The Quarter in Context

Xperi reported second-quarter 2026 revenue of $114.5 million, up 8.1% from $105.9 million in the second quarter of 2025. The larger driver was a 54% jump in advertising and related revenue to $15.0 million, while licensing and other revenue grew more modestly to $99.5 million. Operating income flipped from an $11.1 million loss a year ago to a $2.9 million profit, and the six-month operating loss narrowed to $5.1 million from $27.6 million. Net loss still printed at $1.5 million for the quarter, weighed down by a $4.8 million tax provision that produced an outsized 145.1% effective rate on $3.3 million of pretax income.
Cash generation tells a similar story of improvement rather than arrival. Operating cash flow for the second quarter of 2026 was approximately $14.6 million, a figure derived by subtracting the six-month cumulative cash-flow filing from the first-quarter cumulative filing rather than reported as a standalone quarterly line item. Capital expenditure for the quarter was about $0.5 million on the same derived basis, and management expects full-year 2026 capex near $25 million as memory-related platform investments continue. The six-month figure shows that the first quarter still consumed cash, with operating cash flow of negative $3.5 million after an unbilled contracts receivable build of $22.1 million.
The stock traded at $6.00 on August 29, 2026, valuing Xperi at roughly $292.6 million against $415.1 million of stockholders' equity, $90.6 million of cash and $40.0 million of long-term debt. Management paused share repurchases during the half-year, leaving about $80.0 million unused under the 2024 authorization, while diluted weighted-average shares crept up to 48.4 million.
Business Model and Profit Engine
Xperi earns by licensing embedded technologies and selling adjacent advertising, grouped into four revenue categories: Pay-TV, Consumer Electronics, Connected Car and Media Platform. Customers include multi-channel video operators, CE manufacturers and their supply chains, automotive OEMs, and TiVo OS partners that monetize consumers through advertising. The economic substance is a royalty-and-fee engine, not a software subscription model: licensing and other revenue was $99.5 million in Q2, dwarfing the $15.0 million advertising line.
Recurring elements exist within each category but are weighted toward unit-based royalties, minimum guarantees on fixed-fee arrangements, and per-subscriber Pay-TV contracts. The Media Platform leg is the most transactional: TiVo OS partner agreements do not typically generate direct license revenue, and the company relies on indirect economics from rising active users to grow advertising dollars. That indirect linkage is a key reason the advertising line grew faster than licensing in the quarter, and it is also why the company calls out the relationship between TiVo OS deployments, content publishers, and Pay-TV operators as a risk-factor area.
At the cost line, depreciation and amortization together totaled $12.0 million in the quarter, R&D was $21.8 million, and selling, general and administrative expense was $41.5 million. Stock-based compensation, a non-cash but real economic cost, dropped to $6.8 million in Q2 from $10.3 million a year earlier as headcount declined through the November 2025 restructuring. The restructuring plan eliminated approximately 250 positions, with $13.9 million of severance and related costs recognized in 2025; the company expects the plan to be substantially complete in the first half of 2026. Cost-of-revenue categories expose gross margin pressure: cost of licensing revenue was $19.8 million and cost of advertising revenue was $16.2 million, implying that a meaningful share of incremental advertising revenue is currently absorbed by direct costs.
Pricing power is visible in stable licensing fees per subscriber or per unit, but unit economics depend on volumes reported by customers. Customer concentration is modest, with one customer at 20% of Q2 revenue and two customers each at 11% of six-month revenue; one customer accounted for 22% of unbilled contracts receivable. Working capital is a real drag: unbilled contracts receivable of $92.3 million current and $75.5 million non-current sits on the balance sheet, up from prior periods, which is why six-month operating cash flow lagged six-month GAAP earnings. Capital intensity is moderate but rising as the company capitalizes internal-use software, and the 2026 capex guidance implies step-up relative to 2025's $2.9 million full-year figure. Segmental economics are not separately disclosed beyond the four revenue categories, leaving cross-subsidy between Media Platform and the legacy licensing businesses as a gap that prevents precise unit-margin attribution.
