The Quarter in Context

Detailed shot of industrial gears and mechanical parts in a workshop setting.

Cognex Corporation reported second-quarter 2026 revenue of $291,263,000, up 17% year over year, and diluted earnings of $0.43 per share versus $0.24 in the prior-year quarter. Gross margin expanded to 71% from 67%, lifting operating margin to 29% of revenue versus 17% a year earlier, and net income rose to $72,756,000 from $40,511,000. Management attributed the margin expansion to a more favorable end-market mix and improved fixed-cost absorption on higher volume, with operating expenses actually declining 3% year over year despite the top-line acceleration.

Six-month operating cash flow reached $114,246,000, up from $83,127,000 in the first half of 2025. On a trailing-twelve-month basis, revenue is now $1,088,930,000, operating cash flow is $276,633,000, and diluted EPS is $1.08, all versus prior-year periods that were weaker. The market snapshot dated August 12, 2026 places the share price at $60.815 and equity market capitalization at $10,230,532,951. The combination of accelerating top line, expanding margins, and growing cash flow tells us the franchise is healthy, but it also tells us the market has noticed, which matters for any margin-of-safety calculation.

Business Model and Profit Engine

Cognex sells industrial machine-vision systems that help manufacturers and logistics operators locate, identify, inspect, measure, and read codes on discrete items moving through production lines and distribution centers. Customers pay for a hardware-plus-software bundle: cameras, lighting, optics, processors, edge-learning or deep-learning software, and post-sale service and support. Service revenue accounted for less than 10% of total revenue in the periods presented, so the model is essentially product sales with an attached recurring services tail rather than a pure subscription.

The principal revenue engines are the four large end markets management discloses — logistics, packaging, consumer electronics, and automotive — together about 85% of 2025 revenue, with semiconductor and other markets supplying the balance. By geography in Q2 2026, the Americas generated 40% of revenue, Greater China 23%, Europe 20%, and Other Asia 17%. Greater China grew 47% year over year while Europe fell 12%, and a portion of the Americas strength was driven by procurement shifting from European entities, not new end-demand. This geographic lopsidedness is observable fact; whether it signals durable diversification or customer-concentration risk depends on disclosures not present in the filing.

Revenue becomes gross profit through a 71% gross margin, with cost of revenue including direct materials, manufacturing overhead, and warranty. Gross profit becomes operating profit through research, development and engineering (about 11% of revenue) and selling, general and administrative (about 30%), with both running below year-ago levels as a percent of sales. The capital intensity is modest: property, plant and equipment net of depreciation sits at $81,452,000 and six-month capital expenditures were $4,289,000, primarily for business systems and manufacturing test equipment. Maintenance-versus-growth split is not disclosed; calling the full amount maintenance would be an inference, so I treat it as a free-cash-flow proxy with that limitation.

Working capital is the swing factor. Six-month operating cash flow grew, but accounts receivable expanded by $68,496,000 and inventories by $7,715,000 as the company scaled, with deferred revenue and customer deposits rising by $27,598,000. Receivables of $216,232,000 are large relative to quarterly revenue, so the company is working-capital-sensitive. Customer concentration is not disclosed at the named-customer level, and segment economics by end market are not reported as separate income statements — these are material data gaps for a buyer. Observable conditions that would weaken the profit engine include a consumer-electronics capex downturn, a logistics automation pause similar to 2022–2023, automotive weakness persisting, and foreign-currency remeasurement losses, which totaled $862,000 in the quarter.

Earnings Quality and Cash Conversion

Where the issuer reports cash flow and capital expenditure cumulatively, the standalone-quarter cash-flow figures are derived by subtracting the preceding cumulative filing. They are calculations from SEC facts rather than separately reported quarterly line items. Reported earnings quality is supported by the cash-flow bridge. Trailing-twelve-month operating cash flow of $276,633,000 against net income of $174,788,000 produces a cash-conversion ratio above one, indicating that reported earnings are being backed by cash. Trailing-twelve-month capital expenditure of $8,337,000 is small, so an accounting free-cash-flow proxy (operating cash flow minus total capital expenditure) of $268,296,000 closely tracks operating cash flow; the filing does not break out maintenance versus growth capex, so this is labelled an accounting free-cash-flow proxy rather than a maintenance-capex owner-earnings figure.

