The Quarter in Context

Detailed view of automated machinery with warning signals in an industrial setting.

Trimble's second quarter of fiscal 2026 closed on July 3, 2026, with revenue of $972.0M, up 11.0% from $875.7M a year earlier. GAAP gross margin expanded to 69.4% from 68.3%, and GAAP operating income of $132.0M (13.6% of revenue) modestly exceeded last year's $127.8M, even after absorbing $12.6M of restructuring charges. The quarter was dominated, however, by a $562.0M non-cash goodwill impairment against the Transportation and Logistics reporting unit, which drove a GAAP net loss of $471.7M and a diluted loss per share of $2.02. Management identified the impairment trigger as a sustained decline in market capitalization and software-sector multiple compression, not an operational cash-flow event.

Operating cash flow of $240.3M for the quarter (cumulative six-month figure of $515.0M versus $102.1M a year ago) demonstrates that the underlying business continues to generate cash despite the accounting charge. Stockholders' equity fell to $5,110.8M from $5,836.2M at year-end 2025, with the goodwill writedown and $268.0M of retained-earnings charge from share repurchases both contributing. Management also disclosed that disclosure controls and procedures were not effective as of quarter-end because of previously reported material weaknesses still under remediation. The quarter therefore tells two stories at once: a recurring-revenue franchise that is still producing cash, and a balance sheet whose reported goodwill and intangibles require cautious interpretation until the control environment is fully remediated.

Business Model and Profit Engine

Trimble sells technology solutions to industries that build, maintain, and move the world, organized around two industry cloud platforms: one in construction and one in transportation and logistics. Customers include asset owners, contractors, architects, engineers, surveyors, utilities, and transportation carriers; they pay for hardware devices, software subscriptions, and professional services that integrate Trimble's data estate with their own operational workflows. In the second quarter, revenue split into $640.6M of subscription and services (66% of total) and $331.4M of product (34%), versus $582.9M and $292.8M respectively a year earlier. The shift toward subscription revenue is the explicit growth strategy and the principal durability claim.

Revenue becomes gross profit through the income statement as follows. Total cost of sales of $297.1M included $160.1M of product cost, $120.1M of subscription and services cost, and $16.9M of intangible amortization, producing GAAP gross margin of 69.4%. Subscription cost of sales of $120.1M against $640.6M of subscription revenue implies a roughly 81% gross margin on the recurring line, considerably higher than the 52% product gross margin implied by $160.1M of product cost against $331.4M of product revenue. The mix shift toward subscriptions is therefore not just a revenue story but a margin-mix story. Operating expenses of $542.9M (55.9% of revenue) absorbed R&D of $177.1M, sales and marketing of $176.3M, and general and administrative of $149.7M, leaving GAAP operating income of $132.0M. Capital intensity is low: purchases of property and equipment were just $7.1M in the quarter, against operating cash flow of $240.3M, suggesting modest maintenance reinvestment but not allowing a clean separation of growth from maintenance spending because the filing does not break out capex by purpose. The filing does not disclose segment-level operating profit for the quarter; segment narrative around AECO, Field Systems, and T&L is provided only at the revenue and organic-growth level, leaving cross-subsidy between segments as a data gap. Observable threats to the profit engine would include a sustained customer shift back to perpetual licenses, accelerated price competition in mapping or surveying hardware, or further impairment-style reassessments of T&L cash flows.

Earnings Quality and Cash Conversion

Where the issuer reports cash flow and capital expenditure cumulatively, the standalone-quarter cash-flow figures are derived by subtracting the preceding cumulative filing. They are calculations from SEC facts rather than separately reported quarterly line items. Cash conversion remains the strongest feature of the quarter. Operating cash flow of $240.3M against $132.0M of GAAP operating income and $85.1M of stock-based compensation (cumulative six-month figure) suggests that, stripping out the non-cash goodwill writedown, the business is converting a high proportion of reported and adjusted earnings into cash. The trailing twelve-month operating cash flow is $799.1M, more than triple the trailing twelve-month GAAP net income of -$104.7M, because GAAP net income is distorted by the T&L goodwill writedown and prior amortization. Stock-based compensation of $155.3M trailing twelve months is a meaningful non-cash expense that an owner-earnings proxy would consider; the filings do not break out maintenance-versus-growth capital expenditure, so the result of operating cash flow minus total capex is best described as an accounting free-cash-flow proxy rather than a true maintenance-capex owner-earnings figure.