The profit engine is most exposed to unbilled contracts receivable growth, consumer electronics unit declines tied to memory-chip availability, and the success of Media Platform advertising scale. The strength of cash conversion depends on whether working capital normalizes and whether the post-restructuring cost base converts to sustained positive operating cash flow over a full six-month window.
Earnings Quality and Cash Conversion
Where the issuer reports cash flow and capital expenditure cumulatively, the standalone-quarter cash-flow figures are derived by subtracting the preceding cumulative filing from the six-month cumulative filing. They are calculations from SEC facts rather than separately reported quarterly line items.
Reported earnings were helped by a sharp reduction in R&D and SG&A, but a $4.8 million tax provision reduced pre-tax-to-net conversion to roughly 45% on the quarter. The reported $2.9 million operating profit is a genuine swing from a year-ago $11.1 million loss, but the company still recorded a $1.5 million net loss after tax in Q2 and a $9.3 million loss for the first half. Stock-based compensation of $14.7 million for the six-month period is a non-cash cost that partially accounts for the gap between earnings and cash; SBC fell 35% versus the prior-year period, which both reduced the reported expense and reduced the dilution offset.
Operating cash flow of approximately $14.6 million in Q2, derived by subtracting the six-month cumulative filing from the first-quarter cumulative filing, was supported by collections of deferred revenue and tighter working capital relative to Q1, while the first quarter absorbed a $22.1 million increase in unbilled contracts receivable and 2025 bonus payments. Six-month operating cash flow of negative $3.5 million, against an $11.8 million investing outflow for capitalized software and equipment, illustrates that the underlying business still consumes cash before one-off items. A $11.3 million indemnification holdback received from the Perceive divestiture is a non-recurring financing inflow, not operating cash. The trailing-twelve-month free-cash-flow proxy, calculated by subtracting capital expenditure from operating cash flow where both inputs rely in part on derived quarterly subtractions, is approximately $2.8 million, against a six-month figure that was already negative in operating cash.
The accounting free-cash-flow proxy is operating cash flow minus total capital expenditure, but the filings do not separate maintenance from growth capex; the result should be read as a proxy that mixes both uses and likely understates maintenance investment given growing capitalized internal-use software balances. Cash conversion therefore remains a watch item: a $90.6 million cash balance plus a $40 million securitization facility supports near-term liquidity, but management's 2026 capex plan of roughly $25 million would consume roughly half of year-end cash if operating cash flow does not improve from the first-half run rate.
Business Quality, Moat, and Industry Position
On the available evidence, the company is best described as an important participant, not a demonstrated core supply-chain bottleneck. This classification describes strategic position only; it is not independent proof of a moat or valuation upside.
Xperi's competitive position rests on decades of patent and engineering depth in audio, video metadata, broadcast radio, and content discovery, with more than 35 years of operating history and approximately 1,460 employees. The four revenue categories share a common trait: they rely on the company's technologies being integrated into third-party hardware and platforms, which creates qualification costs and time-to-revenue friction for any challenger. That integration barrier is the most plausible moat evidence in the filings: Pay-TV metadata and electronic program guides, DTS audio, HD Radio, and TiVo OS all require OEM and content-partner alignment to displace, and risk-factor disclosures flag the operational difficulty of building these relationships rather than the existence of substitute technologies.
Against that, the structural backdrop is competitive. Streaming has shifted consumer attention, memory chip constraints are forcing CE manufacturers to cut forecasts, and Pay-TV broadband-only offerings produce lower license fees than legacy bundles. The Media Platform leg is a long-dated bet that may or may not mature: the company itself discloses that some manufacturers will not deploy TiVo OS without specific content publishers, and some publishers will not join without a minimum installed base of Smart TVs. This two-sided dependency is a fragile dynamic that supports a bottleneck interpretation of important-participant rather than core-bottleneck, because Xperi is one of several possible partners and content publishers can choose among alternative operating systems.
The financial evidence around durability is mixed. Annual revenue declined from $521.3 million in 2023 to $448.1 million in 2025, with 2024 helped by a $100.8 million gain on divestitures that flatters year-over-year comparability. 2025 net loss was $56.3 million and free cash flow remained thin; the segment result is one reportable segment, so cross-category economics are not separately audited. Management's restructuring and cost reductions are evidence of internal discipline, but they also imply that the prior cost base was unsustainable, which reduces confidence in the durability of historical margins.