Stock-based compensation runs at a $49,429,000 trailing-twelve-month level, which is a real economic cost; six-month SBC of $23,145,000 added back in the cash-flow statement should not be treated as freely available for distribution because it represents dilution already absorbed by share count. The income tax expense of $16,544,000 in the quarter produced an effective rate of 19%, up from 16%, driven by a greater mix of pre-tax income in higher-rate jurisdictions — a directionally informative but not manipulative item. The foreign-currency loss of $862,000 reflects remeasurement of non-functional-currency balances and is non-cash in nature apart from any settlement; a $1,539,000 loss on the Japan trading-business divestiture is a one-time item that reduces comparability.

Business Quality, Moat, and Industry Position

On the available evidence, the company is best described as an important participant, not a demonstrated core supply-chain bottleneck. This classification describes strategic position only; it is not independent proof of a moat or valuation upside. Cognex has operated since 1981 and is described by management as a global technology leader in industrial machine vision, with deep customer relationships in consumer electronics and a multi-year installed base in logistics, packaging, automotive, and semiconductor. The breadth of end markets — over 85% of revenue spread across four industries — is observable diversification, not inferred moat. The recurring software content, particularly edge-learning and deep-learning vision tools, is an attempt to raise the value capture per system and embed switching costs, but the filing does not disclose the share of revenue tied to recurring software, so the durability of that moat cannot be measured from these documents.

Competitive position relative to peers (Keyence, Basler, SICK, ISRA Vision, Zebra) is not quantified in the available evidence; comparing market share, R&D intensity, or win rates would require data not present. What we can see is that gross margin sits at 71% and operating margin at 29%, both well above what undifferentiated industrial automation would normally deliver, and that R&D spending is being maintained at roughly 11% of revenue even as sales scale. That pattern is consistent with a differentiated technology business, but a single quarter's margin profile does not prove it; the observation should be tested across multiple cycles.

The company carries no long-term debt, holds $755,013,000 in cash and investments, and has a positive stockholders' equity of $1,629,555,000, which gives it balance-sheet capacity to absorb a downturn. Goodwill of $381,385,000 against equity of $1,629,555,000 is meaningful but not extreme; a goodwill impairment in a cyclical industrial recession is an observable risk and would reduce reported book value.

Management and Capital Allocation

Capital allocation in the first half of 2026 included $105,231,000 of share repurchases, $28,454,000 of dividends, $4,289,000 of capital expenditure, and $11,519,000 of net proceeds from the Japan trading-business divestiture. The board refreshed the repurchase authorization with an additional $500,000,000 in February 2026 on top of the $9,789,000 remaining on the prior program, signaling confidence and providing dry powder. Dividends per share were raised to $0.085 from $0.080, a modest but real return-of-capital signal.

The R&D budget stayed roughly flat in absolute dollars while sales grew 17%, which is operating leverage but also a signal that innovation spending is being funded from a relatively fixed base. Several executives adopted Rule 10b5-1 trading plans during the quarter, which is normal disclosure practice but also means the market will see scheduled insider selling through 2027. No acquisitions of consequence appear in the period; the divestiture of the Japan trading business is a portfolio simplification rather than a capital deployment. The capital allocation pattern is shareholder-friendly: buybacks dominate, dividends are growing, and the balance sheet is debt-free. Whether that is the optimal allocation depends on whether incremental reinvestment in R&D and salesforce transformation would have produced higher per-share intrinsic value, which is not answerable from the filings alone.

Valuation and What the Market Already Expects

At $60.815 per share on August 12, 2026 and a market capitalization of $10,230,532,951, the equity market is paying roughly 38 times trailing-twelve-month diluted EPS of $1.08. The trailing-twelve-month accounting free-cash-flow proxy of $268,296,000 against the same market capitalization implies a cash-flow yield near 2.6%. No same-date net-cash adjustment is available because total debt was not reported as a separate figure for the latest balance sheet, so I am not adding balance-sheet cash to the equity value in this section.

