The investment case — and what could go wrong
- On that derived basis, fourth-quarter revenue was $3.747 billion against a year-earlier figure of $2.605 billion, a gain of roughly 44%.
- The filing does not disclose segment revenue or segment gross margin, so the relative contribution of Cloud, Client and Consumer to revenue and profit is a data gap.
- Stock-based compensation of $45 million in the derived fourth quarter and $204 million trailing-twelve-month is small relative to revenue and to operating cash flow, so compensation-related dilution does not appear to be a material earnings-quality concern.
Selected from this article · 2026-09-14
Read on for the full pictureThe Quarter in Context

Western Digital closed its fiscal year on July 3, 2026. The fourth-quarter standalone figures shown in the filing package are derived by subtracting the previously reported cumulative nine-month amounts from the full-year totals. This means the fourth-quarter numbers are author calculations from reported SEC facts, not separate, directly reported quarterly line items, and any reader-facing use of them should carry that boundary.
On that derived basis, fourth-quarter revenue was $3.747 billion against a year-earlier figure of $2.605 billion, a gain of roughly 44%. Gross profit on the derived quarter reached $2.028 billion for an implied gross margin near 54.1%, compared with about 41.0% in the year-ago quarter, and operating income for the quarter was about $1.563 billion. The full-year picture mirrors the quarter: revenue of $12.919 billion on a trailing-twelve-month basis, operating income of $4.453 billion trailing-twelve-month, and free cash flow of $3.511 billion trailing-twelve-month. The reference market snapshot shows a closing price of $447.18 on September 14, 2026, implying a market capitalization of approximately $161.23 billion against 360,540,944 shares outstanding.
The most striking feature is not the top-line growth itself but the mix of that growth: revenue, gross margin and operating margin all stepped higher at the same time, with the trailing operating margin reaching about 34.5%. That is unusual for a hard-disk-drive manufacturer and is the principal economic fact the rest of this analysis is built around.
Business Model and Profit Engine
Western Digital is a vertically integrated developer and manufacturer of hard disk drives, organized around three end markets: Cloud, Client and Consumer. Cloud, which sells high-capacity enterprise drives to hyperscale cloud providers and enterprises, is described in the filing as the company's largest and fastest-growing end market. Client serves OEMs and channels with desktop and notebook drives, while Consumer sells branded external drives through retail. Customers therefore pay for storage capacity, reliability and total cost of ownership in the cloud tier, and for capacity, performance and brand in the consumer tier.
The filing does not disclose segment revenue or segment gross margin, so the relative contribution of Cloud, Client and Consumer to revenue and profit is a data gap. What the filing does disclose is that three customers accounted for 16%, 15% and 13% of net revenue in 2026, meaning the top three customers represented 44% of revenue and that customer concentration is material and increasing from 39% in 2025. International sales represented 60% of net revenue in 2026, also rising from 55% the prior year.
Revenue becomes gross profit through what the filing describes as in-house design and manufacture of recording heads and magnetic media, combined with a shared platform across product families that reduces component variance and enables purchasing economies. The implied gross margin of 54.1% in the derived fourth quarter and 48.9% on a trailing-twelve-month basis is the operating signature of that integration. Operating leverage is real but not free: research and development, sales and marketing, and general and administrative costs still consumed about 17.7% of revenue on a trailing-twelve-month basis, leaving a trailing operating margin of 34.5%. Capital intensity is low in the steady state; payments to acquire property, plant and equipment totaled $108 million in the derived fourth quarter and $418 million trailing-twelve-month against operating cash flow of $1.389 billion and $3.929 billion, respectively, so capex was about 10.6% of trailing operating cash flow. A quarterly jump in accounts receivable to $2.026 billion at quarter-end, against trailing revenue of $12.919 billion, implies receivable days in the high 50s, so working capital absorption is a meaningful but not dramatic cash drag.
The principal data gap is segment profitability; we cannot tell whether Cloud is subsidizing Client and Consumer or whether all three are above corporate average gross margin. A second gap is the absence of same-date cash and net-debt detail, which prevents a clean bridge from enterprise value to equity value at the dated price.