Management and Capital Allocation
Capital allocation tilts toward reinvestment and modest balance-sheet management. The company has an active $100 million repurchase authorization, of which $80 million remained available at June 30, 2026, but no shares were repurchased during the first half of 2026. Two million shares have been repurchased since inception at an average price of $9.23, versus the August 29, 2026 trading price of $6.00, so prior buybacks were executed at meaningfully higher levels. Diluted weighted-average shares nonetheless rose from 45.8 million in Q2 2025 to 48.4 million in Q2 2026, a 5.6% increase driven primarily by stock-based compensation vesting and ESPP issuance rather than new equity sales.
Debt management has been active. In February 2025 Xperi entered a $40 million accounts-receivable securitization facility with PNC and used proceeds, plus cash, to retire a $50 million Vewd senior unsecured note that would have matured in July 2025. Long-term debt of $40.0 million now sits on the balance sheet at June 30, 2026. The decision to refinance into a securitization facility tied to receivables quality is a conservative move in form, but it ties future liquidity to customer payment behavior; the same unbilled contracts receivable that pressured six-month operating cash flow also backs the borrowing base. Capital expenditure guidance of $25 million for 2026 implies a doubling versus 2025's $2.9 million, reflecting memory-cost-driven platform investments and reduced platform memory footprints in response to partner demand. No dividends have been declared.
Management's November 2025 restructuring reduced headcount by approximately 250 employees and produced $13.9 million of severance and related charges, mostly in R&D and SG&A. The cost base is leaner going into the second half of 2026, but the prior cost structure suggests a degree of capital-allocation drift that has now been corrected. Disclosure is candid about the TiVo OS chicken-and-egg risk, the memory-supply pressure on consumer electronics, and the dependence on Tobii's repayment of $11.9 million current and $21.1 million non-current note receivable plus deferred consideration from the AutoSense divestiture, which represents another form of counterparty credit exposure.
Valuation and What the Market Already Expects
The dated market capitalization is $292.6 million at $6.00 per share as of August 29, 2026. With trailing twelve months of operating cash flow of $8.2 million and capital expenditure of $5.4 million, the cash-flow yield on the dated equity is extremely thin and only barely positive. Operating cash flow divided by market capitalization works out to a low-single-digit cash-flow yield before any reinvestment, and the trailing-twelve-month free-cash-flow proxy is roughly $2.8 million.
For a licensing model with growing capitalized internal-use software, that level of cash flow implies the market is pricing in either a meaningful recovery in Media Platform advertising, stable-to-rising unit royalties as memory constraints ease, or future operating leverage as the lower post-restructuring cost base annualizes. Management expects 2026 capital expenditure near $25 million, which is a meaningful step-change from 2025's $2.9 million actual figure, and the dilution from stock-based compensation continues at a low-but-positive pace. The reverse-DCF implication is qualitative: at the dated market capitalization, the equity is not supported by current run-rate cash generation and would require an improvement to either growth, margin, or both to be validated.
The dated market capitalization is materially above every reported scenario fair value, so the price is not consistent with the valuation analysis framework under any of the three cases. Because the available valuation analysis produced values below the dated market price across all scenarios, the spread between price and the highest scenario output defines the valuation burden. A reader should treat that burden as the binding evidence in this analysis.
Ten-Year Cash Flow to Fair Market Value
The starting free cash flow is the normalized SEC cash-flow proxy, while every growth rate, discount rate and terminal rate below is an explicit editorial assumption rather than company guidance. Each annual cash flow is forecast and discounted separately; terminal value is year-ten free cash flow multiplied by one plus terminal growth, divided by discount rate minus terminal growth, and then discounted back ten years. Fair market capitalization equals that explicit ten-year present value plus discounted terminal value and a same-date balance-sheet adjustment when available. If current cash and debt facts do not share one report date, the table shows the adjustment as unavailable and conservatively applies zero. The share count is derived from the dated market capitalization and share price so US shares and foreign ADRs use a consistent traded-security denominator.