Working-capital movements are large. Accounts receivable declined by $250.4M cumulatively, suggesting strong collections or a pull-forward effect, while deferred revenue declined by $54.4M cumulatively, which the filing does not explicitly explain and which could indicate timing of recurring billings rather than customer churn. Cash and cash equivalents stood at $214.4M, down from $253.4M at year-end 2025, while short-term borrowings of $16.4M and long-term debt of $1,442.9M produced principal balance of outstanding debt of $1,466.4M. Goodwill and intangibles of $5,677.0M combined remain by far the largest asset on the balance sheet and the most exposed to future impairment if software multiples compress further. Material weaknesses in internal control over financial reporting remain unremediated; this fact alone warrants treating the reported balance-sheet precision as provisional.

Business Quality, Moat, and Industry Position

Trimble's competitive position rests on its industry-cloud platforms in construction and transportation, an installed base of measurement hardware, and a vertical workflow moat that management describes as data-network effects. The clearest moat evidence is recurring revenue: subscription and services grew 9.9% year-over-year in the quarter and now constitute roughly two-thirds of revenue, while organic recurring revenue growth is cited as the principal driver of T&L improvement. This is a moat pattern that fits Fisher's growth-quality description: a long runway in workflow digitization, R&D investment of $177.1M in the quarter (18.2% of revenue) that funds software enhancements, and pricing power visible in the gross-margin expansion.

The weakness in the moat picture is the T&L goodwill writedown. The fact that the carrying value of the T&L reporting unit exceeded its fair value by $562.0M, and that the trigger was the market's own reassessment of software-business multiples, suggests that at least one segment was acquired at prices the current market no longer supports. The Mobility divestiture in February 2025, in which Trimble received equity in Platform Science rather than cash, has already been marked at fair value of $253.9M and represents a strategic repositioning that cannot yet be validated by cash returns. Customer concentration is not disclosed at the named-customer level, and the filings do not provide sufficient detail to assess customer switching costs directly; this is a meaningful data gap. Industry position is best characterized as important participant rather than core bottleneck, because Trimble is one of several large software-and-hardware vendors serving these verticals and its platform faces credible alternatives, even if the breadth of its offering is wide.

Management and Capital Allocation

Management's capital allocation during the quarter consisted primarily of debt-funded acquisitions and an aggressive share-repurchase program that paused in the second quarter itself. In the cumulative first half of 2026, Trimble repurchased 4.7M shares at an average price of $67.59 for $316.9M, with $608.2M remaining authorized under the December 2025 program; no repurchases occurred in the second quarter. The April 4, 2026 acquisition of Document Crunch for $246.4M was financed by borrowing $250.0M from the 2025 Credit Facility, and the resulting $207.0M of goodwill added to AECO further inflates an already goodwill-heavy balance sheet. Subsequent to quarter-end, the Board replaced the December 2025 program with a new $1.0B authorization, signaling continued commitment to returning capital.

The 2025 Credit Facility permits borrowing up to $1.75B with lender approval, of which $66.4M was outstanding under the revolver at quarter-end; the remaining balance is in senior notes with maturities stretching into 2033. Interest expense of $20.9M in the quarter (cumulative $40.4M) against principal debt of $1,466.4M implies an effective cost of debt in the high single digits, consistent with the senior-note coupons cited in the 10-K. The capital-allocation pattern shows a willingness to use debt for M&A while using cash flow and a multi-billion authorization for repurchases; that is a shareholder-friendly posture on paper but one that depends on the goodwill and intangibles on the balance sheet being worth what is recorded. Material weaknesses in internal control, still unremediated at quarter-end, must temper any optimistic inference about management discipline because reported book values are themselves provisional until the controls are remediated.

Valuation and What the Market Already Expects

The dated market capitalization of $13.30B at $57.07 per share is the authoritative valuation anchor as of the August 12, 2026 market snapshot. Free cash flow proxy of $233.2M for the quarter (operating cash flow minus total capex) and $773.1M trailing twelve months, against $13.30B of market capitalization, implies a trailing free-cash-flow yield of roughly 5.8%, which is the single most important valuation signal in the available evidence. The dated share price sits within roughly 6% of the deterministic base scenario per share, so the market is not demanding either a substantial discount or paying a substantial premium relative to that central case; a fairly-valued conclusion is therefore permitted but not required.

