The investment case — and what could go wrong
- The fiscal year ended June 27, 2026 produced fourth-quarter revenue of $443.1 million, gross profit of $261.7 million, operating income of $61.3 million and net income of $32.7 million.
- The combined revenue base converts to a 59.1% gross margin in the final quarter and a 13.8% operating margin, with trailing-twelve-month margins of approximately 57.7% and 6.9% respectively.
- Graham would separate investment from speculation and test whether the dated price offers downside protection relative to a conservative estimate of earning power.
Selected from this article · 2026-09-13
Read on for the full pictureThe Quarter in Context

The fiscal year ended June 27, 2026 produced fourth-quarter revenue of $443.1 million, gross profit of $261.7 million, operating income of $61.3 million and net income of $32.7 million. These full-year numbers are themselves derived by subtracting the nine-month cumulative figure from the 10-K year-end cumulative figure, so the quarter is best read together with the year rather than as an isolated print. Annual revenue of $1,518.3 million rose roughly 52.5% versus the prior year, while trailing-twelve-month gross profit reached $875.4 million, a 60.1% jump. The operating-income line item tripled year over year on a trailing basis to $105.1 million, and trailing free cash flow, computed here as operating cash flow minus capital expenditure, was $82.8 million.
For context, the same quarter a year earlier generated $290.5 million of revenue and $15.3 million of operating income, which means both top line and operating leverage expanded sharply. The first half of fiscal 2026, however, showed reported net losses of $21.4 million and $48.1 million, with operating cash flow of $31.0 million followed by a $26.3 million outflow, suggesting that reported profitability and cash generation are uneven across the year and that fiscal 2026 results were pulled higher by the back half. Cash and short-term investments stood at $649.8 million on June 27, 2026 and short-term borrowings were $244.8 million, with $1,448.5 million of stockholders' equity and $700.7 million of goodwill on the balance sheet. The dated market capitalization is $9,561,555,835 at $38.75 per share, as of the September 12, 2026 snapshot.
Business Model and Profit Engine
Viavi earns revenue in two segments. Network and Service Enablement, or NSE, sells test, monitoring and assurance instruments plus resilient position, navigation and timing products to telecom operators, network equipment manufacturers, semiconductor vendors, hyperscale data-center operators and aerospace and defense customers; named customers in the filing include Advanced Micro Devices, AT&T, Ciena, Cisco, Deutsche Telekom, Ericsson, Lumen, Nokia and Verizon. Optical Security and Performance Products, or OSP, monetizes proprietary optical coating and pigment technology through SICPA into banknote anti-counterfeiting applications on more than 100 currencies, and through companies including Lockheed Martin and Seiko Epson into 3D-sensing, automotive LiDAR, aerospace coatings and near-infrared spectroscopy.
The combined revenue base converts to a 59.1% gross margin in the final quarter and a 13.8% operating margin, with trailing-twelve-month margins of approximately 57.7% and 6.9% respectively. OSP is a high-margin optical-coatings franchise, while NSE mixes lab-and-production test gear, where the Spirent assets acquired in October 2025 widened the high-speed Ethernet portfolio across layers 0 to 7 of the OSI stack, with field instruments and services that carry more variable cost. Pricing power is supported by qualification cycles in carrier, hyperscaler and aerospace-and-defense accounts and by regulatory tailwinds such as resilient PNT adoption, but customer concentration in NSE and an explicit dependence on SICPA for banknote pigments are clearly disclosed risks. Capital intensity is modest: capital expenditure of $11.1 million in the final quarter and $31.1 million on a trailing basis represents only about 2% of revenue. Working capital absorbs cash through $351.3 million of accounts receivable and $155.3 million of inventory. Cash conversion is therefore solid but not spectacular, and the gap between a $105.1 million trailing operating income and $113.9 million of trailing operating cash flow is small.
The largest data gap is segment-level economics: revenue, gross margin and operating margin are not disclosed in this package, so any cross-subsidy or relative-segment durability argument is the author's inference from qualitative language rather than from filed numbers. A second gap is the absence of a same-date long-term debt figure, which means an exact net-debt position cannot be reconstructed from the available evidence.
Earnings Quality and Cash Conversion
Where the issuer reports cash flow and capital expenditure cumulatively, the standalone-quarter cash-flow figures are derived by subtracting the preceding cumulative filing. They are calculations from SEC facts rather than separately reported quarterly line items.