Year | Bear FCF | Base FCF | Bull FCF |
|---|---|---|---|
1 | $2.77M | $2.93M | $3.1M |
2 | $2.71M | $3.05M | $3.41M |
3 | $2.66M | $3.17M | $3.76M |
4 | $2.6M | $3.3M | $4.13M |
5 | $2.55M | $3.43M | $4.54M |
6 | $2.58M | $3.54M | $4.77M |
7 | $2.62M | $3.64M | $5.01M |
8 | $2.65M | $3.75M | $5.26M |
9 | $2.69M | $3.86M | $5.52M |
10 | $2.73M | $3.98M | $5.8M |
Scenario | Growth years 1–5 / 6–10 | Discount | Terminal | 10-year PV | Terminal PV | Balance-sheet adjustment | Fair market cap | Fair value/share | Margin of safety | Terminal share |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Bear | -2.0% / 1.3% | 11.0% | 2.0% | $15.7M | $10.9M | N/A (treated as $0) | $26.5M | $0.544 | -1002.3% | 41.0% |
Base | 4.0% / 3.0% | 9.0% | 3.0% | $21.7M | $28.9M | N/A (treated as $0) | $50.6M | $1.04 | -478.4% | 57.1% |
Bull | 10.0% / 5.0% | 8.5% | 3.5% | $28.4M | $53.1M | N/A (treated as $0) | $81.5M | $1.67 | -259.0% | 65.1% |
In the reverse-DCF, holding the 9% discount rate and 3% terminal growth fixed, and solving only for one constant growth rate rather than using the base-case growth path, the current market capitalization implies roughly 26.9% annual free cash flow growth for ten years. This is a sensitivity framework, not a price target: the terminal-value share shows how strongly each result depends on assumptions beyond the explicit forecast. Negative margin of safety means the current market capitalization exceeds the scenario value.
Five Value-Investing Lenses
Benjamin Graham Lens
Graham's discipline asks whether the equity is investment or speculation and whether the balance sheet defends the downside. Xperi carries $90.6 million of cash against $40.0 million of long-term debt and $415.1 million of stockholders' equity, so liquidation support exists at the balance-sheet level, with current assets of $283.6 million covering current liabilities 2.5 times. Tangible book value of $320.0 million comfortably exceeds the $292.6 million dated market capitalization, which provides a Graham-style asset floor. Normalized earning power, however, is the binding test: trailing twelve months of free cash flow is roughly $2.8 million, the 2025 net loss was $56.3 million, and six-month operating cash flow in 2026 was negative $3.5 million.
Benjamin Franklin Lens
Franklin's modern application emphasizes thrift, compounding, and the opportunity cost of capital. Xperi has thinned its cost base through the November 2025 restructuring, reducing R&D and SG&A expense year over year by roughly 30% and 7% respectively in the first half of 2026. That thrift is real, but compounding requires reinvestment at returns above the cost of capital, and the 2026 capex plan of approximately $25 million versus only $2.9 million in 2025 raises the bar for capital efficiency. The opportunity cost question is sharper: at the dated market capitalization, capital locked in Xperi earns a near-zero trailing cash-flow yield against any reasonable hurdle rate, so the same dollars allocated to higher-yielding assets would compound faster. The thrift instinct is honored internally, but the external opportunity cost at the dated price is high.
Warren Buffett Lens
Buffett's framework emphasizes owner earnings, durable competitive advantage, and capital allocation by honest, able management. The accounting free-cash-flow proxy of operating cash flow minus capital expenditure produced only $2.8 million over the trailing twelve months, and that figure relies on a mix of maintenance and growth capex that the filings do not separate. Intangible assets of $91.8 million and goodwill of $3.3 million reflect the legacy of multiple acquisitions and produce $16.1 million of amortization in the first half, which is a real economic cost of the prior M&A path. Capital allocation includes the 2025 securitization refinancing and the November 2025 restructuring, which are prudent; the continued share-count creep at a low share price, however, is a missed opportunity to use the $80 million repurchase authorization to compound per-share value.
