion and simple growth paths, with the implied future FCF divided by a required cash-flow yield to back into a fair market capitalization range.
Assumption set, year-five free cash flow: bear case assumes 8% revenue growth off the trailing $3.458 billion base and a 30% FCF margin on a bear-case revenue base of approximately $5.10 billion, producing FCF of about $1.53 billion; base case assumes 13% growth and a 38% FCF margin on a base-case revenue of approximately $6.05 billion, producing FCF of about $2.30 billion; bull case assumes 17% growth and a 44% FCF margin on a bull-case revenue of approximately $7.59 billion, producing FCF of about $3.34 billion. These margins are author assumptions anchored to the current operating margin plus working-capital normalization, not stated forecasts. Applying illustrative required cash-flow yields of 6.5%, 5.0%, and 4.0% to bear, base, and bull yields implied present-value fair market capitalizations of roughly $23.5 billion, $46.0 billion, and $83.5 billion respectively, before any terminal-value consideration. The base-case implied value lands very close to the dated $46.5 billion market capitalization, which is the qualitative conclusion: the market is already underwriting the base case.
Assumption set, year-ten free cash flow: assuming the year-five FCF continues to grow at 10% in the bear case, 12% in the base, and 14% in the bull for an additional five years, year-ten FCF reaches approximately $2.46 billion, $4.04 billion, and $6.26 billion respectively. Holding the same illustrative required yields, implied present values at year ten using a 10% discount convention are approximately $18.0 billion, $30.7 billion, and $53.0 billion. None of these inputs is an audited fair value; every number is an author assumption that depends on the stated growth path, FCF margin, and discount convention. The qualitative message is that the dated market capitalization requires the base case or better to compound over a full decade, and any shortfall is borne entirely by the equity holder given the absence of meaningful debt.
Five Value-Investing Lenses
Benjamin Graham Lens
Veeva has an exceptionally clean balance sheet with $7.24 billion of cash and short-term investments against $1.63 billion of total liabilities and no same-date long-term debt line within the cited excerpts, so financial-strength tests are comfortably passed. Graham's earnings-stability test is harder to apply because subscription growth, while consistent, is not the same as earnings stability through a recession; the latest quarter's 17.6% revenue growth is not a recession-era number. The market price of $284.74 against trailing EPS of $5.82 implies a multiple roughly four to five times what Graham's historical screen would tolerate for a value buyer, so the price-to-earnings test is not satisfied, and a margin of safety in Graham's literal sense is absent. The discipline here is to recognize that a wonderful company at a high price can still be speculation rather than investment.
Benjamin Franklin Lens
Franklin's thrift and opportunity-cost discipline maps to capital allocation rather than price. Management chose to repurchase $472.67 million of stock in six months at an average price well below today's quote, deployed $81.83 million net into the Ostro acquisition, and built the short-term investment portfolio to $5.43 billion rather than chase larger deals. Stock-based compensation of $256.06 million in six months, however, is the opposite of thrift: it is a real economic cost that the company does not expense in its headline cash flow. The opportunity-cost question is whether the same $2.0 billion repurchase authorization, executed at today's $284.74 price, would still be a high-return use of cash, and on every normalization path above the answer becomes materially less attractive than the prices actually paid in the first half.
Warren Buffett Lens
An owner-earnings proxy for Veeva would start with trailing operating cash flow of $1.665 billion and back out the stock-based compensation of $494.59 million as a real economic cost, producing roughly $1.17 billion of owner-style cash before capital expenditure, which the available SEC data does not separately disclose. Adding back the $7.24 billion of cash and short-term investments and ignoring the missing same-date debt figure produces an enterprise value meaningfully above the dated market capitalization only on aggressive owner-earnings assumptions. Buffett would notice the platform quality and the recurring subscription mix, but he would also notice that the dated market capitalization already discounts a long runway; the economic castle is real, but the price is paying for it. The honest conclusion is that the business is better than the entry point.
Charlie Munger Lens
The PBC structure is a real inversion case: directors must legally balance stockholder financial interests with stakeholder interests, which in a sale-of-control transaction could result in a board accepting a non-maximal offer. That is an observable risk rather than a theoretical one. Munger would also press on the salesforce.com value-added reseller dependency, which underpins the Vault platform and is not a competitive advantage but a relationship dependency. The bias check is whether the AI narrative in the 10-Q is being treated as economic substance rather than optionality; the Ostro acquisition and Veeva AI capabilities are early, and the filing does not disclose any revenue contribution from them, so they belong in the qualitative case rather than in the valuation.
Li Lu Lens
Veeva is inside the circle of competence for any investor who understands regulated vertical software: a narrow customer base, recurring contracts, high switching costs, and a regulatory regime that punishes bad software. Culture is observable in the customer-success language, the low-leverage balance sheet, and the disciplined repurchase pace, though the absence of disclosed customer retention metrics is a real evidence gap. Durability is supported by the 75% gross margin and the long-tenor deferred revenue balance, but the dated market capitalization leaves little room for a permanent-loss scenario in which subscription growth decelerates and the multiple compresses simultaneously. The culture is durable; the entry price does not yet protect against that scenario.
Risks, Disconfirming Evidence, and What Would Prove This Thesis Wrong
The first observable thesis breaker would be a sustained deceleration of subscription revenue growth to single digits, which would compress the implied multiple even at unchanged margins. The second thesis breaker would be a meaningful compression of subscription gross margin below 80%, which would signal either competitive pressure or infrastructure cost inflation, neither of which the latest quarter reveals. The third thesis breaker would be a sharp slowdown in the deferred-revenue collection pattern that has inflated six-month operating cash flow, because that working-capital benefit is non-recurring by nature. The most likely wrong assumption is that mid-teens subscription growth can persist for many years at a $46.5 billion starting market capitalization, when competitive entry, customer concentration, or pharma R&D budget compression could all interrupt the trend. Disconfirming evidence in the filing includes the PBC legal structure, the missing capital-expenditure disclosure, and the absence of same-date debt data, each of which limits the precision of any valuation bridge.
Investment Conclusion
Veeva is a high-quality, subscription-led platform with 75% gross margins, 29.6% operating margins, and a clean balance sheet, and the latest quarter extended those characteristics without surprises. The investment issue is price rather than business quality: a dated market capitalization of $46.5 billion on August 27, 2026 already discounts the base-case normalization paths and leaves limited margin of safety against a growth disappointment. The honest verdict is fairly valued: the business is attractive, but the entry point is not. Investors should treat the stock as a watchlist candidate pending a price that reflects a wider margin of safety, and should demand same-date capital-expenditure and debt disclosures before tightening the view.
This analysis is for educational and informational purposes only and does not constitute investment advice, a recommendation, or an offer to buy or sell any security. All figures are derived from publicly filed SEC documents and a dated market snapshot; assumptions and author judgments are labelled as such and are not stated forecasts.
Share this article