Operating cash flow of $66.7 million in the final quarter comfortably exceeded the $32.7 million of net income, so the headline quarter converted well. Stock-based compensation of $14.2 million in the quarter and $55.4 million on a trailing basis is a real economic cost that diluted reported earnings: trailing diluted weighted-average shares of 249.5 million sit well above the 223-227 million range of the prior year's quarters. The first two quarters of fiscal 2026 produced negative net income and a negative cash-flow quarter, which underscores that the trailing-twelve-month figures are weighted heavily by the strong second half. Free cash flow here is an accounting free-cash-flow proxy, the result of subtracting total capital expenditure from operating cash flow, because the filing does not separate maintenance from growth capex.
The first half's loss quarter was $0.21 per diluted share and the third quarter returned to $0.03 per diluted share, so a single-quarter price-to-earnings multiple would be misleading and is intentionally not presented. Trailing-twelve-month diluted EPS was approximately negative $0.19, so the dated market capitalization is not supported by trailing reported earnings.
Business Quality, Moat, and Industry Position
On the available evidence, the company is best described as an important participant, not a demonstrated core supply-chain bottleneck. This classification describes strategic position only; it is not independent proof of a moat or valuation upside.
Viavi's economic moat is split across two structurally different businesses. In OSP, the banknote pigment franchise is an obvious specialty-chemicals position: the technology is qualified into SICPA's security inks and onto the banknotes of more than 100 countries, which gives the franchise a long qualification tail and high switching costs, and the 3D-sensing optical filter product is described by management as a leading supplier of Low-Angle-Shift filters. In NSE, the moat is portfolio breadth rather than a single product: management states that the combined portfolio with Spirent now addresses layers 0 through 7 of the OSI protocol stack, and competitors include Anritsu, EXFO, Keysight, NetScout, Rohde & Schwarz and VeEX. This is a defensible position in lab and production test gear, but it is contested, and customer concentration in NSE is material.
The demand backdrop is structurally favorable but cyclical: AI and high-performance computing are pulling higher-speed optical transceivers and more data-center interconnects, 5G Standalone, 6G and Open RAN drive wireless test demand, aerospace and defense spending is expanding on resilient PNT, and post-quantum cryptography is creating new test workloads. All of these are real tailwinds, but the 52.5% revenue jump includes a large contribution from the Spirent acquisition, so organic growth is materially lower than the headline. The industry is consolidating, and Viavi is one of the consolidators; whether this creates durable pricing power or simply creates a larger, more cyclical business is the central debate.
Management and Capital Allocation
Management has explicitly prioritized maintenance and run-rate investments, organic investments to drive growth, debt management, share repurchases, leveraging net operating loss carryforwards and synergistic inorganic investments. In fiscal 2026 they completed the Spirent asset acquisition in October 2025, signed a new term loan credit agreement in October 2025, amended the revolving credit agreement, issued 0.625% Senior Convertible Notes due 2031 in August 2025, and completed the Direct Optical Research Company acquisition on July 9, 2026 for $14.0 million plus contingent consideration up to $5.0 million. Share repurchases were $30.0 million in the first quarter of fiscal 2026 and zero thereafter, and dividends are not disclosed as paid in the available evidence.
This is a growth-and-acquisition stance, not a capital-return stance. The convertible-note and term-loan issuances indicate management is comfortable levering the balance sheet, and net operating loss carryforwards remain a real tax-asset lever, although none of these facts is, by itself, evidence of poor governance. The use of stock-based compensation of $55.4 million on a trailing basis is a meaningful real economic cost that requires offsetting per-share value creation.
Valuation and What the Market Already Expects
The deterministic ten-year free-cash-flow valuation was available, and it is the sole quantitative anchor for this section. Across the bear, base and bull scenarios, the implied market-derived share count of 246,749,828 was used, with the explicit caveat that a same-date net-cash figure was unavailable so no balance-sheet adjustment was applied to the equity-value bridge. The dated price of $38.75 and the dated market capitalization of $9,561,555,835 already embed a reverse-DCF implied revenue growth rate of approximately 28.4%, and this required growth is qualitatively aggressive given that annual revenue growth of 52.5% included acquisition contribution.
