The Quarter in Context

A healthcare professional with a stethoscope and red heart symbol emphasizes cardiology care.

The second quarter of 2026 lifted net revenue to $214.1 million, up from $197.3 million a year earlier and about 8.5% higher on a comparable basis. Net patient revenue of $173.2 million and "other revenue" of $35.3 million remain the dominant engines, while a new line item, hospital affiliation revenue of $5.6 million, appeared for the first time in the quarter. Operating income of $21.9 million was 12.0% lower than the prior-year quarter, almost entirely because a $1.0 million loss on the change in fair value of contingent earn-out consideration replaced a $0.8 million gain a year ago. Trailing-twelve-month revenue of $812.2 million and trailing operating income of $76.5 million imply a modest top-line trajectory against a flat operating-profit profile. The dated share price is $81.60, the dated market capitalization is $1.241 billion as of August 3, 2026, and the company continues to manage 781 clinics across two reportable segments.

Business Model and Profit Engine

U.S. Physical Therapy is a roll-up operator of outpatient clinics and an industrial injury prevention (IIP) services business. In the physical therapy segment, third-party payors, predominantly Medicare, commercial insurers, workers' compensation programs and self-pay patients, pay per visit or episode of care for orthopedic, sports and post-operative rehabilitation. In the IIP segment, employers, including Fortune 500 customers, contract directly for on-site injury prevention, ergonomic assessments, post-offer testing and related services. "Other revenue" of $35.3 million in the quarter consists largely of management services, athletic training for schools and similar ancillary billings that ride alongside the clinic base. A new hospital affiliation revenue line of $5.6 million in Q2 suggests an emerging contractual channel, but its absence in the prior-year quarter makes the durability of this stream a data gap that requires further disclosure.

Revenue becomes gross profit after deducting salaries and related costs (58.6% of net revenue in the quarter), rent, supplies and contract labor (18.2%), and a small depreciation and amortization layer (2.6%). Gross margin of 19.6% is unusually thin for a healthcare name and reflects the labor-intensive nature of physical therapy, where therapists are the cost center rather than a scalable asset. Operating leverage shows up between the clinic and corporate line: corporate office costs of $19.0 million are a fixed overhead layer, so incremental revenue flows largely through the gross-margin line until new clinics mature. Working capital is meaningful; patient accounts receivable of $69.6 million and other receivables of $28.6 million together equal nearly half of a quarter's revenue, and the filing flags lengthy collection cycles with multiple payors. Capital intensity is modest. The filing does not separate maintenance from growth capital expenditure, so six-month fixed-asset purchases of $10.7 million are described as an author inference: at least part of that spend supports net clinic additions and physical-therapy equipment refresh rather than pure maintenance.

Customer concentration is dispersed by payor class but concentrated by partner; the clinic partnership model relies on managing physical therapists who co-own the local limited partnership and whose put rights create the redeemable non-controlling interest line. Pricing power is constrained by Medicare and commercial reimbursement rules rather than by competitive dynamics, and the filing repeatedly calls out reimbursement risk as a forward-looking factor. Observable conditions that would weaken the profit engine include a sustained reduction in therapist productivity, a step-down in payor mix, rising contract labor as a substitute for employed therapists, and the failure of newly acquired clinics to integrate at target margins. Segment-level operating margins between physical therapy and IIP are not separately disclosed in the cited filings, which is itself a data gap when assessing mix economics.

Earnings Quality and Cash Conversion

Where the issuer reports cash flow and capital expenditure cumulatively, the standalone-quarter cash-flow figures are derived by subtracting the preceding cumulative filing. They are calculations from SEC facts rather than separately reported quarterly line items. Operating cash flow for the first six months of 2026 was $38.2 million, up from $30.2 million in the prior-year period, while net income for the same period fell to $23.1 million from $31.2 million. The gap between cash flow and reported earnings is explained by non-cash items including a $5.5 million equity-based compensation charge, an $11.9 million depreciation and amortization add-back, a $5.2 million deferred tax change and a $3.0 million contingent earn-out revaluation loss. Capital expenditure on productive assets totaled $10.7 million, producing a six-month accounting free cash flow proxy of $27.4 million (operating cash flow minus total capital expenditure); the trailing-twelve-month proxy is roughly $64 million, or about 7.9% of trailing revenue.Reported TTM operating cash flow less total reported capital expenditure produces an accounting free-cash-flow proxy of $0.1 billion. The filings do not separate maintenance from growth capital expenditure, so a precise Buffett-style owner-earnings estimate is unavailable.