Charlie Munger Lens
Munger would invert the question: what could make this investment a permanent loss? The principal loss paths are concentrated customer defection, failed Media Platform monetization, and goodwill or intangible impairment. One customer represented 20% of Q2 2026 revenue, and the company is exposed to consumer electronics unit volatility tied to memory-chip availability. Media Platform growth is a story, not a number, and the company explicitly states that some manufacturers and publishers will not commit without the other side of the network effect, which means the path to advertising scale is non-linear and could disappoint. Management's effective tax rate of 145.1% in Q2 reflects foreign withholding and income taxes with limited near-term relief, so GAAP earnings will lag cash earnings until valuation allowances release.
Li Lu Lens
Li Lu emphasizes circle of competence, durable advantage, and culture. Xperi fits inside the technology-licensing circle; the four revenue categories are understandable and the unit economics, while not separately disclosed, are inferable from customer concentration disclosures and unbilled contracts receivable balances. Durable advantage is partially supported by integration costs and switching friction, but the Media Platform leg is a bet on network effects that has not yet produced direct license revenue. Culture evidence is mixed: the November 2025 restructuring was executed decisively, disclosure of risks is candid, and a board member adopted a 10b5-1 plan in May 2026 to sell up to 13,000 shares over the following year, which is neutral rather than telling. Permanent-loss control rests on the balance sheet's tangible book value cushion rather than on the dated cash-flow yield.
Risks, Disconfirming Evidence, and What Would Prove This Thesis Wrong
The first observable thesis breaker is sustained unbilled contracts receivable growth: if the $22.1 million increase in the first quarter of 2026 becomes a multi-quarter pattern rather than a working-capital seasonality, six-month operating cash flow will remain negative and the cash balance will erode toward the long-term debt level. The second thesis breaker is a structural decline in Consumer Electronics licensing revenue, which management already flags through memory-chip supply pressure on partner forecasts and lower shipments. The third thesis breaker is impairment of intangibles or goodwill; the $3.3 million of goodwill on the balance sheet is small, but $91.8 million of intangible assets with $16.1 million of half-year amortization represent the largest non-cash earnings drag and could be tested for recoverability if Media Platform cash flows disappoint.
Disconfirming evidence already in the record includes a 2023-to-2025 revenue decline from $521.3 million to $448.1 million, a 2025 net loss of $56.3 million, and a six-month operating cash outflow in 2026. The $11.9 million current and $21.1 million non-current note receivable plus $8.7 million non-current deferred consideration from the AutoSense divestiture concentrates credit risk in Tobii, which the filings describe as uncollateralized for the deferred portion. Opportunity cost is real: at a near-zero trailing cash-flow yield, capital in Xperi displaces capital that could compound elsewhere. Management's forward statements are not audited, and the 2026 capex guidance of approximately $25 million is a stated expectation, not an audited figure.
The thesis would be proved wrong, rather than simply weakened, by three observable indicators: a return to operating cash inflow on a six-month basis, Media Platform advertising revenue sustaining at or above the Q2 2026 $15.0 million run rate, and tangible evidence of TiVo OS Smart TV unit growth disclosed in subsequent filings. Until those indicators appear, the dated market capitalization continues to discount more cash generation than the trailing twelve months have produced.
Investment Conclusion
Xperi's second-quarter 2026 print is genuinely better than a year ago on both operating income and cash flow, and the November 2025 restructuring has produced a leaner cost structure entering the second half of the year. Tangible book value above the dated market capitalization provides a balance-sheet floor, and a $40 million securitization facility plus $90.6 million of cash give near-term liquidity. Against that, the trailing twelve months of free-cash-flow proxy is only $2.8 million, the six-month operating cash flow is negative, and the dated market capitalization exceeds the implied equity from every deterministic scenario in the valuation analysis framework.
The valuation conclusion cannot be "Fairly valued" or "Attractive with a margin of safety" given the spread between the dated market capitalization and the available scenario outputs. The dated price is best characterized as "Overvalued" relative to current earning power and the deterministic bear, base, and bull scenarios. A reasonable reader should treat Xperi as "Worth watching" only if Media Platform advertising accelerates, unbilled contracts receivable normalizes, and the post-restructuring cost base converts to a sustained positive six-month operating cash flow.
This article is for educational and informational purposes only and is not investment advice. Market and filing data are accurate as of the dates stated, and readers should perform their own due diligence before making any investment decision.
Share this article