A reverse-engineered perspective: to justify the current market capitalization from the $268,296,000 trailing-twelve-month free-cash-flow proxy using a 9% discount rate and 3% terminal growth, free cash flow would need to compound materially faster than current levels for many years, and even on more optimistic inputs the dated market capitalization sits well above what the base-case scenario produces. The qualitative implication is that the market is paying for substantial operating normalization and durable above-trend growth in logistics, consumer electronics, and semiconductor end markets. If those end markets disappoint, the valuation burden becomes the binding constraint.

Ten-Year Cash Flow to Fair Market Value

The starting free cash flow is the normalized SEC cash-flow proxy, while every growth rate, discount rate and terminal rate below is an explicit editorial assumption rather than company guidance. Each annual cash flow is forecast and discounted separately; terminal value is year-ten free cash flow multiplied by one plus terminal growth, divided by discount rate minus terminal growth, and then discounted back ten years. Fair market capitalization equals that explicit ten-year present value plus discounted terminal value and a same-date balance-sheet adjustment when available. If current cash and debt facts do not share one report date, the table shows the adjustment as unavailable and conservatively applies zero. The share count is derived from the dated market capitalization and share price so US shares and foreign ADRs use a consistent traded-security denominator.

Year

Bear FCF

Base FCF

Bull FCF

1

$0.3B

$0.3B

$0.3B

2

$0.3B

$0.3B

$0.3B

3

$0.3B

$0.3B

$0.4B

4

$0.3B

$0.3B

$0.4B

5

$0.3B

$0.4B

$0.5B

6

$0.3B

$0.4B

$0.5B

7

$0.3B

$0.4B

$0.5B

8

$0.3B

$0.4B

$0.6B

9

$0.3B

$0.4B

$0.6B

10

$0.3B

$0.4B

$0.6B

Scenario

Growth years 1–5 / 6–10

Discount

Terminal

10-year PV

Terminal PV

Balance-sheet adjustment

Fair market cap

Fair value/share

Margin of safety

Terminal share

Bear

0.8% / 2.3%

11.0%

2.0%

$1.7B

$1.2B

N/A (treated as $0)

$2.9B

$17.29

-251.7%

42.8%

Base

6.8% / 3.4%

9.0%

3.0%

$2.3B

$3.2B

N/A (treated as $0)

$5.5B

$32.61

-86.5%

58.1%

Bull

12.8% / 5.0%

8.5%

3.5%

$3.0B

$5.7B

N/A (treated as $0)

$8.7B

$51.73

-17.6%

65.7%

In the reverse-DCF, holding the 9% discount rate and 3% terminal growth fixed, and solving only for one constant growth rate rather than using the base-case growth path, the current market capitalization implies roughly 13.4% annual free cash flow growth for ten years. This is a sensitivity framework, not a price target: the terminal-value share shows how strongly each result depends on assumptions beyond the explicit forecast. Negative margin of safety means the current market capitalization exceeds the scenario value.

Five Value-Investing Lenses

Benjamin Graham Lens

Graham would look first at balance-sheet resilience and earning power in a down cycle. Cognex passes the survival test with no long-term debt, $755,013,000 in cash and investments, and stockholders' equity of $1,629,555,000. Trailing-twelve-month operating cash flow of $276,633,000 is positive and exceeds reported earnings, which would satisfy Graham's margin-of-safety orientation on cash generation. However, Graham would not call this an attractive entry at 38 times trailing EPS without a clear cyclical earnings contraction; the dated price is not a distressed-asset price and the balance sheet alone does not justify it.

Benjamin Franklin Lens

Franklin's modern application is thrift, discipline, compounding, and opportunity cost. Cognex is spending about 11% of revenue on R&D, returning roughly $134 million to shareholders in the first half through repurchases and dividends, and avoiding debt. The disciplined part is visible: no debt issuance, a refreshed buyback authorization, and a modest dividend raise. The opportunity-cost question is whether $10.2 billion of equity value is the best deployment versus waiting for a cheaper entry; on the available base-case scenario, an investor locking in today's price forgoes a material margin of safety.