Working capital absorbed cash as patient receivables grew $9.0 million in the half year, and other receivables grew another $3.0 million, signaling that revenue growth is consuming cash even as headline earnings grow. The earn-out loss is a non-cash mark against contingent consideration and so does not impair cash conversion, but it does highlight how much of headline earnings depend on fair-value adjustments. The provision for credit losses rose to $4.1 million in the half, up from $3.8 million, consistent with the larger receivable base. Overall cash conversion is acceptable but not best-in-class, and an investor should treat operating cash flow, not net income, as the more reliable signal of normalized earning power.

Business Quality, Moat, and Industry Position

On the available evidence, the company is best described as a strategically important participant in outpatient physical therapy and on-site injury prevention, not a demonstrated core supply-chain bottleneck. This classification describes strategic position only; it is not independent proof of a moat or valuation upside. The company's competitive position rests on three layers: scale of clinic footprint, partnership economics that retain local clinicians as co-owners, and direct employer contracts in the IIP segment. The clinic footprint of 781 locations across 44 states is a real asset; however, the filing does not give market-share data, and outpatient physical therapy is fragmented with numerous regional operators. The partnership structure creates both a moat (alignment of therapist incentives) and a liability (mandatory-style buyout rights that produced the $317.5 million redeemable non-controlling interest on the balance sheet). The IIP segment appears more differentiated because direct employer contracts, especially with large industrial customers, are harder to disintermediate, but the filings do not disclose renewal rates or customer churn.

Goodwill of $716.5 million and intangibles of $176.5 million together represent roughly 72% of total assets, which is a heavy intangible burden for a service business and a real risk if acquired clusters underperform. The operating lease right-of-use asset of $156.5 million shows the operation is also lease-intensive, with a corresponding $165.8 million of operating lease liabilities on the books, a structural cost that is hard to renegotiate quickly. The historical pattern is one of disciplined tuck-in acquisitions and same-store growth, but no filing evidence supports a structural advantage in therapist recruitment, the binding constraint in the industry.

Management and Capital Allocation

Capital allocation in the half year reflects three priorities: acquisitions and partner buyouts, share repurchases, and a steady quarterly dividend of $0.46 per share. Net cash used in investing was $46.2 million, of which $21.1 million went to purchase majority interests in businesses and a further $15.5 million to purchasing redeemable and permanent non-controlling interests. Net cash used in financing was only $2.7 million, despite $19.2 million of share repurchases, because the company drew a net $43.8 million on the new term loan and $15.5 million net on the revolving facility to refinance prior debt. The new $450 million senior credit facility dated April 14, 2026 carries a Term SOFR-based floating rate plus an applicable margin, with a 2.5:1.0 leverage covenant, and management disclosed $221.0 million of outstanding borrowings against $229.0 million of revolving availability.

The redeemable non-controlling interest rose to $317.5 million from $293.3 million at year-end 2025, a $24.2 million increase that flowed through equity rather than income and reflects the accretion of partner put obligations as new clinics are added. Distributions to non-controlling partners of $12.3 million in the half and dividends to USPH shareholders of $13.9 million show that cash is being shared, not hoarded. Repurchases of $19.2 million in the quarter essentially exhausted the $25.0 million authorization announced in August 2025, which is a small program relative to the $1.24 billion dated market capitalization. The contingent earn-out liability remained material at $13.6 million paid in the half; future remeasurement will continue to produce non-cash noise in operating income.

Valuation and What the Market Already Expects

As of August 3, 2026, the dated market capitalization is $1.241 billion and trailing free cash flow on a six-month-derived basis is roughly $64 million; dividing the proxy by that equity claim yields a cash-flow yield near 5.2%, and the yield is materially lower on the enterprise claim once $220 million of debt and the redeemable non-controlling interest are layered in. The deterministic base scenario values the equity below the dated market capitalization, so buyers at the dated price are underwriting either materially faster clinic-level cash flow growth, a return to the bull-case trajectory, or a permanent multiple expansion that the filings have not yet delivered. A reader should treat the dated price as rich relative to the available deterministic base and as carrying limited cushion against a disappointment in either operating cash flow or partner-buyout cash demands.

Reverse-engineering the dated market capitalization against a constant-growth framework points to a market-implied growth and yield profile that is more demanding than the base-case assumptions and approaches the bull case in its implied return requirement, which shows that the market is paying for outperformance rather than for the steady-cash status quo. The business does generate steady free cash, and that is the offsetting factor: this is not a melting-ice-cube story, it is a steady-cash story being priced for acceleration that the filings have not yet delivered.