On a cash-flow yield basis, trailing free cash flow of $82.8 million on a $9.56 billion market capitalization yields under 1%, which is not by itself disqualifying for a growth platform but does mean the dated price is paying almost entirely for future cash that has not yet been earned. The valuation burden is high. The deterministic base-scenario fair value is materially below the dated market capitalization, which triggers the policy conclusion guardrail in the valuation analysis: the dated market capitalization is more than 20% above the deterministic base scenario, and the conclusion therefore cannot be "Fairly valued" or "Attractive with a margin of safety."
Ten-Year Cash Flow to Fair Market Value
The starting free cash flow is the normalized SEC cash-flow proxy, while every growth rate, discount rate and terminal rate below is an explicit editorial assumption rather than company guidance. Each annual cash flow is forecast and discounted separately; terminal value is year-ten free cash flow multiplied by one plus terminal growth, divided by discount rate minus terminal growth, and then discounted back ten years. Fair market capitalization equals that explicit ten-year present value plus discounted terminal value and a same-date balance-sheet adjustment when available. If current cash and debt facts do not share one report date, the table shows the adjustment as unavailable and conservatively applies zero. The share count is derived from the dated market capitalization and share price so US shares and foreign ADRs use a consistent traded-security denominator.
Year | Bear FCF | Base FCF | Bull FCF |
|---|---|---|---|
1 | $89.4M | $95.2M | $100M |
2 | $96.6M | $110M | $121M |
3 | $104M | $126M | $147M |
4 | $113M | $145M | $177M |
5 | $122M | $167M | $215M |
6 | $125M | $178M | $236M |
7 | $129M | $191M | $259M |
8 | $133M | $204M | $284M |
9 | $137M | $218M | $312M |
10 | $141M | $234M | $342M |
Scenario | Growth years 1–5 / 6–10 | Discount | Terminal | 10-year PV | Terminal PV | Balance-sheet adjustment | Fair market cap | Fair value/share | Margin of safety | Terminal share |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Bear | 8.0% / 3.0% | 11.0% | 2.0% | $0.672B | $0.563B | N/A (treated as $0) | $1.23B | $5 | -674.5% | 45.6% |
Base | 15.0% / 7.0% | 9.0% | 3.0% | $1B | $1.69B | N/A (treated as $0) | $2.69B | $10.9 | -255.0% | 62.9% |
Bull | 21.0% / 9.8% | 8.5% | 3.5% | $1.32B | $3.13B | N/A (treated as $0) | $4.45B | $18 | -114.8% | 70.3% |
In the reverse-DCF, holding the 9% discount rate and 3% terminal growth fixed, and solving only for one constant growth rate rather than using the base-case growth path, the current market capitalization implies roughly 28.4% annual free cash flow growth for ten years. This is a sensitivity framework, not a price target: the terminal-value share shows how strongly each result depends on assumptions beyond the explicit forecast. Negative margin of safety means the current market capitalization exceeds the scenario value.
Five Value-Investing Lenses
Benjamin Graham Lens
Graham would separate investment from speculation and test whether the dated price offers downside protection relative to a conservative estimate of earning power. Trailing free cash flow of $82.8 million against a $9.56 billion market capitalization yields less than 1%, and trailing diluted EPS was approximately negative $0.19, so a Graham-style multiple of normalized earnings is hard to anchor. The balance sheet is reasonably resilient: $649.8 million of cash and short-term investments against $244.8 million of short-term borrowings, with $1,448.5 million of stockholders' equity, but goodwill of $700.7 million and intangibles of $377.6 million inflate book value. Tangible book value of $370.2 million is a fraction of the dated market capitalization. On the available evidence, the Graham floor fails because the dated price requires a level of forward earning power that has not yet been demonstrated.
Benjamin Franklin Lens
Franklin's modern application is thrift, discipline and the opportunity cost of capital. The $30.0 million of first-quarter share repurchases followed by three quarters of zero repurchases is a disciplined pause rather than a continuous return-of-capital program, and the absence of paid dividends is a meaningful opportunity-cost data point. Acquisitions are the more active use of capital: the Spirent transaction in October 2025 and the Direct Optical Research Company purchase for $14.0 million plus contingent consideration in July 2026 are bets on the test-and-measurement platform. Stock-based compensation of $55.4 million on a trailing basis is the largest continuing capital cost. The disciplined read is that management is reinvesting heavily rather than returning capital, which only compounds if the acquisitions earn their keep.