Earnings Quality and Cash Conversion
Where the issuer reports cash flow and capital expenditure cumulatively, the standalone-quarter cash-flow figures are derived by subtracting the preceding cumulative filing. They are calculations from SEC facts rather than separately reported quarterly line items. The conversion of accounting profit to cash is, on the numbers available, very strong. Operating cash flow of $3.929 billion trailing-twelve-month against net income of $9.424 billion trailing-twelve-month shows reported income exceeding operating cash, an unusual pattern that almost always reflects large non-cash gains inside net income rather than poor cash performance. The filing does not isolate a tax benefit or gain line in the available extract, so the gap cannot be decomposed here; readers should treat trailing-twelve-month net income as carrying a meaningful non-cash tail and not as a free-cash proxy. Free cash flow, defined as operating cash flow minus total capital expenditure, was $1.281 billion in the derived fourth quarter and $3.511 billion trailing-twelve-month. Because the filings do not separate maintenance from growth capital expenditure, that figure is properly labeled an accounting free-cash-flow proxy, not a maintenance-capex owner-earnings figure.
Stock-based compensation of $45 million in the derived fourth quarter and $204 million trailing-twelve-month is small relative to revenue and to operating cash flow, so compensation-related dilution does not appear to be a material earnings-quality concern. The diluted share count rose to about 387 million in the trailing quarter from 358 million a year earlier, roughly 8.1% dilution year over year, partially offset by repurchases of $2.592 billion trailing-twelve-month that took the diluted share count down from interim peaks. The company also paid $174 million of dividends over the same period. The net effect of buybacks and dividends was a large return of capital, but the rate of return is not large enough to fully offset the share-count drift.
Business Quality, Moat, and Industry Position
Western Digital's economic moat, as disclosed, rests on three legs. First, vertical integration: the company designs and manufactures substantially all of its recording heads and magnetic media in-house, reducing reliance on external component suppliers for the most technically demanding parts of an HDD. Second, scale and platform: products share a common platform across families, lowering unit cost and allowing customers to qualify successive models more cheaply. Third, intellectual property: approximately 4,700 active patents protect magnetic recording, recording head and media technology, and adjacent building blocks.
The moat is real but contested. Competition is named explicitly in the filing: Seagate Technology and Toshiba Electronic Devices & Storage Corporation on the HDD side, plus NAND flash suppliers on the alternative-storage side. HDDs occupy what the filing calls a unique low-total-cost-of-ownership position in tiered storage, but NAND and SSD continue to take share in performance-sensitive tiers. The cloud-customer concentration, with three customers at 16%, 15% and 13% of revenue, is both a moat (deep qualification, switching cost) and a vulnerability (single-customer demand swings). The 2025 separation from Sandisk, evidenced by the Separation and Distribution Agreement filed as an exhibit, also reduces the company's optionality in NAND flash, leaving it more focused but more exposed to HDD cycles.
We treat the company as an important participant rather than a core bottleneck. It sits midstream in the data-storage value chain between component suppliers and cloud or device OEMs, and the absence of segment economics means we cannot assign a higher bottleneck score without evidence we do not have. The supply chain is concentrated in Asia, with assembly and test in Thailand, Malaysia, the Philippines and China and design in California, exposing the business to tariff and trade-policy risk explicitly flagged in the filing.
Management and Capital Allocation
Management's stated strategy emphasizes customer focus, technology leadership, rigorous financial discipline, operational excellence, innovation and people. Observable capital allocation in fiscal 2026 supports the discipline narrative in part: the company repurchased $2.592 billion of stock, paid $174 million of dividends, and spent only $418 million on capital expenditure trailing-twelve-month, leaving the bulk of $3.511 billion of free cash flow available for returns.
The stock-based compensation bill of $204 million trailing-twelve-month is modest, and Rule 10b5-1 plans adopted by named officers in late spring 2026 disclose small planned sales (24,000, 10,000 and 31,016 shares), well within ordinary-course ranges and not a red flag in themselves. The 2025 separation from Sandisk was a significant structural decision; it sharpened the company's HDD focus but also removed a faster-growing flash franchise, and we cannot judge its merits without post-separation performance history that is partly captured in these very numbers. Goodwill of $4.321 billion at quarter-end sits against stockholders' equity of $8.864 billion, so a meaningful share of book value is goodwill.
Valuation and What the Market Already Expects
The deterministic ten-year free-cash-flow valuation has been produced from the trailing-twelve-month base. We will not repeat any of its specific per-share, present-value or terminal-share numbers here. Qualitatively, the dated price of $447.18 against the deterministic scenarios implies that investors are paying for a normalized free-cash-flow stream that grows at a meaningfully faster rate than current free cash flow can support without an unusual combination of margin expansion and reinvestment efficiency. The reverse-DCF implied long-term growth shown in the available calculation sits well above the company's most recent year-over-year revenue growth of about 43.8% on a trailing basis, which itself was almost certainly inflated by post-separation and AI-driven demand mix, and is therefore not a steady-state assumption.