The dated market capitalization, paired with trailing free-cash-flow generation, implicitly requires that Trimble stabilize its goodwill base, maintain double-digit revenue growth, and execute on the Connect & Scale strategy without further impairment. The market has not yet demanded evidence of margin expansion beyond the modest gross-margin improvement visible in the second quarter. Operating normalization the market appears to require, qualitatively, is continued recurring-revenue compounding in the high single digits, T&L margin recovery, and the eventual remediation of the disclosed material weaknesses. No independent fair-value range is added here; the discussion stays with the dated market data, the calculated cash-flow yield, and the qualitative implication of the valuation burden as instructed.

Ten-Year Cash Flow to Fair Market Value

The starting free cash flow is the normalized SEC cash-flow proxy, while every growth rate, discount rate and terminal rate below is an explicit editorial assumption rather than company guidance. Each annual cash flow is forecast and discounted separately; terminal value is year-ten free cash flow multiplied by one plus terminal growth, divided by discount rate minus terminal growth, and then discounted back ten years. Fair market capitalization equals that explicit ten-year present value plus discounted terminal value and a same-date balance-sheet adjustment when available. If current cash and debt facts do not share one report date, the table shows the adjustment as unavailable and conservatively applies zero. The share count is derived from the dated market capitalization and share price so US shares and foreign ADRs use a consistent traded-security denominator.

Year

Bear FCF

Base FCF

Bull FCF

1

$0.8B

$0.8B

$0.9B

2

$0.7B

$0.8B

$0.9B

3

$0.7B

$0.9B

$1.0B

4

$0.7B

$0.9B

$1.1B

5

$0.7B

$1.0B

$1.3B

6

$0.7B

$1.0B

$1.3B

7

$0.7B

$1.0B

$1.4B

8

$0.7B

$1.0B

$1.5B

9

$0.8B

$1.1B

$1.5B

10

$0.8B

$1.1B

$1.6B

Scenario

Growth years 1–5 / 6–10

Discount

Terminal

10-year PV

Terminal PV

Balance-sheet adjustment

Fair market cap

Fair value/share

Margin of safety

Terminal share

Bear

-1.6% / 1.5%

11.0%

2.0%

$4.4B

$3.1B

N/A (treated as $0)

$7.4B

$31.84

-79.2%

41.2%

Base

4.4% / 3.0%

9.0%

3.0%

$6.0B

$8.1B

N/A (treated as $0)

$14.1B

$60.49

5.6%

57.2%

Bull

10.4% / 5.0%

8.5%

3.5%

$7.9B

$14.8B

N/A (treated as $0)

$22.7B

$97.43

41.4%

65.2%

In the reverse-DCF, holding the 9% discount rate and 3% terminal growth fixed, and solving only for one constant growth rate rather than using the base-case growth path, the current market capitalization implies roughly 3.0% annual free cash flow growth for ten years. This is a sensitivity framework, not a price target: the terminal-value share shows how strongly each result depends on assumptions beyond the explicit forecast. Negative margin of safety means the current market capitalization exceeds the scenario value.

Five Value-Investing Lenses

Benjamin Graham Lens

The Graham test begins with balance-sheet resilience. Tangible book value is negative at -$566.2M because goodwill and intangibles of $5,677.0M far exceed stockholders' equity of $5,110.8M. That alone rules out a classic Graham net-net floor. Normalized earning power on a cash basis is healthier: trailing-twelve-month operating cash flow of $799.1M and free-cash-flow proxy of $773.1M provide a real, if goodwill-distorted, cushion. Downside protection comes from recurring revenue, but is undermined by $1,466.4M of principal debt against $214.4M of cash and the unresolved material weaknesses in internal control. The dated price of $57.07 does not by itself provide a Graham-style margin of safety relative to the bear-case per-share value of $31.84 produced by the available valuation model; a Graham investor would wait for a deeper discount or a clearer control-environment fix.

Benjamin Franklin Lens

The Franklin lens applies a modern reading of thrift, discipline, compounding and opportunity cost to capital deployment. Trimble's capital allocation shows both thrift and profligacy in the same six months: $316.9M of buybacks at an average $67.59 share price (above the current $57.07 price, raising the question of timing) and $246.4M spent on Document Crunch funded with $250.0M of new debt. Compound growth of the recurring-revenue line is genuine and visible, but it is partly purchased through M&A whose goodwill contribution is now under impairment risk. The opportunity cost of repurchasing above current price, combined with the goodwill impairment, is the lesson: the cost of capital matters more than the headline authorization. Trimble has not paid a dividend in the period observed; all capital return has been through repurchases, which compounds the importance of buyback timing.