Warren Buffett Lens

Buffett would focus on owner economics, moat, integrity, and capital allocation. Owner economics are strong on a trailing basis (accounting free-cash-flow proxy of $268,296,000 versus $174,788,000 of net income). Moat is plausible but not proven from the filings because recurring revenue mix is not disclosed and competitive share data are absent. Capital allocation is shareholder-friendly, with repurchases dominating and no debt. The integrity dimension depends on disclosure quality, which appears candid: the filing explains margin drivers, geographic shifts, and the Japan divestiture without obvious spin.

Charlie Munger Lens

Munger would invert the question: how does this investment permanently lose money? The most plausible path is a synchronized downturn in consumer electronics capex, logistics automation, and automotive production, compounded by goodwill impairment; goodwill of $381,385,000 is the largest single balance-sheet vulnerability if cycle-end earnings disappoint. Incentive analysis: executives are issuing 10b5-1 plans to sell, and SBC is roughly $49 million on a trailing basis, which means dilution offsets a portion of buyback benefit. Opportunity cost is the dominant Munger point — at this price, the cash-flow yield is low and the scenarios imply the market already discounts strong normalization.

Li Lu Lens

Li Lu would frame this through circle of competence, culture, durable advantage, and permanent-loss control. The machine-vision business is within a public investor's circle of competence: it sells inspection hardware and software to manufacturers, with observable end markets and disclosed geographic mix. Culture is partially observable through long-tenured R&D spending and a salesforce transformation described in management's strategy section, but insider trading-plan adoption during a strong quarter warrants caution about management's own timing. Durable advantage is plausible given 71% gross margin, but the absence of disclosed recurring revenue and competitive benchmarking is a real gap. Permanent-loss control is supported by the debt-free balance sheet, which limits downside financing risk.

Risks, Disconfirming Evidence, and What Would Prove This Thesis Wrong

Three observable thesis breakers stand out. First, a sustained decline in consumer-electronics capex combined with a logistics automation pause similar to 2022–2023 would compress both the top-line growth and the gross margin that currently supports the valuation. The trailing revenue growth of 16.9% and the operating margin expansion to 29% are the metrics to watch; reversion toward the prior-year 17% operating margin would meaningfully change the implied earnings power.

Second, goodwill impairment risk. With $381,385,000 of goodwill against $1,629,555,000 of equity, a multi-year revenue contraction in logistics and consumer electronics could trigger a non-cash impairment that reduces reported book value and signals overpayment for past acquisitions.

Third, customer concentration and procurement-shift fragility. The filing discloses that a portion of Americas growth reflects procurement shifting from European entities rather than new end-demand, which means revenue durability is partly a function of customer billing decisions rather than volume. Named customer concentration is not disclosed, so the magnitude of this risk is unobservable in the filing. A reversal of that shift, combined with softer Greater China demand, would compress reported revenue without any change in end-market demand.

Other evidence gaps: total debt was not separately reported for the latest balance sheet, so a same-date net-cash adjustment cannot be made; maintenance versus growth capital expenditure is not disclosed; named customer concentration is absent; and segment income statements by end market are not provided. These are real limits on the durability and valuation conclusion, and any reader should weight them as such.

Investment Conclusion

Cognex is a high-quality industrial machine-vision franchise with a debt-free balance sheet, expanding margins, and a self-funding R&D model, all supported by filing facts. The dated price, however, sits well above the base-case fair market capitalization produced by the available scenario analysis, and even the bull case does not reach the current market capitalization. The qualitative implication of the dated market price, market capitalization, cash-flow yield, and valuation burden is that the market is paying for a level of growth and durability that the scenarios do not support on a same-method basis. On that basis, the stock is Worth watching rather than attractive at a margin of safety; an investor should require either a meaningful pullback in price or additional disclosure on recurring revenue mix, customer concentration, and same-date net cash before committing capital.

*This article is for educational and informational purposes only and does not constitute investment advice or a recommendation to buy or sell any security. All figures are drawn from the available SEC filings and the dated Nasdaq market snapshot; readers should consult the original filings and a qualified financial professional before making any investment decision. *

Share this article

FacebookX

4 sources

Sources