A free-cash-flow yield at the dated market capitalization of approximately $161.23 billion against trailing-twelve-month free cash flow of $3.511 billion is roughly 2.2%, a low single-digit figure for a hardware manufacturer whose moat is contested. That yield by itself does not determine the conclusion, but it does mean the market is pricing in either sustained double-digit free-cash-flow growth, materially higher steady-state margins, or a meaningful re-rating of the storage multiple. Because same-date net cash was not available, the valuation guardrail does not include a balance-sheet adjustment, and the equity-value comparison uses the dated market capitalization directly.
Ten-Year Cash Flow to Fair Market Value
The starting free cash flow is the normalized SEC cash-flow proxy, while every growth rate, discount rate and terminal rate below is an explicit editorial assumption rather than company guidance. Each annual cash flow is forecast and discounted separately; terminal value is year-ten free cash flow multiplied by one plus terminal growth, divided by discount rate minus terminal growth, and then discounted back ten years. Fair market capitalization equals that explicit ten-year present value plus discounted terminal value and a same-date balance-sheet adjustment when available. If current cash and debt facts do not share one report date, the table shows the adjustment as unavailable and conservatively applies zero. The share count is derived from the dated market capitalization and share price so US shares and foreign ADRs use a consistent traded-security denominator.
Year | Bear FCF | Base FCF | Bull FCF |
|---|---|---|---|
1 | $3.79B | $4.04B | $4.25B |
2 | $4.1B | $4.64B | $5.14B |
3 | $4.42B | $5.34B | $6.22B |
4 | $4.78B | $6.14B | $7.53B |
5 | $5.16B | $7.06B | $9.11B |
6 | $5.31B | $7.56B | $9.99B |
7 | $5.47B | $8.09B | $11B |
8 | $5.64B | $8.65B | $12B |
9 | $5.81B | $9.26B | $13.2B |
10 | $5.98B | $9.9B | $14.5B |
Scenario | Growth years 1–5 / 6–10 | Discount | Terminal | 10-year PV | Terminal PV | Balance-sheet adjustment | Fair market cap | Fair value/share | Margin of safety | Terminal share |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Bear | 8.0% / 3.0% | 11.0% | 2.0% | $28.5B | $23.9B | N/A (treated as $0) | $52.4B | $145 | -208.0% | 45.6% |
Base | 15.0% / 7.0% | 9.0% | 3.0% | $42.4B | $71.8B | N/A (treated as $0) | $114B | $317 | -41.2% | 62.9% |
Bull | 21.0% / 9.8% | 8.5% | 3.5% | $56B | $133B | N/A (treated as $0) | $189B | $523 | 14.6% | 70.3% |
In the reverse-DCF, holding the 9% discount rate and 3% terminal growth fixed, and solving only for one constant growth rate rather than using the base-case growth path, the current market capitalization implies roughly 15.9% annual free cash flow growth for ten years. This is a sensitivity framework, not a price target: the terminal-value share shows how strongly each result depends on assumptions beyond the explicit forecast. Negative margin of safety means the current market capitalization exceeds the scenario value.
Five Value-Investing Lenses
Benjamin Graham Lens
The Graham lens asks whether a security trades below a defensible measure of normalized earning power with a margin of safety, and whether the balance sheet can absorb a bad year. On the available SEC data, trailing operating cash flow of $3.929 billion and trailing free cash flow of $3.511 billion are healthy, and stockholders' equity of $8.864 billion against current debt of $1.052 billion and long-term debt of zero implies a solvent balance sheet at the latest reporting date. Same-date net cash was not available, so a complete net-cash or net-debt figure is unavailable and we do not state one. The dated market capitalization of about $161.23 billion is materially above the deterministic base-scenario fair market capitalization, so the Graham-style margin-of-safety test fails at the current price. A speculative grade label, not an investment grade one, is the disciplined call.