Warren Buffett Lens
Buffett would frame the question as what the owner earns on the operating business, and whether reinvested capital earns a satisfactory return. The accounting free-cash-flow proxy of $82.8 million on trailing basis is the cash engine; subtracting a hypothetical maintenance capex from this would only lower the figure, and the filing does not provide a maintenance-versus-growth split. The Spirent acquisition, the 0.625% Senior Convertible Notes due 2031 and the Direct Optical Research Company purchase together are major capital-allocation bets, and management has chosen acquisition and growth over buybacks and dividends. Owner earnings are modest in absolute terms relative to the $9.56 billion capitalization, so the dated price relies almost entirely on a long compounding tail. With our conclusion guardrail triggered, the dated price does not provide a margin of safety against this owner's-earnings reality.
Charlie Munger Lens
Munger would invert the question: what is the most likely way this investment permanently loses money? Three inversions are visible. First, the Spirent acquisition must integrate cleanly; if revenue synergies fail to materialize, the goodwill and intangibles on the balance sheet become impairment candidates. Second, NSE customer concentration leaves the firm exposed to a single hyperscaler or telecom capex cycle turning down. Third, OSP depends on SICPA for banknote pigment distribution, and the filing explicitly warns that loss of SICPA would materially harm the business. Incentives include $14.2 million of stock-based compensation in the final quarter and large equity grants, which align management with share-price performance but also raise dilution. The Munger read is that the opportunity cost is meaningful and the bias to chase AI tailwinds is real.
Li Lu Lens
Li Lu would ask whether this business sits inside the circle of competence, whether the culture supports durable advantage and whether permanent loss is properly controlled. Network test and measurement for AI-era data centers and optical security pigments are both businesses that an outside investor can study from filings, but the segment-level economics are not in the available SEC data, so the durability argument has to lean on qualitative descriptions of qualified positions and a multi-decade track record. The culture evidence is largely the disclosure package itself: the Spirent acquisition, the aerospace-and-defense expansion, the convertible-note and term-loan financings, and the explicit capital-allocation framework. Permanent-loss risk is bounded by the net-cash and tangible-equity buffer, but the dated market capitalization is far above that buffer, which means permanent-loss control at the price level is weak. The Li Lu verdict is that the business may be durable, but the price fails the test of risk-controlled entry.
Risks, Disconfirming Evidence, and What Would Prove This Thesis Wrong
Prominent growth narratives can amplify attention bias and the price investors are willing to pay before cash flows arrive. That does not negate the operating evidence, but it raises the burden of proof for valuation and makes execution shortfalls more costly.
Three thesis breakers are observable. First, if NSE revenue decelerates sharply without a corresponding decline in operating cash flow, the AI-era thesis would be undermined. Second, if SICPA relationship pressure intensifies and banknote pigment economics deteriorate, OSP gross margin would compress. Third, if goodwill or intangibles need to be written down because the Spirent acquisition does not perform, the balance sheet takes a large charge and the dated price would re-anchor to a lower multiple.
Disconfirming evidence already in the available SEC data includes the negative trailing EPS of approximately negative $0.19, the swing from a $48.1 million net loss in the second quarter to a $32.7 million net profit in the fourth, the $244.8 million of short-term borrowings issued alongside a $0.5 billion cash balance, and the absence of any balance-sheet adjustment in the valuation analysis. The most likely wrong assumption in the bull case is that the AI data-center capex cycle remains strong and that Viavi's market share in high-speed Ethernet test expands at the implied rates. Opportunity cost is the central counter-argument: at this price the investor is forgoing a margin of safety in exchange for a long-duration AI-and-defense thesis.
Investment Conclusion
The dated $9.56 billion market capitalization sits well above the deterministic base-scenario fair value, the dated share price of $38.75 implies an aggressive long-duration growth profile, and trailing earnings and free cash flow are far smaller than the market capitalization would require. The dated price does not provide a margin of safety under the available conclusion guardrail. With these conditions, the conclusion is Overvalued. The framework verdict is Overvalued, not Worth watching, because the dated market capitalization is materially above the deterministic base scenario, and the articleStatus is therefore publishable with caution. The confidence in this conclusion is moderate rather than high because segment-level economics, maintenance-versus-growth capex split and a same-date net-debt figure are all absent from the available evidence. The audience for this article is the public reader, and the use is educational.
This article is for educational and informational purposes only and is not investment advice. Investors should perform their own analysis and consider their own circumstances before making any investment decision.
Share this article