Ten-Year Cash Flow to Fair Market Value

The starting free cash flow is the normalized SEC cash-flow proxy, while every growth rate, discount rate and terminal rate below is an explicit editorial assumption rather than company guidance. Each annual cash flow is forecast and discounted separately; terminal value is year-ten free cash flow multiplied by one plus terminal growth, divided by discount rate minus terminal growth, and then discounted back ten years. Fair market capitalization equals that explicit ten-year present value plus discounted terminal value and a same-date balance-sheet adjustment when available. If current cash and debt facts do not share one report date, the table shows the adjustment as unavailable and conservatively applies zero. The share count is derived from the dated market capitalization and share price so US shares and foreign ADRs use a consistent traded-security denominator.

Year

Bear FCF

Base FCF

Bull FCF

1

$0.1B

$0.1B

$0.1B

2

$0.1B

$0.1B

$0.1B

3

$0.1B

$0.1B

$0.1B

4

$0.1B

$0.1B

$0.1B

5

$0.1B

$0.1B

$0.1B

6

$0.1B

$0.1B

$0.1B

7

$0.1B

$0.1B

$0.1B

8

$0.1B

$0.1B

$0.1B

9

$0.1B

$0.1B

$0.1B

10

$0.1B

$0.1B

$0.1B

Scenario

Growth years 1–5 / 6–10

Discount

Terminal

10-year PV

Terminal PV

Balance-sheet adjustment

Fair market cap

Fair value/share

Margin of safety

Terminal share

Bear

-2.0% / 1.3%

11.0%

2.0%

$0.4B

$0.2B

$-0.2B

$0.4B

$26.78

-204.7%

41.0%

Base

4.0% / 3.0%

9.0%

3.0%

$0.5B

$0.7B

$-0.2B

$1.0B

$62.65

-30.2%

57.1%

Bull

10.0% / 5.0%

8.5%

3.5%

$0.6B

$1.2B

$-0.2B

$1.7B

$108.80

25.0%

65.1%

In the reverse-DCF, holding the 9% discount rate and 3% terminal growth fixed, and solving only for one constant growth rate rather than using the base-case growth path, the current market capitalization implies roughly 6.5% annual free cash flow growth for ten years. This is a sensitivity framework, not a price target: the terminal-value share shows how strongly each result depends on assumptions beyond the explicit forecast. Negative margin of safety means the current market capitalization exceeds the scenario value.

Five Value-Investing Lenses

Benjamin Graham Lens

The Graham discipline asks whether a security offers downside protection on the balance sheet and at the price. U.S. Physical Therapy carries $220.0 million of debt against $24.9 million of cash, producing a net-debt position, and the redeemable non-controlling interest of $317.5 million sits ahead of common equity on the balance sheet. Stockholders' equity of $448.7 million supports the dated market capitalization of $1.24 billion only because so much of the asset base is goodwill and intangibles. Current assets of $139.7 million versus current liabilities of $109.9 million give a working-capital ratio of about 1.27, which is acceptable but not generous. On the Graham floor this is not a balance-sheet catastrophe, but the dated price does not provide a margin of safety against either a partner-buyout spike or a clinic-level earnings disappointment, and Graham would treat the dated multiple as a speculation rather than an investment.

Benjamin Franklin Lens

The Franklin discipline, applied as thrift, compounding and opportunity cost, focuses on what management does with the cash the business produces. Free cash flow of roughly $64 million over the trailing twelve months is real, but only a portion reaches the common shareholder after partner distributions, earn-out settlements, and debt service. Over the first six months, the company used $33.1 million for acquisitions and partner buyouts, $19.2 million for share repurchases, $13.9 million for dividends and $13.6 million for earn-out payments, all funded in part by $43.8 million of net new term-loan proceeds. The opportunity-cost question is whether the four-percent base-case free-cash-flow growth assumption compensates for the heavy intangible burden, the partner put obligations and the implied growth already in the dated price, and on the available evidence the dated price pays full price and leaves little compounding room.