Benjamin Franklin Lens
Franklin's modern application here is about thrift, discipline, compounding and opportunity cost. Western Digital returned $2.766 billion of capital to shareholders in fiscal 2026 through buybacks and dividends while spending only $418 million on capital expenditure. That is a disciplined capital posture relative to free cash flow, but the opportunity cost of buying back stock at the dated price of $447.18 is the question: capital is being returned at a price that the deterministic calculation views as above base-scenario fair value. Compounding works in the shareholder's favor only when the price paid is below intrinsic value. The same discipline that produced the return-of-capital program would, on a Graham-style test, call for patience until price and value converge.
Warren Buffett Lens
The Buffett-style owner-economics question is what normalized free cash flow the business can produce over a long horizon and what share of it the equity holder retains after capital allocation. Trailing-twelve-month free cash flow of $3.511 billion is the current run rate, but the filings do not separate maintenance from growth capex, so we label the result an accounting free-cash-flow proxy rather than a maintenance-capex owner-earnings figure. Customer concentration at 44% of revenue in the top three accounts, and product concentration in a single technology (HDD) with named competition from Seagate, Toshiba and NAND suppliers, are observable risks to durability of that cash flow. The dated price implies normalized free-cash-flow growth that the deterministic calculation does not corroborate in its base scenario.
Charlie Munger Lens
Munger would press on incentives, inversion and bias. The right way to invert this thesis is to ask what has to be true for the shares to be a good investment at $447.18: free cash flow must grow at a high single-digit or low double-digit rate for many years, margins must hold near current levels through HDD pricing cycles, and the three concentrated cloud customers must keep ordering. None of those conditions is impossible, but each is uncertain and the Munger test asks which outcome is more likely if we are honest about base rates. The bias risk here is the AI-storage narrative; the filing itself highlights AI as a demand driver, and it is easy to let that narrative crowd out the mechanical question of what free-cash-flow growth the dated price already requires.
Li Lu Lens
Li Lu would ask whether this business sits inside the circle of competence, whether its culture produces durable advantage, and whether permanent loss is a real risk. The business is understandable in concept: design and manufacture storage, sell it at a margin, convert to cash, return capital. The culture evidence in the filing includes an Ethisphere "World's Most Ethical Companies" recognition for the eighth consecutive year and a roughly 40,000-employee footprint concentrated in Asia Pacific. Permanent loss is plausible through three channels: a sharp HDD price cycle that compresses gross margin, an HDD-share loss to NAND at the high end, and customer concentration in three hyperscalers. The dated price does not compensate the equity holder for any of those channels under the base-scenario deterministic view.
Risks, Disconfirming Evidence, and What Would Prove This Thesis Wrong
Prominent growth narratives can amplify attention bias and the price investors are willing to pay before cash flows arrive. That does not negate the operating evidence, but it raises the burden of proof for valuation and makes execution shortfalls more costly. Three observable thesis breakers would force a re-evaluation. First, a sustained drop in HDD average selling price or a margin reset: trailing gross margin of 48.9% on a trailing basis and 54.1% on a derived fourth-quarter basis is historically high for this industry; a reversion toward 35% would cut free cash flow materially. Second, a customer-concentration shock: three customers at 16%, 15% and 13% of revenue mean that losing one or materially rescheduling one would swing quarterly results. Third, an unfavorable trade-policy or tariff outcome that disrupts the Asia Pacific manufacturing base in Thailand, Malaysia, the Philippines and China.
The most likely wrong assumption is that trailing-twelve-month free cash flow of $3.511 billion is a steady-state anchor rather than a cyclical peak. The accompanying 43.8% trailing revenue growth and the post-separation mix shift toward higher-capacity cloud drives both argue for cyclicality. Evidence that would force a conclusion change toward "Attractive" would be: a meaningful pullback in the share price that closes the gap to the deterministic base-scenario fair value, multi-quarter confirmation of free cash flow at or above the current run rate, and a reduction in customer concentration through new cloud wins.
Investment Conclusion
The dated market capitalization of approximately $161.23 billion exceeds the deterministic base-scenario fair market capitalization by more than 20%, so the available guardrail permits only "Overvalued" or "Worth watching" as the conclusion. The economic engine is real and impressive: free cash flow of $3.511 billion trailing-twelve-month, a vertically integrated cost structure, and a capital-return program that returns the bulk of free cash flow to shareholders. The dated price, however, does not provide a margin of safety under the base-scenario assumptions. Conclusion: Overvalued.
This article is for educational use only and is not investment advice. Market data is as of September 14, 2026. All SEC figures are sourced from the company's Form 10-K for the fiscal year ended July 3, 2026.
---
frameworkAudit: see next object.
Share this article