Warren Buffett Lens

The Buffett lens asks whether the business throws cash, whether the moat is durable, and whether management allocates capital like owners. Cash throw is real: trailing operating cash flow of $799.1M against trailing GAAP net income of -$104.7M is the strongest evidence of underlying earning power. Moat durability rests on the recurring-revenue base and the construction-platform network effects, which are visible in the 9.9% year-over-year subscription growth. Capital allocation, however, has not consistently looked like owner behavior: repurchases above current price, goodwill-financed M&A, and the impairment that followed are warning signs. Owner earnings, defined here as operating cash flow minus total capex minus stock-based compensation, would be lower than $773.1M and would reframe the cash-flow yield as meaningfully tighter than the headline figure suggests.

Charlie Munger Lens

The Munger lens inverts the question: what would have to be true for this investment to be a permanent loss? Three observable conditions stand out. First, further software-multiple compression could trigger additional goodwill impairment beyond the $562.0M already taken. Second, failure to remediate the material weaknesses in internal control could lead to a restatement, which would re-price the equity regardless of operating performance. Third, T&L recurring revenue (Transporeon) could decelerate if European transportation volumes weaken, given management's explicit attribution of T&L organic growth to subscription revenue from Transporeon. The most likely wrong assumption is that current recurring revenue growth extrapolates indefinitely; the second-most likely wrong assumption is that goodwill is worth its carrying value because it has not yet been further impaired. Opportunity cost relative to a simple bond or a higher-quality software compounder is non-trivial at a ~5.8% trailing FCF yield with embedded impairment risk.

Li Lu Lens

The Li Lu lens emphasizes circle of competence, culture, durable advantage and permanent-loss control. Trimble sits within a defensible circle for a technology-focused investor: vertical software for construction and transportation is a recognizable industry with durable workflow integration. Culture evidence is mixed; the presence of a Business Ethics and Conduct Policy and a formal insider-trading policy is positive, but unremediated material weaknesses in internal control over financial reporting are a meaningful culture signal because they speak to whether the finance organization can be trusted to translate operating reality into reported numbers. Durable advantage is plausible but not yet proven at the segment level; the T&L writedown demonstrates that at least one acquired franchise did not deliver durable advantage at the price paid. Permanent-loss control is the binding constraint today: with goodwill at $4,826.6M against equity of $5,110.8M, impairment risk is the dominant tail, not operating risk.

Risks, Disconfirming Evidence, and What Would Prove This Thesis Wrong

Prominent growth narratives can amplify attention bias and the price investors are willing to pay before cash flows arrive. That does not negate the operating evidence, but it raises the burden of proof for valuation and makes execution shortfalls more costly. Three observable thesis breakers are most likely to force a re-rating. First, an additional goodwill or intangible-asset impairment above the $562.0M T&L charge already recorded would indicate that the market's software-multiple reassessment is deeper than the second quarter captured. Second, an admission that the previously disclosed material weaknesses cannot be remediated within the company's stated timeline would shift the burden of proof onto management to demonstrate that reported book values are reliable. Third, a sustained deceleration of subscription-and-services revenue growth below the recent ~10% year-over-year pace, especially in the AECO segment where Document Crunch was added, would undermine the recurring-revenue durability claim that supports the dated price.

Disconfirming evidence already present in the filing should be named. The T&L goodwill writedown itself is disconfirming evidence against the prior embedded assumption that T&L carrying value was defensible. The disclosure that disclosure controls were not effective is disconfirming evidence against reliance on precise balance-sheet line items. The repurchase of 4.7M shares at an average $67.59 versus a current $57.07 price is disconfirming evidence against buyback timing discipline. The $1,466.4M principal debt balance against $214.4M of cash is disconfirming evidence against pristine balance-sheet optionality. Each of these was already observable at quarter-end; the question is whether the market is pricing them.

Investment Conclusion

The dated market capitalization of $13.30B at $57.07 per share sits within 20% of the deterministic base-case per-share value, which permits a fairly-valued conclusion. Free-cash-flow yield of roughly 5.8% on trailing-twelve-month operating cash flow minus total capex is supportive but not generous, and a goodwill-heavy balance sheet combined with unremediated material weaknesses in internal control argues against paying a premium for the franchise. The conclusion is fairly valued pending better evidence; conviction would rise with material-weakness remediation, a clean quarter without further impairment, and observable evidence that recurring-revenue growth is compounding rather than merely persisting. Market data as of August 12, 2026.

This article is for educational and informational purposes only and does not constitute investment advice, a recommendation, or a solicitation to buy or sell any security. All figures are drawn from publicly filed SEC documents and a dated market snapshot; readers should perform their own due diligence before making any investment decision.

Share this article

FacebookX

4 sources

Sources