Warren Buffett Lens

Buffett's owner-earnings question is whether normalized free cash flow, properly defined, justifies the enterprise value and what management does with the cash that remains. Using operating cash flow minus total capital expenditure as an accounting proxy, the trailing-twelve-month free cash flow is approximately $64 million; the filing does not separate maintenance from growth capex, so this is a proxy and not a true owner-earnings calculation. That proxy, plus the need to add cash and subtract debt to bridge to equity value, points to a modest cash-flow yield that is well below the heady multiple the dated market capitalization implies under the deterministic base case. Capital allocation is mixed: acquisitions and partner buyouts are core to the strategy, share repurchases are too small to move the needle, and the dividend is steady but not large. On Buffett's framework, the business is understandable and reasonably durable, but the dated price already prices in the durability rather than rewarding it.

Charlie Munger Lens

Munger would invert the question: what is the most likely way this investment fails, and what incentive structure biases the answer? The dominant risk is that the redeemable non-controlling interest, which is a contractual put right rather than a discretionary buyback, grows faster than free cash flow and forces the company into debt-funded buyouts at returns below the cost of capital. The clinic-partnership economics give the local partner an incentive to push for higher put valuations as clinics mature, and management's response has been to refinance the credit facility at a larger size rather than to slow buyouts. A second inversion is whether the IIP segment's employer contracts are durable; the filing does not disclose renewal rates, and a single large employer loss would be material relative to segment revenue. The bias to watch is confirmation bias on a steady-cash story that has so far absorbed every acquisition without visible impairment; the absence of disclosed goodwill impairment is reassuring but is also an absence of evidence, not affirmative evidence.

Li Lu Lens

Li Lu's framework emphasizes circle of competence, durable competitive advantage, culture and permanent-loss control. The clinic-and-employer-services business is inside an analyst's circle of competence; the question is whether the advantage is durable. The 781-clinic footprint, the IIP employer contracts, and the partnership economics together form a real but not extraordinary advantage; the segment is fragmented, and the filings provide no peer benchmark to support a claim of structural superiority. Culture is partially observable through long-tenured named executives and the consistency of the partnership model, but insider signals are not disclosed in the cited excerpts. Permanent-loss risk comes from three sources: goodwill impairment on underperforming acquisitions, redeemable non-controlling interest buyouts that drain cash at unfavorable multiples, and reimbursement rule changes that compress same-store revenue; the filings identify all three as forward-looking risks but provide no quantification. On this lens the business passes the competence and durability checks, but the dated price compresses the margin of safety that Li Lu would require.

Risks, Disconfirming Evidence, and What Would Prove This Thesis Wrong

Three observable thesis breakers would force a re-rating. First, a sustained decline in same-store clinic revenue or patient-visit volume would compress the cash-flow base that the valuation model assumes continues to grow; filings flag reimbursement-rule changes and payor-mix shifts as the most likely drivers. Second, an acceleration in redeemable non-controlling interest revaluation, especially if a meaningful block of partner puts come due in a short window, would force debt-funded buyouts and could pressure the leverage covenant on the new senior credit facility. Third, goodwill impairment on any large acquisition cluster would crystallize a non-cash loss that, given the $716.5 million goodwill balance, could be material to reported earnings and to the multiple investors are willing to pay.

Disconfirming evidence already visible in the filings includes the operating-income decline of 12.0% year-over-year in Q2, the falling six-month net income of $23.1 million versus $31.2 million a year earlier, and the contingent earn-out volatility that produced a $1.0 million loss this quarter versus a $0.8 million gain a year ago. The first-quarter 2026 diluted EPS was negative $0.12, showing that quarter-to-quarter swings are real and not smoothed by management. The deterministic base scenario values the equity below the dated market capitalization by roughly thirty percent, and that gap is the structural reason this analysis concludes Overvalued rather than Worth Watching with confidence in mean-reversion.

Investment Conclusion

On the available evidence, the dated market capitalization of $1.24 billion sits above the deterministic base scenario by a margin close to thirty percent, the dated price does not provide a margin of safety against either a partner-buyout acceleration or a clinic-level disappointment, and the base-case implied growth assumption is more demanding than the trailing-twelve-month operating-cash-flow run rate. Free cash flow is real and recurring, the operating margin is steady, and the balance sheet is not in distress, but the absence of a margin of safety and the heavy reliance on the goodwill and redeemable non-controlling interest balance-sheet items argue for patience. The conclusion is Overvalued at the dated price, with the caveat that a pullback toward the deterministic base scenario fair-value range, combined with evidence that partner-buyout cash demands are moderating, could move this back toward Worth Watching without the structural risks having changed. Educational use only; this analysis is not investment advice and is built solely on the available filings and market data.

Share this article

FacebookX

4 sources

Sources